DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/9/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Groups II and III (claims 15-20) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 18, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on February 18m, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group I and Group II are linked as a product and a process of use of said product, and that there are no structural or functional differences between the process of claim 15 and the device of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is a national stage entry filed under 35 U.S.C. 371 and is therefore not subject to US restriction practice but rather subject to lack of unity practice, see MPEP 1893.03(d). It is noted that groups being linked as a product and process of use of said product is not a criterion in lack of unity analysis. The test is whether or not special technical features can be established. It is noted that inventions listed as Groups I, II, and III do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features as set forth in the previous Office Action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive unit” in claim 1.
Drive unit: Pg. 11 recites that the drive unit preferably comprises an electric motor, but may also contain a hand crank or any other means to rotate the rotatable chamber that may be known to a person skilled in the art.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “and” appears to be missing after “container” in line 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 refers to a tube “connected or connectable” to the first outlet. This expression gives the impression that the device is operable without the tube being connected to the outlet. However, the effects of the claimed invention are related to the presence of the tube, and the option of excluding the presence of the tube (i.e. “connectable”) would imply that the functions described in the clause with the drive unit are not able to be performed. Utilization of the term “connectable” should be reconsidered to improve clarity of the description of the tube.
Claims 2-14 are ultimately dependent upon claim 1, and thus, inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim 3 refers to the tube “connected or connectable” to the first outlet. This expression gives the impression that the device is operable without the tube being connected to the outlet. However, the effects of the claimed invention are related to the presence of the tube, and the option of excluding the presence of the tube (i.e. “connectable”) would imply that the functions described in the clause with the drive unit are claim 1 are not able to be performed. Utilization of the term “connectable” should be reconsidered to improve clarity of the description of the tube.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the tip of the tube" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the end of the tube " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, applicant has previously only made reference to a “first end” and a “second end” of the rotatable chamber, and as such, it is unclear which end the applicant is referring to with the recitation “the end of the tube.” Clarification is requested.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the nearest wall of the collection container " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the end of the tube " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, applicant has previously only made reference to a “first end” and a “second end” of the rotatable chamber, and as such, it is unclear which end the applicant is referring to with the recitation “the end of the tube.” Clarification is requested.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the nearest wall of the collection container " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nash et al (US 2014/0044688 A1).
With respect to claim 1 Nash discloses a device for processing biologic tissue, the device comprising:
a rotatable chamber (combination of piston tapered piston barrel 206 and end cap 215, See Para. 0037 and Fig. 2) arranged to rotate around an axis (See Para. 0036 for discussion of the chamber rotating about longitudinal axis X – X), the rotatable chamber comprising a first end, a second end, a sidewall extending between the first end and the second end (See Fig. 2 reproduced below) and comprising an inner surface that decreases in diameter over at least a portion of the distance between the first end and the second end (See Para. 0036 for discussion of the chamber being a frustoconical shape; Para. 0011 also describes that the barrel may be tapered), and a first outlet (See Fig. 2 reproduced below), the first outlet beginning in the interior of the rotatable chamber at a first radial distance from the axis (See Fig. 2 reproduced below);
a tube (passage 216) connected or connectable to the first outlet, the tube extending in a direction that is at least radially away from the axis over at least part of the tube's length (See Fig. 2 for depiction of the passage 216 extending radially through part of the end cap);
a collection container in fluid communication with the tube (See Para. 0042 for discussion of plasma being discharged from port 227, which is connected to passage 216, into a casing; Figs. 17 and 18 and Para. 0058 depict and discuss an outer casing 500 which surrounds the centrifuge and allows for collection of discharged RBCs and plasma); and
a drive unit (electric motor 201) configured to rotate the rotatable chamber about the axis (See Figs. 2-4 and Para. 0037);
wherein the device is operable such that a centrifugal field is produced via rotation of the rotatable chamber about the axis, thereby causing a sample of biologic tissue present in the rotatable chamber to stratify into at least two constituent layers as a function of the differing specific gravities of the constituents, at least one of the constituent layers being dischargeable from the rotatable chamber via the tube and into the collection container, and
wherein an interior wall of the collection container and the trajectory of the exit of the tube are configured such that the direction of discharge out of the tube is substantially parallel to a tangent line of a wall of the collection container along the same radius from the axis (See Fig. 2 for depiction of the passage 216 terminating at a port 227 positioned within the wall of the endcap 215).
