DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant's amendments and remarks submitted on October 6, 2025 have been entered. Claims 4 and 6 have been amended. Claims 1-13 are still pending on this application, with claims 1-13 being rejected. All new grounds of rejection were necessitated by the amendments to claims 4 and 6. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub No 2019/0261108 A1 to Saksela et al. (“Saksela”) in view of US Patent Pub No 2019/0154949 A1 to Hosoe et al. (“Hosoe”).
As to claim 1, Sakseka discloses an acoustic camera comprising: an enclosure configured to enclose a volume (see figures 1-2 and 6a-6c; pg. 2, ¶ 0035); an acoustic microphone array disposed at a first surface of the enclosure and facing away from the volume (see figures 1-2, pg. 2, ¶ 0036; pg. 3, ¶ 0040); an onboard processor disposed within the volume and electrically connected to the acoustic microphone array (see figures 2-3; pgs. 2-3, ¶ 0039 - ¶ 0040).
Sakseka does not expressly disclose a heat sink member in thermal contact with the onboard processor, wherein the heat sink member is configured to conduct heat from the onboard processor to a heat dissipation surface of the enclosure distinct from the first surface.
However the use of heat sinks is known in the art, as taught by Hosoe, which discloses a similar camera device, and further discloses the use of a heat dissipation module in thermal contact with heat-generating components within the camera body, including a processing unit, the heat dissipation module configured to conduct heat to a heat dissipating surface via a heat moving passage (see figures 1A-5; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0163 - ¶ 0167).
Sakseka and Hosoe are analogous art because they are both drawn to camera devices.
It would have been an obvious choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of a heat sink as taught by Hosoe in the acoustic camera as taught by Sakseka. The motivation being to provide a heat exchange mechanism to transfer heat generated within the device to an outside surface in order to cope with high power consumption components within the camera (Hosoe pg. 8, ¶ 0167 - ¶ 0169).
As to claim 2, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses further comprising one or more heat sink fins disposed on the heat dissipation surface (Hosoe figures 3A-5; pg. 7, ¶ 0158).
As to claim 3, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses further comprising a spring member configured to provide a mechanical force tending to keep the heat sink member in thermal contact with the onboard processor (Hosoe figure 4; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0164 - ¶ 0166).
As to claim 7, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses further comprising a thermal transfer block configured to at least partially fill a space between the heat sink member and the onboard processor (Hosoe heat transfer section, see figures 4 and 12; pg. 7, ¶ 0163 - ¶ 0164; pg. 11, ¶ 0217).
As to claim 8, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses wherein the enclosure includes a front plate, a back plate opposite to the front plate, and a side wall, wherein the side wall connects the front plate to the back plate to thereby enclose the volume (Sakseka figures 1-2; Hosoe figures 1A-4).
As to claim 9, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses wherein the heat dissipation surface of the enclosure is on the side wall (Hosoe figures 3A-5).
As to claim 10, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses wherein the enclosure has a first part including the acoustic microphone array and a second part including the onboard processor (Sakseka figures 1-2 and 6a-6c; pg. 5, ¶ 0059).
As to claim 11, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses further comprising an auxiliary unit connected to the second part of the enclosure (Sakseka figures 1-2; pg. 2, ¶ 0035).
As to claim 12, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses wherein the auxiliary unit includes one or more components selected from the group consisting of: a pistol-grip for handheld operation, a battery compartment configured to provide electrical power to the onboard processor and to the acoustic microphone array, and a display for providing a visual readout for the acoustic camera (Sakseka figures 1-2; pg. 2, ¶ 0035; pg. 6, ¶ 0076).
As to claim 13, Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses wherein the display is a touch screen display (Sakseka figures 1-2; pg. 2, ¶ 0035).
4. Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakseka in view of Hosoe, and further in view of Japanese Application JP H07-22594 U to Susumu.
As to claim 3, Sakseka in view of Hosoe discloses the acoustic camera of claim 1.
Sakseka in view of Hosoe further discloses heat transfer paths connecting heat generation sources such as the processor with the heat transfer section and heat sink (Hosoe pg. 7, ¶ 0164), but does not expressly disclose further comprising a spring member configured to provide a mechanical force tending to keep the heat sink member in thermal contact with the onboard processor. However such a configuration is known in the art, as taught by Susumu, which discloses a similar heat dissipation structure for electronic components, and further discloses the use of a metal spring 7 coupled to an electronic component 2 to provide thermal contact with a heat dissipating surface (see figures 1 and 3; pg. 4, ¶ 0006 - ¶ 0007 of the English translation). The proposed modification is therefore considered obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the motivation being to provide the heat transfer paths as already taught by Sakseka in view of Hosoe by using a spring structure as taught by Susumu, which can provide adjustability due to its flexible motion as well as secure contact between elements (Susumu pgs. 5-6, ¶ 0009 - ¶ 0010).
As to claim 4, Sakseka in view of Hosoe and Susumu further discloses wherein the spring member is part of the heat sink member and is configured to conduct heat between the onboard processor and the heat dissipation surface (Hosoe pg. 7, ¶ 0164; Susumu pg. 4, ¶ 0006 - ¶ 0007).
