Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 & 6 each contain the recitation “such as” and claim 5 recites “for example”. These recitations render the claims indefinite because it is not clear whether the limitations following said phrases are part of the claimed invention. For examination purpose, the claims will be given the broader interpretation, e.g., biological filtration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN104445743A (hereinafter “CN ‘743”).
With respect to claims 1, 3, and 8, CN ‘743 discloses a method for reducing organic matter contained in wastewater utilizing a two-stage catalytic oxidation steps. The first oxidation stage is a homogeneous phase oxidation wherein the wastewater is contacted with iron salt and hydrogen peroxide. The second oxidation stage uses a fixed-bed heterogeneous catalytic oxidation comprising an inert carrier such as granular activated carbon and quartz sand, and transition metal such as iron, manganese, and copper. See page 1, Background Technique, 2nd paragraph; page 2, Summary of the Invention, paragraphs 6-9.
With respect to claim 5, CN ‘743 discloses:
-passing the wastewater to a pH adjustment tank to control the pH value between 3 and 6;
-sending the adjusted pH wastewater to a primary oxidation reactor containing iron salt and hydrogen peroxide which generates free and oxygenates said wastewater (claimed steps b) and c));
-passing the effluent from the primary oxidation reactor to a secondary oxidation reactor (a packed bed reactor) wherein hydrogen peroxide is continuously added for further purification;
- adding alkali to adjust the pH to 7-8 (equivalent to claimed coagulating suspended and colloidal solids);
-passing to flocculation sedimentation tank; and
-discharging the water after passing the test.
See page 2, Summary of the Invention, paragraph 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104445743A (hereinafter “CN ‘743”) in view of US 2019/0092662 to Kubota et al. (hereinafter “Kubota”) and CN110156142A (hereinafter “CN ‘142”).
The teachings of CN ‘743 are as discussed above.
With respect to claims 2, 6, 9-12, and 14, CN ‘743 fails to disclose the claimed step of subjecting wastewater to biological filtration.
Kubota is directed to treating waste water to reduce organic pollutants utilizing ozone oxidation reaction and biological treatment using microorganisms (see [0002]). The process comprises mixing ozone with wastewater (ozone oxidation) and then biologically treating with microorganisms (see [0017] & [0028]). In the biological treatment, a biofilm is used to efficiently perform the contact and separation between wastewater and the microorganism (see [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified CN ‘743 and utilized oxidation and include biological treatment as disclosed by Kubota because the process of Kubota prevents an inhibition of biological treatment while enjoying advantages of wastewater treatment by ozone oxidation, reducing wastewater treatment costs, and realizing excellent treatment by a simple process (see [0011]).
With respect to claims 4, 7, 13 and 14, neither CN ‘743 nor Kubota discloses treating drinking water with chlorine. However, CN ‘142 discloses chloring disinfection is widely method for treating drinking water (see page 1, Background Technique, 1st paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included the disinfection step in treating water.
Conclusion
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772