DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Application
Claims 176, 179, 180, 182, 201, 202 and 205-228 are pending. Claims 201, 202 and 205-228 are currently under examination. Claims 176, 179, 180 and 182 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The claimed sequences not rejected are free of the prior art and not obvious in the context of the examined claims.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. Fig. 67 contains sequences that are not referred to by the use of a sequence identifier.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Improper Markush
Claims 212, 219 and 225 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons. Claims 212 and 225 are drawn to a composition comprising different promoters and promoter variants that do not share a substantial structure and would have different activities in different vectors. In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Claims 212 and 225 are rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons. Claim 212 and 225 are drawn to a genus of promoter that do not share a substantial feature as promoters constitute significantly different structures and functions of inducing expressions. In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Claim 219 is rejected on the judicially-created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons. Claim 219 is drawn to a composition comprising different targeting sequences that do not share a substantial structure. For example, 219(a) recites SEQ ID Nos. 40504, 40540 and 41572-41611. SEQID No. 40504 is listed in the sequence listing as a spacer sequence and SEQ ID No. 40611 is a CasX intron sequence. Claims 219(b-e) suffer from the same issue. The sequences constitute significantly different structures of targeting sequences. In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) in fact share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. §134 and 37 CFR 41.31(a)(1) (emphasis provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 201, 201 and 205-228 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 201 recites an rAAV comprising a polynucleotide comprising a first and second AAV ITR, a first promoter, a sequence encoding a CRISPR protein sequence and a first guide RNA “configured for incorporation into a single recombinant adeno-associated virus”. This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear what is mean by configured for incorporation into a single recombinant adeno-associated virus. The claim does not recite any specific order or configuration of the components such that it is clear that the polynucleotide would be capable of modifying a target. The dependent claims are rejected as some recite further components but does not clarify how they are configured in the polynucleotide. For examination, any prior art that has the claimed components, in any configuration, would anticipate the instant claims.
Regarding the indicated claim(s), claim(s) 217 recite the word "optionally" which renders the claim indefinite because the list of alternatives can vary and creates ambiguity. See MPEP § 2173.05(h). In the interest of compact prosecution, and given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the word “optionally” will be interpreted as merely indicating an example that is encompassed by the claims but which does not specifically limit the claim to that example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 201, 202, 205, 210-216, 218, 219, 222 and 225 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20190233814), Liu, Jun-Jie, et al. ("CasX enzymes comprise a distinct family of RNA-guided genome editors." Nature 566.7743 (2019): 218-223), Kantardzhieva et al. (US Patent 10,662,425) and Schmidt et al. (US Patent 11,236,360).
Regarding claim 201, 205, 206, 222, Zhang et al. teach Type V CRISPR-Cas systems for modifying a target locus in cells (0007) in a rAAV vector (0905-0906) such as AAV1, 2, 5, 9 (1271), teach the polynucleotide comprises ITR sequences and guide RNAs (0385). Zhang does not teach any specific Type V CRISPR proteins.
Regarding claim 202, Zhang et al. teach methods of treating disease using the CRISPR-Cas system (1185).
Regarding claim 210, Zhang et al. teach the gRNA is between 18-21 nucleotides and linked to a targeting sequence at the 3’ or 5’ end (0178).
Regarding claims 211-213, 215, 216 and 218, Zhang et al. teach the polynucleotide can comprise one or more pol II or pol III promoters such as a CMV or a U6 promoter (0159). It would have been obvious to link any of the promoters to the first, second or third gRNA for use in the polynucleotide.
Regarding claim 206, Liu et al teach the use of Cas X, which is a Type V CRISPR protein and teach the size of less than 100 nucleotides in length (page 220-221) and teach CasX RNA-programmed genome editing. The compact size, dominant RNA content and minimal trans-cleavage activity of CasX differentiate this enzyme family from Cas9 and Cas12a, and provide opportunities for therapeutic delivery and safety that may offer important advantages relative to existing genome-editing technologies. One of skill in the art would have been capable of making a nucleotide comprising Cas X and gRNA less than about 3100 nucleotides and would have been motivated to use Cas X given it advantages.
