DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Status of Claims
New: claims 3-6
Pending and under examination: claims 1-6
Rejected: claims 1-6
The amendment obviates the previous 112(b) and 102 rejections, which are hereby withdrawn. However, the claims remain rejected under 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The arguments regarding the new limitations are not found persuasive because the prior art references render obvious the new limitations under 103, as discussed in the new 103 rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (NPL; “Injection molding of tungsten powder treated by jet mill with high powder loading: A solution for fabrication of dense tungsten component at relative low temperature”; Int. Journal of Refractory Metals and Hard Materials 62; 17 October 2016; pp. 42-46; of record).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a tungsten powder being subjected to a jet milling treatment, wherein said jet milled tungsten powder has a D50 obtained through laser diffraction of 3.02 μm and a tap density of 8.47 g/cm3 (see Li: Tables 1 & 2). By assuming that after jet milling treatment that results in obtaining a tungsten powder comprising primary particles, the values of FSSS and D50 are equal, limitations of claim 1 are met, as a= 3.02 μm, and y = 8.1574, being < 8.47 g/cm3, meeting the claimed “an FSSS average particle size of the tungsten-containing powder as obtained by an FSSS method is defined as a (μm) and a density TD, which is an inverse number of a tap volume of the tungsten-containing powder, is defined as p (g/cm3), a relational expression of p ≥ 0.37a+7.04 is satisfied when a range of the FSSS average particle size a is 0.5 μm ≤ a ≤ 5.0 μm”.
With regard to the claimed “wherein a density variation of the tungsten-containing powder is in a range from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.20 g/cm3, and wherein a density variation of a sintered material obtained by press molding and sintering the tungsten-containing powder at 1300-1900°C for 3 hours is in a range from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.20 g/cm3”, the Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a tungsten containing powder, not a sintered compact. The limitation in the last paragraph of claim 1 is a contingent limitation (see “…of a sintered material obtained by press molding and sintering the tungsten-containing powder…”) – it is contingent upon press molding and sintering, and as such, the density variation of the sintered material is not a required limitation. Moreover, although Li does not explicitly teach this limitation, Li teaches a substantially similar material and process of producing the material, as well as certain properties/characteristics of the material, such that it is prima facie expected that the density variation is the same or substantially similar to the claimed ranges. Specifically, Li teaches a small variation in the particle size distribution ranges (D10 = 1.36 µm, D50 = 2.13 µm, D90 = 3.19 µm; see Abstract), which suggests a uniform particle size, ergo, suggests a uniform density variation because density variation is defined by voids which are defined by particle size/shape. The relative density 97.3% (see Table 2 on page 45) which demonstrates a near absence of voids. The shape of the particles is near spherical (see “4. Conclusions” on page 45). Li further teaches that the powder is sintered at 1900°C after injection molding (see section “2.2. Experimental procedures” on page 43).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize Li to achieve a small density variation in the powder such as that claimed, as doing so would ensure that a sintered product made from the powder has a dense microstructure with no cracks (see section “3.5.” on page 45 of Li).
Regarding claims 3-4, Li discloses a tungsten powder being subjected to a jet milling treatment, wherein said jet milled tungsten powder has a D50 obtained through laser diffraction of 3.02 μm and a tap density of 8.47 g/cm3 (see Li: Tables 1 & 2). By assuming that after jet milling treatment that results in obtaining a tungsten powder comprising primary particles, the values of FSSS and D50 are equal, limitations of claims 3 and 4 are met, as a= 3.02 μm, and y = 8.1574, being < 8.47 g/cm3, meeting the claimed “an FSSS average particle size of the tungsten-containing powder as obtained by an FSSS method is defined as a (μm) and a density TD, which is an inverse number of a tap volume of the tungsten-containing powder, is defined as p (g/cm3), a relational expression of p ≥ 0.37a+7.04 is satisfied when a range of the FSSS average particle size a is 0.5 μm ≤ a ≤ 2.51 μm or 3.78 μm ≤ a ≤ 5.0 μm” in claim 3, and “size a is 0.5 μm ≤ a ≤ 2.03 μm or 4.60 μm ≤ a ≤ 5.0 μm” in claim 4.
Specifically, in regards to the limitation meeting the above ranges, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Moreover, in Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the patent claim at issue was directed to a weight plate having 3 elongated openings that served as handles for transporting the weight plate. Multiple prior art patents each disclosed weight plates having 1, 2 or 4 elongated openings. 392 F.3d at 1319, 73 USPQ2d at 1226. The court stated that the claimed weight plate having 3 elongated openings fell within the "range" of the prior art and was thus presumed obvious.
