DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending, independent claims 1 and 15 and dependent claims 3, 9, and 11 are amended, claims 8 and 18 are cancelled, and claim 20 is new.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to Claim Objections of claims 3 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objections of claims 3 and 15 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7 and 8, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10, filed 4/13/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C 103 rejection of claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, and 20 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that Takeshi fails to disclose detecting whether a charging device is connected to the battery pack, nor do they disclose any control based on such detection within a preset time window following a transition of a sensor into an eco-mode.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Takeshi has a step process in which starting at step 11, the charging device, in Takeshi it is the alternator, is connected to the battery, relay closes. Once step 11 is completed, step 12 is enacted, where the control unit decides now that the charging device is connected does the battery get charged/discharged, this step specifically mentions happening within a waiting time. The rejection below explains this, and [0023], [0050-0054] of Takeshi explain in more detail. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeshi (JP6436201 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Takeshi teaches a sensor configured to measure a voltage of a main battery ([0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 (i.e., sensor) is an example of a detection unit, and detects the voltage of each cell C individually and transmits the detection result to the control unit 22.”) provided in the battery pack ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11 . The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.”); wherein the sensor is configured to measure the voltage in a first measurement cycle ([0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle.), or in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle according to an operation mode([0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); and a controller ([0025] “The control unit 22”)configured to; determine an operation state of a charging and discharging relay connected to the main battery ([0023] “The relay 12 is provided inside the battery 1 and is electrically connected between the battery pack 11 and the output terminal 14. The relay 12 is switched between an open state (i.e., discharging) and a closed state (i.e., charging) by opening and closing control by a control unit 22, which will be described later.”); in response to determining that the operation state of the charging and discharging relay is a turn-off state ([0036] “After setting the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode, the control unit 22 executes the overcharge protection process (S3 to S6). In the overcharge protection process, the control unit 22 determines whether the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 based on the detection result from the voltage detection circuit 21 (S3). When the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage values Vc of all the cells C are less than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: NO), it determines that all the cells C are in a normal state and returns to S1. On the other hand, if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: YES), it determines that the cell C is in an overcharged state and performs the following overcharge protection operation (S4 to S6).” Where [0037] “The control unit 22 switches the relay 12 to an open state (S4) (i.e., turn off state)” where in the pending application pg. 9 lines 17-19 a turn off state is explained by “When the charging and discharging relay 20 is in the turn-off state, the main battery 10 and the positive electrode terminal P+ of the battery pack 1 may not be electrically connected,” [0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 is an example of a detection unit (i.e., a fundamental type of sensor)); control the operation mode of the sensor ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11 . The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.”) based on at least one of whether the vehicle is stopped ([0011] “the control unit is configured to determine whether the fluctuation value detected by the detection unit is equal to or less than an open threshold obtained by adding a predetermined value to an engine start lower limit threshold for starting the engine, and to execute an open process to change the relay from a closed state to an open state when it is determined that the fluctuation value is equal to or less than the open threshold.”; [0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped (i.e., engine stopped, vehicle is stopped) When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (S7)”, where this is in reference to the control of the control unit), or the voltage of the main battery measured by the sensor ([0044]; "On the other hand, when determining that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or less than the power saving threshold value Vth <b> 1 (S <b> 8: YES), the SOC of the cell C is lower than the lower limit The relay 12 is switched to the open state, and the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is switched to the deep sleep mode (S 9)", where this is an example of the control units response to a voltage measurement by the sensor (i.e., voltage detection circuit)); set a voltage measurement cycle of the sensor to the first measurement cycle or the second measurement cycle ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11. The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.” Where the normal mode and sleep mode have different measurement cycle lengths, [0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle. And [0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); and control the charging and discharging relay or the operation mode of the sensor in response to a charging device being connected to the battery pack within a preset time after the operation mode of the sensor is changed to the eco-mode ([0023] “That is, once the relay 12 is set to an open state or a closed state in response to an instruction from the control unit 22, the relay 12 can maintain the open state or the closed state even if the power supply is subsequently stopped. When the relay 12 is closed (i.e., switch is closed, or circuit is connected, or circuit is on), the battery 1 is able to supply power to the starter 3 , the ECU 4 and the in-vehicle equipment 5, and is also able to be charged by the alternator 6 (i.e., charging device).” Where the control of charging or discharging ; [0053] “Thereafter, the control unit 22 determines whether the engine 2 will be started within a waiting time (an example of a close reference time and a power reference time) from the time of returning to the sleep mode (i.e., eco mode) or the like (S12). If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed, it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6.” Where in the previous step [0051] “In S11, the timing at which the relay 12 is returned to the closed state and the timing at which the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is returned to the sleep mode may or may not coincide with each other. For example, the control unit 22 may return the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the sleep mode, and then return the relay 12 to the closed state (i.e., charging device connected).” ).
