DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (An Artificial Noise Generation Method for MODEM Performance Testing Satellite Communication System", The Journal of The Institute of Internet, Broadcasting and Communication, IIBC,20(4):59-64,31 August 2020).
In regards to claim 1, Cho discloses a satellite receiver comprising: an antenna unit configured to receive a satellite signal (Cho Fig. 1); a transmission line unit including a bandpass filter for selecting a reception band of the satellite signal (Cho Fig. 3, Fig. 4) and a variable attenuator (Cho Abstract Fig. 4, Fig. 5) for generating artificial noise in the satellite signal which passes through the bandpass filter;
a low-noise block (Cho Fig. 3, Fig. 4) configured to perform low noise amplification and frequency conversion of the satellite signal in which the artificial noise is generated; and
a modem (Cho Abstract Fig. 3, Fig. 4) configured to receive a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) (Cho Abstract Fig. 5) of the satellite signal from the low-noise block.
In regards to claim 2, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses the low-noise block includes a low noise amplification device that performs low noise amplification and a frequency conversion device that performs frequency conversion, and the low noise amplification device and the frequency conversion device are integrally formed or are formed separately (Cho Fig. 3, Fig. 4 note: this reads on the amplifier and the mixer).
In regards to claim 3, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses the SNR of the satellite signal is adjusted based on an intensity of the artificial noise generated by the variable attenuator (Cho Abstract Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 4, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses the intensity of the artificial noise generated by the variable attenuator is increased, the SNR of the satellite signal is adjusted to be reduced (Cho Abstract Fig. 5).
In regards to claim 5, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses a noise intensity (No) of the satellite signal is calculated using General Equation 1 below: [General Equation 1]No = kB[T +(LFi-~1)Trom+(LAT-1)Troom+LF1LATTLNB]GsYs in General Equation 1 above, k denotes the Boltzmann constant, B denotes a bandwidth of the satellite receiver, TA denotes a noise temperature of the antenna unit, Troom denotes an ambient temperature, LFI denotes a loss value of the bandpass filter, LA'r denotes a loss value of the variable attenuator, TNI3 denotes a noise temperature of the low-noise block, and Gsys denotes an overall gain value of the satellite receiver (Cho equation 6).
In regards to claim 6, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses the SNR of the satellite signal is calculated using General Equation 2 below: [General Equation 2j SNR =in General Equation 2 above, Si denotes a strength of the satellite signal which passes through the antenna unit, k denotes the Boltzmann constant, B denotes the bandwidth of the satellite receiver, Trooi denotes the ambient temperature, LF1 denotes the loss value of the bandpass filter, LAT denotes the loss value of the variable attenuator, and TLNB denotes the noise temperature of the low-noise block (Cho equation 10).
In regards to claim 7, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses adjusting a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of a satellite signal to a specification value for evaluating the performance of the modem based on an intensity of artificial noise generated by a variable attenuator; and when the SNR adjusted to the standard value is input to the modem, evaluating the performance of the modem using a bit error rate (BER) value (Cho section I page 60).
In regards to claim 8, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses calculating a noise intensity (No) of the satellite signal using General Equation 1 below:[General Equation 1] No = kB[TA + (LI-1)Troom1+(LAT-TTLNB]Gs in General Equation I above, k denotes the Boltzmann constant, B denotes a bandwidth of the satellite receiver, TA denotes a noise temperature of an antenna, denotes an ambient temperature, LF1 denotes a loss value of the bandpass filter, LAT denotes a loss value of the variable attenuator, TLNB denotes a noise temperature of the low-noise block, and Gsys denotes an overall gain value of the satellite-receiver (Cho equation 6).
In regards to claim 9, Cho discloses a satellite receiver as described above. Cho further discloses calculating the SNR of the satellite signal using General Equation 2 below: [General Equation 2] SNR =in General Equation 2 above, Si denotes a strength of the satellite signal which passes through the antenna, k denotes the Boltzmann constant, B denotes a bandwidth of the satellite receiver, Troom denotes an ambient temperature, Lrt denotes a loss valueof the bandpass filter, LAr denotes a loss value of the variable attenuator, anddenotes a noise temperature of the low-noise block (Cho equation 10).
Conclusion
/HSINCHUN LIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641