DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments to claims 1 and 7 in the response filed on 01/27/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 remain pending in the application
Claims 3-5 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claims 1 and 7 to require a compensator to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance of the attitude of the bending section when the mechanical string has unexpected abnormal tension, wherein the compensator comprises a connecting pulley assembly including a plurality of pulleys connected through a compensation shaft capable of relatively rotating and the connecting pulley assembly is disposed on the control body, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control means” in claim 1.
[0061]- “Here, the control means 310 includes, for example, a bending angle adjustment knob or a joystick”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image capturing means” and an “illuminating means” in claims 1 and 2.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0374990 to Miyashita et al. (hereinafter “Miyashita”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0080533 to Awtar.
Regarding claim 1, Miyashita discloses an endoscope system comprising: an insertion tube (5, Fig. 2, [0019]) comprising a tube tip (11, Fig. 1, [0019]) including an image capturing means (22, Fig. 2, [0025]) and an illuminating means (21, Fig. 2, [0026]), a bending section (12, Fig. 1, [0019]) to which the tube tip is connected (Fig. 1), the bending section being configured to bend in a predetermined direction to allow a target portion of a subject to be observed ([0019]), and a flexible portion to which the bending section is connected (13, Fig. 1, [0019]), the flexible portion being configured to move flexibly so as to be smoothly inserted into the body of the subject ([0019]); a control body connected to the insertion tube (6, Fig. 1, [0020]), comprising a control means for controlling a bending angle of the bending section (6a, Fig. 1, [0020]), and dimensioned and configured to allow a user to easily hold the control body (Fig. 1); and an external device (3, Fig. 1, [0017]) connected to the control body (Fig. 1) and comprising a power source (38, Fig. 2, [0030]) for bending the bending section, a universal cord (7, Fig. 1, [0028]) connecting the control body and the external device (Fig. 1), a mechanical string (BW, Fig. 2, [0028]) transferring power generated by the power source to the bending section in order to bend the bending section ([0028]), wherein the mechanical string is disposed to pass through the interiors of the universal cord, the control body, and the insertion tube (BW, Fig. 2, [0028]).
Miyashita fails to expressly teach a compensator to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance of the attitude of the bending section when the mechanical string has unexpected abnormal tension, wherein the compensator comprises a connecting pulley assembly including a plurality of pulleys connected through a compensation shaft capable of relatively rotating and the connecting pulley assembly is disposed on the control body.
However, Awtar teaches of an endoscope system ([0050]) including a compensator (Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B, [0119]) to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance of the attitude of the bending section when the mechanical string has unexpected abnormal tension, wherein the compensator comprises a connecting pulley assembly including a plurality of pulleys connected through a compensation shaft capable of relatively rotating and the connecting pulley assembly is disposed on the control body ([0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Miyashita to utilize a compensator in the manner taught by Awtar. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of compensating for slack in a cable of a transmission system (Awtar: [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Miyashita, in view of Awtar, teaches the endoscope system according to claim 1, and Miyashita further discloses wherein the external device comprises an image processing device to receive and process image information collected by the image capturing means or a light source device to provide a light source to the illuminating means (38a, Fig. 2, [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Miyashita, discloses an endoscope system comprising: an insertion tube (5, Fig. 2, [0019]) configured to be inserted into a body of a subject to provide illumination (21, Fig. 2, [0026]) and collect image information (22, Fig. 2, [0025]), and comprising a bending section (12, Fig. 1, [0019]) configured to bend in a predetermined direction ([0019]); a control body connected to the insertion tube to control the bending of the bending section (6, Fig. 1, [0020]); and an external device (3, Fig. 1, [0017]) configured to provide a light source for the illumination (31, Fig. 2, [0031]) or process the image information (22, Fig. 2, [0025]), and comprising a power source to provide power to the bending section (38, Fig. 2, [0030]); a universal cord connecting the control body and the external device (7, Fig. 1, [0028]); and a mechanical string (BW, Fig. 2, [0028]) transferring power generated by the power source to the bending section in order to bend the bending section ([0028]), wherein the mechanical string is disposed to pass through the interiors of the universal cord, the control body, and the insertion tube (BW, Fig. 2, [0028]).
Miyashita fails to expressly teach a compensator (Fig. 3A, Fig. 3B, [0119]) to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance of the attitude of the bending section when the mechanical string has unexpected abnormal tension, wherein the compensator comprises a connecting pulley assembly including a plurality of pulleys connected through a compensation shaft capable of relatively rotating and the connecting pulley assembly is disposed on the control body ([0119]).
However, Awtar teaches of an endoscope system ([0050]) including a compensator to perform a compensation function to prevent abnormal tension from affecting the maintenance of the attitude of the bending section when the mechanical string has unexpected abnormal tension, wherein the compensator comprises a connecting pulley assembly including a plurality of pulleys connected through a compensation shaft capable of relatively rotating and the connecting pulley assembly is disposed on the control body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Miyashita to utilize a compensator in the manner taught by Awtar. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of compensating for slack in a cable of a transmission system (Awtar: [0016]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita in view of Awtar and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0369908 to Komatsu and U.S. Publication No. 2013/0047757 to Okamoto et al. hereinafter “Okamoto”).
Regarding claim 6, Miyashita, in view of Awtar, teaches the endoscope system according to claim 1.
Miyashita fails to expressly teach wherein the external device includes a first connector connected to the power source, the universal cord includes a second connector connected to the mechanical string, and when the universal cord is connected to the external device, the first connector and the second connector interact with each other to transfer power generated by the power source to the mechanical string.
However, Komatsu teaches of an endoscope system (1, Fig. 1, [0018]) wherein the external device (200, Fig. 1, [0018]) includes a first connector connected to the power source (SL, Fig. 1, [0029]), the universal cord includes a second connector (106, Fig. 1, [0029]), and when the universal cord is connected to the external device, the first connector and the second connector interact with each other to transfer power generated by the power source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Miyashita, in view of Awtar, to utilize a first and second connector in the manner as taught by Komatsu. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purposes of securing the connector to the external device ([0029] of Komatsu).
Miyashita, in view of Awtar and Komatsu, fails to expressly teach a second connector connected to the mechanical string, and to transfer power generated by the power source to the mechanical string.
However, Okamoto teaches of an endoscope system (1, Fig. 1, [0043]) a second connector (4C, Fig. 25, [0290]-[0291]) connected to the mechanical string (8, Fig. 25, [0291]), and to transfer power generated by the power source to the mechanical string ([0290]-[0294]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Miyashita, in view of Awtar and Komatsu, to utilize the connector in the manner as taught by Okamoto. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of reducing the weight of the operation portion ([0294] of Okamoto).
Conclusion
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795