Regarding Claim 15, Takeshi teaches measuring by a sensor, a voltage of a main battery provided in the battery pack ([0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 (i.e., sensor) is an example of a detection unit, and detects the voltage of each cell C individually and transmits the detection result to the control unit 22.”); in a first measurement cycle ([0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle.), or in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle according to an operation mode ([0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); determining by a controller ([0025] “The control unit 22”), an operation state of a charging and discharging relay connected to the main battery ([0023] “The relay 12 is provided inside the battery 1 and is electrically connected between the battery pack 11 and the output terminal 14. The relay 12 is switched between an open state (i.e., discharging) and a closed state (i.e., charging) by opening and closing control by a control unit 22, which will be described later.”); and in response to determining that the operation state of the charging and discharging relay is a turn-off state([0036] “After setting the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode, the control unit 22 executes the overcharge protection process (S3 to S6). In the overcharge protection process, the control unit 22 determines whether the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 based on the detection result from the voltage detection circuit 21 (S3). When the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage values Vc of all the cells C are less than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: NO), it determines that all the cells C are in a normal state and returns to S1. On the other hand, if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: YES), it determines that the cell C is in an overcharged state and performs the following overcharge protection operation (S4 to S6).” Where [0037] “The control unit 22 switches the relay 12 to an open state (S4) (i.e., turn off state)” where in the pending application pg. 9 lines 17-19 a turn off state is explained by “When the charging and discharging relay 20 is in the turn-off state, the main battery 10 and the positive electrode terminal P+ of the battery pack 1 may not be electrically connected,” [0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 is an example of a detection unit (i.e., a fundamental type of sensor)); controlling by the controller, an operation mode of the sensor ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11 . The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.”, where [0011] “the control unit is configured to determine whether the fluctuation value detected by the detection unit is equal to or less than an open threshold obtained by adding a predetermined value to an engine start lower limit threshold for starting the engine, and to execute an open process to change the relay from a closed state to an open state when it is determined that the fluctuation value is equal to or less than the open threshold.”)based on at least one of, whether the vehicle is stopped ([0011] “the control unit is configured to determine whether the fluctuation value detected by the detection unit is equal to or less than an open threshold obtained by adding a predetermined value to an engine start lower limit threshold for starting the engine, and to execute an open process to change the relay from a closed state to an open state when it is determined that the fluctuation value is equal to or less than the open threshold.”; [0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped (i.e., engine stopped, vehicle is stopped) When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (S7)”, where this is in reference to the control of the control unit), or the voltage of the main battery ([0044]; "On the other hand, when determining that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or less than the power saving threshold value Vth <b> 1 (S <b> 8: YES), the SOC of the cell C is lower than the lower limit The relay 12 is switched to the open state, and the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is switched to the deep sleep mode (S 9)", where this is an example of the control units response to a voltage measurement by the sensor (i.e., voltage detection circuit)); and setting a voltage measurement cycle of the sensor to the first measurement cycle or the second measurement cycle([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11. The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.” Where the normal mode and sleep mode have different measurement cycle lengths, [0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle. And [0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); and controlling the charging and discharging relay or the operation mode of the sensor in response to a charging device being connected to the battery pack within a preset time after the operation mode of the sensor is changed to the eco-mode ([0023] “That is, once the relay 12 is set to an open state or a closed state in response to an instruction from the control unit 22, the relay 12 can maintain the open state or the closed state even if the power supply is subsequently stopped. When the relay 12 is closed (i.e., switch is closed, or circuit is connected, or circuit is on), the battery 1 is able to supply power to the starter 3 , the ECU 4 and the in-vehicle equipment 5, and is also able to be charged by the alternator 6 (i.e., charging device).” Where the control of charging or discharging ; [0053] “Thereafter, the control unit 22 determines whether the engine 2 will be started within a waiting time (an example of a close reference time and a power reference time) from the time of returning to the sleep mode (i.e., eco mode) or the like (S12). If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed, it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6.” Where in the previous step [0051] “In S11, the timing at which the relay 12 is returned to the closed state and the timing at which the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is returned to the sleep mode may or may not coincide with each other. For example, the control unit 22 may return the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the sleep mode, and then return the relay 12 to the closed state (i.e., charging device connected).” ).
