Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-17 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawase (European Patent Publication No.: EP 3 142 128 A1), hereinafter Kawase, in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Publication No.: CN 111582274 A), hereinafter Wang, further in view of Goetz (Germany Patent Publication Number: DE 102004011327 B3), hereinafter Goetz, further in view of Yin (Canadian Patent Pub. No.: CA 3090591 A1), hereinafter Yin.
Regarding claim 1, Kawase teaches a method for inspecting a correct execution of a processing step of a component in a wiring harness (The present invention relates to a method of inspecting a wire harness. [0002]), the method comprising: executing a first inspection program recognizing the component via an optical sensor (The barcode reader 7 has a function of reading a barcode [0018]) by use of at least one first marker on the component for identifying a type of the component (The projection image 20 illustrated in the drawing displays not only the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring", the jig image 21, and the wiring instruction line 22 as similar to FIG. 7A, but also an electric cable image 23a including a barcode 28a, connector images 24a, 24b including connector types and barcodes 27a, 27b, and buttons 26a to 26e for operation. [0054]) and identifying a location (The processing unit 83 converts the position information on the infrared ray sensor 82 into the coordinate information on the screen 2 on the basis of a reception signal from the infrared ray sensor 82, and transmits the coordinate information and the mode information indicating the mode to the management apparatus 6. [0038]) of the component within the wiring harness (The projection image 20 illustrated in the drawing displays not only the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring", the jig image 21, and the wiring instruction line 22 as similar to FIG. 7A, but also an electric cable image 23a including a barcode 28a, connector images 24a, 24b including connector types and barcodes 27a, 27b, and buttons 26a to 26e for operation. [0054]
); and automatically detecting and evaluating dependencies between the type (At this time, the electric cable image 23a and the connector images 24a, 24b may be displayed to be highlighted. [0054]) and the location of the component (the wiring instruction line 22 [0054]), wherein a definition of dependencies between the type and the location is valid or invalid (a determination unit 72 for determining whether or not the barcode attached to the electric cable or the connector read by the barcode sensor 71 and the barcode displayed on the electric cable image or the connector image included in the projection image match each other; a determination result display unit 73 for displaying a determination result of the determination unit 72. [0029]), wherein the detecting and the evaluating of the dependencies is executed before the processing step (The operator confirms the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring" of the projected projection image 20, selects an electric cable having a similar color to and having almost the same length as the electric cable image 23a, and arranges the selected electric cable on the electric cable image 23a passing through a portion between the pair of support pieces 130 of the assembly jig 10. [0055]) and after the processing step is executed (a determination result about a barcode of an electric cable and a connector, and others, so that they are corresponded to each other as history information [0025]).
Kawase fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. However, Wang teaches wherein at least one second marker within an empty space (S1, a marker for space location is fixedly arranged on the lead wiring working table surface. Page 2 4th paragraph
) is used for identifying the location of the component (S5, generating the wiring lead code identification and the virtual wiring path. Page 2 4th paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawase to incorporate the teachings of Wang to use a second marker within an empty space for identifying the location of the component to reduces the query error rate and improves the working efficiency.
The combination of Kawase and Wang does not teach the following limitations as further recited, but Goetz further teaches wherein a visibility or a lack of visibility of the at least one second marker by the optical sensor following placement of the component in the wiring harness is indicative of the location of the component being correct or incorrect (An apparatus for detecting the presence or absence of a component at a predetermined location on a mounting board for manufacturing a wiring harness comprises a scanner for optically scanning the predetermined location, optically detectable mark in a back space or at a background of the predetermined location and determining means for determining that the component is located at the predetermined location when the scanning means fails to detect the mark during optical scanning and to determine that the component is missing when the scanner detects the mark. Abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Goetz to utilize a visibility or a lack of visibility of the marker by the optical sensor following placement of the component in the wiring harness as indicative of the location of the component being correct or incorrect in order to drastically reduce the expenditure on equipment and the computational effort in wiring harness assembly.
The combination of Kawase, Wang and Goetz does not teach the following limitations as further recited, but Yin further teaches creating a virtual component model (From a start block, the method 700 proceeds to block 702, where a vehicle design model is created in a computer-aided design (CAD) environment and saved in a vehicle design data store 624, wherein the vehicle design model uses a first coordinate system. One non-limiting example of a CAD environment is the Creo environment, including Creo Parametric, Creo Illustrate, and other tools provided by PTC Inc, though other CAD environments could be used. Page 11 line 21) including component-specific information (The interface in FIGURE 4 adds an information presentation. As illustrated, the information presentation portion is presenting a schematic and pin out chart for the selected component. In some embodiments, the information presentation portion may present any other type of information relevant to a selected component. Page 7 line 24.
