DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 09/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/17/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“signal processing module” in claim 3.
“analog-to-digital conversion module” in claim 3. [0050] of the instant specification defines this to be a ADS 1298R integrated chip.
“control module” in claim 3. [0051] of the instant specification defines this to be a Cortex-M4.
“wireless transmission module” in claim 3. [0052] of the instant specification defines this to be a ESP8266 integrated chip.
“power supply module” in claim 3. [0053] of the instant specification defines this to be a lithium battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Similarly, original claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV.
Merely recite a description of the problem to be solved while claiming all solutions to it, leaving the industry to “complete an unfinished invention.” See Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353
Disclosure of function alone is little more than a wish possession. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a).
The written description requirement is not satisfied by merely outlining the goals or results one hopes to achieve with the invention. See MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a).
Claim 1 fails to sufficiently describe how control unit processes the analog electrocardio-signal to fulfill the written description requirement. The mere statement and recitation of the “control unit … configured to process …the analog electrocardio-signal” in claims 1 is nominally recited in page 2 of the instant specification fails to recite how the signal is processed the analog ECG signal. Examiner notes that the instant specification fails to recite what is used for signal filtering, but also fails to recite other types of analog signal pre-processing, including error correction, cleaning, and transforming, and further does not disclose the processing of ECG signal via peaks, RR intervals, and the like. The instant specification provides insufficient detail as to how this processing is used for analysis and how the ECG signals go through cleaning, transforming, error correction, and filtering and how the processing of the signals will provide the output of normal heart beat, arrhythmia, and serious cardiac condition. Therefore, claims 1-8 do not provide sufficient detail for Applicant to have possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 fails to sufficiently describe the signal processing module to fulfill the written description requirement. The mere statement and recitation of the signal processing module in claim 3 and [0047] that includes filters, fails to provide structure as to what the signal processing module may be. No where in the instant specification does the Applicant disclose the structure of the signal processing module. Therefore, claims 1-8 do not provide sufficient detail for Applicant to have possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (CN111134657)(IDS priority cited as 05/12/2020)(citations are from the English equivalent of WO2021143945)(Hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1, Cao teaches An electrocardio-signal collection system (Abstract “electrocardiograph signal acquisition device”), comprising:
a collection unit configured to collect an analog electrocardio-signal of a human body, wherein the collection unit comprises a flexible device and 10 conductive electrodes, and the conductive electrodes are printed on the flexible device (Abstract “the 10 electrodes are used for contacting a user body surface and are arranged on the outer portion of the palm side of the right-hand glove [“printed” on the flexible device; Examiner interprets the term printed to mean placed, as electrode printing is a manufacturing method, which the claims are not directed to.]”);
The patentability of a product does not depend on the preparation process steps. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." Inre Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
a control unit connected to the conductive electrodes and configured to process and output the analog electrocardio-signal (Page 5 lines 37-39 “The method is transmitted to the control unit 1 implemented by MCU. The MCU sends the re-filtered digital signal to the external terminal device 6, that is, the upper computer, through the wireless transmission unit 3 implemented by the Bluetooth module, for waveform display.”); and
a display unit connected to the control unit and configured to receive an output signal from the control unit and display electrocardio-data (Pgs. 6 lines 16-17 “The terminal device displays and saves the received ECG data in real time in the form of a GUI interface, which can be used by doctors for diagnosis and analysis of historical data.” Page 5 “The MCU sends the re-filtered digital signal to the external terminal device 6, that is, the upper computer, through the wireless transmission unit 3 implemented by the Bluetooth module, for waveform display.”).
Regarding claim 2, Cao teaches wherein the collection unit further comprises lead lines, the lead lines are printed on the flexible device, and the conductive electrodes are connected to the control unit through the lead lines (Fig. 3 L1-L9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN111134657)(IDS)(citations are from the machine translation of WO2021143945)(Hereinafter Cao) in view of Gopinathan et al. (US 20020045805)(Hereinafter Gopinathan).
