Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “Each main technical feature mentioned in the abstract and illustrated by a drawing in the international application shall be followed by a reference sign, placed between parentheses” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outer container includes corner portions formed in shapes with curvature” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “with a cavity in the vacuum state” which is considered indefinite. As written, it is unclear if the cavity is required to be in a vacuum state or only if the curvature is for reducing stresses caused if the cavity is in a vacuum state. For the purpose of examination, the vacuum state is not considered to further limit the claims and only refer to reasoning as to why the curvature is present.
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
Although claims 7 and 11 both use the term “device” with “superconductive quantum interference” and the function “to detect a magnetic field”, the term “superconductive quantum interference device” has specific meaning in the art and is not interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erne et al (US PG 20110041520), hereinafter referred to as Erne in view of Daiki (JP2010265931), hereinafter referred to as Daiki and further in view of D’Urso (US PG Pub 2020047852), hereinafter referred to as D’Urso
With respect to claim 1, Erne (Figure 1) teaches an insulated container (cryostat 116, paragraph 36), comprising:
an inner container (inner container 120 includes 122 and finger 128, paragraph 36);
and an outer container surrounding the inner container with a cavity interposed between the outer container and the inner container (outer container 140 includes main tank 142 and finger 144, paragraph 37, and a gap between them can be seen in the figure),
the inner container and the outer container are formed of fiber reinforced plastics in which fibers are impregnated with resin (the inner vessel, which includes 128, 122, 128 and outer vessel can be formed of glass-fiber reinforced plastic cylinders made of epoxy)
the inner container includes a bottomed cylindrical container to store a refrigerant (main tank 122 is formed of a cylindrical base body, paragraph 39 which has a bottom on the sides surrounding the finger, which has helium 124, paragraph 36) and a refrigerant injection pipe attached to the cylindrical container and configured to inject a refrigerant into the cylindrical container (neck tube 126, paragraph 36 which is where refrigerant could pass into the cylinder as is the only opening), the refrigerant injection pipe formed of the fiber reinforced plastics in which fibers are impregnated with resin (the neck tube is part of the inner container and is thus formed of the same fiber reinforced plastics..
Erne does not teach in which fibers constituting the refrigerant injection pipe are wound in a spiral manner in an axial direction of the refrigerant injection pipe.
Daiki teaches that when forming resin reinforced with fibers that the fibers can be formed either by hoop or helical winding and helical winding (paragraph 27). Helical winding of the fibers can contribute to the strength and durability of the tank (paragraph 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the fibers of the inner container of Erne (which includes those of the neck tube) to have been formed in a helical manner as it is a way that can improve the strength and durability of the tank. If the fibers are aligned helically then they are wound in a spiral formed in the axial direction of the neck tube.
Erne does not teach the outer container includes corner portions formed in shapes with curvature, the curvature configured to reduce contraction stress from concentrating on a specific portion of the insulated container with the cavity in a vacuum state.
D’Urso teaches that an outer shell of a cryogenic tank can have an end cover which is curved in a dome shape (Paragraph 28, see Figure 2, 22’) and that when thickness of an end cover that is flat needs to be more than a dome-shaped structure (paragraph 32).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of D’Urso to have in Erne provided the ends of the outer container as dome-shape structures (which means there is a curve at the corners on both sides of the tank where the dome meets the flat part as seen in the figure of D’Urso) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby it is common knowledge in the art that a curved dome at the end of a tank provides a stronger structure than a flat end. A curved end by its nature would naturally handle stress better than a flat end and the presence of such a curved end would meet the limitation as claimed which is a desired benefit of said configuration.
With respect to claim 2, Erne as modified does not teach wherein fibers constituting the refrigerant injection pipe are wound in a spiral manner in such a way as to form an angle of 50 to 89 degrees with an axial direction of the refrigerant injection pipe.
