DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 4-7 are currently pending
Claims 1-3 are currently canceled
Claims 4-7 are new
Claims 4-7 are currently rejected
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 2-3 state “and wherein the number of said flushings” and instead should state “and wherein a number of said repeated flushings” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 state “of said flushings” and instead should state “of said repeated flushings” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 states “said two cavities” and instead should state “said at least two cavities” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “wherein the console panel is operatively connected to each of the inlet valve, the circulation pump, and the first, third and fourth valves and is configured to perform” on lines 21-22 of claim 4, and “wherein the console panel is further configured to perform” on lines 1-2 of claim 5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein the console panel is operatively connected to each of the inlet valve, the circulation pump, and the first, third and fourth valves and is configured to perform” on lines 21-22. It is unclear and confusing what is configured to perform, the console panel or the valves or the circulation pump? Claims 5-7 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 4.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "to claim 1,” on line 1. A claim cannot depend on a canceled claim. FURTHERMORE, claim 5 recites the limitation “in a flushing cycle” on line 3. It is unclear and confusing whether Applicant is trying to refer to the same ‘a flushing cycle’ as recited on lines 22-23 of claim 4, or a different flushing cycle? Claim 6 is also rejected since this claim depends on claim 5.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "to claim 1,” on line 1. A claim cannot depend on a canceled claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis, III (U.S. 4,629,568) (hereinafter “Ellis”).
Regarding Claim 4:
Ellis teaches a liquid purification system (see FIGS. 1-2) (see col. 1 lines 6-9 and 50-64), comprising:
a raw liquid line with an inlet valve (see FIG. 1, raw liquid line 18 and inlet valve 20) (see col. 5 lines 49-51);
a reverse osmosis membrane having a raw liquid inlet, a drainage liquid outlet and a purified liquid outlet (see FIGS. 1-2, a reverse osmosis module 10 includes a semipermeable membrane and is further connected to a drainage line (concentrate) 14, and a purified liquid line (permeate) 16) (see col. 5 lines 32-37), the reverse osmosis membrane being connected through the raw liquid inlet to the raw liquid line (see FIGS. 1-2, a reverse osmosis module 10 includes a semipermeable membrane and is further connected to a drainage line (concentrate) 14, and a purified liquid line (permeate) 16) (see col. 5 lines 32-37);
a drainage line with a first valve connected to the drainage liquid outlet of the reverse osmosis membrane (see FIG. 1, a discharge conduit 32 and a valve 42) (see col. 5 line 63 through col. 6 line 13);
a purified liquid vessel (see FIGS. 1-2, purified line 28 and purified liquid vessel (tank) 24) (see col. 5 lines 51-59);
a purified liquid line connected to the purified liquid outlet of the reverse osmosis membrane and to the purified liquid vessel (see FIGS. 1-2, purified line 28 connected to purified liquid line 16 and purified liquid vessel (tank) 24) (see col. 5 lines 51-59);
a purified liquid consumption line connected to the purified liquid vessel (see FIGS. 1-2, purified line 28 and purified liquid vessel (tank) 24) (see col. 5 lines 51-59);
a secondary purified liquid line with a second valve (see FIG. 2, lines 152 and/or 166), the secondary purified liquid line being disposed between and connected to the purified liquid vessel and the raw liquid line (see FIG. 2, lines 152 and/or 166);
a console panel (see FIG. 1, a system controller 50) (see col. 6 lines 24-25) (see col. 9 lines 5-8 and 60-62);
a circulation pump inserted into the raw liquid line upstream of the reverse osmosis membrane (see FIG. 2, lines 160, 162 and/or 147) (see FIG. 3, valves 166, 168) (see col. 8 lines 48-53) (see col. 9 lines 43-68);
a recirculation line with a third valve (see FIG. 2, lines 160, 162 and/or 147) (see FIG. 3, valves 166, 168) (see col. 8 lines 48-53) (see col. 9 lines 43-68), the recirculation line being connected at one end to the drainage line upstream of the first valve and at another end to the raw liquid line upstream of the circulation pump (see FIG. 2, lines 160, 162 and/or 147) (see FIG. 3, valves 166, 168) (see col. 8 lines 48-53) (see col. 9 lines 43-68); and
a fourth valve inserted into the purified liquid line (see FIG. 2, lines 160, 162 and/or 147) (see FIG. 3, valves 166, 168) (see col. 8 lines 48-53) (see col. 9 lines 43-68);
wherein the console panel is operatively connected to each of the inlet valve, the circulation pump, and the first, third and fourth valves (see FIG. 1, a system controller 50) (see col. 6 lines 24-25) (see col. 9 lines 5-8 and 60-62) and is configured to perform a flushing cycle by operating the inlet valve (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60), the circulation pump, and the first, third and fourth valves in such a way that a debris layer on the reverse osmosis membrane gets substantially dissolved by repeated flushings of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid in the flushing cycle (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Although Ellis teaches a flushing cycle of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60), one may broadly interpret that Ellis does not explicitly teach in such a way that a debris layer on the reverse osmosis membrane gets substantially dissolved by repeated flushings of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid in the flushing cycle, as recited in new, independent claim 4. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the liquid purification system of Ellis to further include repeated flushing of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid to totally remove all debris on the reverse osmosis membrane for optimization and to prevent damage to the reverse osmosis membrane unit (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Regarding Claim 5:
Ellis teaches the liquid purification system according to claim 1, wherein the console panel is further configured to perform the flushing cycle with the repeated flushings, and wherein the number of said flushings in a flushing cycle is not less than two and not more than six (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Although Ellis teaches a flushing cycle of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60), one may broadly interpret that Ellis does not explicitly teach the number of said flushings in a flushing cycle is not less than two and not more than six, as recited in new, dependent claim 5. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the liquid purification system of Ellis to further include repeated flushing of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid wherein the number of flushings is between two and six times for optimization and to prevent damage to the reverse osmosis membrane unit (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Regarding Claim 6:
Ellis teaches the liquid purification system according to claim 5, wherein the number of said flushings in said flushing cycle is four (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Although Ellis teaches a flushing cycle of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60), one may broadly interpret that Ellis does not explicitly teach the number of said flushings in said flushing cycle is four, as recited in new, dependent claim 6. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the liquid purification system of Ellis to further include repeated flushing of the reverse osmosis membrane with purified liquid wherein the number of flushings is four for optimization and to prevent damage to the reverse osmosis membrane unit (see col. 1 lines 58-64) (see col. 2 lines 38-60).
Regarding Claim 7:
Ellis teaches the liquid purification system according to claim 1, wherein the purified liquid vessel comprises at least two cavities separated by a flexible partition, said two cavities being a purified liquid cavity, defined by inner walls of the flexible partition, and a compressible medium cavity, defined by inner walls of a body of the purified liquid vessel and outer walls of the flexible partition, said compressible medium cavity being filled with compressible medium (see FIGS. 1-2, purified line 28 connected to purified liquid line 16 and purified liquid vessel (tank) 24) (see col. 5 lines 51-59).
Other References Considered
Vinas et al. (U.S. 5,503,735) (hereinafter “Vinas”) teaches a membrane filtration system with valves.
Gaignet (U.S. 2010/0155248 A1) (hereinafter “Gaignet”) teaches a water purification system and method.
McCormick et al. (U.S. 2013/0081715 A1) (hereinafter “McCormick”) teaches a fluid circulation valve assembly.
Shmidt et al. (U.S. 2018/0345221 A1) (hereinafter “Shmidt”) teaches a system for purifying a liquid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773