DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the Request for Continued Examiantion filed on 07-22-2026. As directed, claim 1 has been amended and new claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-21 are currently pending examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, see Remarks as filed pages 6-8, that neither of Alston nor Dunne disclose and/or teach wherein the single aperture is positioned 50% or more toward the first end, as is required by claim 1. Applicant, in the same section, further argues that Dunne does not identify any reasons why positioning a single aperture at the claimed location is of particular advantage, and additionally notes that the inventors of the instant application decidedly chose this position for the aperture because it has location-specific benefits. These are outlined in the instant specification, and include: improved powder delivery, and mitigation of unintentional powder loss. Thus, Applicant concludes that the selection of the aperture’s position is not arbitrary, and is instead critical to the instant invention, and provides unexpected benefit. Applicant therefore indicates that none of claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 13, 17, nor 19 are rendered obvious by the Alston-Dunne combination.
Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, and as to the presently relied on sections of Dunne for its variable aperture position, are persuasive. However, in a separate embodiment in Dunne, not previously relied upon, does in fact contemplate a single aperture being placed through a tubular side wall at an upstream end (see Fig. 18D, note paragraph 140, lines 7-10, where the upper and lower ends are each closed; paragraph 141, lines 1-8 which discuss the advantages of placing the hole 41 at the side wall as opposed to the dome end; further note Figs. 19A-C and paragraph 148, lines 1-9 which indicates that the upstream end of the capsule is near inlet 33 which is positioned at the domed end of the capsule which includes the aperture in Fig. 18D, and the flattened end is positioned closer to the downstream end where inhalation takes place, this positioning is noted because it mirrors the placement of the upstream/downstream ends of the Alston capsule relative to user inhalation). While Dunne does not explicitly describe that the aperture is positioned 50% or more toward the first end, based on the placement of aperture 42 in Figure 18D, one of ordinary skill would recognize based on the illustration that the aperture is oriented much closer to the first, domed end than the middle of the capsule 31. The same is true of the 75% or more limitation of new claim 21. Thus, the previous combination of Alston and Dunne to reject claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 13, 17, and 19 will be maintained, but with reliance on new portions of Dunne to teach the language of claims 1 and 21, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
At pages 9-12 of the Remarks as filed, Applicant additionally argues that none of Zuber (claims 3 and 16), Stenzler (claim 6), Buehler (claims 7, 11-12, 18, and 20), Zuber ‘517 (claim 10), nor Buehler ‘397 (claims 14-15) cure the alleged deficiencies of the Alston-Dunne combination with respect to claim 1.
As has been argued above, new reliance on Dunne will be used to render obvious amended claims 1 and 21. As Applicant has submitted no additional arguments with respect to any of the additional teaching references, each reference will be maintained for its respective dependent claim rejections, where the rejection of claim 1 is updated to address the amended language thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 13, 17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587).
Regarding claim 1, Alston discloses an inhaler article (100) (paragraph 23, lines 1-2 and 10-14; Fig. 1A) comprising:
a body (105) comprising an upstream end and a downstream end (paragraph 23, lines 3-5; see annotated Fig. 1A below), a capsule receptacle (110), and an airflow path extending from the capsule receptacle (110) to an opening (145) at the downstream end (paragraph 23, lines 3-5 and 10-14; paragraph 25, lines 1-4, see arrows 155 and 160; Fig. 1A); and
a capsule (125) disposed inside the capsule receptacle (110) (paragraph 23, lines 5-7; paragraph 22, lines 1-4; Fig. 1A), the capsule (125) comprising:
a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 1A below);
a tubular side wall extending between the first and second ends (see annotated Fig. 1A below for first and second ends which constitute the extreme tips of the capsule; see Figs. 1A-C for the lateral dimension of the capsule 125, and Figs. 2A-B for the circular cross-section, given that the cross-section is circular, and the capsule extends into the plane of the page in Figs. 2A-B, the capsule is regarded as tubular, and the tubular side wall is defined as the circular boundary of the capsule extending form the first end to the second end);
only a single aperture (130) in the capsule (125) (paragraph 23, lines 7-10; Fig. 1A); and
an inhalable powder disposed inside the capsule (125) (paragraph 23, lines 7-10; paragraph 22, lines 4-8),
wherein the first end of the capsule (125) is oriented toward the upstream end of the body, and wherein the single aperture (130) is disposed closer to the first end than the second end (see annotated Fig. 1A below, where the first end of the capsule coincides with the upstream end, and the single aperture 130 is disposed at the first end and is therefore closer to the first end than the second end).