), wherein the component specific information includes edges or colors (The interface in FIGURE 4 adds an information presentation. As illustrated, the information presentation portion is presenting a schematic and pin out chart for the selected component. In some embodiments, the information presentation portion may present any other type of information relevant to a selected component. Page 7 line 24); and identifying a location of the component within the wiring harness (A VR/ AR device uses its camera to generate video of a vehicle, and superimposes a depiction of a vehicle component or assembly from the virtual object model file over the video in the location in which the vehicle component or assembly is actually located, as if the vehicle were "see-through." Abstract
), wherein the component is identified by comparing the component to the virtual component model (As shown, the virtual reality view shows an assembly detail model representing a wire harness. Multiple components of the assembly are highlighted, with one component being selected and illustrated in the upper-right in a detail view. Page 7 line 7.
).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yin to create a virtual component model including component-specific information, wherein the component specific information includes edges or colors and identify a location of the component within the wiring harness, wherein the component is identified by comparing the component to the virtual component model in order to present wiring harness assembly information in a format that is highly intuitive.
Claims 2-3, 11-12 and 14-15, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Kawase, in view of Wang, further in view of Goetz, further in view of Yin as applied to claim 1 above. The grounds of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, Kawase in the combination teaches a system for inspecting a correct execution of a processing step of a component in a wiring harness, the system comprising: an optical sensor (The barcode reader 7 has a function of reading a barcode [0018]); and a processing unit configured to: execute a first inspection program recognizing [[a]] the component via the optical sensor (The barcode reader 7 has a function of reading a barcode [0018]) by the use of at least one marker on the component for simultaneously identifying a type of the component (The projection image 20 illustrated in the drawing displays not only the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring", the jig image 21, and the wiring instruction line 22 as similar to FIG. 7A, but also an electric cable image 23a including a barcode 28a, connector images 24a, 24b including connector types and barcodes 27a, 27b, and buttons 26a to 26e for operation. [0054]), and identifying a location (The processing unit 83 converts the position information on the infrared ray sensor 82 into the coordinate information on the screen 2 on the basis of a reception signal from the infrared ray sensor 82, and transmits the coordinate information and the mode information indicating the mode to the management apparatus 6. [0038]) of the component within the wiring harness (The projection image 20 illustrated in the drawing displays not only the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring", the jig image 21, and the wiring instruction line 22 as similar to FIG. 7A, but also an electric cable image 23a including a barcode 28a, connector images 24a, 24b including connector types and barcodes 27a, 27b, and buttons 26a to 26e for operation. [0054]
); and automatically detect and evaluate dependencies between the type and the location of the component (At this time, the electric cable image 23a and the connector images 24a, 24b may be displayed to be highlighted. [0054]), wherein a definition of dependencies between the type and the location is valid or invalid (a determination unit 72 for determining whether or not the barcode attached to the electric cable or the connector read by the barcode sensor 71 and the barcode displayed on the electric cable image or the con- nectar image included in the projection image match each other; a determination result display unit 73 for displaying a determination result of the determination unit 72. [0029]), wherein the detection and the evaluation of the dependencies is executed before the processing step (The operator confirms the step name 20a "harness 1 wiring" of the projected projection image 20, selects an electric cable having a similar color to and having almost the same length as the electric cable image 23a, and arranges the selected electric cable on the electric cable image 23a passing through a portion between the pair of support pieces 130 of the assembly jig 10. [0055]) and after the processing step is executed (a determination result about a barcode of an electric cable and a connector, and others, so that they are corresponded to each other as history information [0025]).
Wang in the combination further teaches wherein at least one second marker within an empty space (S1, a marker for space location is fixedly arranged on the lead wiring working table surface. Page 2 6th paragraph) is used for identifying the location of the component (S5, generating the wiring lead code identification and the virtual wiring path. Page 2 4th paragraph).
Goetz in the combination further teaches wherein a visibility or a lack of visibility of the at least one second marker by the optical sensor following placement of the component in the wiring harness is indicative of the location of the component being correct or incorrect (An apparatus for detecting the presence or absence of a component at a predetermined location on a mounting board for manufacturing a wiring harness comprises a scanner for optically scanning the predetermined location, optically detectable mark in a back space or at a background of the predetermined location and determining means for determining that the component is located at the predetermined location when the scanning means fails to detect the mark during optical scanning and to determine that the component is missing when the scanner detects the mark. Abstract).
