DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to RCE and Amendment filed on 6/11/2026.
Claim 13 was canceled.
Claims 1-12, 14-22 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “Claims 1 and 12 require an architecture in which a single checking unit both (i) checks, for each control cycle, the travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner, and (ii) creates a list of travel trajectories that contains those first-trajectory- planner travel trajectories which have passed the check and, in addition, contains the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner. As amended, the list so created is transmitted from the checking unit to a selection unit, and the selection unit selects the trajectory - either a passed first-trajectory-planner travel trajectory or the safety travel trajectory - from that list. Support for the selection-unit limitations appears in the specification of record at 0019, 0084, and 0085. The claimed list is thus a single, checking-unit-created data structure whose membership combines the checked first- trajectory-planner travel trajectories with the safety travel trajectory, and from which the operative trajectory is then selected” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Koopman disclosed in Para 83 “The Priority Selector 530 is implemented as a node in the Robot Operating System (ROS) and receives the outputs of both the Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 and the Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528 within the Trajectory Execution Stage 506”. The safety gates providing outputs to the priority selector would encompass the list of travel trajectories from the checking unit to a selection unit.
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Each of t0, t1, and t2 is therefore a safety trajectory produced by Koopman's safing planner; none of them is a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner which has passed a check by a checking unit. The claimed list, by contrast, must contain those travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check and, in addition, the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner. A proper §103 rejection, itself, cannot supply a feature on which the cited reference is silent, and Koopman's three same-source emergency trajectories are not a proper source of the claimed list combining checked first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories with the safety travel trajectory.” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Fig. 7 and Para 72 of Koopman disclosed “FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an example of an occupancy grid 700 for motion planning in reaction to a falling tree. Suppose that the obstacle 608 in FIG. 6 is a large tree. After creating the trajectory 610 as shown in FIG. 6, the tree falls in the intended path. This change updates the state of the map as indicated in grid 700 of FIG. 7, and therefore triggers the Safing Planner 516 (in FIG. 5) to generate three emergency trajectories (t0, t1 and t2). Since the safe stopping trajectory t0 does not collide with the obstacle 708, trajectory t0 is selected and immediately applied. However, if the vehicle 702 is too large to stop in the time calculated for trajectory t0, trajectory t2 is invalidated by the obstacle 708 and is therefore not considered. In this situation, the vehicle 702 selects the safe alternative trajectory t1 instead”. The different trajectories including trajectory 610 (trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner) and emergency trajectories t0, t1 and t2(the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner) would encompasses a list of trajectories. Furthermore, the examiner notes Para 83 and 101 of Koopman disclosed “The Priority Selector 530 is implemented as a node in the Robot Operating System (ROS) and receives the outputs of both the Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 and the Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528 within the Trajectory Execution Stage 506” and “The system selects the primary data, the secondary data, the previously stored data, or default data (814) based on evaluating logic data. The system may include a priority selector that evaluates the logic data to make a selection. The logic data specifies rules that define that which data is selected under specific conditions. The primary data is selected after determining that the primary data provides for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner. The secondary data is selected after determining that (i) the primary data does not provide for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner and (ii) the secondary data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions”. The different trajectories including the output of Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 which is trajectory 610 (travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner) and the output of Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528 which are the emergency trajectories t0, t1 and t2(the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner) form a list of trajectories.
(C) Applicant's arguments filed “Koopman's priority selector accordingly provides as the control data "one of: the verified primary trajectory output if the verified primary trajectory output is received, the verified safing trajectory output if only the verified safing trajectory output is received, or a default output if neither ... is received." Koopman 1 0009; see also 1 0101. That is an if/else selection between two separately verified channel outputs. It is not the creation, by a checking unit, of a single list that contains the passed first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories together with the safety travel trajectory, and it is not a selection of a trajectory from that list by a selection unit, as amended claims 1 and 12 require” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Para 83 and 101 of Koopman disclosed “The Priority Selector 530 is implemented as a node in the Robot Operating System (ROS) and receives the outputs of both the Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 and the Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528 within the Trajectory Execution Stage 506” and “The system selects the primary data, the secondary data, the previously stored data, or default data (814) based on evaluating logic data. The system may include a priority selector that evaluates the logic data to make a selection. The logic data specifies rules that define that which data is selected under specific conditions. The primary data is selected after determining that the primary data provides for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner. The secondary data is selected after determining that (i) the primary data does not provide for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner and (ii) the secondary data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions” which indicated a selection of a trajectory (the system selects the primary data, the secondary data, the previously stored data, or default data (814) based on evaluating logic data) from that list (the outputs of both the Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 and the Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528) by a selection unit (a priority selector that evaluates the logic data to make a selection).
