DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 08/05/2026. Claims 4-10, 12-13, 18 are currently pending. Claims 4-10 are withdrawn from prosecution as being drawn to nonelected subject matter. Accordingly, claims 12-13, 18 are examined herein. The restriction requirement mailed on 12/16/2025 is still deemed proper. Applicant's elected Group IV without traverse in the reply filed on 02/13/2026.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment. Applicant' s amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group IV (claims 12-13) in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the species “DNA pathway” for claim 12 and the species “CNV sequence(s)” for claim 13 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being
drawn to a nonelected invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement mailed on 12/16/2025 is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA 202110089068.1 on 01/22/2021. This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/134710 filed on 12/01/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is broadly objected to because both claims continue to recite “use” despite attempts to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C §101 in the previous office action mailed on 05/06/2026 by amending claim 12 with steps. Although the scope of the claim is generally clear, the clarity of the claims would benefit from the following recommended edits to revise the phrasing of “Use” or “The use” as “A method of using…” in both claims.
The numbering system for the amended steps 1), 2), 3) is objected to because it is the same numbering system of 1), 2), 3) for the preexisting component within the same claim. To improve clarity, it is recommended to amend the steps using a different numbering system, such as a), b), c) or i), ii), iii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the two separate recitations of “… target site to be inserted of a target gene …” or “… target site to be inserted of the target gene …” are considered indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires a) an exogenous target site to be inserted within a target gene in a genome; or b) a genomic target site for insertional genome editing within a genomic target region.
In addition, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation in the same claim may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation in the preamble and step 3): “for insertion, … in any region of a/the genome…”, but the claim also recites “… target gene …” in step 1), which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation for target regions of a genome because a genome encompasses coding genes and non-coding intergenic regions, as evidenced by Lander (Nature. 2001;409(6822):860-921) which states “about 1.5% of the human genome would consist of coding sequence and one-third of the genome would be transcribed in genes” (Page 898, right col, 4th ¶, last 3 lines). The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (i) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (ii) a required feature of the claims. Persons having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITAs) would not be appraised of the metes and bounds of the limitations as written.
If the intention was b), i.e. the invention encompasses targeting any region of a genome, it is recommended to revise both instances of “…target gene…” as “… target region…”. Claims 13 and 18 are also rejected for depending from claim 12 and failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The preamble of claim 18 recites “The LINE-1(s) and/or ORF2p coding sequence(s) according to claim 12”, indicating it is a product claim that depends on a method claim, thereby failing to incorporate all limitations of the independent claim 12. It is recommended to amend the claim to “The method of claim 12, wherein the LINE-1(s) and/or ORF2p coding sequence(s) is human LINE-1(s) and/or ORF2p coding sequence(s)”.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubens (WO 2020/047124 A1, published on 03/05/2020), as evidenced by Fujiwara (Mol Biol Evol. 2013;30(8):1955-65), in view of Fadloun (WO 2016/030501 A1, published on 03/03/2016), further in view of Fujiwara (2013) and Wei (Mol Cell Biol. 2001;21(4):1429-39), as evidenced by Porokhovnik (Chromosome Res. 2019 Mar;27(1-2):5-17).
Claim interpretation: In claim 12, the recitation “Use of …” is interpreted as “A method of using…” and “… a target site to be inserted of a/the target gene to be edited in the genome” is interpreted as “… a genomic target site for insertion-based editing within a/the target genomic region”.
Regarding claim 12, regarding the claimed “Use of a vector system” in the preamble and steps:
Rubens (2020) teaches a nucleic acid vector-based (Page 26, line 30; Page 27, lines 1 & 3) Gene Writing genome editing system, i.e. a vector system (Page 40, line 16; Figure 1).
The recitation by Rubens, “… for targeting, editing, modifying or manipulating a DNA sequence … at one or more locations in a DNA sequence in a cell, tissue or subject …” (Page 47, lines 14-17) matches the claim limitation “for insertion, deletion, substitution of DNA sequence(s) in any region of the genome”, even though it is only intended use and carries no patentability weight.