Because Alston incorporates the aperture at the first end, Alston fails to disclose the single aperture extending through the tubular side wall, since the tubular side wall is defined as extending between the first and second ends, and further fails to disclose wherein the single aperture is positioned 50% or more toward the first end.
However, Dunne teaches a capsule (31) for use with an inhaler article (paragraph 140, lines 1-4; abstract, lines 1-4; Figs. 18A-D), including a single aperture (42) extending through the side wall of the capsule (31) (paragraph 140, lines 1-10; paragraph 141, lines 1-8; Fig. 18D), with the single aperture (42) positioned 50% or more toward an analogous first end (see extreme end of 44 at the tip of the capsule 31) (paragraph 141, lines 1-8; Fig. 18D; note that MPEP 2125 I dictates the use of drawings as prior art, particularly for anticipating the claimed language, so long as the structures claimed are clearly shown; the drawings “must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art”) in order to increase the dosage of powder delivered, and increase the inhalable fraction of powder introduced to the user’s lungs as compared with an aperture in the center of the domed first end (paragraph 141, lines 1-8; Figs. 18C-D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the placement of the single aperture of Dunne to be positioned through the tubular side wall and to be positioned 50% or more toward the first end of the capsule, as taught by Dunne, in order to increase the dosage of powder delivered, and increase the inhalable fraction of powder introduced to the user’s lungs as compared with an aperture in the center of the first end.
If it is determined that Dunne does not explicitly contemplate placement of the single aperture 50% or more toward the first end based on Figure 18D, then:
While Dunne does not explicitly teach that the single aperture is positioned 50% or more toward the first end, based on the illustrated and described placement of the single aperture (42) (see paragraph 141, lines 5-8 and Fig. 18D), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the single aperture be placed 50% or more toward the first end (see extreme end of 44 at the tip of the capsule 31) of the capsule (31), given that Figure 18D illustrates that the aperture (42) is positioned closer to the analogous first end (see extreme end of 44 at the tip of the capsule 31) than a center of the capsule (31). It is the Examiner’s position that Figure 18D and its accompanying description (paragraph 141, lines 5-8) would reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan that the single aperture would be positioned at an extreme end of the side wall, adjacent the first end, and in context, this position would be 50% or more toward the first end of the capsule, particularly given that the drawings in a prior art reference can be relied on for what the reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan off (see MPEP 2125 I).
Regarding claim 2, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston further discloses wherein each of the first end and the second end comprises a hemisphere (refer to annotated Fig. 1A above for the first and second ends; note in Fig. 1A, the first and second ends are half circles, and thus hemispherical).
Regarding claim 4, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to explicitly disclose wherein the single aperture is within 2 mm to within 10 mm of the first end as measured along a longitudinal axis of the capsule.
However, Dunne further teaches that the position of the aperture in the capsule is “very variable” in its design in order to produce optimized aperture structures in the capsule relative to a particular powder encased within the capsule (paragraph 36, lines 7-14), and additionally illustrates that the relied upon single aperture (42) is positioned at an extreme end of the side wall, adjacent the first end, and in context, this position would be 50% or more toward the first end of the capsule (see Fig. 18D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the placement of the single aperture of modified Alston to be within 2 mm to within 10 mm of the first end as measured along a longitudinal axis of the capsule, given that Dunne teaches that optimized nebulization of different preparations and/or powders can be accommodated by varying the position of the aperture. Further, given that Applicant places no criticality on the claimed range, stating only that the single aperture may be positioned in the given range without supporting evidence as to why the range is necessary or produces an unexpected result (page 2, line 32-page 3, line 4; page 9, lines 4-9; page 12, lines 13-15; and page 15, lines 8-12), the courts have concluded that “”[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05.II). In this case, Dunne teaches the ordinarily skilled artisan that modifying the aperture position can be used to routinely optimize the nebulization of powder within a capsule. Thus, finding the workable ranges for optimizing the powder nebulization is not inventive, given Dunne’s teaching.
