DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/20/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11, and 13-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 07/20/2026, have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 14 recite the limitation "the offset value" in line 2. The preceding limitations recite “one or more offset values” and the independent claims recite, in the alternative, “an offset value.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al (US 2021/0051558), in view of Choi et al (US 2014/0045498).
Regarding Claim 1, Abedini teaches a wireless terminal camping on a serving cell in a cellular telecommunication system ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410, Fig. 16) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive: a cell reselection configuration from the serving cell ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to), and;
a cell mobility state from a neighboring cell, the cell mobility state indicating whether the neighboring cell is stationary or mobile ([0160], At step 3, the first wireless device 1502 may take one or more actions based on the conditional handover command. For example, in some cases, the first wireless device 1502 may receive one or more signals from the second cell 1506 and determine based on the one or more signals, a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506); and
processor circuitry configured to perform a cell reselection procedure to determine, based on the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility state, whether to reselect the neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506),
wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Abedini fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters comprising at least one of: a threshold value, an offset value, a timer value, or a counter value ([0031-0032], Fig. 3, At block 304, it is determined whether a measure of mobility of a UE meets a mobility criterion. For example, in an embodiment, it is determined whether a speed of the UE meets (e.g., is greater than, or is greater than or equal to) a threshold),
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters are configured to be activated only in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0033], Fig. 3, In some embodiments, the measure of mobility of the UE is a relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101. For example, in some scenarios, the target cell 101 is moving (e.g., the target eNB 104 is on a moving object such as a train, a boat, etc.), and the relative speed of the UE with respect to the moving target cell 101 is considered. In an embodiment, the eNB determines the relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101 using a suitable technique, [0036], When it is determined that the measure of mobility of the UE does not meet the mobility criterion, the flow ends, [0038], When it is determined that the size of the target cell 101 does not meet the cell size criterion, the flow ends), and
wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to evaluate the neighboring cell by applying the one ore more cell reselection parameters to one or more measurements associated with the neighboring cell to determine whether to reselect the neighboring cell ([0039], At block 312, the serving eNB 103 is prevented from permitting the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0040-0041], the eNB 103 adjusts handover parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101). In other embodiments, the eNB 103 adjusts cell reselection parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101), For example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a signal strength threshold to which a measure of signal strength (from a standpoint of the UE) corresponding to the target cell 101 is compared when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0043], As another example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a time threshold to which a time duration is compared, the time duration corresponding to a time period in which a handover condition is satisfied when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobility-aware neighboring-cell evaluation of Abedini to employ the conditional cell reselection parameter treatment based on mobility conditions, as taught by Choi, in order to account for the mobility characteristics of neighboring cells when evaluating their suitability for reselection, thereby reducing unnecessary cell reselections and associated signal overhead, as recognized by Choi.
Regarding Claim 2, Abedini, modified by Choi, teaches the invention of Claim 1, Abedini further comprising wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters are not used in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is stationary ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command).
Regarding Claim 4, Abedini, modified by Choi, teaches the invention of Claim 1, Abedini further comprising wherein the mobility state indicates whether or not at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) serving the corresponding cell geographically moves ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. Generally, a mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes).
Regarding Claim 8, Abedini teaches an access node of a cellular telecommunication system, the access node serving a wireless terminal via a serving cel ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504)l, the access node comprising: processor circuitry (Fig. 16) configured to
generate: a cell reselection configuration, and cell mobility information ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command);
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, through the serving cell, the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility information ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to),
wherein: the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which are used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell reselection procedure to determine whether or not the wireless terminal is to reselect a neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506), and;
the one or more cell reselection parameters take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the neighbor cell broadcasts a cell mobility state indicating that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Abedini fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters comprising at least one of: a threshold value, an offset value, a timer value, or a counter value ([0031-0032], Fig. 3, At block 304, it is determined whether a measure of mobility of a UE meets a mobility criterion. For example, in an embodiment, it is determined whether a speed of the UE meets (e.g., is greater than, or is greater than or equal to) a threshold),
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters are configured to be activated only in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0033], Fig. 3, In some embodiments, the measure of mobility of the UE is a relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101. For example, in some scenarios, the target cell 101 is moving (e.g., the target eNB 104 is on a moving object such as a train, a boat, etc.), and the relative speed of the UE with respect to the moving target cell 101 is considered. In an embodiment, the eNB determines the relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101 using a suitable technique, [0036], When it is determined that the measure of mobility of the UE does not meet the mobility criterion, the flow ends, [0038], When it is determined that the size of the target cell 101 does not meet the cell size criterion, the flow ends), and
wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to evaluate the neighboring cell by applying the one or more cell reselection parameters to one or more measurements associated with the neighboring cell to determine whether to reselect the neighboring cell ([0039], At block 312, the serving eNB 103 is prevented from permitting the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0040-0041], the eNB 103 adjusts handover parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101). In other embodiments, the eNB 103 adjusts cell reselection parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101), For example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a signal strength threshold to which a measure of signal strength (from a standpoint of the UE) corresponding to the target cell 101 is compared when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0043], As another example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a time threshold to which a time duration is compared, the time duration corresponding to a time period in which a handover condition is satisfied when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobility-aware neighboring-cell evaluation of Abedini to employ the conditional cell reselection parameter treatment based on mobility conditions, as taught by Choi, in order to account for the mobility characteristics of neighboring cells when evaluating their suitability for reselection, thereby reducing unnecessary cell reselections and associated signal overhead, as recognized by Choi.
Regarding Claim 9, Abedini, modified by Choi, teaches the invention of Claim 8, Abedini further comprising wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters are not used by the wireless terminal in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is stationary ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command).
