DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Zhamu reference still applies but is now modified by a previously uncited secondary reference to meet the amended limitations.
The arguments presented on page 7 of the Remarks still apply to the modified rejection. The Applicat posits that Zhamu explicitly teaches a length of the nanowire is in the range of 1-200 micrometers which falls outsides of the claims 100-120 nm range. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant and the Office appear to be interpreting the teaching in pagraph 13 of Zhamu oppositely. It is the Office’s position that the statement “particularly when α-MnO.sub.2 is not in a nanowire form (typically <100 nm in diameter and 1-200 μm in length)” as meaning that <100 nm in diameter and 1-200 μm in length is not in nanowire form. Paragraph 65 of Zhamu further supports this interpretation by stating that “there is no limitation on the length and width, but they are preferably smaller than 10 μm and more preferably smaller than 1 μm.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhamu (US 2016/0301096 A1) in view of Hu (US 2021/0408610 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhamu discloses an apparatus comprising: a zinc metal anode, a separator, an aqueous electrolyte, and a cathode comprising cathode active materials (paragraph 8), wherein the cathode active materials comprise graphene oxide plates with α-MnO2 nanowires (paragraph 13) perpendicular to the plates’ surface (see Figure 1). Zhamu discloses that the graphite is flexible (paragraph 71). Nanowires are by definition 1-999 nm in length and Zhamu supports this fact by stating that lengths of 1-200 microns are not nanowires (paragraph 13). The nanowires of Zhamu either encompass the claimed length of 100-120 nm or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the nanowires to a nano-scaled length appropriate for the context. See MPEP 21440.4 IV A.
Zhamu discloses that the water is deionized (paragraph 131) and that the aqueous electrolyte comprises zinc sulfate (paragraph 19) but not the use of polyvinyl alcohol. Hu—in an invention for Zn-MnO2 batteries utilizing zinc sulfate electrolytes—discloses the use of polyvinyl alcohol as a gelling agent for an aqueous electrolyte (paragraph 56) to ensure that the alkaline (zinc sulfate) because it takes into consideration all the three of high ion conductivity, high hydroxide concentration, and high reversibility of the zinc electrode (paragraph 30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize polyvinyl alcohol as a gelling agent in Zhamu for the advantages afforded by Hu for a zinc battery.
Regarding claim 2, Zhamu discloses single or stacked graphene (paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 3, Zhamu discloses graphene oxide (GO) having 2% to 46% by weight of oxygen, reduced graphene oxide (RGO) having 0.01% to 2% by weight of oxygen, and chemically functionalized graphene (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 4, Zhamu discloses MnO.sub.2/GO ratio from 1/20 to 20/1 (paragraph 155).
Regarding claim 6, Zhamu discloses that the zinc ion intercalation compound (α-MnO2) is physically connected or chemically bonded to these graphene sheets or platelets (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 7, Zhamu discloses that a binder is optional (paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 8, Zhamu discloses a zinc battery (paragraph 1).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725