(D) Applicant's arguments filed “Hauler switches between a standard trajectory and a safety trajectory and is not a proper source of the missing disclosure. Hauler does not cure this deficiency. Hauler generates a standard trajectory ST1 and, "[e]ssentially simultaneously," a safety zone B or safety trajectory ST2, and an error monitoring device "establishes whether motor vehicle 10 is to be guided according to standard trajectory ST1 or whether there are circumstances where it appears reasonable for the motor vehicle to be guided into safety zone B or along safety or replacement trajectory ST2." Hauler 11 0044 and 0046. Hauler thus switches between a standard trajectory and a safety trajectory upon an error; it does not describe a checking unit that creates a list containing the checked first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories together with the safety travel trajectory, nor a selection unit that selects a trajectory from such a list. Hauler is not a proper source of the missing disclosure. For the foregoing reasons, neither Hauler nor Koopman, alone or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the checking-unit-created list and selection-unit limitations of amended claims 1 and 12, and the §103 rejection of claims 1 and 12 should be withdrawn. Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 14 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 1 or claim 12. These dependent claims are, therefore, allowable for at least the same reasons.” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (D), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Hauler Para 46 disclosed “Error monitoring device 30 thus represents a control authority, in a manner of speaking, which establishes whether motor vehicle 10 is to be guided according to standard trajectory ST1 or whether there are circumstances where it appears reasonable for the motor vehicle to be guided into safety zone B or along safety or replacement trajectory ST2” indicating that the Error monitoring device of Hauler selecting a trajectory based on the circumstances. Koopman further disclosed the checking of trajectories and the transmission of checked trajectories to a selection unit. The combination of the two references would fully encompass the claim limitations.
(E) Applicant's arguments filed “Lapin is cited for an evaluation indicator that forms a measure of comfort and safety; Ohashi for a check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs; and King for certification of the trajectory planners in accordance with a safety level. None of Lapin, Ohashi, or King is cited for, or discloses, a checking unit that creates a list containing the checked first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories together with the safety travel trajectory, or a selection unit that selects a trajectory from such a list. None of these references, therefore, cures the deficiency of Hauler and Koopman identified in Section IV, and the rejections of claims 4, 7, 9, 15, 16, 17, and 18 should be withdrawn for at least the reasons claims 1 and 12 are allowable” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (E), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes the combination of Hauler and Koopman would fully encompass the claim limitations in claims 1 and 12 and the combination of references would fully encompass the dependent claims.
(F) Applicant's arguments filed “New claims 19 and 21 further require that the list of travel trajectories contains a plurality of travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check by the checking unit, and that the selection is made, from among that plurality in the list, by selecting the travel trajectory whose evaluation indicator indicates a maximum comfort and maximum safety based on a comparison of the evaluation indicators of the plurality. Koopman's verified primary channel provides a single verified primary trajectory output, not a plurality of checked first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories co-listed with the safety travel trajectory, and Koopman's priority selector switches between channels rather than comparing evaluation indicators among the members of a single list. Koopman 0009, 0052, and 0101. New claims 19 and 21 are patentable over the prior art of record for at least these additional reasons. New claims 20 and 22 further require that the checking unit discards a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner that does not pass the check, such that the discarded travel trajectory is excluded from the list. In Koopman, a failed primary output causes the PPSG to "simply inhibit[] the output," after which the Priority Selector "switches control to the safing channel." Koopman $ 0052. Koopman does not describe a checking unit that, having discarded a non-passing first-trajectory-planner travel trajectory, assembles the remaining passed first-trajectory-planner travel trajectories together with the safety travel trajectory into the claimed list. New claims 20 and 22 are patentable over the prior art of record for at least these additional reasons” on 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (F), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Koopman Para 34 and 30 disclosed “The Decision Logic 208 includes a “trajectory evaluation” component that evaluates the trajectories produced by the Complex Subsystem 202. If the component determines that a trajectory is unsafe, it inhibits the output of the Complex Subsystem 202” and “In the Simplex architecture there are two doers (safety subsystem 204, complex subsystem 202) and one checker (decision logic 208)” indicating more than one trajectory outputted from the complex subsystem 202 (first trajectory planner) and inhibits the output of the Complex Subsystem 202 (discarded travel trajectory). The examiner also notes that Para 76 and 72 of Koopman disclosed “the purpose of the Primary Safety Gate (PSG) 404 is to inhibit unsafe inputs from the Primary Unit 402” and “the Safing Planner 516 (in FIG. 5) to generate three emergency trajectories (t0, t1 and t2). Since the safe stopping trajectory t0 does not collide with the obstacle 708, trajectory t0 is selected and immediately applied. However, if the vehicle 702 is too large to stop in the time calculated for trajectory t0, trajectory t2 is invalidated by the obstacle 708 and is therefore not considered. In this situation, the vehicle 702 selects the safe alternative trajectory t1 instead” indicating a selection of one trajectory from a list of trajectories provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler (US20150246678A1) in view of Koopman (US20190056735A1).
