DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and its dependents have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The USC 112 rejections have been obviated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhamu (US 2016/0301096 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhamu discloses an apparatus comprising: graphene oxide plates with α-MnO2 nanowires (paragraph 13) perpendicular to the plates’ surface (see Figure 1). Nanowires are by definition 1-999 nm in length and Zhamu supports this fact by stating that lengths of 1-200 microns are not nanowires (paragraph 13). The nanowires of Zhamu either encompass the claimed length of 100-120 nm or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to size the nanowires to a nano-scaled length appropriate for the context. See MPEP 21440.4 IV A.
Regarding claim 2, Zhamu discloses single or stacked graphene (paragraph 64).
Regarding claim 3, Zhamu discloses graphene oxide (GO) having 2% to 46% by weight of oxygen, reduced graphene oxide (RGO) having 0.01% to 2% by weight of oxygen, and chemically functionalized graphene (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 4, Zhamu discloses MnO.sub.2/GO ratio from 1/20 to 20/1 (paragraph 155).
Regarding claim 6, Zhamu discloses that the zinc ion intercalation compound (α-MnO2) is physically connected or chemically bonded to these graphene sheets or platelets (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 7, Zhamu discloses that a binder is optional (paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 8, Zhamu discloses a zinc battery (paragraph 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725