DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 8, 2023, August 5, 2024 and December 2, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 defines “secondary particles” on the third to last line, but then refers to “the secondary particle”, such being a singular/plural mismatch. For purposes of this Office action, “the secondary particle” is taken to mean “the secondary particles”. Claims 2-7 are also rejected as depending upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Hydrothermal preparing agglomerate LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material with submicron primary particle for alleviating microcracks, Journal of Power Sources, Vol. 477, November 1, 2020, 228701, pp. 1-9) in view of Kim (US Pub. No. 2018/0026268).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-7, Zhang teaches a cathode (positive electrode) and anode (negative electrode) including a positive electrode active material for a secondary battery using an electrolyte of LiPF6 in ethylene carbonate-ethyl methyl carbonate (a non-aqueous electrolyte) (page 2, section 2.3), wherein the positive electrode active material is LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 (such material including a lithium-transition metal composite oxide having a layered structure and containing at least Ni and Mn, with the proportions of Ni and Mn falling within the claimed ranges), with specific embodiments having Ni in the lithium layer of 3.27%, 5.59%, and 7.41% (taken to meet the claimed limitation of proportion of metal elements excluding Li and present in the Li layer of 3% to 8%) (page 3, table 1), with specific embodiment 850°C having a half-width m ≈ 0.11° and n ≈ 0.14°, resulting in m/n of about 0.79, specific embodiment 800°C having a half-width m ≈ 0.17° and n ≈ 0.2°, resulting in m/n of about 0.85, and specific embodiment 750°C having a half-width m ≈ 0.28° and n ≈ 0.34°, resulting in m/n of about 0.82 (page 4, figure 3b), all these embodiments falling within the claimed range of m/n, and Zhang teaches that the lithium-transition metal composite oxide is an agglomerate of primary particles (title), taken to read on the claimed secondary particles. Zhang does not specifically disclose the porosity inside the secondary particles. Kim teaches a positive electrode active material LiaNi1-x-y-zCoxMnyMzO2 where 0.95≤a≤1.3, 0<x≤0.33, 0≤y≤0.5, 0≤z≤0.05, and 0.33≤1-x-y-x≤0.95 (paragraphs [0076]-[0078] and [0092]) (such a formula having an embodiment of LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 identical to Zhang), as well as teaching that the active material may have an overall porosity of about 1% to about 8% (paragraph [0089]), overlapping the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a porosity as taught by Kim in the positive electrode of Zhang as a known porosity for an active material with predictable results, such being a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the use of an element M which can be B, Ca, Sr, Ti, Fe, Zr and/or Al in a range of 0% to 5% (paragraphs [0076]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the use of Co in a range of from greater than 0 to 33% (paragraphs [0076]-[0078]), overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claims 4-5, Kim teaches using a hetero-element compound between the primary particles, where the hetero element can be Zr, Al, W and/or B (paragraph [0086]).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 January 22, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749