In regard to claim 1, Hauler teaches A method for planning an at least partially automated driving process with a driver assistance system of a vehicle, said method comprising
determining at least one possible future driving process by the driver assistance system (Hauler: Para 42 “A behavior generation in a step S5 enables a planning of actions which are required in order to implement the situation which was previously predicted. For example, this may include the planning of a lane change which is to be carried out or a change in velocity of motor vehicle 10 which is to be carried out”);
calculating at least one travel trajectory for the at least one driving process by a first trajectory planner, the first trajectory planner comprising program instructions processed by a first processor (Hauler: Para 43 “According to the present invention it is now provided that in the automated driving operation of motor vehicle 10, so-called standard trajectories ST1 are generated in a step S6 and transmitted to a control system 40, the mathematical data of trajectories ST1 being converted with the aid of control system 40 into data which are processable by an actuator device 1. Control system 40 transmits the mentioned data to actuator device 1 of motor vehicle 10, which may include multiple actuators (steering actuators, for example.)”);
calculating a safety travel trajectory by a second trajectory planner, wherein the safety travel trajectory is calculated independently in time of … the calculation of the at least one travel trajectory by the first trajectory planner (Hauler: Para 44 “Essentially simultaneously or also chronologically in very short succession, a safety zone B or a safety trajectory ST2 is created in step S6, in particular cyclically, which is also transmitted to control system 40 or transmitted by it to actuator device 1. For the calculation of safety zone B or safety trajectory ST2, the detected movement of other road users must be predicted, taking physically possible and probable movement changes into consideration”)
selecting, by the selection unit, a trajectory from the list of travel trajectories the selected trajectory being either a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner … or the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner(Hauler: Para 46 “Error monitoring device 30 thus represents a control authority, in a manner of speaking, which establishes whether motor vehicle 10 is to be guided according to standard trajectory ST1 or whether there are circumstances where it appears reasonable for the motor vehicle to be guided into safety zone B or along safety or replacement trajectory ST2”); and
controlling the at least partially automated driving process by the autonomous driver assistance system based on the selected trajectory(Hauler: Para 46 “Error monitoring device 30 thus represents a control authority, in a manner of speaking, which establishes whether motor vehicle 10 is to be guided according to standard trajectory ST1 or whether there are circumstances where it appears reasonable for the motor vehicle to be guided into safety zone B or along safety or replacement trajectory ST2”; Para 43 “standard trajectories ST1 are generated in a step S6 and transmitted to a control system 40, the mathematical data of trajectories ST1 being converted with the aid of control system 40 into data which are processable by an actuator device 1. Control system 40 transmits the mentioned data to actuator device 1 of motor vehicle 10, which may include multiple actuators (steering actuators, for example.)”; Para 44 “a safety zone B or a safety trajectory ST2 is created in step S6, in particular cyclically, which is also transmitted to control system 40 or transmitted by it to actuator device 1”).
Yet Hauler do not explicitly teach wherein the safety travel trajectory is calculated … on different hardware than, the calculation of the at least one travel trajectory by the first trajectory planner;
checking, for each control cycle, the at least one travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner and creating, for the control cycle, a list of travel trajectories by a checking unit, the checking unit comprising hardware and software such that the checking unit meets a safety level higher than that of the first trajectory planner, the list of travel trajectories containing those travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check by the checking unit and, in addition, containing the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner;
transmitting the list of travel trajectories from the checking unit to a selection unit; and
… a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner that has passed the check by the checking unit….
However, in the same field of endeavor, Koopman teaches wherein the safety travel trajectory is calculated … on different hardware than, the calculation of the at least one travel trajectory by the first trajectory planner (Koopman: Fig. 2 Element 204; Fig. 5 Element 516; Para 29 “The Simplex architecture includes two distinct control components: the Complex Subsystem 202 and the Safety Subsystem 204. The Complex Subsystem 202 may be a sophisticated control algorithm that is difficult to develop to a sufficient level of integrity. The Safety Subsystem 204 can provide similar, but simplified control features as the Complex Subsystem 202, but does so using a high-integrity implementation”; Para 31 “the Complex Subsystem 202 could use a traditional robotic path-planning algorithm. The Safety Subsystem 204 could be a safe shutdown control subsystem (e.g., bring the vehicle to a stop in a controlled manner)”; Para 59 “the Safing Planner 516 in AGV-relevant implementations produces feasible trajectories designed to enable the vehicle to stop quickly and safely when problems occur. The Safing Planner 516 provides an emergency option for the vehicle and continually reevaluates the plans as the vehicle moves through the world and as a dynamic or static obstacle is encountered”);
checking, for each control cycle, the at least one travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner and creating, for the control cycle, a list of travel trajectories by a checking unit, the checking unit comprising hardware and software such that the checking unit meets a safety level higher than that of the first trajectory planner, the list of travel trajectories containing those travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check by the checking unit and, in addition, containing the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner(Koopman: Fig. 2 Element 208; Fig. 5 Element 514 and 518; Para 34 “The Decision Logic 208 includes a “trajectory evaluation” component that evaluates the trajectories produced by the Complex Subsystem 202”; Para 9 “a primary planner safety gate that receives the primary path data from the primary planner unit, determines whether the primary path data provides for the moving of the device in accordance with the primary path data in a safe manner, and provides the primary path data as a verified primary path output in response to a determination that the primary path data provides for the moving of the device in accordance with the primary path data in the safe manner; a safing planner safety gate that receives the safing path data from the safing planner unit, determines whether the safing path data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions, and provides the safing path data as a verified safing path output in response to a determination that the safing path data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions”; i.e. the list of travel trajectories contains those travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner (verified primary path output) which have passed the check by the checking unit (primary planner safety gate) and, in addition, contains the safety travel trajectory(verified safing path output) produced by the second trajectory planner(the safing path data from the safing planner unit));