Regarding claim 5, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Presently modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the single aperture has an area of 0.2 mm2 to 1.5 mm2.
However, Dunne further teaches an aperture area of 0.196 mm2 to 1.766 mm2 (paragraph 117, lines 7-10, where the range of hole diameter of 0.5-1.5 mm, using the area of a circle as A=(pi)r2, results in an area of roughly 0.196 mm2 to 1.766 mm2, where the respective radii are 0.25 mm and 0.75 mm).
In the case where the range taught in the prior art overlaps or lies inside of that of the claim, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05.I, and In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen aperture areas in the range of 0.196 mm2 to 1.766 mm2, as taught by Dunne, as a known area size for the aperture within a capsule for dispersion of powder with a reasonable expectation of success. This range overlaps that which is claimed and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston further discloses wherein the inhalable powder comprises flavor particles (paragraph 45, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston further discloses wherein the capsule (125) is a polymeric capsule (paragraph 31, lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 13, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston further discloses wherein the upstream end of the body (105) forms a distal end of the capsule receptacle (110) (see Fig. 1A, and its annotated version above, where the distal end of the chamber 110 can be defined as the area of the chamber 110 disposed distal to opening 145, which is situated at the upstream end of the body 105).
Regarding claim 17, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 2, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to explicitly disclose wherein the single aperture is within 2 mm to within 10 mm of the first end as measured along a longitudinal axis of the capsule.
However, Dunne teaches that the position of the aperture in the capsule is “very variable” in its design in order to produce optimized aperture structures in the capsule relative to a particular powder encased within the capsule (paragraph 36, lines 7-14) , and additionally illustrates that the relied upon single aperture (42) is positioned at an extreme end of the side wall, adjacent the first end, and in context, this position would be 50% or more toward the first end of the capsule (see Fig. 18D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the placement of the single aperture of modified Alston to be within 2 mm to within 10 mm of the first end as measured along a longitudinal axis of the capsule, given that Dunne teaches that optimized nebulization of different preparations and/or powders can be accommodated by varying the position of the aperture. Further, given that Applicant places no criticality on the claimed range, stating only that the single aperture may be positioned in the given range without supporting evidence as to why the range is necessary or produces an unexpected result (page 2, line 32-page 3, line 4; page 9, lines 4-9; page 12, lines 13-15; and page 15, lines 8-12), the courts have concluded that “”[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05.II). In this case, Dunne teaches the ordinarily skilled artisan that modifying the aperture position can be used to routinely optimize the nebulization of powder within a capsule. Thus, finding the workable ranges for optimizing the powder nebulization is not inventive, given Dunne’s teaching.
Regarding claim 19, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 2, as discussed above.
Alston further discloses wherein the capsule (125) is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (paragraph 31, lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 21, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston further discloses wherein the single aperture (aperture 130 of Alston, modified to be positioned as aperture 42 in Dunne’s Figure 18D and described at Dunne’s paragraph 141, lines 1-8) is positioned 75% or more towards the first end (see annotated Fig. 1A of Alston above for the first end, and note analogous first end, tip of 44, in Dunne’s Figure 18D; Dunne: Fig. 18D and paragraph 141, lines 1-8).
