DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 9 is amended. Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are previously presented. Claims 1-18 are pending and presently examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 11, 2026 with respect to the prior art have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, said rejections under § 103 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bouchuiguir et al. (WO 2020225098). Accordingly, this action is non-final as the new ground of rejection was not necessitated by Applicant’s response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 9, and 17 the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention such as what would be within substantially or not within substantially. The use of the term “substantially” renders indefinite the degree of perpendicularity to a transverse direction for a front wall, a back wall, and a plurality of lateral walls in Claim 5, the degree the outer cover lies flush with outer surface of the outer casing in Claim 9 and also the degree the inner surface of the inner cover is continuous in Claim 17.
Claims 6-8 are indefinite by dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And /or
Claims 1-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bouchuiguir et al. (WO 2020225098, cited on 6/08/2023 IDS).
With respect to the §102(a)(2) portion of the rejection, the applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Bouchuiguir discloses an aerosol generation device having a thermal bridge arranged to dissipate heat from the heating chamber (abstract); the aerosol generation device (100) comprising a main body (110, casing, Fig. 3; page 6 lines 23-25) configured to receive an aerosol generating article (an aperture 103 is provided through which an aerosol substrate can be inserted (104) (Fig. 3, page 6 lines 25-26), the main body comprising:
an outer casing having an inner surface and outer surface (110a, left part, Fig. 3, page 9, lines 29-32; inwardly facing and outwardly facing surfaces, page 10, lines 5-6);
an inner casing having an inner surface and an outer surface (107a, left part. Fig.4, page 9, lines 9-10; inner and outer surfaces are best seen in Fig. 5), the inner casing being positioned inside the outer casing adjacent an inner surface of the outer casing (the casing 110 fits around, e.g., covers the chassis 107, page 8, lines 25-27; which reasonably suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art, the inner casing 107a must be adjacent an inner surface of the outer casing 110a);
an inner cover having an inner surface and outer surface (107b, right part, Fig. 4, page 9, lines 8-11; the chassis 107 is split into two generally equal portions that are mirror images of one another therefore one having ordinary skill in the is reasonably suggested the inner cover must have an inner surface and an outer surface as does the inner housing 107a as discussed above), the inner cover being secured to a periphery of the inner casing (the left part 107a and the right part 107b fit (i.e., secured) together at a plane that bisects the aerosol generation device 100, annotated Fig. 4, page 9, lines 9-18) to define a space between the inner surface of the inner cover and the inner surface of the inner casing (the internal components of the aerosol generation device 100 can be seen most clearly in Fig. 5, in which the casing 110 and the right part 107b of the chassis 107 are removed. This anticipates the claimed space as the internal components are shown mounted inside the inner housing 107a with the inner cover 107b removed);
an outer cover having an inner surface and outer surface (110b, left part, Fig. 3, page 9, lines 29-32; inwardly facing and outwardly facing surfaces, page 10, lines 5-6) the outer cover being positioned over the inner cover (the inwardly facing surface of 110 (e.g., 110a,b) is contoured to follow the outer extent of the chassis 107 (107a,b), see 110b in Fig. 3, anticipating the outer cover positioned over the inner cover), a periphery of the outer cover contacting a periphery of the outer casing (the left part 110a and the right part 110b fit together at the same plane that that the left part 107a and right part 107b fit together, annotated Fig. 3, page 9, line 29 to page 10 line 4); wherein:
the inner surfaces of the outer casing and the outer cover entirely cover the outer surfaces of the inner casing and the inner cover (In this embodiment, both the inwardly facing and the outwardly facing surfaces of the casing 110 are smooth. The inwardly facing surface is contoured to follow the outer extent of the chassis 107, e.g. in the illustrated embodiment the outer extent of the ribs 124. The inwardly facing surface of the casing 110 fits flush with the outer extent of the chassis 107. This allows the casing 110 to be bonded to the chassis 107 securely, e.g. by glue page 10, lines 5-10; thus anticipating the outer casing and outer cover completely cover the outer surfaces of the inner casing and the inner cover);
the outer casing forms a single piece (left part 110a Fig. 3).
This anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Bouchuiguir discloses the casing 110 being metal (page 8, lines 29-30). This anticipates the listing of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Bouchuiguir discloses the inner cover and the inner surface of the outer cover are positioned adjacent to each other (the casing 110 fits around, e.g., covers the chassis 107, page 8, lines 25-27; which reasonably suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art, the inner cover 107b must be adjacent an inner surface of the outer cover 110b). This anticipates claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Bouchuiguir discloses the inner casing is received entirely inside the outer casing (the casing 110 fits around, e.g., covers the chassis 107 page 8, lines 25-27; which reasonably suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art the inner casing 107a must be received entirely inside outer casing 110a). This anticipates claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Bouchuiguir discloses the main body has an elongated shape according to a longitudinal direction (casing 110 of the aerosol generation device 100 is generally elongate, Fig. 3, page 7, lines 24-26);
the main body defines a back wall and front wall extending perpendicularly to a transverse direction of the aerosol generation device and plurality of lateral walls extending along the transverse direction between the front and back walls, the transverse direction being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (the plane is parallel to the length of the aerosol generation device 100, that length being in a direction between the first end 113 and the second end 115, and extending front (anticipates transverse direction) to back of the aerosol generation device 100 in the orientation described here, annotated Fig. 4, page 9, lines 11-16 and line 29 to page 10 line 4; therefore the right part 110b anticipates a front wall, left part 110a anticipates a back wall and lateral walls as shown in annotated Fig. 3) This anticipates claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Bouchuiguir discloses the back wall and the lateral walls are formed by the outer casing (left part 110a, annotated Fig. 3). This anticipates claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Bouchuiguir discloses the claimed rounded edge between the back wall each lateral wall (annotated Fig. 3). This anticipates claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Bouchuiguir discloses the front wall is formed by the outer cover (right part 110a, Fig. 3). This anticipates claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Bouchuiguir discloses the external surface of the aerosol generating device is formed by the outer surface of the outer casing and the outer surface of the outer cover (the casing 110 provides an outer or exterior surface of the aerosol generation device 100, Fig. 3, page 8, lines 25-28); and the periphery of the outer cover contacts the periphery of the outer casing so that the outer surface of the outer cover (110b) lies flush with the outer surface of the outer casing (110a) to define a continuous external surface along the peripheries (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Bouchuiguir discloses wherein the aerosol generating device comprises an aerosol generating unit in the space defined between the inner surface of the inner cover and inner casing (102, heating chamber; the internal components of the aerosol generation device 100 can be most clearly seen in Figure 5, in which the casing 110 and the right part 107b (inner cover) are removed and in Figure 6, in which the casing 110 and the entire chassis 107 are removed. It can be seen the heating chamber 102 is surrounded by insulation 121, page 10, lines 29-32), the aerosol generating unit including a cavity for receiving an aerosol generating article (aerosol substrate carrier 104 can be received through the aperture 103 into the heating chamber 102 (anticipates a cavity for receiving an aerosol generating article) Fig. 7, page 11, lines 4-9). This anticipates claim 10.
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Bouchuiguir discloses the aerosol generating unit further comprises a power source received in a power source cavity extending along a longitudinal direction (The internal components of the aerosol generation device 100 can be seen most clearly in Figure 5, in which the casing 110 and the right part 107b (i.e., the inner cover) of the chassis 107 are removed an electrical and The indicator 101 is more visible along with the power source 112, e.g., cell or battery of the aerosol generation device is arranged inside the chassis 107, which reasonably suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art the right part 107b must be designed to hold the power source 112 in, Figs. 5 and 6, page 10, line 29-page 11, line 3). This anticipates claims 11 and 16.
Regarding claim 17, Bouchuiguir discloses the inner surface of the inner cover is continuous (right part 107b is shown as a single piece in Fig. 4 which reasonably suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art the inner surface of right part 107b must be continuous). This anticipates claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouchuiguir et al. (WO 2020225098, cited on 6/08/2023 IDS) as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, Bouchuiguir discloses the thermal bridge (119) is itself mounted to the chassis (107) (page 13, lines 9-10) and in the illustrated embodiment the thermal bridge (119) comprises an aperture part (118) and a casing part (120) (page 13, lines 13-15).
In the illustrated embodiment (Fig. 4), the thermal bridge 119 comprises metal. In this embodiment, the metal is aluminum and that aluminum is used for its high thermal conductivity and because it is relatively lightweight and provides for easy manufacturing in comparison to other metals. In this first embodiment, an outwardly facing surface of the casing part 120 of the thermal bridge 119 is in good thermal contact with the casing (110) (page 13, line 27 - page 14, line 2). Further, the thermal bridge (119) is arranged to provide a path for heat to flow from the open end (114) of the heating chamber to the casing (110). As the casing (110) itself has a relatively high thermal conductivity, e.g., because it comprises metal, the heat flowing from the open end (114) of the heating chamber via the thermal bridge (119) is conducted by the casing (110), and thereby spreads around the casing (110), said heat can then radiate aways from the aerosol generation device (100) effectively (page 14, lines 6-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the casing (110) of aluminum for the benefit of the high thermal conductivity, relatively light weight and ease of manufacturing of aluminum. One having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success with said modification because any heat transferred from the heating chamber to the outer casing of the aerosol generation device would be radiated away from the aerosol generation device as exemplified by Bouchuiguir. This reads over claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, Bouchuiguir et al. (WO 2020225098) is the closest prior art of record. Bouchuiguir does not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed combined structure wherein the inner cover further defines power source venting holes.
Considering the above prior art, it is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed combined structure without hindsight.
Claims 13-15 are objected to due to dependency.
Conclusion
/RONNIE KIRBY JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766