Regarding claim 219, Kantardzhieva et al. teach a gRNA sequence complementary to instantly clamed RHO having SEQ ID No. 40504 (see alignment below). Kantardzhieva et al. teach a novel approach to ameliorate autosomal dominant RP. The novel approach targets a mutation in the RHO gene using a CRISPR Cas system targeting a said mutation (see cos 11-12). It would have been obvious to use this gRNA sequence in the claimed polynucleotide in methods of modifying a target locus.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 20; Length 20;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 20; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
40504 1 AAGTGGCTGCGTACCACACC 20
||||||||||||||||||||
5297 1 AAGTGGCTGCGTACCACACC 20
Regarding claim 225, Schmidt et al. teach a CMV promoter instantly claimed promoter having SEQ ID No. 40370 (see alignment below). Schmidt et al. teach methods of preparing a rAAV using a CMV promoter (col. 1-2 and Table 4). It would have been obvious to use this promoter sequence in the claimed polynucleotide in methods of modifying a target locus for efficient expression of a gRNA.
Query Match 100.0%; Score 584; Length 588;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 584; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
10370 1 GACATTGATTATTGACTAGTTATTAATAGTAATCAATTACGGGGTCATTAGTTCATAGCC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
65 4 GACATTGATTATTGACTAGTTATTAATAGTAATCAATTACGGGGTCATTAGTTCATAGCC 63
Qy 61 CATATATGGAGTTCCGCGTTACATAACTTACGGTAAATGGCCCGCCTGGCTGACCGCCCA 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 64 CATATATGGAGTTCCGCGTTACATAACTTACGGTAAATGGCCCGCCTGGCTGACCGCCCA 123
Qy 121 ACGACCCCCGCCCATTGACGTCAATAATGACGTATGTTCCCATAGTAACGCCAATAGGGA 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 124 ACGACCCCCGCCCATTGACGTCAATAATGACGTATGTTCCCATAGTAACGCCAATAGGGA 183
Qy 181 CTTTCCATTGACGTCAATGGGTGGAGTATTTACGGTAAACTGCCCACTTGGCAGTACATC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 184 CTTTCCATTGACGTCAATGGGTGGAGTATTTACGGTAAACTGCCCACTTGGCAGTACATC 243
Qy 241 AAGTGTATCATATGCCAAGTACGCCCCCTATTGACGTCAATGACGGTAAATGGCCCGCCT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 244 AAGTGTATCATATGCCAAGTACGCCCCCTATTGACGTCAATGACGGTAAATGGCCCGCCT 303
Qy 301 GGCATTATGCCCAGTACATGACCTTATGGGACTTTCCTACTTGGCAGTACATCTACGTAT 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 304 GGCATTATGCCCAGTACATGACCTTATGGGACTTTCCTACTTGGCAGTACATCTACGTAT 363
Qy 361 TAGTCATCGCTATTACCATGGTGATGCGGTTTTGGCAGTACATCAATGGGCGTGGATAGC 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 364 TAGTCATCGCTATTACCATGGTGATGCGGTTTTGGCAGTACATCAATGGGCGTGGATAGC 423
Qy 421 GGTTTGACTCACGGGGATTTCCAAGTCTCCACCCCATTGACGTCAATGGGAGTTTGTTTT 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 424 GGTTTGACTCACGGGGATTTCCAAGTCTCCACCCCATTGACGTCAATGGGAGTTTGTTTT 483
Qy 481 GGCACCAAAATCAACGGGACTTTCCAAAATGTCGTAACAACTCCGCCCCATTGACGCAAA 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 484 GGCACCAAAATCAACGGGACTTTCCAAAATGTCGTAACAACTCCGCCCCATTGACGCAAA 543
Qy 541 TGGGCGGTAGGCGTGTACGGTGGGAGGTCTATATAAGCAGAGCT 584
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 544 TGGGCGGTAGGCGTGTACGGTGGGAGGTCTATATAAGCAGAGCT 587
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 201, 202 and 205-228 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The fundamental factual inquiry is whether the specification conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed. See, e.g., Vas-Cath, Inc., 935 F.2d at 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d at 1117.
