DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Applicant has not shown possession of Claim 5 because this sets forth that the central plug “is fixed relative to the second port and the third port”. This is shown in the embodiment of Figs. 6A & 6B which show the second port (connected to tubing 608) and a third port 610, the two ports being fixed relative to the cylindrical plug 618. The embodiment of Figs. 6A & 6B disclosing separate through-channels 620a, 620b. Claim 5, however, is dependent upon claim 1 and in claim 1 there is only one channel which is moved between the communication conditions set forth as the first position and the second position. The Applicant has not shown possession of a central cylindrical plug having a through-channel communicating as set forth in claim 1 and being fixed relative to the second port and the third port.
Claims 1-13 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because in line 13 there is no antecedent basis for “the rotary valve”. It is noted that claim13 sets forth a piston valve, i.e., a reciprocating valve.
Claims 8 and 9 are vague and indefinite because in claim 1 line 12 sets forth “such that a dilator” thus describing what the through-channel is capable of. There3fore, in claim 1 the dilator is not positively claimed. In claims 8 and 9 further definition of the dilator is set forth in a wherein statement. Thus it is unclear if the applicant is now positively setting forth that the system includes the dilator or if the structure and capabilities of the through-channel are being further defined as being merely capable of accommodating a dilator having the structure mentioned.
Claims not specifically mentioned are indefinite since they depend from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11, 12 and 14-17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapp et al (USPN 4,734,614) in view of Schwartz (USPN 4,126,133).
Yapp et al discloses a system (see Figs. 4-6) comprising: a cannula 18; and a valve (14,20) comprising: a first port 44 coupled to the cannula; a second port 32 adapted and configured for coupling to tubing 36; a third port (the larger diameter portion of passage 30), a resilient pierceable seal 16; and a central cylindrical plug (labeled in annotated Figs. 5 & 6 below) received between the first port, the second port, and the third port, the central plug comprising a through-channel (labeled in the annotated figures below) adapted and configured to selectively couple two of the ports; wherein: in a first position (Fig. 5), the first port, the third port, and the through-channel are coupled such that a dilator (such as element 22) can pass: from outside the rotary valve; through the pierceable seal; through the first port; and out a distal end (the left end in Fig. 5) of the cannula; and in a second position (Fig. 6), the first port and the second are port are fluidically coupled.
Yapp et al do not disclose the third port 30 comprising a resilient pierceable seal. Schwartz however discloses a similar system having a cannula 14 and a rotary valcve24, 122 communicating between three ports. As shown in Fig. 8 one of the ports 31 may include a resilient pierceable seal 133.
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a seal as taught by Schwartz in the third port of the system of Yapp et al in order to provide additional sealing to prevent leakage and also to prevent debris from entering the system and reaching the patient.
With regards to claim 2, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the valve is a rotary valve (the valve of Figs. 4-6 is a rotary valve).
With regards to claim 3, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the second port and the third port can be rotated relative to the first port (The second and third ports are formed in the same body and will rotate together).
With regards to claim 4, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the central cylindrical plug is fixed relative to the first port (as shown in Figs 4-6 the cylindrical plug and the first port are formed in the same element).
With regards to claim 6, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the first port and the third port are axially aligned (see Fig. 5) and/or diametrically opposed when in the first position.
With regards to claim 7, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first port and the third port are axially aligned (see Fig. 5) or diametrically opposed.
With regards to claim 8, as understood, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the dilator comprises a tapered distal end 24 and a length relative to the cannula and the valve such that when the dilator is distally advanced through the rotary valve, the tapered distal end extends beyond a distal end of the cannula (see Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 9, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the dilator is adapted and configured to facilitate puncturing of a blood vessel (see col. 4 lines 55-62 and col. 6 lines 51-56).