transmitting the list of travel trajectories from the checking unit to a selection unit (Koopman: Fig. 5 Element 530; Para 83 “The Priority Selector 530 is implemented as a node in the Robot Operating System (ROS) and receives the outputs of both the Primary Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 524 and the Safing Trajectory Executor Safety Gate 528 within the Trajectory Execution Stage 506. The outputs of the Priority Selector 530 includes vehicle velocity and curvature commands, which are translated by another ROS node, known as the Vehicle Controller 532, into commands to the vehicle's braking, steering, and throttle actuators”); and
selecting, by the selection unit, a trajectory from the list of travel trajectories the selected trajectory being either a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner that has passed the check by the checking unit or the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner(Koopman: Para 100 “The system validates the primary data (806) by determining whether the primary data provides for the moving of the device on the planned path in a safe manner. The primary safety gate may execute an algorithm that makes this determination. The system also validates the secondary data (808) by determining whether the secondary data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions. The secondary safety gate may execute an algorithm that makes this determination”; Para 101 “The system selects the primary data, the secondary data, the previously stored data, or default data (814) based on evaluating logic data. The system may include a priority selector that evaluates the logic data to make a selection. The logic data specifies rules that define that which data is selected under specific conditions. The primary data is selected after determining that the primary data provides for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner. The secondary data is selected after determining that (i) the primary data does not provide for the moving of the device on the planned path in the safe manner and (ii) the secondary data provides for the moving of the device so as to avoid the one or more adverse conditions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify A method for planning an at least partially automated driving process with a driver assistance system of a vehicle of Hauler with the feature of wherein the safety travel trajectory is calculated … on different hardware than, the calculation of the at least one travel trajectory by the first trajectory planner; checking, for each control cycle, the at least one travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner and creating, for the control cycle, a list of travel trajectories by a checking unit, the checking unit comprising hardware and software such that the checking unit meets a safety level higher than that of the first trajectory planner, the list of travel trajectories containing those travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check by the checking unit and, in addition, containing the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner; transmitting the list of travel trajectories from the checking unit to a selection unit; and selecting, by the selection unit, a trajectory from the list of travel trajectories the selected trajectory being either a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner that has passed the check by the checking unit or the safety travel trajectory produced by the second trajectory planner disclosed by Koopman. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “mitigate safety risks posed by autonomous functions such as planning and control” (Koopman Para 3).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Hauler further teaches wherein the first trajectory planner meets a lower safety level than a safety level of the second trajectory planner (Hauler: Para 43 “standard trajectories ST1 are generated in a step S6 and transmitted to a control system 40, the mathematical data of trajectories ST1 being converted with the aid of control system 40 into data which are processable by an actuator device 1”; Para 44 “For the calculation of safety zone B or safety trajectory ST2, the detected movement of other road users must be predicted, taking physically possible and probable movement changes into consideration”; i.e. safety zone B or safety trajectory ST2 calculated with physically possible and probable movement changes taken into consideration therefor higher safety level).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the first trajectory planner meets a lower safety level than a safety level of the checking unit(Koopman: Para 52 “The output of the Primary Planner 512, which in some AGV-relevant implementations is a trajectory consisting of a sequence of waypoints, is checked by the Primary Planner Safety Gate (PPSG) 514. The PPSG 514 checks whether the Primary Planner's 512 output is valid using an application-specific check, and further checks that the output is within the permissive envelope (PE) provided by the Safing Planner Safety Gate (SPSG) 518”; i.e. Primary Planner Safety Gate uses application-specific check would indicate higher safety level). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the safety travel trajectory is calculated by the second trajectory planner in such a way that the safety travel trajectory, starting from the current vehicle position, indicates a movement path (Koopman: Para 59 “the Safing Planner 516 in AGV-relevant implementations produces feasible trajectories designed to enable the vehicle to stop quickly and safely when problems occur. The Safing Planner 516 provides an emergency option for the vehicle and continually reevaluates the plans as the vehicle moves through the world and as a dynamic or static obstacle is encountered”) which is collision-free and observes a predefined distance from other vehicles and/or objects in the vicinity of the vehicle (Koopman: Para 56 “During the trajectory generation phase, the paths produced are able to transition a vehicle from start to goal without violating the collision constraints (imposed by the occupancy grid) or kinematic constraints (as imposed by the vehicle model). By considering these constraints during the generation phase, controls are generated for the vehicle such that it is able to follow the solution trajectory”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the safety travel trajectory keeps the vehicle in the current lane (Koopman: Fig. 7 Element t0; Para 56 “This model limits the vehicle's movement to only three possible ways: turn right arc, turn left arc, and go straight. By constructing trajectories using sequences of these motion primitives, controls to follow the trajectory are generated during the control generation phase given a path that satisfies these constraints (assuming the turning radius matches the physical vehicle)”; Para 72 “After creating the trajectory 610 as shown in FIG. 6, the tree falls in the intended path. This change updates the state of the map as indicated in grid 700 of FIG. 7, and therefore triggers the Safing Planner 516 (in FIG. 5) to generate three emergency trajectories (t0, t1 and t2)”)). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the travel trajectory calculated by the first trajectory planner and examined by the checking unit is selected instead of the safety travel trajectory(Koopman: Para 9 “a priority selector that is coupled to the primary trajectory safety gate to receive the verified primary trajectory output, to the safing trajectory safety gate to receive the verified safing trajectory output, and to a controller to provide control data, the priority selector provides as the control data one of: the verified primary trajectory output if the verified primary trajectory output is received, the verified safing trajectory output if only the verified safing trajectory output is received, or a default output if neither the verified primary trajectory output nor the verified safing trajectory output is received”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the selecting selects the safety travel trajectory if the list of travel trajectories does not contain any travel trajectory calculated by the first trajectory planner and examined by the checking unit(Koopman: Para 9 “a priority selector that is coupled to the primary trajectory safety gate to receive the verified primary trajectory output, to the safing trajectory safety gate to receive the verified safing trajectory output, and to a controller to provide control data, the priority selector provides as the control data one of: the verified primary trajectory output if the verified primary trajectory output is received, the verified safing trajectory output if only the verified safing trajectory output is received, or a default output if neither the verified primary trajectory output nor the verified safing trajectory output is received”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein a calculation period of the safety travel trajectory by the second trajectory planner is shorter than a calculation period of the at least one travel trajectory by the first trajectory planner(Koopman: Para 10 “The safing trajectory safety gate may determine whether the safing trajectory data was received within a predefined time window to determine whether the safing trajectory data is consistent with the current state of the device”).. The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
As per claim 12, it recites “A driver assistance system for a vehicle” having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The driver assistance system according to Claim 12, and Koopman further teaches wherein the first trajectory planner comprises program instructions which are processed by a processor which is independent of the processor of the checking unit (Koopman: Fig. 2 Element 202, 204, and 208; Para 30 “The scope of costly verification and validation is focused on the safety subsystem 204 and decision logic 208, which, if designed properly, are relatively simple components. Achieving these benefits, however, may require careful design analysis and strict adherence to requirements. In the Simplex architecture there are two doers (safety subsystem 204, complex subsystem 202) and one checker (decision logic 208)”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 20, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the checking unit discards a travel trajectory provided by the first trajectory planner that does not pass the check by the checking unit, such that the discarded travel trajectory is excluded from the list of travel trajectories(Koopman: Para 52 “The output of the Primary Planner 512, which in some AGV-relevant implementations is a trajectory consisting of a sequence of waypoints, is checked by the Primary Planner Safety Gate (PPSG) 514. The PPSG 514 checks whether the Primary Planner's 512 output is valid using an application-specific check, and further checks that the output is within the permissive envelope (PE) provided by the Safing Planner Safety Gate (SPSG) 518. If the Primary Planner's 512 output fails either of these checks, the PPSG 514 simply inhibits the output”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler and Koopman as in Claim 1 above.
As per claim 22, it recites “A driver assistance system for a vehicle” having limitations similar to those of claim 20 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 4, 9, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler (US20150246678A1) in view of Koopman (US20190056735A1) further in view of Lapin (US20210403034A1).
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to claim 1.
Yet the combination of Hauler and Koopman do not explicitly teach wherein the first trajectory planner calculates an evaluation indicator for each of the travel trajectories, which forms a measure of comfort and safety of the respective travel trajectory.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lapin teaches wherein the first trajectory planner calculates an evaluation indicator for each of the travel trajectories, which forms a measure of comfort and safety of the respective travel trajectory (Lapin: Para 48 “the trajectory generator may generate a number of candidate trajectories based on the driving constraints of the environment. The trajectory may be selected from one of the candidate trajectories based on an associated cost function. In particular embodiments, the associated cost function may be associated with a number of cost terms. Each cost term may be associated with a weight indicating a relative importance level of that cost term. In particular embodiments, the cost terms of the cost function may include one or more of: a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to a lane boundary, a distance to a lead vehicle, a relative speed with respect to a lead vehicle, a difference between a trajectory speed and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration, a vehicle steering angle, a vehicle position, or a factor representing safety and comfort of a vehicle trajectory. In particular embodiments, the trajectory may be selected from the candidate trajectories based on a trajectory-evaluation metric determined using the associated cost function based on the cost terms and the weights”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of the combination of Hauler and Koopman with the feature of wherein the first trajectory planner calculates an evaluation indicator for each of the travel trajectories, which forms a measure of comfort and safety of the respective travel trajectory disclosed by Lapin. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “the trajectory planner meets the validation criteria (e.g., meeting criteria for the safety metric and comfort metric) with the output trajectory matching human driving trajectories” (Lapin: Para 45).