Regarding the claimed first step of “selecting a target site to be inserted…”, Rubens further teaches homologous sequences upstream and downstream to the target site in a genome, which inherently requires a step of selecting these sequences before making the plasmid used for the experiment (Page 530, lines 9-12) that “results in insertion of the heterologous object sequence (e.g., the GFP gene) into the target locus” (Page 530, lines 18-19). Such target sites include Natural HarborTM sites listed in Table 4 (Page 547), which shows corresponding upstream and downstream homology arm sequences on two sides of target sites, e.g. SEQ ID NOs: 1508 and 1513. Based on NCBI Blast (NCBI_2020_NR_145822.1_28S ribosomal N1 (RNA28SN1) listed in PTO-892), these flanking homologous sequences of a given Natural HarborTM site are directly connected to each other in the genome, see alignment below:
Query: SEQ ID NO: 1508 Query: SEQ ID NO: 1513
Sbjct: 9S3D_L5 28S rRNA Chain L5
Rubens also teaches that “In some embodiments, a nucleic acid described herein (e.g., an RNA encoding a Gene Writer polypeptide, or a DNA encoding the RNA)” (Page 57, lines 3-4), which confirms that, at least in some embodiments, the vector system of Rubens is mediated by a DNA pathway, and that it comprises at least one vector (Claims 1, 4, 6, 20).
Regarding the claimed second step of “preparing a vector system…”, Rubens further teaches examples of a method of using the claimed vector system for genomic target site editing as described above (Pages 558-594; Claims 4, 6, 20).
Regarding the claim limitation of Component 1) one or more “gene transcription framework”:
Rubens teaches “In some embodiments, the object sequence may contain a non-coding sequence. For example, the template RNA may comprise a promoter or enhancer sequence…. In some embodiments the promoter is an RNA polymerase I promoter, RNA polymerase II promoter, or RNA polymerase III promoter” (Page 542, lines 20-24; Page 543, line 1).
Rubens further teaches:
“4. A system for modifying DNA comprising:
(b) a template RNA (or DNA encoding the template RNA), see Rubens, Figure 1.
Rubens also teaches in claims 19-20: “… the template RNA comprises … 100% identity to a target DNA strand, at the 5' end ... at the 3' end of the template RNA.” (Page 598; Fig. 1), which is the same of “an upstream sequence” and “a downstream sequence of target site”. The fact that it was stated to be an “insertion” indicates that the upstream and downstream homologous arms flanking the target site are directly connected in the target region of the genome because if they are not directly connected, i.e. there are one or more nucleotides, i.e. a spacer, between the upstream and downstream homologous arms, it would have been a “substitution”. The example of upstream and downstream homologous sequences, SEQ ID NOs: 1508 and 1513 as shown above, is one example of such directly connected flanking sequences on both sides of the genomic target site, see alignments above.
Regarding the claim limitations of Component 3) one or more LINE-1(s), and/or ORF1p coding sequence(s) and/or ORF2p coding sequence(s): The recitation of “and/or” indicates at least one of the above three alternatives; LINE-1(s), ORF1p encoding sequence(s), ORF2p encoding sequence(s).
Rubens teaches: “In certain embodiments, the elements of the Gene Writer™ gene editor polypeptide can be derived from sequences of non-LTR retrotransposons, …” (Page 49, lines 17-19), and lists numerous species of long interspersed nuclear elements (LINEs) in Table 2 on Pages 57-136, including CRE, R1, R2, R4, HERO, NeSL, Tx1, etc., many of which comprise either ORF1 or ORF2 mobile elements which encode the ORF1p or ORF2p protein under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), as evidenced by Fujiwara (2015; Page 11, last ¶; Page 12, Figure 8).
