DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed June 9, 2023. Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Claims 1-14 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/JP2021/044211, filed December 2, 2021, which claims priority to JP 2020-205257, filed December 10, 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa et al. (JP 6489275) in view of Nadano et al. (JP2010-001273).
The examiner will refer to the US version of Miyazawa (US 2021/0317065) and the machine translation of Nadano, which is attached to this communication.
Regarding claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12, Miyazawa teaches the purification and polymerization of the following monomer:
(Abstract; paras. [0063], [0072]-[0073].)
There are two differences between Miyazawa and the present claims. First, Miyazawa does not explicitly teach the process of making the above monomer. However, the process is known in the art and is referenced in Miyazawa at para. [0011].) Nadano teaches the referenced process of making the above monomer via the following reaction:
(para. [0011].) The reaction of a diol corresponding to formula (3) with an acrylic acid chloride results in a monomer corresponding to formula (4). Nadano further teaches that a bis-isomer may form with the reaction an acrylic acid chloride with each hydroxyl group in the diol. (para. [0010].) This will result in a monomer corresponding to formula (5).
Second, neither Miyazawa nor Nadano teaches the relative amount of monomer corresponding to formula (5). However, Miyazawa teaches that high purity monomer corresponding to formula (4) is desirable to form more consistent polymers. (para. [0005]-[0006].) Further, the purification processes of both Nadano and Miyazawa are intended to purify the resulting monomer corresponding to formula (4) as much as possible. Thus, it is reasonable to infer that the bis-isomer (an undesirable side product) will be removed as much as possible and will be present in a very small amount.
Regarding claim 2, Miyazawa is silent as to the relative standard deviation of the resulting polymer. However, given that the relative standard deviation corresponds to the low amount of monomer corresponding to formula (5) (see published Specification at paragraph [0030]), it is reasonable to infer that the polymer of Miyazawa as modified by Nadano will possess a relative standard deviation within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Miyazawa teaches that an additional polymerizable monomer may be added to the polymerization process. (para. [0159].)
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 14, Miyazawa teaches that a radical polymerization process is preferred. (para. [0162].) The polymerization is conducted in an organic solvent such as hydrocarbons or esters. (paras. [0167]-[0168].)
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763