DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants amendment to the claims have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hutchinson et al. (US 20190202126), hereinafter referred to as Hutchinson, in view of Merenda (US Pat No. 4,622,039), hereinafter referred to as Merenda, in view of Wittendorfer (US 20130192646), hereinafter referred to as Wittendorfer.
Re claim 1, Hutchinson teaches an exhaust system for an apparatus that removes support material from an additively manufactured part, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a chamber (e.g. 16); and
a spray header (e.g. 42) in the chamber and oriented to spray a fluid at the additively manufactured part (e.g. 10),
wherein the exhaust system comprises: an exhaust channel (e.g. 78) having an inlet end communicating with the chamber and an outlet end
Hutchinson does not teach the limitation of an air supply channel having an inlet for receiving air and an outlet; and wherein the exhaust channel is located in proximity to said air supply channel so that air drawn from the chamber through the exhaust channel imparts heat to the air supply channel to cause condensation of vapor in the air drawn from the chamber to occur.
However, Merenda teaches a system for removing harmful vapor from a process chamber (16) comprising an exhaust channel and an air supply channel (see Fig 1 “Air”) having an inlet for receiving air and an outlet (Fig 1), wherein the exhaust channel is located in proximity to said air supply channel (see Fig 1) so that air drawn from the chamber through the exhaust channel imparts heat to the air supply channel to cause condensation of vapor in the air drawn from the chamber to occur (see e.g. C3-lns 34-45).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hutchinson and integrated an air supply channel having an inlet for receiving air and an outlet; and wherein the exhaust channel is located in proximity to said air supply channel so that air drawn from the chamber through the exhaust channel imparts heat to the air supply channel to cause condensation of vapor in the air drawn from the chamber to occur, as taught by Merenda, in order to provide an efficient means of removing and capturing potential harmful vapors from a process exhaust stream.
Hutchinson does not teach the limitation of the air received in the inlet being ambient air.
However, Wittendorfer teaches a system for removing harmful vapor from a process chamber (16) comprising an exhaust channel (18) and an air supply channel (see Fig 1 “22”) having an inlet for receiving ambient air (air received in 22) and an outlet (Fig 1).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Hutchinson and integrated the air received in the inlet being ambient air, as taught by Wittendorfer, in order to reduce the loss of resources, in particular of cleaning agents and heat (see Wittendorfer ¶ 10).
Re claim 8, Hutchinson, as modified, teaches the exhaust system of claim 1. Hutchinson further teaches the limitation of a baffle (78) located in the exhaust channel
Re claim 9, Hutchinson, as modified, teaches the exhaust system of claim 1. Merenda further teaches the limitation of at least one sensor located in at least one of the air supply channel and the exhaust channel, wherein the at least one sensor senses at least one of temperature, pressure, and flow (e.g. C3-lns 40-45).
Re claim 10, Hutchinson, as modified, teaches the exhaust system of claim 1. Hutchinson further teaches the limitation of a fan (e.g. 60) located to cause air to flow into the air supply channel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-13 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 3/7/2026