In regard to claim 9, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to Claim 1, and Koopman further teaches wherein the selecting comprises selecting that travel trajectory calculated by the first trajectory planner and examined by the checking unit (Koopman: Para 9 “a priority selector that is coupled to the primary trajectory safety gate to receive the verified primary trajectory output, to the safing trajectory safety gate to receive the verified safing trajectory output, and to a controller to provide control data, the priority selector provides as the control data one of: the verified primary trajectory output if the verified primary trajectory output is received, the verified safing trajectory output if only the verified safing trajectory output is received, or a default output if neither the verified primary trajectory output nor the verified safing trajectory output is received”), while Lapin further teaches an evaluation indicator of which indicates that the travel trajectory offers maximum comfort and maximum safety(Lapin: Para 48 “the trajectory generator may generate a number of candidate trajectories based on the driving constraints of the environment. The trajectory may be selected from one of the candidate trajectories based on an associated cost function. In particular embodiments, the associated cost function may be associated with a number of cost terms. Each cost term may be associated with a weight indicating a relative importance level of that cost term. In particular embodiments, the cost terms of the cost function may include one or more of: a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to a lane boundary, a distance to a lead vehicle, a relative speed with respect to a lead vehicle, a difference between a trajectory speed and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration, a vehicle steering angle, a vehicle position, or a factor representing safety and comfort of a vehicle trajectory. In particular embodiments, the trajectory may be selected from the candidate trajectories based on a trajectory-evaluation metric determined using the associated cost function based on the cost terms and the weights”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler, Koopman, and Lapin as in Claim 4 above.
In regard to claim 19, the combination of Hauler, Koopman, and Lapin teaches The method according to Claim 4, and Koopman further teaches wherein the list of travel trajectories contains a plurality of travel trajectories provided by the first trajectory planner which have passed the check by the checking unit(Koopman: Fig. 2 Element 512 and 514; Para 34 “The Decision Logic 208 includes a “trajectory evaluation” component that evaluates the trajectories produced by the Complex Subsystem 202. If the component determines that a trajectory is unsafe, it inhibits the output of the Complex Subsystem 202. The component wraps the Complex Subsystem 202 within a safety gate architecture to make it fail silently upon such determination”; Para 54 “The Primary Planner 512 in the AGV-relevant implementations generates a kinematically feasible path between two points such that the path can actually be followed realistically by a car-like ground vehicle”; Para 56 “By constructing trajectories using sequences of these motion primitives, controls to follow the trajectory are generated during the control generation phase given a path that satisfies these constraints (assuming the turning radius matches the physical vehicle). By instantiating OMPL with the Occupancy Grid based validity checker and the Dubins motion constraint, trajectories may be generated that are both feasible and collision-free”; Para 52 “The output of the Primary Planner 512, which in some AGV-relevant implementations is a trajectory consisting of a sequence of waypoints, is checked by the Primary Planner Safety Gate (PPSG) 514. The PPSG 514 checks whether the Primary Planner's 512 output is valid using an application-specific check, and further checks that the output is within the permissive envelope (PE) provided by the Safing Planner Safety Gate (SPSG) 518. If the Primary Planner's 512 output fails either of these checks, the PPSG 514 simply inhibits the output”), while Lapin further teaches wherein the selecting comprises selecting, by the selection unit and from among the plurality of travel trajectories in the list, that travel trajectory whose evaluation indicator indicates a maximum comfort and maximum safety based on a comparison of the evaluation indicators of the plurality of travel trajectories(Lapin: Para 48 “the trajectory generator may generate a number of candidate trajectories based on the driving constraints of the environment. The trajectory may be selected from one of the candidate trajectories based on an associated cost function. In particular embodiments, the associated cost function may be associated with a number of cost terms. Each cost term may be associated with a weight indicating a relative importance level of that cost term. In particular embodiments, the cost terms of the cost function may include one or more of: a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to a lane boundary, a distance to a lead vehicle, a relative speed with respect to a lead vehicle, a difference between a trajectory speed and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration, a vehicle steering angle, a vehicle position, or a factor representing safety and comfort of a vehicle trajectory. In particular embodiments, the trajectory may be selected from the candidate trajectories based on a trajectory-evaluation metric determined using the associated cost function based on the cost terms and the weights”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler, Koopman, and Lapin as in Claim 4 above.
As per claim 21, it recites “A driver assistance system for a vehicle” having limitations similar to those of claims 4 and 19 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler (US20150246678A1) in view of Koopman (US20190056735A1) further in view of Lapin (US20210403034A1) and Ohashi (US20160137261A1).
In regard to claim 7, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The method according to claim 1.