As such, absent an indication, evidence, or technical reasoning as to the range “0.5 μm ≤ a ≤ 2.51 μm or 3.78 μm ≤ a ≤ 5.0 μm” in claim 3 and “size a is 0.5 μm ≤ a ≤ 2.03 μm or 4.60 μm ≤ a ≤ 5.0 μm” in claim 4 being non-obvious over Li’s teaching of “a”=3.02, which falls within the “range” of the claimed invention, Li renders the limitation obvious. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
Claims 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (CN 109553925 A: Espacenet English machine translation cited and previously attached; of record).
Regarding claim 2, Liang discloses a tungsten-containing powder (Abstract), and further discloses “200g of spheroidized tungsten powder with an average Fischer particle size of 20 µm and a tap density of 10.5g/cm3”; Therefore, a = 20 µm, y = 10.24 being 10.5 g/cm3 (see Example 10 in [0052]). Therefore, a= 20 μm, and y = 10.24, being < 10.5 g/cm3, which meets the claimed “an FSSS average particle size of the tungsten-containing powder as obtained by an FSSS method is defined as a (μm) and a density TD, which is an inverse number of a tap volume of the tungsten-containing powder, is defined as p (g/cm3 ), a relational expression of p ≥ 0.09a+8.44 is satisfied when a range of the FSSS average particle size a is 5.0 μm < a ≤ 30 μm”.
With regard to the claimed “wherein a density variation of the tungsten-containing powder is in a range from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.20 g/cm3, and wherein a density variation of a sintered material obtained by press molding and sintering the tungsten-containing powder at 1300-1900°C for 3 hours is in a range from 0.05 g/cm3 to 0.20 g/cm3”, the Examiner notes that the claim is directed to a tungsten containing powder, not a sintered compact. The limitation in the last paragraph of claim 1 is a contingent limitation (see “…of a sintered material obtained by press molding and sintering the tungsten-containing powder…”) – it is contingent upon press molding and sintering, and as such, the density variation of the sintered material is not a required limitation. Moreover, although Liang does not explicitly teach this limitation, Liang teaches that the mixture is uniformly mixed and compacted [0031].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize Liang to achieve a small density variation in the tungsten powder, as doing so would ensure that a product made from the powder has a high density with high strength and plasticity of a composite material made from the powder (Abstract).
Regarding claims 5-6, Liang discloses a tungsten-containing powder (Abstract), and further discloses “200g of spheroidized tungsten powder with an average Fischer particle size of 20 µm and a tap density of 10.5g/cm3”; Therefore, a = 20 µm, y = 10.24 being 10.5 g/cm3 (see Example 10 in [0052]). Therefore, a= 20 μm, and y = 10.24, being < 10.5 g/cm3, which meets the claimed “an FSSS average particle size of the tungsten-containing powder as obtained by an FSSS method is defined as a (μm) and a density TD, which is an inverse number of a tap volume of the tungsten-containing powder, is defined as p (g/cm3 ), a relational expression of p ≥ 0.09a+8.44 is satisfied when a range of the FSSS average particle size a is 5.0 μm < a ≤ 15.3 μm or 21 μm < a ≤ 30 μm” in claim 5 and “size a is 5.0 μm < a ≤ 14.2 μm or 25 μm < a ≤ 30 μm” in claim 6.
Specifically, in regards to the limitation meeting the above ranges, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Moreover, in Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the patent claim at issue was directed to a weight plate having 3 elongated openings that served as handles for transporting the weight plate. Multiple prior art patents each disclosed weight plates having 1, 2 or 4 elongated openings. 392 F.3d at 1319, 73 USPQ2d at 1226. The court stated that the claimed weight plate having 3 elongated openings fell within the "range" of the prior art and was thus presumed obvious.
As such, absent an indication, evidence, or technical reasoning as to the range size a is 5.0 μm < a ≤ 15.3 μm or 21 μm < a ≤ 30 μm” in claim 5 and “size a is 5.0 μm < a ≤ 14.2 μm or 25 μm < a ≤ 30 μm” in claim 6 being non-obvious over Liang’s teaching of “a”=20, which falls within the “range” of the claimed invention, Liang renders the limitation obvious. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected (MPEP 716.02).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735