DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 1/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites that “the metal oxide is contained in an amount of 1% by weight to 10% by weight” but does not specify what these values are in relation to. Weight percentage is a relationship between multiple materials. Is the metal oxide present in an amount of 1% by weight to 10% by weight as compared to the graphene, the combination of graphene and metal oxide, or the electrode material at-large (which can contain additional materials)? In other words, what is in the denominator of this fraction?
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the electrode" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Only an electrode material is recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2011/0033746 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a material comprising: a free-standing metal oxide formed on a graphene film (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that the graphene film contains graphene or a plurality of stacked graphenes (paragraph 8).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Liu discloses that the graphene film is surface-activated so that a functional group containing oxygen (O) exists on a surface (paragraph 59).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses that the metal oxide (the nanocomposite materials) has a length of 3 nm to 20 nm in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the graphene film (paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses that the flexible electrode material is binder-free (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites that the electrode is “for a zinc ion battery.” First, as stated in the USC 112 rejection above, no electrode is positively recited. Second, the claimed material need only be capable of use in a zinc ion battery. We know that Liu is because it is the same material as claimed.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2016/0099466 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a material comprising: metal oxide particles nucleated and grown on a graphene surface (paragraph 31). The Office considers such a structure free-standing as no other materials need be present.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses that the metal can be Mn or V (paragraph 19) and the weight ratio between the graphene and the metal oxide is 1:0.01 to 1:5 (paragraph 23). It is assumed by the Office for purposes of prosecution that the claimed weight percentage is the weight of metal oxide compared to the weight graphene present.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725