DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3 and 5-20 depend on the above claims and, therefore, are also rejected.
With regards to claim 1, the claim defines the concentration of the claimed components in parts, however, does not specify with what the parts are in relation to. For example, is it per 100 parts of the entire composition or per 100 parts of a given ingredient.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the (meth)acrylate" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the alkoxy" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong (KR 1020190001784).
With regards to claim 1, Jeong teaches a photocurable resin composition (title) that contains a urethane (meth)acrylate oligomer (page 2) (reading on a lower molecular weight polymer), an ethoxylated bisphenol A glycol dimethacrylate (page 2) that contains two or more types of the ethoxylated bisphenol A glycol dimethacrylate wherein the first has an ethylene oxide (EO) is in the range from 1 to 20 and the second having an EO in the range of 4 to 30 (page 3), and a photopolymerization initiator (page 3). Jeong teaches the amount of urethane to be in an amount of 20 to 50% (page 2), the amount of ethoxylated bisphenol component to be 20 to 80% (page 3) with the ratio of the first and second ethoxylated compound to be 1:1.1 to 1.5 (page 3).
With regards to claim 2, Jeong teaches the urethane to be a methacrylate (page 2).
With regards to claim 3, Jeong teaches the urethane to be a urethane dimethacrylate (page 6, examples).
With regards to claim 4, Jeong teaches the bisphenol A to be ethoxylated having an ethylene oxide group (page 3).
With regards to claim 7, Jeong teaches the photopolymerization initiator to include phosphine oxide compounds (page 3).
With regards to claim 8, Jeong teaches the photopolymerization initiator to include bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phenylphosphine oxide (page 3).
With regards to claim 9, Jeong teaches the composition to be used in three-dimensional printing (page 1).
With regards to claim 10, Jeong teaches the composition to be cured using ultraviolet or visible light (page 3) and further, the wavelength of cure depends in large part on the initiator used in order to facilitate the cure. Because the art and the claim use the same initiator, the wavelength of cure would also be within the same wavelength range.
With regards to claims 11-20, Jeong teaches the composition to be used to form articles (title) that include dental molded products (page 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (KR 1020190001784) in view of Lee et al (US 2002/0086914).
The disclosure of Jeong is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claims 5 and 6, Jeong teaches the addition of a monomer (page 6).
Jeong does not teach the monomer to have a cyclic structure or to be isobornyl acrylate.
Lee teaches a radiation curable composition (title) that is used to form three-dimensional objects (0003). Lee teaches the composition to include urethane di(meth)acrylates (0044) and a radiation curable (meth)acrylate that includes isobornyl acrylate (0052). Lee teaches the motivation for adding the isobornyl acylate to be because it has a high glass transition temperature (Tg), a low molecular weight, is a clear liquid room temperature, a low viscosity, and a good surface tension. Lee and Jeong is analogous in the art of curable compositions for the formation of three-dimensional objects. In light of the benefit above, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the monomer of Lee to the composition of Jeong, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763