Applicant should note the italicized limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Nash and the apparatus of Nash is capable of the recitation of claim 1. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nash (see MPEP §2114).
Fig. 2 (reproduction)
With respect to claim 3 Nash depicts that the tube is connected to the first outlet at a distance greater than the first radial distance (Sed Fig. 2 for depiction of the passage 216 extending radially past the first outlet).
With respect to claim 4 Nash depicts that the tube is positioned such that it rotates with the rotatable chamber (See Fig. 4 and Paras. 0041-0042).
With respect to claim 5 applicant should note these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Nash and the apparatus of Nash is capable of the recitation of claim 5. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nash (see MPEP §2114).
With respect to claim 7 Nash depicts that a tip of the tube (area depicted by port 227, See Figs. 2-4 and Para. 0042) rotates along with the rotatable chamber and the tube traces a path as it rotates around the axis that is substantially parallel to an interior wall of the collection container (See Fig. 17).
With respect to claim 8 applicant should note these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Nash and the apparatus of Nash is capable of the recitation of claim 8. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nash (see MPEP §2114).
With respect to claim 10 applicant should note these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus. All the structural limitations of the claim have been disclosed by Nash and the apparatus of Nash is capable of the recitation of claim 10. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Nash (see MPEP §2114).
With respect to claim 12 Nash depicts that the tube comprises a first portion extending in a direction that is at least radially away from the axis and a second portion that extends in a direction that is at least axially along the axis (See magnification of the passage 216 of Fig. 4 below).
Fig. 4 (reproduced and magnified)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nash et al (US 2014/0044688 A1) in view of Peytavi et al (US 9,562,262 B2).
Refer above for the disclosure of Nash.
Nash fails to disclose a first valve operable to control fluid communication from the first outlet to the tube, wherein the at least one of the constituent layers is dischargeable from the rotatable chamber via the tube and into the collection container by operating the valve (applicant should note that the italicized recitations are being interpreted as a function of how the device is intended to operate; the recitation does not provide for any additional structural limitations).
Peytavi teaches a fluidic centripetal device 1 composed of at least two component layers. As shown in FIGS. 1C and 1D, a fluidic layer has features on the bottom face and/or the upper face of the fluidic centripetal device 1. The fluidic layer 3 is composed of intake receptacle 5, chambers 6a, 6b, 6c, channels and fluidic valves. It will be understood that the fluidic layer 3 can be made by using several layers bonded together. The thin bottom layer 4 is bonded to the fluidic layer 3. The bottom surface of the fluidic layer 3, when mated to the thin bottom layer 4, forms a fluidic network of enclosed reservoirs, channels and valves through which fluid flows under the centripetal force (See Col. 16, lines 40-52). FIG. 6 illustrates an optional exit outlet 312 to the bottom-fillable chamber to fluidly connect the bottom-fillable chamber to a subsequent chamber 313 with the transfer channel 314. The exit outlet is located on one of the longitudinal sides of the bottom-fillable chamber. The exit outlet can be a burst valve having micrometric dimension (See Col. 19, lines 34-39). The volume of fluid metered by the exit outlet can be comprised between 10 to and 50 µl. In an example embodiment, the volume defined is 20 µl (See Col. 19, lines 51-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a valve into the first outlet of Nash’s device, such as taught by Peytavi, such that the flow of fluid can be controlled out of the rotatable chamber (See Col. 19, lines 34-53 of Peytavi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 11, 12, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of reference fails to disclose or fairly teach:
tube discharges into the collection container at a direction that is substantially parallel to the direction of the perimeter of the wall of the collection container along the same radius from the axis (claim 6);
the distance from the end of the tube to the nearest wall of the collection container along the direction of discharge out of the tube is from 5 to 200 times the internal diameter of the end of the tube at any given position of the tube about the axis (claim 9);
the distance from the end of the tube to the nearest wall of the collection container along the direction of discharge out of the tube is at least 15 mm (claim 11);
the tube comprises a portion that extends in a direction that is both radially away from the axis and axially along the axis (claim 13); and
the tube comprises a portion that extends in a direction substantially circularly around the axis (claim 14).
Conclusion
/BRITTANY I FISHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1796 September 1, 2026