If it is determined that Dunne does not explicitly contemplate placement of the single aperture 75% or more toward the first end based on Figure 18D, then:
While Dunne does not explicitly teach that the single aperture is positioned 75% or more toward the first end, based on the illustrated and described placement of the single aperture (42) (see paragraph 141, lines 5-8 and Fig. 18D), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the single aperture be placed 75% or more toward the first end (see extreme end of 44 at the tip of the capsule 31) of the capsule (31), given that Figure 18D illustrates that the aperture (42) is positioned nearly adjacent to the analogous first end (see extreme end of 44 at the tip of the capsule 31) of the capsule (31). It is the Examiner’s position that Figure 18D and its accompanying description (paragraph 141, lines 5-8) would reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan that the single aperture would be positioned at an extreme end of the side wall, adjacent the first end, and in context, this position would be 75% or more toward the first end of the capsule, particularly given that the drawings in a prior art reference can be relied on for what the reasonably apprise the ordinarily skilled artisan off (see MPEP 2125 I).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587), as applied to claims 1-2 above, in further view of Zuber (WO 2019/003118).
Regarding claim 3, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
While Alston illustrates that the capsule receptable diameter is larger than the capsule diameter (see Figs. 2A-B), modified Alston fails to explicitly disclose wherein the capsule receptacle has a diameter that is up to 25% greater than the capsule diameter.
However, Zuber teaches a capsule cavity and a capsule, wherein the outer diameter of the capsule is within 80%-99% of the inner diameter of the capsule cavity, and specifically wherein the capsule outer diameter is 5.85 mm and the cavity inner diameter is 6.6 mm (page 18, line 28-page 19, line 3), where 6.6/5.85=1.13, or the receptacle diameter is 13% larger than the capsule diameter.
Given that the claim, as interpreted above, requires the receptacle diameter to be no more than 25% greater than the capsule diameter, and in Zuber’s example, the receptacle diameter is 13% larger than the capsule diameter, and thus is a specific example within the claimed range, the range is anticipated (see MPEP 2131.03.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capsule receptacle diameter and the capsule diameter of Alston to be 6.6 mm and 5.85 mm respectively, as taught by Zuber, as known and functional dimensions for a capsule receptacle and its associated capsule, where the receptacle is still larger than the capsule as required by Alston’s Figures 2A-B.
Regarding claim 16, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 2, as discussed above.
While Alston illustrates that the capsule receptable diameter is larger than the capsule diameter (see Figs. 2A-B), modified Alston fails to explicitly disclose wherein the capsule receptacle has a diameter that is up to 25% greater than the capsule diameter.
However, Zuber teaches a capsule cavity and a capsule, wherein the outer diameter of the capsule is within 80%-99% of the inner diameter of the capsule cavity, and specifically wherein the capsule outer diameter is 5.85 mm and the cavity inner diameter is 6.6 mm (page 18, line 28-page 19, line 3), where 6.6/5.85=1.13, or the receptacle diameter is 13% larger than the capsule diameter.
Given that the claim, as interpreted above, requires the receptacle diameter to be up to 25% greater than the capsule diameter, and in Zuber’s example, the receptacle diameter is 13% larger than the capsule diameter, and thus is a specific example within the claimed range, the range is anticipated (see MPEP 2131.03.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capsule receptacle diameter and the capsule diameter of Alston to be 6.6 mm and 5.85 mm respectively, as taught by Zuber, as known and functional dimensions for a capsule receptacle and its associated capsule, where the receptacle is still larger than the capsule as required by Alston’s Figures 2A-B.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Stenzler (US 2018/0093050).
Regarding claim 6, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the inhalable powder comprises nicotine.
However, Stenzler teaches a dry powder inhaler (10) including a capsule (30) (paragraph 27, lines 1-12; Fig. 1), wherein one example of the inhalable powder within the capsule (30) is nicotine (paragraph 11, lines 1-3), and inhalation of nicotine reducing the hazardous effects of smoking (paragraph 2, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the inhalable powder as nicotine, as taught by Stenzler, as a known compound that can be predictably dispensed from a capsule for inhalation, and reduce the hazardous effects of smoking while still providing the capability of ingesting nicotine.
Claims 7, 11-12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Buehler (WO 2018/220476).
Regarding claim 7, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the inhalable powder comprises nicotine particles with a mass median aerodynamic diameter particle size of 0.5-10 micrometers.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (200) including a capsule (201) for dispensing powder comprising nicotine particles, wherein the nicotine particles have a mass median aerodynamic diameter particle size of 1-5 micrometers (Fig. 1; page 18, lines 15-19; claim 9, lines 1-3).