Regarding Claim 20, Takeshi teaches a sensor configured to measure a voltage of a main battery ([0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 (i.e., sensor) is an example of a detection unit, and detects the voltage of each cell C individually and transmits the detection result to the control unit 22.”) provided in the battery pack ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11 . The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.”); wherein the sensor is configured to measure the voltage in a first measurement cycle ([0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle.), or in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle according to an operation mode([0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); and a controller ([0025] “The control unit 22”) configured to; determine an operation state of a charging and discharging relay connected to the main battery ([0023] “The relay 12 is provided inside the battery 1 and is electrically connected between the battery pack 11 and the output terminal 14. The relay 12 is switched between an open state (i.e., discharging) and a closed state (i.e., charging) by opening and closing control by a control unit 22, which will be described later.”); in response to determining that the operation state of the charging and discharging relay is a turn-off state ([0036] “After setting the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode, the control unit 22 executes the overcharge protection process (S3 to S6). In the overcharge protection process, the control unit 22 determines whether the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 based on the detection result from the voltage detection circuit 21 (S3). When the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage values Vc of all the cells C are less than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: NO), it determines that all the cells C are in a normal state and returns to S1. On the other hand, if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: YES), it determines that the cell C is in an overcharged state and performs the following overcharge protection operation (S4 to S6).” Where [0037] “The control unit 22 switches the relay 12 to an open state (S4) (i.e., turn off state)” where in the pending application pg. 9 lines 17-19 a turn off state is explained by “When the charging and discharging relay 20 is in the turn-off state, the main battery 10 and the positive electrode terminal P+ of the battery pack 1 may not be electrically connected,” [0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 is an example of a detection unit (i.e., a fundamental type of sensor)); control the operation mode of the sensor ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11 . The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.”) based on at least one of whether the vehicle is stopped ([0011] “the control unit is configured to determine whether the fluctuation value detected by the detection unit is equal to or less than an open threshold obtained by adding a predetermined value to an engine start lower limit threshold for starting the engine, and to execute an open process to change the relay from a closed state to an open state when it is determined that the fluctuation value is equal to or less than the open threshold.”; [0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped (i.e., engine stopped, vehicle is stopped) When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (S7)”, where this is in reference to the control of the control unit), or the voltage of the main battery measured by the sensor ([0044]; "On the other hand, when determining that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or less than the power saving threshold value Vth <b> 1 (S <b> 8: YES), the SOC of the cell C is lower than the lower limit The relay 12 is switched to the open state, and the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is switched to the deep sleep mode (S 9)", where this is an example of the control units response to a voltage measurement by the sensor (i.e., voltage detection circuit)); set a voltage measurement cycle of the sensor to the first measurement cycle or the second measurement cycle ([0025] “The control unit 22 and the voltage detection circuit 21 are activated by power from the battery pack 11. The control unit 22 has a power saving function (an example of a power switching function), and by executing this power saving function, the state in which the BMS 13 consumes power from the battery pack 11 can be switched between normal mode, sleep mode, and deep sleep mode.” Where the normal mode and sleep mode have different measurement cycle lengths, [0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle. And [0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle (i.e., longer cycle) than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle); control the charging and discharging relay or the operation mode of the sensor in response to a charging device being connected to the battery pack within a preset time after the operation mode of the sensor is changed to the eco-mode ([0023] “That is, once the relay 12 is set to an open state or a closed state in response to an instruction from the control unit 22, the relay 12 can maintain the open state or the closed state even if the power supply is subsequently stopped. When the relay 12 is closed (i.e., switch is closed, or circuit is connected, or circuit is on), the battery 1 is able to supply power to the starter 3 , the ECU 4 and the in-vehicle equipment 5, and is also able to be charged by the alternator 6 (i.e., charging device).” Where the control of charging or discharging ; [0053] “Thereafter, the control unit 22 determines whether the engine 2 will be started within a waiting time (an example of a close reference time and a power reference time) from the time of returning to the sleep mode (i.e., eco mode) or the like (S12). If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed, it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6.” Where in the previous step [0051] “In S11, the timing at which the relay 12 is returned to the closed state and the timing at which the power consumption state of the BMS 13 is returned to the sleep mode may or may not coincide with each other. For example, the control unit 22 may return the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the sleep mode, and then return the relay 12 to the closed state (i.e., charging device connected).” ); wherein the operation mode of the sensor to the shutdown mode ([0044] “ if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or lower than the power saving threshold Vth1 (S8: YES), it determines that the SOC of that cell C is approaching the lower limit SOC at which the engine 2 cannot be started, and switches the relay 12 to the open state and switches the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to deep sleep mode (i.e., shutdown mode) (S9). As a result, the control unit 22 and the communication unit 24 are no longer supplied with power from the battery pack 11.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 4-6 the shutdown mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is not measured, and may be the same mode as a sleep mode generally expressed.), in response to the charging device is not connected to the battery pack within the preset time ([0060] “in the above configuration in which the control unit 22 and the communication unit 24 are supplied with power in the deep sleep mode, in S9, the control unit 22 may switch the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the deep sleep mode and then switch the relay 12 to the open state.” Where [0023] “when the relay 12 is in an open state, the battery 1 is unable to supply power to the starter 3 and the like, and is also unable to be charged by the alternator 6.”).
Regarding Claim 2 and 16, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 15, respectively.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the sensor is configured to operate in a wake-up mode when the voltage of the main battery is measured in the first measurement cycle ([0026] “The normal mode (i.e., wake up mode) is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle.), an eco-mode when the voltage of the main battery is measured in the second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle ([0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked.” Where [0027] “However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle), and a shutdown mode when the voltage of the main battery is not measured ([0028] “The deep sleep mode is an example of a second power consumption state, and is a mode that consumes even less power than the sleep mode. At this time, power is not supplied from the battery pack 11 to any of the voltage detection circuit 21 , the control unit 22 , and the communication unit 24 , and the BMS 13 cannot monitor the state of the battery pack 11.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 4-6 the shutdown mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is not measured, and may be the same mode as a sleep mode generally expressed.).
Regarding Claim 3 and 17, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 16, respectively.
Takeshi further teaches the controller is configured to control the operation mode of the sensor based on at least one of information as to whether the vehicle is stopped ([0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped (i.e., engine stopped, vehicle is stopped) When the control unit 22 (I.e., controller) determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (S7),” where this is in reference to the control of the control unit; and [0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 is an example of a detection unit (i.e., a fundamental type of sensor)), or the voltage of the main battery, when the operation mode of the sensor is the wake-up mode and the voltage of the main battery when the operation state of the charging and discharging relay is the turn-off state ([0036] “After setting the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode, the control unit 22 executes the overcharge protection process (S3 to S6). In the overcharge protection process, the control unit 22 determines whether the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 based on the detection result from the voltage detection circuit 21 (S3). When the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage values Vc of all the cells C are less than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: NO), it determines that all the cells C are in a normal state and returns to S1. On the other hand, if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Ve of at least one cell C is equal to or greater than the overcharge threshold Vth2 (S3: YES), it determines that the cell C is in an overcharged state and performs the following overcharge protection operation (S4 to S6).” Where [0037] “The control unit 22 switches the relay 12 to an open state (S4) (i.e., turn off state)” where in the pending application pg. 9 lines 17-19 a turn off state is explained by “When the charging and discharging relay 20 is in the turn-off state, the main battery 10 and the positive electrode terminal P+ of the battery pack 1 may not be electrically connected,” [0024] “The voltage detection circuit 21 is an example of a detection unit (i.e., a fundamental type of sensor)).
Regarding Claim 4, Takeshi teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured: determine whether the vehicle is stopped ([0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES),” ) and the operation mode of the sensor to the eco-mode when it is determined that the vehicle is stopped ([0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (S7).” where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle (i.e., sleep mode)).
