DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-20 appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura US 20080208108.
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches clamping tissue between an ultrasonic blade (Fig. 17 probe 61) and a jaw member (Fig. 17 grasping unit 63); simultaneously: transmitting ultrasonic energy to the ultrasonic blade to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at a first blade velocity (par. [0087] simultaneous activation of both high-frequency and ultrasonic energy), thereby heating the clamped tissue; and supplying electrosurgical energy, at a constant voltage (par. [0049] voltage is changed with output change so if output is unchanged the voltage is constant), to the jaw member and the ultrasonic blade at different potentials such that the electrosurgical energy is conducted therebetween and through the clamped tissue to heat the clamped tissue (par. [0095] bipolar treatment between grasping unit 63 and probe 63); monitoring an impedance of the clamped tissue during the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy (par. [0087]); and at least one of: terminating the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy when the clamped tissue is sealed, as indicated by the impedance of the clamped tissue being equal to or greater than a threshold impedance (par. [0074] high electrical impedance makes the HF energy go down and ultrasonic energy go up, par. [0070] off of HF energy and max ultrasonic energy based on different conditions); or outputting a notification when the clamped tissue is sealed, as indicated by the impedance of the clamped tissue being equal to or greater than the threshold impedance (par. [0050] displaying settings and operation on panel).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches further comprising, after terminating the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy or outputting the notification: transmitting ultrasonic energy to the ultrasonic blade to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at a second blade velocity greater than the first blade velocity (par. [0074] high electrical impedance makes the HF energy go down and ultrasonic energy go up) to transect the sealed tissue (par. [0058] increasing ultrasonic output based on impedance).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches wherein the second blade velocity is from about 7.0 m/s to about 10.0 m/s (par. [0055] selection of 7.4-22m/s selection).
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches wherein the second blade velocity is from about 7.5 m/s to about 8.5 m/s (par. [0055] selection of 7.4-22m/s selection).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches wherein the second blade velocity is about 8.0 m/s (par. [0055] selection of 7.4-22m/s selection).
Regarding claim 12, Kimura teaches further comprising terminating the transmission of ultrasonic energy to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at the second blade velocity when it is determined that transection of the sealed tissue is complete (par. [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura view of Shibata US 20100145332.
Regarding claims 2-4, Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein the first blade velocity is about 3.6 m/s.
Shibata, in an analogous device, teaches an ultrasonic device that vibrates 2.3 to 5 m/s (par. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Kimura to have a vibration speed of about 3.6 m/s, as in Shibata. This is seen as a known velocity to coagulate tissue (Shibata par. [0067]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura view of McFarland US 20170042604.
Regarding claims 5-7, Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein the constant voltage is an applied voltage of from about 30 Vrms to about 35 Vrms.
McFarland, in an analogous device, teaches RF energy that is delivered between 20 to 50 Vrms (par. [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Kimura to output a voltage of 30 to 35 Vrms or any desired Vrms, as in McFarland. The desired Vrms depends on the tissue and the parameters changing during the procedure such as phase angle, tissue temperature, and water between the jaws (McFarland par. [0112]).
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Weiler US 10130414.
Regarding claims 13-16 and 20, Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein the jaw member includes a body defining first and second radiused surfaces and a jaw liner defining a tissue contacting surface disposed between the first and second radiused surfaces, wherein the tissue contacting surface opposes the ultrasonic blade when clamping tissue therebetween, and wherein supplying the electrosurgical energy includes conducting the electrosurgical energy between the ultrasonic blade and the first and second radiused surfaces, wherein the first and second radiused surfaces define radii of curvature of about 0.008 inches, and wherein the ultrasonic blade defines a tissue contacting surface having first and second angled or arcuate surface portions meeting at an apex configured to oppose the jaw member when clamping tissue therebetween.
Weiler, in an analogous device, teaches where each side of both jaws have radiused surfaces (Fig. 3). The first and second radiused surfaces define radii of curvature of about 0.008 inches (col 3 lines 35-43 0.1 to 0.3 mm radii). The cutting element 32 has two angled surfaces 33 that come to the apex of 32 (Fig. 3). The cutting element 32 comes in contact with counter 42 in the other jaw (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Kimura to have a jaw body with radii of curvature, as in Weiler. This presents the advantage of tissue receptacles allowing for a good fit between the device and the desired tissue (Weiler col 3 lines 4-13).
Regarding claims 17-19, Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein a first plane is tangential to the first and second radiused surfaces and the tissue contacting surface defines a second plane, the second plane recessed relative to the first plane a distance of about 0.003 inches.
Weiler, in an analogous device, teaches wherein a first plane is tangential to the first and second radiused surfaces and the tissue contacting surface defines a second plane, the second plane recessed relative to the first plane a distance of about 0.003 inches (col 8 line 24-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Kimura to have a jaw body with distance between the curved surfaces and tissue contacting surface, as in Weiler. This presents the advantage of tissue receptacles allowing for a good fit between the device and the desired tissue (Weiler col 3 lines 4-13).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794