DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-20 appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Tol US 20220346826.
Regarding claim 1, Van Tol teaches clamping tissue between an ultrasonic blade and a jaw member (par. [0010]); simultaneously: transmitting ultrasonic energy to the ultrasonic blade to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at a first blade velocity (par. [0061]), thereby heating the clamped tissue; and supplying electrosurgical energy, at a constant voltage (par. [0033] and [0076]), to the jaw member and the ultrasonic blade at different potentials such that the electrosurgical energy is conducted therebetween and through the clamped tissue to heat the clamped tissue (par. [0061]); monitoring an impedance of the clamped tissue during the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy (par. [0078]); and at least one of: terminating the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy when the clamped tissue is sealed, as indicated by the impedance of the clamped tissue being equal to or greater than a threshold impedance; or outputting a notification when the clamped tissue is sealed, as indicated by the impedance of the clamped tissue being equal to or greater than the threshold impedance (pars. [0063], [0064], and [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Van Tol teaches wherein the first blade velocity is from about 2.4 m/s to about 5.0 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 3, Van Tol teaches wherein the first blade velocity is from about 3.0 m/s to about 4.2 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 4, Van Tol teaches wherein the first blade velocity is about 3.6 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Tol teaches further comprising, after terminating the simultaneous transmission of ultrasonic energy and supply of electrosurgical energy or outputting the notification: transmitting ultrasonic energy to the ultrasonic blade to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at a second blade velocity greater than the first blade velocity to transect the sealed tissue (par. [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Van Tol teaches wherein the second blade velocity is from about 7.0 m/s to about 10.0 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Van Tol teaches wherein the second blade velocity is from about 7.5 m/s to about 8.5 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, Van Tol teaches wherein the second blade velocity is about 8.0 m/s (par. [0071]).
Regarding claim 12, Van Tol teaches further comprising terminating the transmission of ultrasonic energy to vibrate the ultrasonic blade at the second blade velocity when it is determined that transection of the sealed tissue is complete (par. [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Truckai teaches wherein the jaw member includes a body defining first and second radiused surfaces (Fig. 6 ends of 182) and a jaw liner defining a tissue contacting surface disposed between the first and second radiused surfaces (Fig. 6 134), wherein the tissue contacting surface opposes the ultrasonic blade when clamping tissue therebetween, and wherein supplying the electrosurgical energy includes conducting the electrosurgical energy between the ultrasonic blade and the first and second radiused surfaces (Fig. 7 conductive surfaces 188).
Regarding claim 20, Van Tol teaches wherein the ultrasonic blade defines a tissue contacting surface having first and second angled or arcuate surface portions meeting at an apex configured to oppose the jaw member when clamping tissue therebetween (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Tol in view of McFarland US 20170042604.
Regarding claims 5-7, Van Tol does not explicitly teach wherein the constant voltage is an applied voltage of from about 30 Vrms to about 35 Vrms.
McFarland, in an analogous device, teaches RF energy that is delivered between 20 to 50 Vrms (par. [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Van Tol to output a voltage of 30 to 35 Vrms or any desired Vrms, as in McFarland. The desired Vrms depends on the tissue and the parameters changing during the procedure such as phase angle, tissue temperature, and water between the jaws (par. [0112]).
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Tol in view of Weiler US 10130414.
Regarding claims 14-16, Van Tol does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second radiused surfaces define radii of curvature of about 0.008 inches.
Weiler, in an analogous device, teaches wherein the first and second radiused surfaces define radii of curvature of about 0.008 inches (col 3 lines 35-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Van Tol to have a jaw body with radii of curvature, as in Weiler. This presents the advantage of tissue receptacles allowing for a good fit between the device and the desired tissue (col 3 lines 4-13).
Regarding claims 17-19, Van Tol does not explicitly teach wherein a first plane is tangential to the first and second radiused surfaces and the tissue contacting surface defines a second plane, the second plane recessed relative to the first plane a distance of about 0.003 inches.
Weiler, in an analogous device, teaches wherein a first plane is tangential to the first and second radiused surfaces and the tissue contacting surface defines a second plane, the second plane recessed relative to the first plane a distance of about 0.003 inches (col 8 line 24-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the device of Van Tol to have a jaw body with distance between the curved surfaces and tissue contacting surface, as in Weiler. This presents the advantage of tissue receptacles allowing for a good fit between the device and the desired tissue (col 3 lines 4-13).
Conclusion
/R.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/THOMAS A GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794