DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment dated 12 June 2023, in which claims 1-15 have been cancelled, and new claims 16-26 have been added, is acknowledged.
Claims 16-26 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 18-20, 24-26 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention or to a non-elected species.
Claims 16-17, 21-23 are being examined on their merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Phase entry 371 of International Patent Application PCT/IB2021/062154, filed on 22 December 2021, which claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/130,448, filed on 24 December 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1 September 2024 (two documents) are acknowledged and considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 16-25, drawn to a composition comprising an ester derived from at least one acid form of a cannabinoid and a water-soluble alkanol selected from the group consisting of di-ols, tri-ols and polyols, in the reply filed on 28 May 2026, is acknowledged. Claim 26 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant’s election without traverse of an ester derived from tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA) and inositol as the specific species of an ester derived from at least one acid form of a cannabinoid and a water-soluble alkanol, for initial examination, in the reply of 28 May 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 16-17, 21-23 read on the elected species. Claims 18-20, 24-25 are withdrawn, as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Since the election was made without traverse, the requirement for restriction/election is maintained and is herewith made FINAL.
Claims 16-17, 21-23 are herein examined to the extent they read on the elected species and the following objections and rejections are made below.
Claims Objections
Claims 18-20, 24-26, while currently withdrawn, are objected to because of the following informality: The withdrawn claims are objected to for being presented in a non-compliant form. Specifically, since the claims are withdrawn because of the election made by the Applicant on 28 May 2026, claims 18-20, 24-26 should be identified as "(Withdrawn)" until such time as examiner rejoins the claims for examination. Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP 714(C).
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 102
Claims 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koch et al. (US 2015/0336874, cited in PTO-892).
Koch teaches [0139] a composition comprising an ester of cannabidiolic acid (CBDA), a cannabinoid of instant claims 16, 17, and a water-soluble diol or triol:
.
As such, a composition of instant claims 16, 17 is anticipated by Koch.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC 103
Claim interpretation: based on the Specification, page 5, lines 8-10, the recitation “ester is derived from at least one acid form of a cannabinoid and a water-soluble alkanol” means that the ester is a product of a reaction between the cannabinoid and an alkanol.
Claims 16-17, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nallathambi et al. (Cannabis & Cannabinoid Research 2017, 2 (1), 167-182, cited in PTO-892), Swisa et al. (US 2022/0288015, PCT filing date 19 June 2020, cited in PTO-892), and Bradford et al. (World J Gastroeneterol 2017, 23 (28), 5115-5126, cited in PTO-892), in view of Bhosle et al. (Indian Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 2006, May-June, p. 286-294, cited in PTO-892).
Nallathambi (Cannabis & Cannabinoid Research 2017, 2 (1), 167-182) teaches that THCA
is effective to treat inflammatory bowel disease (IBD).
Nallathambi teaches that Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid THCA (present in pure form in fraction F7 of a Cannabis sativa extract, Figure 5) has anti-inflammatory activity in colon biopsies of intestine bowel disease (IBD) patients (Figure 7).
Inflammatory bowel diseases include Chron’s disease and ulcerative colitis (page 167, Introduction).
Swisa (US 2022/0288015) teaches [0003] that THCA is a precursor of THC: THC is produced in the Cannabis plant by decarboxylation of THCA. Due to the relative instability to decarboxylation, the chemical structure of THCA was first elucidated by analysis of its ester derivatives.
Thus, Swisa teaches that esters of THCA have better chemical stability (less instability to decarboxylation) than THCA.
Bradford et al. (World J Gastroeneterol 2017, 23 (28), 5115-5126) teach that myo-inositol is effective to treat inflammation in an animal model of colitis, IL-10+/- Px mice. Bradford teaches that histological grading of colitis revealed that myo-inositol reduces inflammation scores, the extent of colitis and composite colitis scores (Figure 2, also page 5119, right column, last paragraph).
Bhosle et al. (Indian Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences 2006, May-June, p. 286-294) teach mutual prodrugs as being carrier-linked prodrugs, where the carrier links or couples together two pharmacologically active agents. Depending on the nature of the carrier used, the carrier-linked prodrug may be classified as a double prodrug (page 287, left column). Bhosle teaches ester group used to link together two pharmacologically active agents in mutual prodrugs (compound (15), page 293, line 1, and page 291, left column, second paragraph). Bhosle exemplifies (page 291, second paragraph) a mutual prodrug composed of two drugs linked through an ester linkage; one of the two drugs has a –OH group which is converted into the ester moiety in the prodrug. Bhosle teaches that esters are hydrolyzed by enzymatic means to release the active drugs.
Bhosle does not specifically teach ester prodrugs of THCA and inositol.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nallathambi, Swisa, Bradford and Bhosle to arrive at the instant invention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine THCA and inositol in a mutual prodrug having an ester group used to link together the two pharmacologically active agents. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to design a mutual prodrug of THCA and inositol, because
Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid THCA was known to have anti-inflammatory activity in colon biopsies of intestine bowel disease (IBD) patients, as taught by Nallathambi,
myo-inositol (which is an isomer of inositol) was known to treat inflammation in subjects suffering from colitis (IBD), as taught by Bradford,
esters of THCA were known to have better chemical stability than THCA, as taught by Swisa,
and Bhosle teaches ester prodrugs composed of two drugs linked through an ester linkage having more efficient absorption (PK properties) compared to the single agents, said ester prodrugs being hydrolyzed in vivo by enzymatic means to release the active drugs.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that linking two anti-inflammatory agents effective to treat IBD, namely THCA and inositol, via an ester link, will result in a mutual prodrug which retains anti-inflammatory properties and is effective to treat IBD.
Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the teachings of Nallathambi, Swisa, Bradford and Bhosle in a mutual prodrug of THCA and inositol, with the expectation that such a double prodrug will undergo an enzymatic and/or chemical transformation in vivo to release the pharmacologically active parent drugs in the blood of the patient over time. The person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to synthesize the ester mutual prodrug of THCA and inositol, with the expectation that such a mutual prodrug retains the biological activity of each of the parent drugs, and has improved stability compared to THCA, better pharmacokinetic behavior, better drug bioavailability and/or better drug release control.
As such, in the absence of some unexpected results with the claimed mutual prodrug of THCA and inositol, claims 16-17, 21-23 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 16-17, 21-23 are rejected.
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629