DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the RCE filed on 6/29/2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/29/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michini (USPAN 2018/0004207) in view of Hong (USPAN 2021/0159970) and Moon (WO 2005/039151).
Consider claim 1, Michini discloses a method for configuring the topology of a network consisted by a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) (see paragraph 22: “ground control system 150 may connect to one or more UAVs 160 through network 180”; also, see figure 1, reproduced below for convenience), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) receiving current location, movement direction, speed and sensor information of each unmanned aerial vehicle (see paragraph 190: the UAV primary processing system may use various sensors to determine the vehicles current geo-spatial location, attitude, altitude, velocity, direction…; also, see paragraphs 57 and 70: sensor information);
(b) calculating location and link quality of each unmanned aerial vehicle after a predetermined time by using the current location, the movement direction, the speed and the sensor information (see abstract and paragraphs 49, 57, 64, and 190: using the collected data to determine each UAV’s location and signal strength at various locations (e.g., RSSI)); and
(c) configuring a network topology that is capable of communication in the shortest time or with the highest quality according to the calculated location and the link quality (see paragraphs 90 and 91: dynamically adjusting the UAV’s flight plan and/or flight path based on the signal strength / RSSI at various locations, i.e. configuring network topology based on location and link quality; see paragraph 90: “For example, UAV 220 can detect RSSI values that indicate a signal strength at various locations that is stronger or weaker than the expected values. UAV 220 can detect RSSI values that indicate the transmitter is broadcasting in a different direction or orientation than expected”).
Michini does not specifically disclose that the network topology includes a first unmanned aerial vehicle and at least one second unmanned aerial vehicle from among the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles, wherein the at least one second unmanned aerial vehicle is configured to relay communication between the first unmanned aerial vehicle and a base station.
Hong discloses that the network topology includes a first unmanned aerial vehicle and at least one second unmanned aerial vehicle from among the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles, wherein the at least one second unmanned aerial vehicle is configured to relay communication between the first unmanned aerial vehicle and a base station (see paragraph 87: The relay unmanned aerial vehicle 303 may serve to relay communication between the island base stations 314 and the LEO satellites 301 to ensure connectivity with the base stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Michini and combine it with the noted teachings of Hong. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a maritime communication system based on low earth orbit (LEO) satellites and an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) in a manner that reduces latency (see paragraphs 2-14 of Hong).
Michini does not specifically disclose comparing routing metric values of unmanned aerial vehicles neighboring the first UAV, the routing metric values being calculated based on the calculated location and link quality and reflecting capability of communication up to the base station.
Moon discloses comparing routing metric values of unmanned aerial vehicles neighboring the first UAV, the routing metric values being calculated based on the calculated location and link quality and reflecting capability of communication up to the base station (see pages 6-18: “The disclosed embodiment is directed to establishment of a routing protocol that implements an autonomous solution for deployment of a mobile network having movable network nodes configured for independently moving to an optimum position, relative to the other network nodes (movable and fixed). By way of introduction, the routing protocol provides a wireless and autonomous robotic mobile access point. The routing protocol of the disclosed embodiment considers movement of its physical platform as an option to optimize routing metrics, were each movable network node includes routing resources, a mobile platform, and a standardized interface between its routing resources and its mobile platform. Figure 1 is a diagram illustrating mobile nodes having various implementations of mobile platforms that may be used for deployment of the mobile network 10: the mobile network 10 may include an airborne drones 12a, 12b, a marine or submersible drone 12c, a terrestrial drone 12d and 12e, and/or a spacecraft drone 12f.”; “ A particular feature of the network nodes 12 is that they understand not only the connectivity of each of the nodes 12 relative to each other, but the network nodes 12 also understand metrics about the connectivity, including packet error rate, bandwidth delay, latency, etc., that are typically recognized on an OSI layer 2 (link layer) connection, as well as OSI layer 1 (physical layer) factors such as signal strength.”; “ In addition, the mobile nodes 12 are configured to recognize that numerous constraints may limit the physical positioning of the mobile nodes 12, both in terms of maintaining a communication link 18 and maintaining the viability of the network node itself. Such constraints may include geography, building integrity, presence of interference or obstructions, geopolitical constraints (e.g., airspace avoidance or marine navigation constraints), threat avoidance, etc.. As described above, the routing protocol of the disclosed embodiment considers movement of its physical platform as an option to optimize routing metrics.”; “As described above, each of the processes operate independently 50, 52, and 56 of each other. For example, the adjacency protocol process 50 monitors for new neighboring network nodes using prescribed discovery operations (e.g., via Mobile IPv6 protocol): if in step 206 the adjacency protocol process 50 detects a new neighbor, the adjacency protocol process 50 adds in step 208 world objects that describe the neighboring network node 12; the world objects describing the neighboring network node are added to a neighbor database 210. As apparent from the foregoing, the neighbor database 210 is part of the world object database 100. If the adjacency protocol process detects in step 212 that an existing neighbor is lost (e.g., an identifying wireless signal cannot be detected by any network node for a neighbor identified in the neighbor database 210 after a prescribed interval), the adj acency protocol process 50 removes the neighbor from the neighbor database 210 in step 214, and sends a request for the world factory 70 to remove the world objects 104 associated with the lost neighbor. Hence, the adjacency protocol process 50 establishes a network topology based on populating and maintaining the neighbor database 210 with world objects 104 associated with the neighboring network nodes. The world object exchange protocol process 52 monitors for changes detected in the world object database 100. In response to detecting in step 220 a change in the world object database 100, the world object exchange protocol process 52 sends in step 222 the changed object to the neighbors specified in the neighbor database 210. If in step 224 a new neighbor is detected in the neighbor database 210, the world object exchange protocol process 52 sends the world object database 100 in step 226 to the new neighbor.”; “According to the disclosed embodiment, mobile nodes as mobile access points can autonomously move about a given area (i.e., an infosphere) based on identifying an optimal location relative to topological information, network topology information, and link layer information.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Michini and combine it with the noted teachings of Moon. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for enabling mobile network nodes to autonomously mobilize a network, where at least a number of the mobile network nodes are capable of autonomous movement using an associated mobility platform (see page 3 of Moon).