As to claim 5, Sakseka in view of Hosoe and Susumu further discloses wherein the enclosure is square or rectangular and has four corners (Sakseka figures 1-2; Hosoe figures 1A-5; Susumu figure 1).
As to claim 6, Sakseka in view of Hosoe and Susumu does not disclose wherein the spring member is configured as four leaf spring members, one leaf spring member connected to each of the four corners of the enclosure. However such a configuration is merely a straightforward possibility from which a skilled person would select when designing the acoustic camera given the teachings of Sakseka in view of Hosoe and Susumu. The modification depending on various design factors including the size and shape of the electronic elements such as the processor, the spring member(s), the heat sink, and heat dissipation surface, and further as it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In this case, additional spring members would still provide the necessary connecting function that allows the heat sink to be in thermal connection with the electronic elements including the processor, and provide a heat transfer path from within the camera to the outside surface of the enclosure (Hosoe pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0164 - ¶ 0166).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed October 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues “the claim element of a heat sink member ‘configured to conduct heat from the onboard processor to a heat dissipation surface of the enclosure distinct from the first surface’ is not taught or suggested by the cited references.”
Applicant argues Saksela “does not consider heat dissipation or heat sinking at all,” and Hosoe has “camera body 102 and heat dissipation module 101 as separate units such that system camera 100 may or may not include the heat dissipation module 101.” Applicant further argues that “because heat dissipation module 101 of Hosoe is a separate unit from camera body 102, Hosoe does not teach or suggest a heat sink member” as claimed, and instead “heat dissipation module 101 of Hosoe is in thermal contact with the outside of the enclosure.” As argued by Applicant, “Hosoe considers how to dissipate heat once it has reached a surface of the enclosure, while claim 1 of this application considers how to improve heat transfer from within the enclosure to a surface of the enclosure,” and “nothing in the references teaches or suggests structure to improve thermal conduction from within the enclosure to a surface of the enclosure.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, in response to Applicant’s argument that the teachings of Hosoe are not compatible with the device of Saksela, it is noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Hosoe is relied on for teaching the use of heat sinks as known in the art, and particularly for teaching heat sink elements used with camera devices. Specifically, Hosoe teaches a camera that includes heat dissipating elements configured to be in thermal contact with heat-generating components within the camera, including a processing unit. The heat dissipating elements include a heat transfer section 115 of the camera body, a heat dissipation module 101 coupled to the heat transfer section, and heat sink 303 with heat receiving surface 116. In addition, inside the camera body are heat transfer paths formed by thermal conductivity members that extend from heat generating sources within the camera, such as the processor. Said paths allow the transfer of heat from within the camera onto the heat transfer section 115, and further onto the heat receiving section 116 of the heat sink 303 and the heat dissipation module 101 (see figures 1A-5; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0164 - ¶ 0167). That is, these elements are all in thermal contact and together form the heat moving passage 401 that flows from within the camera to an outside surface of the camera, where heat can be discharged (see figure 4; pg. 7, ¶ 0163; pg. 8, ¶ 0167).
The structure of Hosoe is therefore configured to conduct heat from within the heat-generating components within the camera and onto a distinct heat dissipating surface of the camera (see figures 1A-5; pgs. 7-8, ¶ 0163 - ¶ 0167). The use of a heat sink for the acoustic camera as taught by Sakseka is therefore considered obvious given the teachings of Hosoe, in order to provide a heat moving passage to transfer heat generated from within the camera to an outer surface of the camera in contact with outside air in order to enable the discharge of heat, and therefore provide a path to dissipate heat from high power consumption components within the camera (Hosoe pg. 8, ¶ 0167 - ¶ 0169).
Applicant further argues that “the only apparent way to add the heat dissipation module 101 of Hosoe to the acoustic microphone of Saksela is to add it as a separate module to the acoustic camera of Saksela (consistent with regarding camera body 102 of Hosoe as being the enclosure).” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hosoe teaches a camera provided with various modules or housing structures, including a camera body as noted by Applicant, which houses the main electronic components of the camera, and the heat dissipation module, which houses the heat sink (see figures 1A-4; pg. 5, ¶ 0138). The camera body and heat dissipation module are coupled together by fastening bolts (see figures 1A-1B; pg. 6, ¶ 0148), and together form the housing structure of the camera, as well as provide different or distinct surfaces along the outside of the housing structure, as claimed.
As noted above, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference, but instead what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. When combining the features of Saksela and Hosoe, one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate a heat sink structure to provide a heat moving path from the electronic components within the enclosure to an outside surface of the enclosure that can dissipate the heat, as taught by Hosoe. Such a configuration would therefore suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art the placement of a heat sink structure within the housing structure or enclosure of a device, and in thermal contact with both the electronic components and a surface of the enclosure that is also in contact with outside air. For Saksela in particular, such a configuration could therefore be suggested as within housing 15, and such a configuration would provide thermal contact with the electronic components within the housing and a surface of the enclosure that is also in contact with outside air, in order to provide a heat moving passage as taught by Hosoe (see figure 4). Examiner respectfully maintains the claimed limitations as obvious in view of the combined teachings of Saksela and Hosoe.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABRINA DIAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/AHMAD F. MATAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2693