Even if the ORF1p coding sequence(s) and/or ORF2p coding sequence(s) require LINE-1 specific ORF1p or ORF2p coding sequences, Wei (2001) teaches LINE-1, and its specific ORF1p- and ORF2p-encoding sequences (Page 1429, 2nd ¶) and the roles of these sequences in retrotransposition in human cells. It would have been obvious for PHOSITAs before the effective filing date to have modified the vector system of Rubens by a simple substitution of LINE-1 with the numerous APE-type non-LTR retrotransposase compatible with the vector system of Rubens (Table 1). Rubens teaches that its system is modular: the polypeptide can be any of several non-LTR retrotransposases, including RLE-type (R2) and APE-type (R1, Tx1) enzymes, each supplying endonuclease and reverse-transcriptase activities that insert a template at a genomic site (FIGs. 2, 3). Rubens therefore treats non-LTR retrotransposases as interchangeable for this function. LINE-1 is a well-known APE-type non-LTR retrotransposase with the same activities taught by Wei, operating by the same target-primed reverse transcription as evidenced by Fujiwara (Page 2, Figure 1). Fadloun shows LINE-1 being used for the same purpose, mobilizing a heterologous cargo into the genome of human cells (Page 14, lines 11-14). Substituting one art-recognized equivalent for another for the same purpose would have been obvious. MPEP 2144.06; KSR, 550 U.S. at 416. A skilled artisan also had reasons to choose LINE-1 for use in human cells with reasonable expectations for success.
Regarding the claim limitations of 2) one or more short interspersed element(s) and/or partial short interspersed element(s).
Rubens does not teach the claim limitation of 2) one or more short interspersed element(s) and/or partial short interspersed element(s).
However, Fadloun (2016) teaches synthetic Alu Retrotransposon vectors for gene therapy using Alu elements, which are “short interspersed nuclear elements (SINEs) that use the reverse transcriptase and nuclease encoded by long interspersed nuclear elements (LINEs) to integrate into the host genome” (Page 14, lines 11-14). Fadloun does not teach combining LINEs and SINEs in the same vector system because the invention is directed to target gene insertion in cancer cells that already have higher than normal expression levels of LINEs.
However, Wei (2001) teaches the cis-preference of LINEs in that LINE-encoded ORF proteins predominantly mobilize the RNA that encodes them, not the other copies of LINE RNAs already inserted in the genome, but these proteins can act in trans to promote retrotransposition of SINEs such as Alu elements (Page 1429, Abstract).
Rubens’s vector system further comprises template sequences matched to the retrotransposase it uses, so that the enzyme binds and reverse-transcribes the template. When the enzyme is modified to the human LINE-1 machinery, the matched sequences must change accordingly to ensure compatibility. Fadloun identifies SINEs as the element that LINE-1 acts on for a non-L1 payload (Pages 46-48, Example 2), and Wei shows that LINE-1 proteins strongly prefer their own RNA, so a non-L1 template needs such an element to complete retrotransposition.
It would have been obvious to use the human LINE-1 machinery taught by Fadloun and Wei with Rubens's target-flanked template, and to include the SINE in place of Rubens's enzyme-specific sequences, which merely amounts to a simple substitution of a known element for another with the same function. The result is targeted insertion of a payload using a compatible retrotransposase. Rubens already teaches that its system works with non-LTR retrotransposases of more than one class and that the enzyme (ORF1p or ORF2p) can be varied. The rejection combines teachings and does not require bodily incorporation. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). One would have reasonable expectation of success because Fadloun shows SINE-flanked cargo can be inserted into the genome in human cells through LINE-1 (L1) machinery (Page 14, lines 11-14), and Rubens shows insertion with a target-flanked template (Examples 1-30). Wei reports L1 proteins acting in trans on other RNAs (Page 1429, Abstract).
Regarding the third step of “transforming or transfecting the vector system into cells…”, Rubens teaches a process of transfecting the claimed vector system into cells (Page 530, lines 5-17).
Regarding claim 13, the specification does not define "CNV sequence," hence the term is given its ordinary meaning, i.e. a sequence that varies in copy number. Rubens further teaches that “…retrotransposases described herein can insert heterologous nucleic acid in an endogenous site in the genome, such as the rDNA locus (see, e.g., Example 7)” (Page 48, lines 10-12; Pages 571-573), and that “Figure 9 shows a ddPCR evaluation of copy number variation … in human cells across transfection conditions” (Page 41, lines 15-16). Since the rDNA locus is well known in the art to vary across individuals and is a well characterized safe harbor site in the art (Rubens, 2020; Page 545, lines 17-20) for gene insertions based on the following recitations: “In some embodiments the Natural Harbor™ site is ribosomal DNA (rDNA). In some embodiments the Natural Harbor™ site is 5S rDNA, 18S rDNA, 5.8S rDNA, or 28S rDNA” (Page545, lines 17-20)…”, despite the CNV sequence status of rDNAs as evidenced by Porokhovnik (2016; see full citation above) demonstrating that there is a clear association between certain disease development and the dosage of rDNA gene copy numbers in different individuals (Page 14, right column, 2nd ¶, last 7 lines). Hence, Rubens teaches that the Gene Writer™ vector system can perform insertion, deletion, substitution of CNV DNA sequence(s) in the genome, such as rDNA.