The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
Moreover, the written description requirement for a genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by “…disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between functional and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” Thus when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The claims are drawn to a genus of rAAV comprising polynucleotides comprising first and second AAV ITR sequences, 1-3 different promoter sequences, 1-3 different guide RNA sequences to any target with at least about 90% sequence identity to the claimed sequences and any Type V CRISPR protein wherein the rAAV comprising the polynucleotide is capable of modifying any target nucleic acid in a population of mammalian cells.
When determining whether the written description requirement is met for genus claims, it is first determined whether a representative number of species have been described by their complete structure. In the instant case, the specification describes a rAAV expression construct comprising CasX variant, a guide variant with a spacer (Example 3). Table 12 lists additional components of the AAV constructs. The specification does not describe the rAAV as claimed and this example does not encompass the vast number of different rAAV comprising different ITR sequences, promoter sequences, CRISPR proteins and guide RNA including sequences having 90% sequence identity.
It is then determined whether a representative number of species have been sufficiently described by other relevant identifying characteristics (i.e. other than nucleotide sequence), specific features and functional attributes that would distinguish different members of the claimed genera. In the instant case, the only other identifying characteristics are in vivo editing using the above system in mice (Example 3).
The disclosure has not described the vast number of proteins as in claims 207 and 208 with 90% sequence identity, does not describe the vast number of gRNA, the vast number of rAAV with different first, second and third promoters with the function of targeting any nucleic acid in cells, particularly targets sequences as in claim 219. A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
With respect to CRISPR proteins, Ma, Enbo, et al. ("Single-stranded DNA cleavage by divergent CRISPR-Cas9 enzymes." Molecular cell 60.3 (2015): 398-407 of record cited on 892 mailed 11/18/2024) describes divergent Cas9 enzymes and illustrates how each are structurally different (see Figure B below). Ma et al. further highlights the differences in cleavage activity between two different Cas9 enzymes in Figure E below.
Since the disclosure and the prior art fail to describe the common attributes and characteristics concisely identifying members of the proposed genus, and because the claimed genus is highly variant comprising numerous types of Cas molecules with different structures and cleavage activities, numerous types of targets and encoded genes as well as different serotypes of AAV vectors, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus claimed.
Regarding the limitations of a CRISPR protein having at least 90% sequence identity to the claimed sequences in claims 207 and 208, Spencer et al. ("Deep mutational scanning of S. pyogenes Cas9 reveals important functional domains." Scientific reports 7.1 (2017) describes the importance of identifying functional regions of Cas proteins for use in the Crispr/Cas system for gene editing to identify which domains are needed for functionality (see intro para. page 1). Spencer et al. found that even with the well characterized SpCas9, certain deletions of amino acid had effects on the functionality of Cas proteins such as PAM recognition and gRNA specificity (see para 3 page 1). Spencer et al. discusses that identification of certain regions that are intolerant to mutations and structural analysis is needed to identify and find such regions (discussion).
A review of the specification shows that it provides no description or guidance that would allow one of skill to distinguish the functional species of the recited structural genus from the non-functional members without empirical determination.
"A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus" (AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69) (emphasis added).
Further, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features.” Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410, 1417 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007) citing University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is “not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.” MPEP 2163. The MPEP does state that for generic claim the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitute a sufficient number of representative, the Courts have indicated what do not constitute a representative number species to adequately describe a broad generic. In Gosteli, the Court determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618.