With regards to claim 11, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1 substantially as claimed but does not specifically disclose that the cannula has an outer diameter between about 7 French and about 16 French. At the time of the effective filing date of the application, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to size the dilator to be sizes between about 7 French and about 16 French because Applicant has not disclosed that this diameter provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with diameters of this size in dependance upon the particular vein that was being pierced or communicated with.
Therefore it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Yapp et al to obtain the invention as specified in the claim(s).
With regards to claim 12, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein in a third position, the through-channel is in fluidic communication with one or fewer of the ports, in a position when rotated between the positions of Fig. 5 and 6, such as in Fig. 4, the through channel would only be in communication with the first port.
With regards to claim 14, 15 and 17, Yapp et al in view of Schwartz discloses the system of claim 1, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapp et al in view of Schwartz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Flake et al (USPAP 2021/0338270).
As set forth above Yapp et al in view of Schwartz discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose one or more centrally biased clamps adapted and configured to: spread radially during puncture of a blood vessel; and clamp the blood vessel against the cannula after puncture or that the blood vessel is an umbilical blood vessel (claim 16).
Flake et al discloses a similar system including a cannula 178 and one or more centrally biased clamps (180, 182 in Fig. 16 and 17) adapted and configured to: spread radially during puncture of a blood vessel (see Fig. 16); and clamp the blood vessel against the cannula after puncture (as in claim 17).
At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a clamping device as taught by Flake et al in the Yapp et al in view of Schwartz system in order to allow for the secure attachment of the cannula to a punctured blood vessel, such as the fragile physiological tissue of an umbilical cord of a neonate (see paragraphs [0015] and [0016]).
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 13 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yapp et al (USPN 4,734,614) in view of Schwartz (USPN 4,126,133) and Christensen et al (USPN 7,802,824).
Yapp et al discloses a system (see Figs. 10-12) comprising: a cannula 118; and a valve comprising: a first port 44 coupled to the cannula; a second port 133 adapted and configured for coupling to tubing 136; a third port (the port below 133 having the needle extending therethrough in Fig. 11); and a central plug (114) received between the first port, the second port, and the third port (clearly shown in Figs. 11 and 12), the central plug comprising a through-channel (130, 132) adapted and configured to selectively couple two of the ports; wherein: in a first position (Fig. 2), the first port, the third port, and the through-channel are coupled such that a dilator (such as element 122) can pass: from outside the valve; through the pierceable seal; through the first port; and out a distal end (the left end in Fig. 10) of the cannula; and in a second position (Fig. 11), the first port and the second are port are fluidically coupled.
Yapp et al do not disclose the third port 30 comprising a resilient pierceable seal or the central plug being cylindrical. Schwartz however discloses a similar system having a cannula 14 and a rotary valve 24, 122 communicating between three ports. As shown in Fig. 8 one of the ports 31 may include a resilient pierceable seal 133. Further Christensen et al disclose a valve in a similar system that is cylindrical (see Figs. 1, 2 & 7).
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a seal as taught by Schwartz in the third port of the system of Yapp et al in order to provide sealing to prevent leakage and also to prevent debris from entering the system and reaching the patient. Further it would have been obvious to create the reciprocating plug valve 114 of Yapp et al to be cylindrical, such as taught by Christensen et al as a well known alternative construction which would be expected to perform equally well and in a similar manner to Yapp et al’s valve. Further, it is noted that in, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Please note that applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
With regards to claim 7, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first port and the third port are axially aligned (see Fig. 5) or diametrically opposed.
With regards to claim 8, as understood, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the dilator comprises a tapered distal end 24 and a length relative to the cannula and the valve such that when the dilator is distally advanced through the rotary valve, the tapered distal end extends beyond a distal end of the cannula (see Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 9, Yapp et al discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the dilator is adapted and configured to facilitate puncturing of a blood vessel (see col. 4 lines 55-62 and col. 6 lines 51-56).
With regards to claim 13, the plug 114 of Yapp et al is a piston valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weikl et al discloses a cannula system.
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
December 18, 2025