Regarding Claim 6, Takeshi teaches the limitation of claim 3.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to change the operation mode of the sensor to the eco-mode ([0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (i.e., eco mode) (S7).”), when a present voltage of the main battery is equal to or lower than a preset threshold voltage ([0041] “After setting the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to sleep mode, the control unit 22 determines whether the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or less than the power saving threshold Vth1 (an example of a power reduction threshold and an open threshold) based on the detection result from the voltage detection circuit 21 (S8).”).
Regarding Claim 9, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to charge the main battery through the charging device by controlling the operation state of the charging and discharging relay to a turn-on state ([0023] “That is, once the relay 12 is set to an open state or a closed state in response to an instruction from the control unit 22, the relay 12 can maintain the open state or the closed state even if the power supply is subsequently stopped. When the relay 12 is closed (i.e., switch is closed, or circuit is connected, or circuit is on), the battery 1 is able to supply power to the starter 3 , the ECU 4 and the in-vehicle equipment 5, and is also able to be charged by the alternator 6 .”); when the charging device is connected to the battery pack within the preset time ([0053] “If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed (i.e., the charging device is connected with the preset time, i.e., when the time not charging has run out), it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6 .”).
Regarding Claim 10, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to change the operation mode of the sensor from the eco-mode to the wake-up mode ([0053] “Thereafter, the control unit 22 determines whether the engine 2 will be started within a waiting time (an example of a close reference time and a power reference time) from the time of returning to the sleep mode or the like (S12). If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed, it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6.”); when the voltage of the main battery exceeds a preset criterion voltage ([0044] “In S8, if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage values Vc of all cells C are higher than the power saving threshold Vth1 (S8: NO), it determines that the SOC of all cells C is still at a level sufficient to start the engine 2, and returns to S1.” Where [0034] “(1) Processing During Engine Operation When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is operating (S1: NO), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode (S2).”).
Regarding Claim 11, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to change the operation mode of the sensor to the shutdown mode ([0044] “ if the control unit 22 determines that the cell voltage value Vc of at least one cell C is equal to or lower than the power saving threshold Vth1 (S8: YES), it determines that the SOC of that cell C is approaching the lower limit SOC at which the engine 2 cannot be started, and switches the relay 12 to the open state and switches the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to deep sleep mode (i.e., shutdown mode) (S9). As a result, the control unit 22 and the communication unit 24 are no longer supplied with power from the battery pack 11.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 4-6 the shutdown mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is not measured, and may be the same mode as a sleep mode generally expressed.) , when the charging device is not connected to the battery pack within the preset time ([0060] “in the above configuration in which the control unit 22 and the communication unit 24 are supplied with power in the deep sleep mode, in S9, the control unit 22 may switch the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the deep sleep mode and then switch the relay 12 to the open state.” Where [0023] “when the relay 12 is in an open state, the battery 1 is unable to supply power to the starter 3 and the like, and is also unable to be charged by the alternator 6.”).
Regarding Claim 12 and 19, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 16, respectively.
Takeshi further teaches wherein when the controller receives a wake-up signal from a starting battery different from the main battery ([0050] “When the driver turns on the start switch 23 (i.e., wake-up signal) of the battery 1, it means that there is a high possibility that the engine 2 will be started soon.”), the controller is configured to: change an operation mode of the sensor from a sleep mode to a wake-up mode, or change the operation mode of the sensor from the shutdown mode to the wake- up mode ([0053] “Thereafter, the control unit 22 determines whether the engine 2 will be started within a waiting time (an example of a close reference time and a power reference time) from the time of returning to the sleep mode or the like (S12). If the control unit 22 receives the engine start signal SG2 before the waiting time has elapsed, it determines that the engine 2 will be started (S12: YES), and returns to S1 in FIG. 2A and proceeds to S2. As a result, the battery pack 11 is charged by the alternator 6.”, where [0034] “the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to the normal mode (S2).”, change an operation mode of the sensor from a sleep mode to a wake-up mode), and wherein when the operation mode of the sensor is the wake-up mode or the eco-mode, the sensor is configured to: receive power from the main battery; and measure the voltage of the main battery ([0026] “The normal mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the vehicle is traveling. In this normal mode, the voltage detection circuit 21, the control unit 22, and the communication unit 24 are supplied with power from the assembled battery 11, and the BMS 13 can monitor the state of the assembled battery 11, such as the voltage of each cell C.” Where according to the pending application on page 9 lines 1-2 the wake-up mode is a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a first measurement cycle; and ([0027] “The sleep mode is an example of a first power consumption state, and is a mode in which power consumption is lower than in the normal mode, and is a power consumption state of the BMS 13 mainly when the engine 2 is stopped and the vehicle is parked. Even in this sleep mode, the voltage detection circuit 21 , the control unit 22 and the communication unit 24 are supplied with power from the assembled battery 11 , and the BMS 13 can monitor the state of the assembled battery 11 . However, in the sleep mode, the control unit 22 monitors the voltage of each cell C at a slower cycle than in the normal mode, for example, by lowering the clock frequency.”, where eco mode in the pending application is according to page 9 lines 2-4 a mode in which the voltage of the main battery 10 is measured in a second measurement cycle longer than the first measurement cycle.).
