DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Claims 70-83 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/24/25. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 84-85 and 89-99 in the reply filed on 12/24/25 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 84-85 and 90-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2003311868A (English machine translation provided by applicant) in view of Valderrama et al. “PGLA Barrier Materials from CO2. The influence of Lactide Co-monomer on Glycolic Acid Polyesters” (cited by applicant) . JP2003311868 discloses a packaging material comprising: a substrate formed of pulp fibers that have been processed so as to be assembled into a predetermined shape that defines an interior region within which goods are to be contained, and treated to form bonds between the pulp fibers within the substrate, whereby the substrate is able to at least partly retain its shape in an unsupported condition; and a protective layer that includes poly lactic acid (PLA) and/or polygycolic acid (PGA) , that is assembled into a substantially continuous film that is carried by the substrate, and that defines a surface of the packaging material, wherein the protective layer has having a thickness that is efficacious in inhibiting interaction between atmospheric water vapor and the packaging material beneath the protective layer; and one or more intermediate layers between the substrate and the protective layer, wherein the intermediate layers are efficacious in inhibiting the transmission of at least one of: oxygen gas, and water vapor therethrough (paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0021], [0027-0028], [0030], [0037], [0041], [0044], [0047], [0051] ) . JP2003311868 does not disclose a protective layer that includes poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA). However, Valderrama discloses that PLGA has improved gas barrier properties and/or improved processability when compared to PLA or PGA (see Introduction section and Table 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a protective layer that includes poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) in JP2003311868 in order to provide improved gas barrier properties and/or improved processability as taught or suggested by Valderrama. JP2003311868 discloses wherein the protective layer is formed such that the film has an average thickness in the range of 2.5 to 100µm, wherein the protective layer is formed such that the film has an average thickness in the range of 5 to 50 µm , wherein the intermediate layer: includes a first set of one or more compounds, at least one of which is insoluble in water, is a solid at Standard Ambient Temperature; and is configured within the packaging material at a thickness that is efficacious in inhibiting the transmission of water vapor therethrough, wherein the first set of compounds includes one or more base compounds, and wherein each base compound is an ester of a long-chain alcohol and a fatty acid (since carnauba wax is disclosed which contains esters of long-chain alcohols and fatty acids) , wherein the base compounds include one or more waxes, wherein the one or more waxes are plant-derived, wherein the one or more waxes include at least one of: candelilla wax, and carnauba wax (paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0021], [0027-0028], [0030], [0037], [0041], [0044], [0047], [0051]) . Valderrama discloses wherein the poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) component of the protective layer has a molecular weight of between 5 and 150 kDa (since Mw = Mn x PDI and 1 kg/mol = 1 kDa ) , wherein the poly(lactic- co-glycolic acid) is formed from lactic acid and glycolic acid, with a greater proportion of lactic acid monomer present at polymerization (see Introduction section and Table 1) . Claim 94, in its entirety, recites a method step in a product claim which has been given little to no patentable weight since the method by which a product is made is not germane to the patentability of a product in a product claim (MPEP 2113). Claim (s) 89 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2003311868A (English machine translation provided by applicant) in view of Valderrama et al. “PGLA Barrier Materials from CO2. The influence of Lactide Co-monomer on Glycolic Acid Polyesters” (cited by applicant), as applied to claims 84-85 and 90-99 above, and further in view of Morita et al. (US 5,769,311) . JP2003311868A discloses a paper cup which can be coated on its inner and/or outer surface (paragraphs [0011], [0015], [0021], [0027-0028], [0030], [0037], [0041], [0044], [0047], [0051]). However, JP2003311868A does not disclose a container including: a body that defines the interior region of the packaging material, and an annular flange that surrounds an entrance to the interior region, wherein the protective layer defines a surface of the interior region, and wherein goods are to be contained within the interior region; and a lid portion with a peripheral edge region that is to be joined to the annular flange to thereby enclose the interior region. Morita discloses a container including: a body that defines the interior region of the packaging material, and an annular flange that surrounds an entrance to the interior region, wherein the protective layer defines a surface of the interior region, and wherein goods are to be contained within the interior region; and a lid portion with a peripheral edge region that is to be joined to the annular flange to thereby enclose the interior region ( column 1, line 49 through column 2, line 39, column 3, lines 25-30, column 4, lines 12-48 and Fig. 19) for the purpose of providing a heat insulating cup and preventing spillage of the contents of said cup. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a container including: a body that defines the interior region of the packaging material, and an annular flange that surrounds an entrance to the interior region, wherein the protective layer defines a surface of the interior region, and wherein goods are to be contained within the interior region; and a lid portion with a peripheral edge region that is to be joined to the annular flange to thereby enclose the interior region in JP2003311868 in order to provide a heat insulating cup and preventing spillage of the contents of said cup as taught or suggested by Morita. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL C MIGGINS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1494 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday, 1-9 pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Aaron Austin can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8935 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL C MIGGINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782 MCM March 29, 2026