Daiki teaches that for helical windings of fibers as part of a tank, the angle can 70 to 80 degrees (paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have when providing the fibers of Daiki in a helical winding for them to have been 70 to 80 degrees as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (indicating first that the angle is 50 to 80 degrees, and then alter that a more preferable angle is 55 to 70 degrees, Paragraph 35 of the instant application) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 3, Erne as modified teaches wherein fibers constituting the refrigerant injection pipe are formed of glass fiber (the fibers can be glass fibers, paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 5, Erne as modified teaches wherein fibers constituting the cylindrical container are formed of glass fiber (the fibers can be glass fibers, paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 6, Erne as modified teaches wherein the resin includes epoxy resin (the resin is epoxy, paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 7, Erne as modified teaches a magnetoencephalography (Figure 1), comprising: a superconducting quantum interference device to detect a magnetic field (SQUIDs 112, paragraph 35); and the insulated container according to claim 1 (Figure 1 includes the container and the SQUIDs), wherein the superconducting quantum interference device is housed in the cylindrical container while being dipped in a refrigerant stored in the cylindrical container (112 is within the liquid helium in the finger, which can be considered the cylindrical container, as it attached via the main tank to the neck tube).
With respect to claim 8, Erne as modified teaches wherein the inner container further includes a second cylindrical container (the finger is a second cylindrical container, the inner vessel is formed of cylindrical base bodies, paragraph 39), each of the cylindrical container and the second cylindrical container includes a housing portion to store a refrigerant inside the housing portion, the second cylindrical container is fixed to the cylindrical container while the housing portion of the second cylindrical container and the housing portion of the cylindrical container communicate with each other (the second container is connected to the first container and fluid can flow between them), and the second cylindrical container is formed of fiber reinforced plastics in which fibers are impregnated with resin (the finger is part of the inner vessel and is thus formed of fiber reinforced plastic as well).
With respect to claim 9, Erne as modified teaches wherein the fibers constituting the second cylindrical container are formed of glass fiber (the fibers are glass fibers, paragraph 39).
With respect to claim 10, Erne as modified teaches wherein resin constituting the second cylindrical container includes epoxy resin (the resin is epoxy).
With respect to claim 11, Erne as modified teaches a magnetoencephalography (Figure 1), comprising: a superconducting quantum interference device to detect a magnetic field (SQUIDs 112, paragraph 35); and the insulated container according to claim 1 (Figure 1 includes the container and the SQUIDs), wherein the superconducting quantum interference device is housed in the housing portion of the second cylinder while being dipped in a refrigerant stored in the housing portion of the second cylindrical container (112 is within the liquid helium in the finger).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erne/Daiki/D’Urso and further in view of Zgela (US PG Pub 20210316494), hereinafter referred to as Zgela.
With respect to claim 4, Erne does not teach wherein an amount of resin in fiber reinforced plastics that constitute the refrigerant injection pipe is 15 to 40 wt% of entire weight of the fiber reinforced plastics.
Zgela teaches that for an epoxy/fiber layer of a container that the weight ratio of fiber to epoxy can be 80:20 (paragraph 56, which would be 20 wt% of resin in the fiber reinforced plastic).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Zgela to have constructed the inner container (including the neck tube) with resin constituting 20 wt% of the entire weight of the fiber reinforced plastic as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed ratio (indicating the amount of the resin refrigerant pipe “may be 15 to 40 wt%”, paragraph 11 of the instant application) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the durability in the tank in Daiki does not come from the helical winding but from a hoop including a step suppression member (page 6) and thus it would not have been obvious to form the inner container of Erne in a helical manner to improve the strength and durability of the tank and that they are formed on the outside of the tank not used to receive refrigerant therein. This is not persuasive.
The helical layer of Daiki provides part of the necessary structurally durability to the tank. The tank as described have both a hoop and helical layer (paragraphs 2 of Daiki) and the hoop layer as argued and described by Daiki is providing additional durability beyond just the helical layer alone. This does not change that the presence of a helical layer is obvious as it is known to provide durability and strength itself even if a hop layer provides additional strength. As the neck tube is part or connected to the tank it would also receive the same configuration. Further, although a hoop layer may also be beneficial as taught by Daiki, it does not change that the presence of a helical layer as being beneficial to adding strength. The claims only require a showing of obviousness of a spiral configuration which is rendered obvious by Daiki.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763