Yet the combination of Hauler and Koopman do not explicitly teach wherein the checking unit performs the following checks:
a check whether an unintentional departure from the lane occurs;
a check whether a departure from the roadway occurs; and
a check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lapin teaches wherein the checking unit performs the following checks:
a check whether an unintentional departure from the lane occurs (Lapin: Para 20 “the vehicle system 210 may collect data related to other vehicles or agents in the surrounding environment including, for example, but not limited to, environment images, vehicle speeds, vehicle acceleration, vehicle moving paths, vehicle driving trajectories, locations, vehicle signal status (e.g., on-off state of turning signals), braking signal status, a distance to another vehicle, a relative speed to another vehicle, a distance to a pedestrian, a relative speed to a pedestrian, a distance to a traffic signal, a distance to an intersection, a distance to a road sign, a distance to curb, a relative position to a road line, positions of other traffic agents, a road layout, pedestrians, traffic status (e.g., number of nearby vehicles, number of pedestrians, traffic signals), time of day (e.g., morning rush hours, evening rush hours, non-busy hours), type of traffic (e.g., high speed moving traffic, accident events, slow moving traffic), locations (e.g., GPS coordination), road conditions (e.g., constructing zones, school zones, wet surfaces, ice surfaces), intersections, road signs (e.g., stop sign 160, road lines 142, cross walk), nearby objects (e.g., curb, light poles, billboard), buildings, weather conditions (e.g., raining, fog, sunny, hot weather, cold weather), etc.”; Para 28 “when the AV detects a lane boundary and a curb, the trajectory planner of the AV may need to take that lane boundary and curb as the driving constraints for generating the corresponding trajectories to navigate the vehicle. In particular embodiments, the generated driving constraints may be associated with a timestamp and may be used by the trajectory planner to generate the planned trajectories (during a cost function optimization process) for navigating the vehicle in accordance with this particular scenario”; Para 38 “each trajectory being evaluated may be associated with a number of parameters including, for example, but not limited to, a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to another obstacle, a distance to a lead vehicle, a relative speed to a lead vehicle, a distance to a lane boundary, a difference between the trajectory speed and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration, a vehicle steering angle, a vehicle position, etc. The system may determine, for a candidate trajectory being evaluated, a cost based on a particular parameter (e.g., a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to a lane boundary, a difference between trajectory speeds and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration)”);
a check whether a departure from the roadway occurs (Lapin: Para 20 “the vehicle system 210 may collect data related to other vehicles or agents in the surrounding environment including, for example, but not limited to, environment images, vehicle speeds, vehicle acceleration, vehicle moving paths, vehicle driving trajectories, locations, vehicle signal status (e.g., on-off state of turning signals), braking signal status, a distance to another vehicle, a relative speed to another vehicle, a distance to a pedestrian, a relative speed to a pedestrian, a distance to a traffic signal, a distance to an intersection, a distance to a road sign, a distance to curb, a relative position to a road line, positions of other traffic agents, a road layout, pedestrians, traffic status (e.g., number of nearby vehicles, number of pedestrians, traffic signals), time of day (e.g., morning rush hours, evening rush hours, non-busy hours), type of traffic (e.g., high speed moving traffic, accident events, slow moving traffic), locations (e.g., GPS coordination), road conditions (e.g., constructing zones, school zones, wet surfaces, ice surfaces), intersections, road signs (e.g., stop sign 160, road lines 142, cross walk), nearby objects (e.g., curb, light poles, billboard), buildings, weather conditions (e.g., raining, fog, sunny, hot weather, cold weather), etc.”; Para 28 “when the AV detects a lane boundary and a curb, the trajectory planner of the AV may need to take that lane boundary and curb as the driving constraints for generating the corresponding trajectories to navigate the vehicle. In particular embodiments, the generated driving constraints may be associated with a timestamp and may be used by the trajectory planner to generate the planned trajectories (during a cost function optimization process) for navigating the vehicle in accordance with this particular scenario”; Para 38 “each trajectory being evaluated may be associated with a number of parameters including, for example, but not limited to, a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to another obstacle, a distance to a lead vehicle, a relative speed to a lead vehicle, a distance to a lane boundary, a difference between the trajectory speed and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration, a vehicle steering angle, a vehicle position, etc. The system may determine, for a candidate trajectory being evaluated, a cost based on a particular parameter (e.g., a distance to a closest obstacle, a distance to a lane boundary, a difference between trajectory speeds and a speed limit, a maximum jerk, a maximum acceleration)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of the combination of Hauler and Koopman with the feature of wherein the checking unit performs the following checks: a check whether an unintentional departure from the lane occurs; a check whether a departure from the roadway occurs disclosed by Lapin. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “the trajectory planner meets the validation criteria (e.g., meeting criteria for the safety metric and comfort metric) with the output trajectory matching human driving trajectories” (Lapin: Para 45).
