DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of the Claims
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed on December 19th 2025 are acknowledged. Applicant argues that the inventions of Groups II (claims 11, 12, and 15) and III (claim 13) do not represent a search burden to the examiner as the methods and compositions of Groups II and III “are so closely related that a search for applicants’ method claims necessarily would encompass a search for applicant’s compound claims.” Applicant’s arguments are found convincing and the restriction requirement filed on October 2nd 2025 is thereby withdrawn.
Applicant further argues that the compounds of WO 96/31509 do not share the common technical feature of the instant application, as the sulfone/sulfoximine group must be present in the ortho position of the G ring in the instant application, and Unity of Invention is thereby present. However, additional anticipatory art is found over applicant’s claims (see U.S. Patent No. 11,570,992 in the 102 rejections below). The election of species requirement is therefore deemed proper.
Applicant’s election of
as the “single specific compound,” in the response filed on October 2nd 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9, 11-13, and 15 are pending. Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration as being directed towards nonelected species until a generic claim has been found allowable. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15 are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on June 27th 2025, July 5th 2023, and June 8th 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Narine (U.S. Patent No. 11,570,992 issued on February 7th 2023, effectively filed on April 1st 2016).
The claims are directed towards a compound of formula (I):
,
which includes applicant’s elected species of
.
Narine teaches the compound,
(Narine, col. 83, compound C-33).
Narine’s compound is equivalent to applicant’s compound wherein
Y is C=X
X is O
E is N(R3)
R3 is C1 alkyl
Q is C(R6)
R6 is H
G is 6-membered hetaryl (pyridine)
W is attached in the ortho position and is S(O)2
Rw is C2 alkyl
R1 is halogenated C1 alkyl
R2 is H
R7 is C1 alkyl substituted with 3 RG wherein RG is F
n is 1
Narine thereby anticipates claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 8.
Claim 9 is directed towards a pesticidal composition comprising the compound of claim 1 and an additional active ingredient. Narine teaches such a composition (Narine, col. 92, claim 15), anticipating claim 9.
Claim 11 is directed towards a method of controlling invertebrate pests via contacting said pests or its food supply, habitat, or breeding grounds with the compound of claim 1. Narine teaches such a method (Narine, col. 92, claim 17), anticipating claim 11.
Claim 12 is directed towards a method of protecting growing plants from attack or infestation via contacting the plant, its soil, or water with the compound of claim 1. Narine teaches such a method (Narine, col. 92, claim 18), anticipating claim 12.
Claim 13 is directed towards a seed comprising the compound of claim 1 in an amount of 0.1 g to 10 kg per 100 kg of seed. Narine teaches a seed treated with the compound at an amount of 0.1 g to 10 kg per 100 kg of seed (Narine, col. 92, claim 16), anticipating claim 13.
Claim 15 is directed towards a method for protecting an animal from infestation or infection by invertebrate pests comprising treating the animal with a compound of claim 1. Narine teaches such a method (Narine, col. 92, claim 20), anticipating claim 15.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,570,992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of the reference patent:
exist as a subset of those of the instant application:
.
Note the compounds of claim 2 of the instant application:
And the above 102 rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,570,992, which demonstrates significant overlap in the compound genera of the reference patent and instant application. The reference patent additionally teaches the further limitations of claims 9, 11-13, and 15 (see the above 102 rejection over U.S. Patent No. 11,570,992, referenced earlier as Narine).
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-14 of copending Application No. 17/916,818 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of the reference application,
,
differ from those of the instant application,
,
only in the Rx location.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1-4, 6-9, 11-13, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 11-13, and 15 of copending Application No. 19/137,325 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds of the two applications vary only in scope, and not in content, with the compounds of the reference application,
,
being a subset of those of the instant application,
.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629