Thus the specification and claims lack written description because it is clear that Applicant did not have possession of every variation of the expression construct. The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516, 1521,222 USPQ 369,372-372 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate."). Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Enablement
Claims 201, 202 and 205-288 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification,
while being enabling for method of enhancement in editing using a rAAV expression construct comprising CasX variant driven by a CMV, UbC, EFS promoters, a guide variant with a spacer,
does not reasonably provide enablement for the genus of rAAV comprising polynucleotides comprising first and second AAV ITR sequences, 1-3 different promoter sequences, 1-3 different guide RNA sequences to any target with at least about 90% sequence identity to the claimed sequences and any Type V CRISPR protein
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The following factors have been considered in the analysis of enablement: (1) the breadth of the claims, (2) the nature of the invention, (3) the state of the prior art, (4) the level of one of ordinary skill, (5) the level of predictability in the art, (6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (7) the existence of working examples, (8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
The breadth of the claims and the nature of the invention:
The claims are drawn to genus of rAAV comprising polynucleotides comprising first and second AAV ITR sequences, 1-3 different promoter sequences, 1-3 different guide RNA sequences to any target with at least about 90% sequence identity to the claimed sequences and any Type V CRISPR protein with the function of modifying any target gene in a cells. Whether the specification would have been enabling as of the filing date involves consideration of the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, and the level of skill in the art. The state of the prior art is what one skilled in the art would have known, at the time the application was filed, about the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains. The relative skill of those in the art refers to the skill of those in the art in relation to the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains at the time the application was filed. See MPEP § 2164.05(b). The state of the prior art provides evidence for the degree of predictability in the art and is related to the amount of direction or guidance needed in the specification as filed to meet the enablement requirement. The state of the prior art is also related to the need for working examples in the specification.
The state of the prior art:
Zhang et al. (cited above) teach Type V CRISPR-Cas systems for modifying a target locus in cells (0007) in a rAAV vector (0905-0906) such as AAV1, 2, 5, 9 (1271), teach the polynucleotide comprises ITR sequences and guide RNAs (0385). A review of the prior art does not provide a correlation between making and using an rAAV vector comprising the polynucleotide as broadly claimed and methods of modifying any target gene in any cell.
The level of one of ordinary skill:
While the level of one of ordinary skill practicing said invention would be high, the level of predictability is considered variable as evident in the prior art discussed above and is not considered to provide sufficient enablement to practice the claimed invention.
Because the state of the prior art does not provide evidence of the degree of predictability that methods of modifying any target gene using the rAAV comprising a polynucleotide as broadly claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would look for guidance or direction in the instant specification.
The level of predictability in the art:
“The “predictability or lack thereof” in the art refers to the ability of one skilled in the art to extrapolate the disclosed or known results to the claimed invention. If one skilled in the art can readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, then there is predictability in the art. On the other hand, if one skilled in the art cannot readily anticipate the effect of a change within the subject matter to which that claimed invention pertains, then there is lack of predictability in the art. Accordingly, what is known in the art provides evidence as to the question of predictability.” (MPEP 2164.03).
The amount of direction provided by the inventor:
The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). The “amount of guidance or direction” refers to that information in the application, as originally filed, that teaches exactly how to make or use the invention. The more that is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention, how to make, and how to use the invention, and the more predictable the art is, the less information needs to be explicitly stated in the specification. In contrast, if little is known in the prior art about the nature of the invention and the art is unpredictable, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. >See, e.g., Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The existence of working examples:
The working embodiment in the instant application describes methods of enhancement in editing using a rAAV expression construct comprising a single type of Type V CRISPR protein such as a CasX variant driven by a CMV, UbC, EFS promoters, a guide variant with a spacer. The working embodiments do not describe methods of modifying any target gene using the rAAV comprising a polynucleotide as broadly claimed.
The standard of an enabling disclosure is not the ability to make and test if the invention works but one of the ability to make and use with a reasonable expectation of success. A patent is granted for a completed invention, not the general suggestion of an idea (MPEP 2164.03 and Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1325-26 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
While the MPEP 2164.02 states the specification need not contain an example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970), the lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.
The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure:
The specification does not provide sufficient guidance on methods of modifying any target gene using the rAAV comprising a polynucleotide as broadly claimed. For an enabling disclosure, one of skill in the art must be able to make and use the invention with a reasonable expectation of success and not to make and test if the invention actually works. Without further guidance, one of skill in the art would have to practice a substantial amount of trial and error experimentation, an amount considered undue and not routine, to practice the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636