Yet the combination of Hauler, Koopman, and Lapin do not explicitly teach a check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohashi teaches a check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs (Ohashi: Para 65 “the judgment controller 6 of some embodiments is structured so that the stopped state of the vehicle can be kept based on detections of the detection sensors (S3-S6). That is, when the detecting sensor S3 detects that a driver does not grasp the throttle grip Ga (or the grasping grip Gb), when the sensor S4 detects that a driver is not sitting on the seat 10, or when the sensors S5, S6 detect that the side stand 11 or main stand 12 are used, it is judged by the judgment controller 6 that the driver's demand is to keep the vehicle stopped state and thus the vehicle is kept stopped state based on the judgment”; Para 104 “the judgment controller 6 can change the state of vehicle to the stopped state based on at least one detection of the detection sensors (S3-S6), it is possible to keep the stopped state of vehicle by surely judging the driver's demand. Furthermore, according to the some embodiments, since the idle-neutral control is performed when the engine E is started from the idle-stop state without driver's operation, it is possible to surely inhibit or prevent unintentional start of vehicle in the absence of driver demand and therefore traffic safety can be improved”; i.e. stopped state of the vehicle can be kept based on detections of the detection sensors encompasses check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of the combination of Hauler, Koopman, and Lapin with the feature of a check whether an unintentional starting of the vehicle from a standstill occurs disclosed by Ohashi. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “selectively perform the idle-stop or creep control corresponding to the driver's demand” (Ohashi: Para 20).
As per claim 17, it recites “A driver assistance system for a vehicle” having limitations similar to those of claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 15-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauler (US20150246678A1) in view of Koopman (US20190056735A1) further in view of King (US20200148201A1).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The driver assistance system according to claim 12.
Yet the combination of Hauler and Koopman do not explicitly teach wherein the second trajectory planner is certified in accordance with a predetermined safety level, and the first trajectory planner is not certified in accordance with the predetermined safety level.
However, in the same field of endeavor, King teaches wherein the second trajectory planner is certified in accordance with a predetermined safety level, and the first trajectory planner is not certified in accordance with the predetermined safety level(King: Para 47 “the secondary system 108 may be designed to be less computationally burdensome and/or operate at a higher integrity level. For example, a processing pipeline of the secondary system 108 may be simpler by relying on less sensor data, include less complex pipeline components, include less pipeline components overall, output less data, and/or exclude and/or limit the use of machine learned models. In some instances, the secondary system 108 may be a “high-integrity” system by achieving stringent operating tolerances and/or have the ability to be inspected (verified). In examples, the secondary system 108 may have a higher level of reliability and/or verifiability than the primary system 106. For example, output of a sub-component of the secondary system 108 may be certified to operate with complete accuracy or near-complete accuracy (e.g., 99.99% of scenarios, or higher). In some examples, the secondary system 108 or components of the secondary system 108 may be referred to as a collision avoidance system (CAS). In some examples, the secondary system 108 may comprise an Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) D certification”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify The driver assistance system of the combination of Hauler and Koopman with the feature of wherein the second trajectory planner is certified in accordance with a predetermined safety level, and the first trajectory planner is not certified in accordance with the predetermined safety level disclosed by King. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “The secondary system may operate independently of the primary system to enhance the safety of passengers in the vehicle and/or others in proximity to the vehicle” (King: Para 8).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Hauler and Koopman teaches The driver assistance system according to claim 12, and King further teaches wherein the second trajectory planner is certified in accordance with ASIL Level B or higher, and the first trajectory planner is certified in accordance with ASIL QM level without being certified in accordance with ASIL Level B or higher (King: Fig. 1 Element 106, 116 and 108; Para 18 “the primary system 106 may analyze the sensor data 114 to localize the autonomous vehicle 102, detect an object around the autonomous vehicle 102, segment the sensor data 114, determine a classification of the object, predict an object track, generate a trajectory 116 for the autonomous vehicle 102, and so on”; Para 47 “the secondary system 108 may be designed to be less computationally burdensome and/or operate at a higher integrity level. For example, a processing pipeline of the secondary system 108 may be simpler by relying on less sensor data, include less complex pipeline components, include less pipeline components overall, output less data, and/or exclude and/or limit the use of machine learned models. In some instances, the secondary system 108 may be a “high-integrity” system by achieving stringent operating tolerances and/or have the ability to be inspected (verified). In examples, the secondary system 108 may have a higher level of reliability and/or verifiability than the primary system 106. For example, output of a sub-component of the secondary system 108 may be certified to operate with complete accuracy or near-complete accuracy (e.g., 99.99% of scenarios, or higher). In some examples, the secondary system 108 or components of the secondary system 108 may be referred to as a collision avoidance system (CAS). In some examples, the secondary system 108 may comprise an Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) D certification”; i.e. the primary system 106 would have to meet the minimum standard for deployment in the vehicle(certified in accordance with ASIL QM level) while the secondary system 108 may comprise an Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) D certification(certified in accordance with ASIL Level B or higher)). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Hauler, Koopman, and King as in Claim 15 above.
As per claim 18, it recites “A method for planning an at least partially automated driving process with a driver assistance system of a vehicle” having limitations similar to those of claim 16 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Joyce (US20180046182A1) disclosed A first computer including a processor is programmed to receive an indication of a failure mode in a vehicle and wirelessly transmit the indication of the failure mode to a remote server. The computer is further programmed to receive a revised route to a destination based at least in part on the failure mode and operate the vehicle along the revised route.
/WENYUAN YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3667