Regarding claim 18, interpreted as a method claim to the extent the claim is read as limiting the LINE-1 and/or ORF2p-encoding sequences to human, Wei and Fadloun teach human LINE-1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the Remarks filed on 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 10-13 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“b. Rubens Does Not Disclose or Suggest the Claimed Template Architecture … when Rubens includes two homology domains, those domains are positioned at the 5' and 3' ends of the template RNA, outside the protein-interaction domains and payload. In contrast, when the Present Application includes a retrotransposon-related sequence on the same transcript, that sequence is positioned outside the gene transcription framework, and the upstream target-site sequence, insertion sequence, and downstream target-site sequence remain together. The structures are therefore arranged in opposite directions and are not interchangeable merely as a matter of arbitrary design choice...”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive because claim 12 does not require “a retrotransposon-related sequence on the same transcript, …, and downstream target-site sequence remain together”, nor does claim 12 require those specific architecture arrangements or a specific embodiment as applicant argued. Rubens’s FIG. 11 depicts an embodiment that read on the claim limitation “a gene transcription framework, characterized by comprising an upstream sequence of the target site, a sequence to be inserted, a downstream sequence of the target site along a 5'-3' direction”.
On pages 13-14 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“ii. Rubens Does Not Require the Claimed Relationship Between the Two Target-Site Sequences…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Rubens’s claims 19-20 and 27-28 for the relationship between the homology domains. It relies on Rubens's disclosure of insertion at a defined genomic site, where Table 4 identifies the genomic sequence 5' of the insertion site and the genomic sequence 3' of the insertion site (e.g., the 28S rDNA locus, SEQ ID NOs: 1508 and 1513; see sequence alignment in the office action above), and on the homology-domain embodiments of FIG. 11. An insertion site is a single point in the genome, so the sequences on either side of it abut. If a spacer separated them, integration between them would replace the spacer, which would be a substitution and not an insertion.
On page 14 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“iii. Rubens Fig. 1 does not establish the claimed adjacency relationship...”
This argument has been fully considered but is moot. The Examiner does not rely on Rubens FIG. 1 as showing homology domains, the template structure, or the adjacency of the genomic sequences. To clarify, FIG. 1 is a general schematic of the target-primed reverse transcription pathway and is relied on only for that purpose. The Examiner clarifies that the finding that Rubens teaches upstream and downstream target sequences directly connected in the genome rests on Table 4 and on the homology-domain embodiments of Figs. 11 and 13, as set out above, and the express teaching of Rubens for “insertion”, not substitution.
Applicant also argues that conventional TPRT can proceed without homology arms. That is true of the pathway generally, but Rubens does not rely on it here. Rubens expressly discloses template RNAs with homology domains that match the sequences flanking the insertion site (FIG. 11; Table 4) and claim 12 recites only the presence of such sequences that can hybridize with the genomic target, and not any particular cleavage function for them.
On page 15 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“iv. The Claimed Framework Contains Only the Insertion Sequence Between the Two Target-Site Sequences…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Claim 12 does not require “The Claimed Framework Contains Only the Insertion Sequence Between the Two Target-Site Sequences”.
On pages 15-22 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“c. The Claimed ORF2p-Targeted Mechanism Further Demonstrates That the Architecture Is Not an Arbitrary Design Choice…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant's argument is not persuasive because claim 12 does not recite the alleged ORF2p-targeted cleavage mechanism, the resulting structure, or any cleavage efficiency, and does not even require ORF2p because the recitation of “and/or” is interpreted as not required. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See MPEP 2145(I).
On pages 22-28 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“d. Rubens does not disclose or suggest the claimed SINE/LINE-1/ORF2p system…”,
“i. Rubens’ implemented embodiments use R2-derived machinery, not the claimed LINE-1/SINE system…”,
“ii Rubens’ implemented system does not demonstrate editing at a selected genomic site using the claimed framework…”,
“iii The claimed framework is structurally distinct from the retrotransposon components…”,
“iv. Fadloun does not supply the missing combination or architecture…”,
“v. Wei and Fujiwara do not cure the deficiencies…”.