Regarding Claim 13, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Takeshi further teaches a battery pack ([0010] “FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating the configuration of a battery and on-board devices according to an embodiment”).
Regarding Claim 14, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Takeshi further teaches a vehicle ([0021] “As shown in FIG. 1, a battery 1 according to this embodiment is a starter battery that is mounted on a vehicle such as an internal combustion engine vehicle or a hybrid vehicle, and supplies power to a starter 3 to start an engine 2.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi in view of Taki (US 2016/0159171 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Takeshi teaches the limitations of Claim 4.
Takeshi does not teach wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the vehicle is stopped based on at least one of speed information of the vehicle and rotation information of a wheel received from an outside source.
Taki teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the vehicle is stopped based on at least one of speed information of the vehicle and rotation information of a wheel received from an outside source ([0057] “In step S11, the sensor position determining unit 58 reads the vehicle speed V from the vehicle speed detecting unit 57 and determines whether the vehicle speed V is lower than or equal to a predetermined very-low speed Vref. The very-low speed Vref is a speed immediately before the vehicle stops and is set to, for example, 5 km/h.” where [0050] “The pulse detecting unit 53 receives a pulse signal output from the vehicle wheel speed sensor 100 disposed in each vehicle wheel W. The vehicle wheel speed sensor 100 is constituted, for example, by a pulse encoder and outputs one pulse signal when the vehicle wheel W rotates by a predetermined angle. The vehicle wheel speed sensor 100 in this embodiment is fixed to the vehicle body B side and outputs 48 pulse signals at equal angular intervals while the vehicle wheel W rotates by one turn.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of outside speed sensors as discussed in Taki to the vehicle overcharge prevention apparatus as discussed in Takeshi for the purpose of ensuring the vehicle is stopped when the control circuits sensors says that the vehicle is stopped. This is advantageous because it allows for the control unit and the outside sensors to be used as error detectors in the signals given, as in, if the control unit detects the car is stopped, but the car is not stopped according to the velocity sensors, the electronic equipment that is incorrect is detected quickly and can be fixed.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi in view of Fukushima (JP 2019118204 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Takeshi teaches the limitations of claim 3.
Takeshi further teaches wherein the controller is configured to change the operation mode of the sensor to the eco-mode ([0039] “(2) Processing While the Engine is Stopped When the control unit 22 determines in S1 that the engine 2 is stopped (S1: YES), the control unit 22 sets the power consumption state of the BMS 13 to a sleep mode (i.e., eco mode) (S7).”).
Takeshi does not teach when the voltage of the main battery decreases at a threshold ratio or at a rate greater than the threshold ratio during a plurality of cycles.
Fukushima when the voltage of the main battery decreases at a threshold ratio or at a rate greater than the threshold ratio during a plurality of cycles ([0086] “For example, the state of the battery cell 21 may be a voltage. Specifically, for example, the management unit 31 may calculate the amount of voltage change per unit time between the voltage value measured last time and the voltage value measured this time by dividing the absolute value of the difference between the voltage value measured last time and the voltage value measured this time by the measurement period (i.e., ratio), and if the calculated amount of voltage change is equal to or greater than a reference value (i.e., threshold ratio)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine voltage of the main battery decreases over a plurality of cycles as discussed in Fukushima to the vehicle overcharge prevention apparatus as discussed in Takeshi for the purpose of providing a voltage measurement that indicates the state of the battery cell. This is advantageous because seeing the voltage decrease over a period of cycles at a certain rate may determine that the state of the battery cell has changed significantly in a short period of time (e.g., Fukushima, [0086]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857