Regarding claim 3, Cao teaches wherein the control unit comprises:
connected to the lead lines, and configured to filter out noise mixed in the analog electrocardio-signal (Pg. 3 lines 7-8 “The distribution of the 10 electrodes are respectively connected to the ECG signal acquisition unit through wires”);
an analog-to-digital conversion module connected to the signal processing module, and configured to convert an analog electrocardio-signal after filtering out noise into a digital electrocardio-signal (Page 6 line 7 “24-bit analog-to-digital converters” Page 7 line 26-28 “The ECG acquisition module collects the original ECG signal, converts it into ECG data by the microcontroller, and performs digital filtering on it, and finally transmits the valid data to the terminal device via Bluetooth”);
a control module connected to the analog-to-digital conversion module, and configured to receive, store and transmit the digital electrocardio-signal, and enable a wireless transmission module and the display unit to operate logically (See Fig. 1 where signal processing module 2, which includes ADC, is ccommunicating with the controller 1, see the arrow between the two. Pgs. 6 lines 16-17 “The terminal device displays and saves the received ECG data in real time in the form of a GUI interface, which can be used by doctors for diagnosis and analysis of historical data.”);
the wireless transmission module connected to the control module, and configured to package and transmit the digital electrocardio-signal to cloud after receiving an instruction from the control module, wherein the display unit accesses the cloud through a network protocol and displays the digital electrocardio-signal at the cloud in real time (Fig. 1(3) Pgs. 6 lines 16-17 “The terminal device displays and saves the received ECG data in real time in the form of a GUI interface, which can be used by doctors for diagnosis and analysis of historical data.”);
a power supply module connected to the signal processing module, the analog-to-digital conversion module, the control module and the wireless transmission module, respectively, and configured to provide working voltages and currents to the signal processing module, the analog- to-digital conversion module, the control module and the wireless transmission module (See Power supply 4 in Fig. 1 supply voltage (and thereby current) to the signal processing module(signal acquisition unit 2), the analog-to-digital conversion module (part of the signal acquisition unit 2), the control module (1) and the wireless transmission module (3)).
However, Cao does not teach a signal processing module provided with a reserved female port. Gopinathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove with electrodes for collecting ECG ([0038]-[0041] and Fig. 1), and further teaches a signal processing module provided with a reserved female port ([0042]) to transfer data for processing ([0042]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao, with the signal processing module provided with a reserved female port of Gapoinathan, because such a modification would allow to transfer data for processing.
Regarding claim 5, Cao teaches wherein the flexible device is a disposable medical rubber glove (Pg. 5 lines 3-5“The right glove can be formed into multiple specifications, such as S, M, L, XL, etc., and more preferably, it is made of an elastic material that is willing to stretch, so that the right glove can automatically adapt to the palm of the user.”).
However, Cao does not teach the reserve male joint at the bottom of the glove that connects the lead lines to the female port. Gopinathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove with electrodes for collecting ECG ([0038]-[0041] and Fig. 1), and further teaches a wherein the flexible device is a disposable medical rubber glove ([0016] “The first glove layer 30 is preferably made of a cloth of natural or synthetic fibers, leather, or other suitable material. The second layer 32 is preferably made of a rubber or rubber-like material, such as Nitrile.”), a reserved male joint is provided at a bottom of the disposable medical rubber glove, each of the conductive electrodes is led out to the male joint through corresponding one of the lead lines, and the male joint is connected to the female port ([0042]) to transfer data for processing ([0042]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao, with the reserve male joint at the bottom of the glove that connects the lead lines to the female port of Gapoinathan, because such a modification would allow to transfer data for processing.
Nevertheless, Gopinathatan teaches a switched embodiment of the male and female ports. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the male and female ports, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN111134657)(IDS)(citations are from the machine translation of WO2021143945)(Hereinafter Cao) in view of Kamal et al. (US 20200085373)(Hereinafter Kamal).
Regarding claim 4, Cao teaches the invention of claim 1. Cao does not teach the display unit is a mobile terminal. Kamal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove for collecting physiological data (Abstract) including ECG data from electrode lead ([0041]), and further teaches wherein the display unit is a mobile terminal ([0057] “FIG. 5 illustrates the functionality of the patient-application 108. The patient-application 108 can render display screens (also referred to as graphical user interfaces) 502, 504, 506, 508, 510 and 512 on the computing device 104.” [0034] “The computing device 104 can be a mobile phone. Although a mobile phone is described, in alternate implementations, the computing device 104 can be a tablet computer, a phablet computer, a laptop, a desktop computer, any other computing device, or any combination thereof.”) to allow a user to view diagnostic information ([0057]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao, with the display unit is a mobile terminal of Kamal, because such a modification would allow a user to view diagnostic information.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN111134657)(IDS)(citations are from the machine translation of WO2021143945)(Hereinafter Cao) in view of Gopinathan et al. (US 20020045805)(Hereinafter Gopinathan) and Wang et al. (US 20110302694)(Hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 6, Cao teaches the invention of claim 1. Cao in view of Gopinathan does not teach a semicircular arc wrist ring, wherein the control unit is provided on the semicircular arc wrist ring. Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove with physiological sensing (Abstract), including for ECG signals ([0300]), and further teaches further comprising a semicircular arc wrist ring, wherein the control unit is provided on the semicircular arc wrist ring (See Fig. 2A where the semicircular arc wrist ring 114 is separate than the glove and connects to the glove and contains the control unit. [0088] “The system 100 illustrated in FIG. 2(a) shows the glove 102 operationally coupled to the control panel 114 on the wrist cuff 112.”) to acquire the physiological data of the user and process the data for graphical display ([0087]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao in view of Gopinathan, with the semicircular arc wrist ring, wherein the control unit is provided on the semicircular arc wrist ring of Wang, because such a modification would allow to acquire the physiological data of the user and process the data for graphical display.