Consider claims 2 and 8, Michini discloses correcting the location of each unmanned aerial vehicle after the predetermined time according to wind direction and wind velocity information among the sensor information (see paragraph 40: “Flight control module 164 can perform this process periodically while in flight to adjust the heading of UAV 160 so that UAV 160 can travel to the next waypoint. For example, if UAV 160 is flying in an environment with a strong wind, flight control module 164 may need to adjust the heading of UAV 160 many times as it is blown around by the wind in order to reach the next waypoint”).
Consider claims 3 and 9, Michini discloses receiving the sensor information from the plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles configuring the network (see paragraph 70: “UAV 220 can include mission specific hardware and/or software for performing the RF transmitter tower inspection described above. For example, UAV 220 can include RF signal sensor 222 and/or RF signal sensor 223”; see paragraph 71: “In some implementations, UAV 220 can include optical sensor 224”; see paragraph 101: “UAV 220 can include directional RF sensor 222 and directional RF sensor 223”).
Consider claims 5 and 11, Michini discloses determining network quality by using the sensor information (see paragraph 70: “UAV 220 can include mission specific hardware and/or software for performing the RF transmitter tower inspection described above. For example, UAV 220 can include RF signal sensor 222 and/or RF signal sensor 223”; from paragraph 57: “…the RF signal sensor can be a radio receiver configured to generate a received signal strength indication (RSSI) for a signal received by the RF signal sensor”).
Consider claims 6 and 12, Michini discloses determining the network speed or network quality by using the movement direction of each unmanned aerial vehicle, angle between neighboring nodes and the link quality at the calculated location (see paragraph 190: the UAV primary processing system may use various sensors to determine the vehicles current geo-spatial location, attitude, altitude, velocity, direction…; see abstract and paragraphs 49, 57, 64, and 190: using the collected data to determine each UAV’s location and signal strength at various locations (e.g., RSSI); see paragraph 63: “…mission planning module 210 can generate a flight plan that includes a take-off location, a landing location, and one or more waypoints that will allow UAV 220 to inspect the points of interest generated or determined by mission planning module 210 while avoiding the obstructions and no-fly zones specified in the mission request and/or map data corresponding to the target object,” which thereby involves taking into account the angle between neighboring nodes).
Consider claim 7, Michini discloses a device for configuring the topology of a UAV network (see figures 10, 11A, and 11B, wherein disclosed is said device), comprising:
a communicator for receiving current location, movement direction, speed and sensor information of each unmanned aerial vehicle from a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (see paragraph 22: “ground control system 150 may connect to one or more UAVs 160 through network 180”; also, see figure 1, reproduced below for convenience; see paragraph 190: the UAV primary processing system may use various sensors to determine the vehicles current geo-spatial location, attitude, altitude, velocity, direction…; also, see paragraphs 57 and 70: sensor information); and
a controller for calculating location of each unmanned aerial vehicle after a predetermined time in consideration of weather information (see paragraphs 40, 79-80, 130, and 138: consideration of wind and temperature, i.e. weather information) by using the current location, the movement direction, the speed and the sensor information (see abstract and paragraphs 49, 57, 64, and 190: using the collected data to determine each UAV’s location and signal strength at various locations (e.g., RSSI)), and configuring a network topology that is capable of communication in the shortest time or with the highest quality according to the calculated location (see paragraphs 90 and 91: dynamically adjusting the UAV’s flight plan and/or flight path based on the signal strength / RSSI at various locations, i.e. configuring network topology based on location and link quality; see paragraph 90: “For example, UAV 220 can detect RSSI values that indicate a signal strength at various locations that is stronger or weaker than the expected values. UAV 220 can detect RSSI values that indicate the transmitter is broadcasting in a different direction or orientation than expected”).