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant's arguments are not persuasive because the rejection is over the combination, and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 426 (CCPA 1981). See MPEP §2145(IV). Rubens is not relied on for the SINE or LINE-1; those come from Fadloun and Wei, and Rubens teaches non-LTR retrotransposases beyond R2 (including APE-type R1 and Tx1) and ORF2-encoding elements (Table 1). Rubens' working examples need not match the claimed system, since a reference is prior art for all it teaches, not just its preferred embodiments, see MPEP §2123, and claim 12 recites no editing-efficiency or site-selectivity outcome. The alleged structural distinction between the claimed framework and the retrotransposon components is not recited in claim 12, which uses "comprising," and the claim does not exclude Rubens's template (FIGs. 11, 13).
Fadloun is relied on for what it teaches: a vector comprising an Alu (SINE) element flanking a cargo nucleic acid, mobilized into the genome of cells with LINE-1 machinery (Page 14, lines 11-14). The target-flanked template architecture comes from Rubens, as explained in the rejection, so Fadloun need not teach it. Keller, 642 F.2d at 426.
There is no deficiency to cure, because the combination teaches each claimed element and the rationale to combine them. Wei teaches a vector comprising human LINE-1 whose encoded ORF1 and ORF2 proteins are required for retrotransposition, and which can also mobilize other RNAs in trans, and Fujiwara evidences that non-LTR retrotransposons share target-primed reverse transcription. Applicant has not identified a limitation that the combination fails to meet.
On page 28 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“e. The claimed system is not a predictable substitution of SINE for LINE…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The rejection does not substitute a SINE for a LINE or for Rubens' R2 enzyme. The LINE-1 machinery is supplied by Wei and Fadloun, and the SINE is the element that, as applicant acknowledges, relies on the proteins of an autonomous LINE, which is the relationship Fadloun uses for an Alu-flanked cargo mobilized by LINE-1 in human cells. Applicant's statement that the template would need redesign for a different enzyme is attorney argument without evidence, see MPEP 2145(I), and the need for routine adaptation is not a teaching away. Nothing in the references discourages the combination.
The remaining questions are answered by the references and the claim. The framework, the insert between the two target-site sequences, and the arms come from Rubens (FIGs. 11, 13; Table 4), and the arms are adjacent in the genome because an insertion site is a single point whose flanks abut, as explained above. Claim 12 expressly allows the components to be "located on the same or different vectors" (Rubens, claims 6 & 7). The motivation comes from the cited references and not from applicant's disclosure, so the rejection is not impermissible hindsight. See MPEP §2145(X)(A).
On page 29 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“f. Rubens does not specifically teach deletion and substitution…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Claim 12 recites insertion, deletion, or substitution in the alternative, and Rubens teaches insertion, which meets the claim; a reference need not teach every alternative. MPEP §2141(III). Applicant acknowledges this and does not rely on the absence of a deletion or substitution embodiment as a basis for patentability, so the rejection is maintained for the reasons above.
On pages 29-30 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“g. Dependent claim 13 – editing of CNV sequences… the cited combination does not render dependent claim 13 obvious, and the rejection of claim 13 should be withdrawn for this additional reason…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Applicant's argument is not persuasive because claim 13 recites only that "the DNA sequence is one or more CNV sequence(s)". It does not recite a CNV terminus, a gene portion joined to a SINE portion, editing at a gene/SINE junction, or a reduction in expression, and features not recited in the claims cannot distinguish the prior art. See MPEP §2131.05. The specification does not define "CNV sequence", so the term is given its plain meaning under BRI, a sequence that varies in copy number. Porokhovnik evidences that rDNA varies in copy number, and Rubens inserts a payload at the rDNA locus (Table 4), which meets the claim.
On page 30 of the Remarks, applicant argues:
“h. New claim 18 – human LINE-1 or human ORF2p…”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Claim 12 recites insertion, deletion, or substitution in the alternative, and Rubens teaches insertion, which meets the claim; a reference need not teach every alternative.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DELPHINUS DOU YI YU/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636