Regarding claim 7, Cao teaches the invention of claim 1. Cao in view of Gopinathan does not teach a flexible circuit board, wherein the control unit is integrated on the flexible circuit board, and the flexible circuit board is placed within the semicircular arc wrist ring. Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove with physiological sensing (Abstract), including for ECG signals ([0300]), and further teaches further comprising a flexible circuit board, wherein the control unit is integrated on the flexible circuit board, and the flexible circuit board is placed within the semicircular arc wrist ring (See Fig. 2A where the semicircular arc wrist ring 114 is separate than the glove and connects to the glove and contains the control unit. [0088] “The system 100 illustrated in FIG. 2(a) shows the glove 102 operationally coupled to the control panel 114 on the wrist cuff 112.” Examiner notes that a control unit must have a circuit board to function.) to acquire the physiological data of the user and process the data for graphical display ([0087]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao in view of Gopinathan, with the flexible circuit board, wherein the control unit is integrated on the flexible circuit board, and the flexible circuit board is placed within the semicircular arc wrist ring of Wang, because such a modification would allow to acquire the physiological data of the user and process the data for graphical display.
However, none of Cao, Gopinathan, and Wang teach a flexible PCB. Although Wang discloses the claimed control unit separate than the glove that has a circuit board, the flexible circuit board can also be used to easily attach and bend on the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the circuit board/PCB to be made from a flexible material, for the purpose of easily attach and bend on the user, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN111134657)(IDS)(citations are from the machine translation of WO2021143945)(Hereinafter Cao) in view of Gopinathan et al. (US 20020045805)(Hereinafter Gopinathan) and Wang et al. (US 20110302694)(Hereinafter Wang) and Moaddeb et al. (US 20190269914)(Hereinafter Moaddeb).
Regarding claim 8, Cao teaches the invention of claim 1. However, Cao does not teach the female port on the signal processing module extends to an outer surface of the semicircular arc wrist ring. Gopinathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a glove with electrodes for collecting ECG ([0038]-[0041] and Fig. 1), and further teaches a teaches the female port on the signal processing module extends to an outer surface of the semicircular arc wrist ring ([0042]) to transfer data for processing ([0042]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao, with the female port on the signal processing module extends to an outer surface of the semicircular arc wrist ring of Gapoinathan, because such a modification would allow to transfer data for processing.
However, Cao, Wang, and Gopinathan does not teach wherein the semicircular arc wrist ring is made of a thin steel sheet bent into a ring along a long axis, the thin steel sheet is wrapped with silica gel; one end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a bandage, the bandage is provided with a loop fastener and the other end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a hook fastener; the loop fastener is adhered to the hook fastener; when worn, the semicircular arc wrist ring is disposed such that the flexible circuit board is located on a palm side of a hand, and an opening of the semicircular arc wrist ring is located on a back side of the hand. Moaddeb, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a limb worn device that obtains ECG signal ([0040] and Fig. 2), and further teaches one end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a bandage, the bandage is provided with a loop fastener and the other end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a hook fastener; the loop fastener is adhered to the hook fastener; when worn, the semicircular arc wrist ring is disposed such that the flexible circuit board is located on a palm side of a hand, and an opening of the semicircular arc wrist ring is located on a back side of the hand ([0039] “The wearable blood pressure control system 10 comprises a housing 12 and a band 14 coupled to an underside 16 of the housing 12. The wearable blood pressure control system 10 is shown in FIG. 1 in an unfastened condition. The band 14 is secured to the underside 16 of the housing 12 by epoxy or adhesive 18. In other embodiments, the band 14 may be secured by fasteners, sewing, fusing, or may slide through slits or elongate spaces in the housing 12. The band 14 is configured to wrap around the wrist of a user/patient and secure to itself by use of a hook and loop (Velcro®-type) system 20” See Fig. 2 where the opening is on a back side of the wrist.) to optimize placement on a particularly-sized patient ([0039]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Cao Wang, and Gopinathan, with the semicircular arc wrist ring is made of a thin steel sheet bent into a ring along a long axis, the thin steel sheet is wrapped with silica gel; one end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a bandage, the bandage is provided with a loop fastener and the other end of the semicircular arc wrist ring is provided with a hook fastener; the loop fastener is adhered to the hook fastener; when worn, the semicircular arc wrist ring is disposed such that the flexible circuit board is located on a palm side of a hand, and an opening of the semicircular arc wrist ring is located on a back side of the hand of Moaddeb, because such a modification would allow to optimize placement on a particularly-sized patient.
However, none of Cao, Gopinathan, Wang, or Moaddeb teach a thin steel sheet bent into the ring and wrapped with silica gel. Although Moaddeb discloses the claimed semicircular arc wrist ring and uses an adhesive or epoxy ([0039]), the semicircular arc wrist ring is made of a thin steel sheet bent into a ring along a long axis, the thin steel sheet is wrapped with silica gel would allow to optimize the form factor onto the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use thin steel sheet bent into the ring and wrapped with silica gel, for the optimizing the form factor onto the body, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/MOUSSA HADDAD/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/PAMELA M. BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796