DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to Election/Restriction has been received on 4/16/26.Claims 7-19 are withdrawn. Claims 21-30 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-6 from Group 1, Subgroup 1A in the reply filed on 4/16/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/7/23 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 6/7/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the limitation “10mc,” is unknown. Appropriate corrections and/or further clarification are required.
Claim 5 and 6 recites the limitation "10mc" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims depending from claims rejected under 35 U.S.C.112, second paragraph, are also rejected for the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delnick (EP0814520).
Regarding claim 1, the Delnick reference discloses a method of printing a separator for an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing an ink comprising particles of a separator-forming substance suspended therein, providing a medium, applying a layer of the ink to the medium in a printing process, and forming a separator from the separator-forming substance in the layer of ink ((5:5-10).
Regarding claim 2, the Delnick reference discloses wherein the ink comprises an electrolyte and wherein the separator-forming substance forms a separator that hosts at least some of the electrolyte (6:4-7).
Regarding claim 3, the Delnick reference discloses wherein the step of forming the separator comprises drying or curing the ink (6:9-12).
Regarding claim 20, the Delnick reference discloses a method of forming an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing a first electrode, printing a separator on the first electrode in accordance with the method of claim 1 wherein the medium is the first electrode, and providing a second electrode, wherein the separator is located between the first and second electrodes in the so formed electrochemical cell.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 20 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitzan (WO2008/075348).
Regarding claim 1, the Nitzan reference discloses a method of printing a separator for an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing an ink comprising particles of a separator-forming substance suspended therein, providing a medium, applying a layer of the ink to the medium in a printing process, and forming a separator from the separator-forming substance in the layer of ink (Page 6 ,Fig. 6 Example 1).
Regarding claim 3, the Nitzan reference discloses wherein the step of forming the separator comprises drying or curing the ink
Regarding claim 4, the Nitzan reference discloses wherein the separator- forming substance is an ionic conductor material (polyvalent anion or ammonium salt of Example 1).
Regarding claim 20, the Nitzan reference discloses a method of forming an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing a first electrode, printing a separator on the first electrode in accordance with the method of claim 1 wherein the medium is the first electrode, and providing a second electrode, wherein the separator is located between the first and second electrodes in the so formed electrochemical cell. (method in figures).
Claim(s) 1- 4, 20 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kucherovsky et al. (6,379,835).
Regarding claim 1, the Kucherovsky et al. reference discloses a method of printing a separator for an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing an ink comprising particles of a separator-forming substance suspended therein (6:15-40), providing a medium, applying a layer of the ink to the medium in a printing process (6:28-30), and forming a separator from the separator-forming substance in the layer of ink (6:18-20).
Regarding claim 2, the Kucherovsky et al. reference discloses wherein the ink comprises an electrolyte and wherein the separator-forming substance forms a separator that hosts at least some of the electrolyte (6:20-35).
Regarding claim 3, the Kucherovsky et al. reference discloses wherein the step of forming the separator comprises drying or curing the ink (6:15-20).
Regarding claim 4, the Kucherovsky et al. reference discloses wherein the separator- forming substance is an ionic conductor material (6:10-40).
Regarding claim 20, the Kucherovsky et al. reference discloses a method of forming an electrochemical cell, the method comprising providing a first electrode, printing a separator on the first electrode in accordance with the method of claim 1 wherein the medium is the first electrode (6:25-30), and providing a second electrode, wherein the separator is located between the first and second electrodes in the so formed electrochemical cell. (6:50-62).
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752