Michini does not specifically disclose comparing routing metric values of unmanned aerial vehicles neighboring the first UAV, the routing metric values being calculated based on the calculated location and link quality and reflecting capability of communication up to the base station.
Moon discloses comparing routing metric values of unmanned aerial vehicles neighboring the first UAV, the routing metric values being calculated based on the calculated location and link quality and reflecting capability of communication up to the base station (see pages 6-18: “The disclosed embodiment is directed to establishment of a routing protocol that implements an autonomous solution for deployment of a mobile network having movable network nodes configured for independently moving to an optimum position, relative to the other network nodes (movable and fixed). By way of introduction, the routing protocol provides a wireless and autonomous robotic mobile access point. The routing protocol of the disclosed embodiment considers movement of its physical platform as an option to optimize routing metrics, were each movable network node includes routing resources, a mobile platform, and a standardized interface between its routing resources and its mobile platform. Figure 1 is a diagram illustrating mobile nodes having various implementations of mobile platforms that may be used for deployment of the mobile network 10: the mobile network 10 may include an airborne drones 12a, 12b, a marine or submersible drone 12c, a terrestrial drone 12d and 12e, and/or a spacecraft drone 12f.”; “ A particular feature of the network nodes 12 is that they understand not only the connectivity of each of the nodes 12 relative to each other, but the network nodes 12 also understand metrics about the connectivity, including packet error rate, bandwidth delay, latency, etc., that are typically recognized on an OSI layer 2 (link layer) connection, as well as OSI layer 1 (physical layer) factors such as signal strength.”; “ In addition, the mobile nodes 12 are configured to recognize that numerous constraints may limit the physical positioning of the mobile nodes 12, both in terms of maintaining a communication link 18 and maintaining the viability of the network node itself. Such constraints may include geography, building integrity, presence of interference or obstructions, geopolitical constraints (e.g., airspace avoidance or marine navigation constraints), threat avoidance, etc.. As described above, the routing protocol of the disclosed embodiment considers movement of its physical platform as an option to optimize routing metrics.”; “As described above, each of the processes operate independently 50, 52, and 56 of each other. For example, the adjacency protocol process 50 monitors for new neighboring network nodes using prescribed discovery operations (e.g., via Mobile IPv6 protocol): if in step 206 the adjacency protocol process 50 detects a new neighbor, the adjacency protocol process 50 adds in step 208 world objects that describe the neighboring network node 12; the world objects describing the neighboring network node are added to a neighbor database 210. As apparent from the foregoing, the neighbor database 210 is part of the world object database 100. If the adjacency protocol process detects in step 212 that an existing neighbor is lost (e.g., an identifying wireless signal cannot be detected by any network node for a neighbor identified in the neighbor database 210 after a prescribed interval), the adj acency protocol process 50 removes the neighbor from the neighbor database 210 in step 214, and sends a request for the world factory 70 to remove the world objects 104 associated with the lost neighbor. Hence, the adjacency protocol process 50 establishes a network topology based on populating and maintaining the neighbor database 210 with world objects 104 associated with the neighboring network nodes. The world object exchange protocol process 52 monitors for changes detected in the world object database 100. In response to detecting in step 220 a change in the world object database 100, the world object exchange protocol process 52 sends in step 222 the changed object to the neighbors specified in the neighbor database 210. If in step 224 a new neighbor is detected in the neighbor database 210, the world object exchange protocol process 52 sends the world object database 100 in step 226 to the new neighbor.”; “According to the disclosed embodiment, mobile nodes as mobile access points can autonomously move about a given area (i.e., an infosphere) based on identifying an optimal location relative to topological information, network topology information, and link layer information.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Michini and combine it with the noted teachings of Moon. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for enabling mobile network nodes to autonomously mobilize a network, where at least a number of the mobile network nodes are capable of autonomous movement using an associated mobility platform (see page 3 of Moon).
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michini (USPAN 2018/0004207) in view of Hong (USPAN 2021/0159970), Moon (WO 2005/039151), and Myshak (USPAN 2018/0209902).
Consider claims 4 and 10, Michini does not specifically disclose that the period of receiving the sensor information is adjusted by using the wind velocity information among the sensor information.
Myshak discloses that the period of receiving the sensor information is adjusted by using the wind velocity information among the sensor information (see paragraph 41: “…UAV 16 can use weather data from ground bases along with its in-flight pressure, altitude and wind speed sensor (not shown) to adjust the flight path to better position the unit to fly through the center of the gas plume, especially in cases where wind will cause the gas plume to shift over the course of the UAV's flight path. The gas detection program will receive weather data for a region around the UAV flight plan that includes wind speed and direction, and adjust the loopback flight plan to compensate for movement of the target gas caused by wind”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Michini and combine it with the noted teachings of Myshak. The motivation to combine these references is to use an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) for detecting a gas and taking into account terrain conditions to thereby provide more accurate measurements and prevent loss or damage to the UAV (see paragraphs 1-3 of Myshak).
Conclusion
sAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jamal Javaid whose telephone number is 571-270-5137 and email address is Jamal.Javaid@uspto.gov.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412