Yin in the combination further teaches receive a virtual component model (A computing device exports a first set of components from a computer-aided design (CAD) model to create an assembly detail model. A computing device exports a second set of components from the CAD model to create a context model. A computing device combines the exported first set of components and the exported second set of components to create a raw virtual object model file. Page4 line 20) including component-specific information (The interface in FIGURE 4 adds an information presentation. As illustrated, the information presentation portion is presenting a schematic and pin out chart for the selected component. In some embodiments, the information presentation portion may present any other type of information relevant to a selected component. Page 7 line 24.
), wherein the component specific information includes edges or colors (The interface in FIGURE 4 adds an information presentation. As illustrated, the information presentation portion is presenting a schematic and pin out chart for the selected component. In some embodiments, the information presentation portion may present any other type of information relevant to a selected component. Page 7 line 24); and identifying a location of the component within the wiring harness (A VR/ AR device uses its camera to generate video of a vehicle, and superimposes a depiction of a vehicle component or assembly from the virtual object model file over the video in the location in which the vehicle component or assembly is actually located, as if the vehicle were "see-through." Abstract
), wherein the component is identified by comparing the component to the virtual component model (As shown, the virtual reality view shows an assembly detail model representing a wire harness. Multiple components of the assembly are highlighted, with one component being selected and illustrated in the upper-right in a detail view. Page 7 line 7.
).
Claims 4-6 and 13, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Kawase (European Patent Publication No.: EP 3 142 128 A1), in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Publication No.: CN 111582274 A), hereinafter Wang, further in view of Goetz (Germany Patent Publication Number: DE 102004011327 B3), hereinafter Goetz, further in view of Yin (Canadian Patent Pub. No.: CA 3090591 A1), hereinafter Yin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GS1 (GS1 DataMatrix Guideline, https://www.gs1.org/docs/barcodes/GS1_DataMatrix_Guideline.pdf, Jan 2018), hereinafter GS1. The ground of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Claims 7-8, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Kawase (European Patent Publication No.: EP 3 142 128 A1), hereinafter Kawase, in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Publication No.: CN 111582274 A), hereinafter Wang, further in view of Goetz (Germany Patent Publication Number: DE 102004011327 B3), hereinafter Goetz, further in view of Yin (Canadian Patent Pub. No.: CA 3090591 A1), hereinafter Yin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of GS1 (GS1 DataMatrix Guideline, https://www.gs1.org/docs/barcodes/GS1_DataMatrix_Guideline.pdf, Jan 2018), hereinafter GS1, further in view of Takehide ( Japanese Patent Pub. No.: JP 2016070710 A), hereinafter Takehide. The ground of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Claims 16-17, unamended and are rejected based on the revised combination of Kawase (European Patent Publication No.: EP 3 142 128 A1), hereinafter Kawase, in view of Wang (Chinese Patent Publication No.: CN 111582274 A), hereinafter Wang, further in view of Goetz (Germany Patent Publication Number: DE 102004011327 B3), hereinafter Goetz, further in view of Yin (Canadian Patent Pub. No.: CA 3090591 A1), hereinafter Yin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takehide ( Japanese Patent Pub. No.: JP 2016070710 A), hereinafter Takehide. The ground of rejection established in the last Office Action is fully incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
Reason for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 18 is allowable over the prior art as the prior art references taken individually or in combination fail to particularly disclose, fairly suggest, or render obvious Applicant's independent claim language. The closest prior arts of record discloses a method for inspecting a correct execution of a processing step of a component in a wiring harness, the method comprising: executing a first inspection program recognizing the component via an optical sensor by use of at least one first marker on the component for identifying a type of the component and identifying a location of the component within the wiring harness; and automatically detecting and evaluating dependencies between the type and the location of the component, wherein a definition of dependencies between the type and the location is valid or invalid, wherein the detecting and the evaluating of the dependencies is executed before the processing step and after the processing step is executed. However, none of them alone or in any combination teaches wherein a plurality of second markers within an empty space is used for identifying the location of the component, and wherein a visibility of one or more second markers of the plurality of markers by the optical sensor following placement of the component in the wiring harness is indicative of the location of the component being incorrect or indicative of the type of the component being incorrect as specified in claim 18.
Conclusion
/LEI ZHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668