Regarding Claim 11, Abedini, modified by Choi, teaches the invention of Claim 8, Abedini further comprising wherein the mobility state indicates whether or not at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) serving the neighboring cell is geographically mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. Generally, a mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes).
Regarding Claim 15, Abedini teaches a method for a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system (Fig. 16), the method comprising: camping on a serving cell ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504).
receiving: a cell reselection configuration from the serving cell ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to), and;
cell mobility state from a neighboring cell, the cell mobility state including whether the neighboring cell is stationary or mobile ([0160], At step 3, the first wireless device 1502 may take one or more actions based on the conditional handover command. For example, in some cases, the first wireless device 1502 may receive one or more signals from the second cell 1506 and determine based on the one or more signals, a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506);
performing a cell reselection procedure to determine, based on the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility state, whether or not to reselect a neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506),
wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Abedini fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters comprising at least one of: a threshold value, an offset value, a timer value, or a counter value ([0031-0032], Fig. 3, At block 304, it is determined whether a measure of mobility of a UE meets a mobility criterion. For example, in an embodiment, it is determined whether a speed of the UE meets (e.g., is greater than, or is greater than or equal to) a threshold),
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters are configured to be activated only in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0033], Fig. 3, In some embodiments, the measure of mobility of the UE is a relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101. For example, in some scenarios, the target cell 101 is moving (e.g., the target eNB 104 is on a moving object such as a train, a boat, etc.), and the relative speed of the UE with respect to the moving target cell 101 is considered. In an embodiment, the eNB determines the relative speed of the UE with respect to the target cell 101 using a suitable technique, [0036], When it is determined that the measure of mobility of the UE does not meet the mobility criterion, the flow ends, [0038], When it is determined that the size of the target cell 101 does not meet the cell size criterion, the flow ends), and
wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to evaluate the neighboring cell by applying the one or more cell reselection parameters to one or more measurements associated with the neighboring cell to determine whether to reselect the neighboring cell ([0039], At block 312, the serving eNB 103 is prevented from permitting the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0040-0041], the eNB 103 adjusts handover parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101). In other embodiments, the eNB 103 adjusts cell reselection parameters to make criteria for switching to the target cell 101 more stringent (e.g., decreasing a probability that the eNB 103 will allow the UE to switch from the serving cell 100 to the target cell 101), For example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a signal strength threshold to which a measure of signal strength (from a standpoint of the UE) corresponding to the target cell 101 is compared when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101, [0043], As another example, the serving eNB 103 adjusts a time threshold to which a time duration is compared, the time duration corresponding to a time period in which a handover condition is satisfied when determining whether to permit the UE to switch to the target cell 101).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobility-aware neighboring-cell evaluation of Abedini to employ the conditional cell reselection parameter treatment based on mobility conditions, as taught by Choi, in order to account for the mobility characteristics of neighboring cells when evaluating their suitability for reselection, thereby reducing unnecessary cell reselections and associated signal overhead, as recognized by Choi.
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al (US 2021/0051558), in view of Choi et al (US 2014/0045498), and further in view of Singh et al (US 10,091,699).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Abedini, modified by Choi, teaches all aspects of the invention as disclosed in Claims 5 and 12 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Singh teaches wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise one or more cell reselection timers (col. 8, lines 17-35, The serving access point 310 may configure a UE 330 served by the serving access point 310 with one or more triggerable events (e.g., handover events). The events may each include a set of parameters (e.g., handover parameters). For example, an offset parameter may be an amount by which a signal quality of the non-serving access point 320 is better than a signal quality of the serving access point 310. Other examples of offsets in UMTS and LTE may include hysteresis, event offset, cell individual offset, reporting range, and frequency offset. Another example of a parameter is a time-to-trigger parameter that may be satisfied when a minimum duration for certain conditions are met. In an example implementation, the UE 330 may be configured to report to the serving access point if and when the event is triggered. For example, in the case of a triggering of a handover event, the serving access point 310 may determine to whether to initiate handover of the UE 330 to the non-serving access point 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the offset and timer-based triggers of Singh, in the system of Abedini, modified by Choi, in order to better ensure timely handovers. (See Singh col. 1, lines 50-63)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Abedini teaches all aspects of the invention as disclosed in Claims 5 and 12 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Singh teaches wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise one or more offset values, including the offset value (col. 8, lines 17-35, The serving access point 310 may configure a UE 330 served by the serving access point 310 with one or more triggerable events (e.g., handover events). The events may each include a set of parameters (e.g., handover parameters). For example, an offset parameter may be an amount by which a signal quality of the non-serving access point 320 is better than a signal quality of the serving access point 310. Other examples of offsets in UMTS and LTE may include hysteresis, event offset, cell individual offset, reporting range, and frequency offset. Another example of a parameter is a time-to-trigger parameter that may be satisfied when a minimum duration for certain conditions are met. In an example implementation, the UE 330 may be configured to report to the serving access point if and when the event is triggered. For example, in the case of a triggering of a handover event, the serving access point 310 may determine to whether to initiate handover of the UE 330 to the non-serving access point 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the offset and timer-based triggers of Singh, in the system of Abedini, modified by Choi, in order to better ensure timely handovers. (See Singh col. 1, lines 50-63)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Song et al (US 2013/0244664) teaches Systems and methods for mobility parameter adjustment and mobility state estimation in heterogeneous networks are provided. The mobility parameters may be adjusted based on the cell change types associated with the mobility procedure. The mobility procedure may be a cell handover procedure or a cell reselection procedure. The cell change type may be dependent on the transmission power level of the UE's serving cell and neighboring cells. In some implementations, the UE may provide a speed information to the serving cell such that the serving eNB may prioritize or optimize the mobility procedure for the UE. The UE may also estimate its mobility state by counting the number of cell changes within certain period of time and applying scaling factors to the number of cell changes based on the associated cell change types. (Abstract)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641