In the case where the range disclosed or taught by the prior art lies within the claimed range, the range is considered prima facie obvious (se MPEP 2144.05.I, and In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the inhalable powder as nicotine, as taught by Buehler, as a known compound that can be predictably dispensed from a capsule for inhalation, and to have further provided the MMAD of the nicotine particles in the range of 1-5 micrometers, which lies within the claimed range and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the body is constructed of cellulosic material.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (200) including a capsule (201) for dispensing powder comprising nicotine particles (page 18, lines 15-19), wherein the body of the device is formed of a cellulosic material which may be biodegradable (page 3, lines 27-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the body of the modified Alston inhaler article to be comprised of a cellulosic material, as taught by Buehler, as a known material for fabricating the inhaler article body from that may also be biodegradable.
Regarding claim 12, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston discloses wherein the body (105) comprises a tubular member (see Figs. 2A-B).
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the tubular member is constructed of cellulosic material.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (200) including a capsule (201) for dispensing powder comprising nicotine particles (page 18, lines 15-19), wherein the body of the device is formed of a cellulosic material which may be biodegradable (page 3, lines 27-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tubular member of the body of the modified Alston inhaler article to be comprised of a cellulosic material, as taught by Buehler, as a known material for fabricating the inhaler article body from, that may also be biodegradable.
Regarding claim 18, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the inhalable powder comprises nicotine salt.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (200) including a capsule (201) for dispensing powder comprising nicotine particles (page 18, lines 15-19), wherein nicotine is defined as including nicotine salts (page 3, lines 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the inhalable powder as nicotine salts, as taught by Buehler, as a known compound that can be predictably dispensed from a capsule for inhalation.
Regarding claim 20, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Alston discloses wherein the body (105) comprises a tubular member (see Figs. 2A-B).
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the tubular member of the body is constructed of paper.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (200) including a capsule (201) for dispensing powder comprising nicotine particles (page 18, lines 15-19), wherein the body of the device is formed of paper which may be biodegradable (page 3, lines 27-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the body of the modified Alston inhaler article to be comprised of paper, as taught by Buehler, as a known material for fabricating the inhaler article body from that may also be biodegradable.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Zuber (US 2018/0369517).
Regarding claim 10, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
Modified Alston fails to disclose wherein the capsule is a size 1 to a size 4 capsule.
However, Zuber teaches an inhaler article (1) for the inhalation of nicotine, wherein the capsule is chosen to be a size 3 capsule (paragraph 24, lines 1-14; paragraph 58, lines 1-9; Fig. 1 note MPEP 2131.03, where a specific example from the prior art within the claimed range anticipates the range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capsule size of modified Alston to specifically be a size 3 capsule for inhaling nicotine powder, as taught by Zuber, as a known formulation and capsule size for use with an inhaler article.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alston (US 2004/0206350) in view of Dunne (US 2014/0182587), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Buehler (US 2017/0135397).
Regarding claim 14, Alston in view of Dunne disclose the inhaler article of claim 1, as discussed above.
While Alston discloses an opening (145) through which a user can inhale at the downstream end of the body (105) (paragraph 23, lines 9-13; Fig. 1A, note the annotated version above for the downstream end), presently modified Alston fails to disclose a mouthpiece element received at the opening.
However, Buehler teaches an inhaler article (30) to deliver nicotine powder (paragraph 74, lines 1-2; Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the device further includes a detachable mouthpiece element (paragraph 57, lines 11-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Alston to further include a detachable mouthpiece element placed at the opening at the downstream end, such a detachable mouthpiece element taught by Buehler, in order to facilitate the removal of the portion placed within the user’s mouth for cleaning.
Regarding claim 15, Alston in view of Dunne and Buehler disclose the inhaler article of claim 14, as discussed above.
Presently modified Alston discloses wherein the mouthpiece element (see paragraph 57 lines 11-13 of Buehler) defines a downstream end of the capsule receptacle (Alston: 110) (note Fig. 1A of Alston, where the opening 145 where the mouthpiece is placed as modified, is downstream of chamber 110).
Conclusion
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785