DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-4) in the reply filed on 06/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 5-7 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’332 (JP 2019-120332).
Regarding claim 1, JP’332 teaches a gear comprising teeth, wherein a hardness of a tooth tip edge part of all teeth is softened by tempering treatment and that the hardness of a tooth tip edge part in each tooth of the teeth is softer than a hardness of a tooth flank at a middle point of a tooth height of any tooth of the gear (Page 3-8; Fig. 17; Fig. 19), which meets the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, JP’332 discloses that the tooth tip edge part is softened by tempering with the tooth tip edge part as a specific target (Page 5), which meets the limitation recited in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’332 (JP 2019-120332)
Regarding claims 2 and 3, JP’332 discloses that the tempering method applies to a spur gear (Page 3-5). JP’332 discloses subjecting a tempering heat treatment to a sample steel piece having Vicker’s hardness of about 650 Hv, which simulates the top edge portion of the gear (Page 6, 3rd Paragraph). JP’332 discloses that after tempering, the Vicker’s hardness at the edge portion which is 0.25 mm away from induction coil is 400 Hv and the Vicker’s hardness at a location which is 1.5 mm away from induction coil is 550 Hv (Page 6-8, Fig. 17). JP’332 also discloses that the Vicker’s hardness at a location 3 mm away from the induction heating coil is 625-650, which is close to the hardness before the tempering heat treatment (Page 7, 1st paragraph; Fig. 17). Since a spur gear with a tooth height greater than 3 mm is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art, when a tempering heat treatment as disclosed in JP’332 is applied to a spur gear with tooth height greater than 3 mm, the Vicker’s hardness in the middle point of the tooth height is greater than 550 Hv and the Vicker’s hardness at dedendum is greater than 625 HV based on Fig. 17 of JP’332 (Fig. 17 shows that the harness increases with the distance from induction coil). Based on Fig. 17 of JP’332, the hardness of the tooth tip edge part is HV 150 softer than the tooth flank at the middle point of the tooth height (calculated by HV 550- HV 400= HV 150); and the hardness of the tooth tip edge part is HV 225 or more softer than a dedendum of any tooth in the gear (calculated by HV 625- HV 400= HV 225). Thus, the recited hardness differences in claims 2 and 3 are obvious over JP’332.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733