DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 03/25/2026, particularly regarding the rejection of the claims in view of Abedini et al (US 2021/0051558) have been have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues by "mobility state information," Abedini is clearly referring to "an indication of a level of mobility corresponding to the wireless device..." and to "an indication of a change or transition from one mobility state to another...". Furthermore, Abedini describes whether a cell is suitable is determined based on the mobility state information in contrast to amended independent claim 1 which emphasizes that "the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters which take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile." Applicant further argues that according to amended claim 1, the feature "cell reselection parameters" are, in fact, "parameters, such as thresholds, offset values, timer values, and/or counter values to be used for evaluations of candidate cells." See, e.g., paragraph [0075] of the originally filed specification, therefore, the "mobility state information," as described in Abedini, is completely different from the feature "cell reselection parameters," and Abedini fails to anticipate the amended limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the feature "cell reselection parameters" are, in fact, "parameters, such as thresholds, offset values, timer values, and/or counter values to be used for evaluations of candidate cells." See, e.g., paragraph [0075] of the originally filed specification) are not recited in the rejected claims. The independent claims are completely silent as to “thresholds, offset values, timer values, and/or counter values to be used for evaluations of candidate cells” and therefore these limitations are not required to anticipate the claimed “cell reselection parameters.” Although these examples are provided in the specification, they are neither exclusionary, nor inherent to, the claimed invention. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the teachings of Abedini. The mobility state information as discussed in Abedini is not solely applicable to the mobility of the mobile terminal, as argued by applicant. This is explicitly contradicted in Abedini at paragraph [0084] “A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time).” Abedini also explicitly describes the application of conditional handover parameters based on the mobility state of the neighboring cell, as disclosed at paragraph [0147] “the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell.” Abedini, as shown above, explicitly teaches different mobility states of the neighboring radio node, where conditional handover parameters are triggered and implemented based on the detected mobility state. For these reasons, Abedini continues to anticipate the recited limitations, and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini et al (US 2021/0051558).
Regarding Claim 1, Abedini teaches a wireless terminal camping on a serving cell in a cellular telecommunication system ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410, Fig. 16) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive: a cell reselection configuration from the serving cell ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to), and;
a cell mobility state from a neighboring cell, the cell mobility state indicating whether the neighboring cell is stationary or mobile ([0160], At step 3, the first wireless device 1502 may take one or more actions based on the conditional handover command. For example, in some cases, the first wireless device 1502 may receive one or more signals from the second cell 1506 and determine based on the one or more signals, a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506); and
processor circuitry configured to perform a cell reselection procedure to determine, based on the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility state, whether to reselect the neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506),
wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Regarding Claim 2, Abedini teaches the invention of Claim 1, further comprising wherein the one or more parameters do not take effect in a case that the mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is stationary ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command).
Regarding Claim 4, Abedini teaches the invention of Claim 1, further comprising wherein the mobility state indicates whether or not at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) serving the corresponding cell geographically moves ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. Generally, a mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes).
Regarding Claim 8, Abedini teaches an access node of a cellular telecommunication system, the access node serving a wireless terminal via a serving cel ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504)l, the access node comprising: processor circuitry (Fig. 16) configured to
generate: a cell reselection configuration, and cell mobility information ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command);
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit, through the serving cell, the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility information ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to),
wherein: the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which are used by the wireless terminal to perform a cell reselection procedure to determine whether or not the wireless terminal is to reselect a neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506), and;
the one or more cell reselection parameters take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the neighbor cell broadcasts a cell mobility state indicating that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Regarding Claim 9, Abedini teaches the invention of Claim 8, further comprising wherein the one or more parameters do not take effect in a case that the mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is stationary ([0141], the triggering event may be based on the mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1206. In other words, the first wireless device 1202 may determine whether to transmit a measurement report to the network node 1208 corresponding to the second cell 1206 based on the mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1206 (e.g., and whether the mobility state corresponding to the second cell meets the triggering event), [0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command).
Regarding Claim 11, Abedini teaches the invention of Claim 8, further comprising wherein the mobility state indicates whether or not at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) serving the corresponding cell is geographically mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. Generally, a mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes).
Regarding Claim 15, Abedini teaches a method for a wireless terminal of a cellular telecommunication system (Fig. 16), the method comprising: camping on a serving cell ([0157], Fig. 15, at step 1 if FIG. 15, a first wireless device 1502 (e.g., UE 120 and/or MT of an IAB node 410) may establish a connection and camp on a first cell 1504).
receiving: a cell reselection configuration from the serving cell ([0158], Fig. 15, At step 2, the first wireless device 1502 may receive, from a network node 1508 in the network, such as a CU, a conditional handover command to hand over to a second cell 1506 in the network. In some cases, the conditional handover command includes one or more conditions that are based, at least in part, on a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506. In other words, the conditional handover may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell 1206 that the first wireless device 1202 wants to be handed over to), and;
cell mobility state from a neighboring cell, the cell mobility state including whether the neighboring cell is stationary or mobile ([0160], At step 3, the first wireless device 1502 may take one or more actions based on the conditional handover command. For example, in some cases, the first wireless device 1502 may receive one or more signals from the second cell 1506 and determine based on the one or more signals, a mobility state corresponding to the second cell 1506);
performing a cell reselection procedure to determine, based on the cell reselection configuration and the cell mobility state, whether or not to reselect a neighboring cell ([0161], taking one or more actions may include deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 based at least in part on the one or one or more signals and the one or more conditions in the conditional handover command. In some cases, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may include, for example, initiating a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, in some cases, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506. Additionally, deciding whether or not to handover to the second cell 1506 may, in some cases, include deciding not to hand over to the second cell 1506 if the one or more conditions are not satisfied based at least in part on the one or more signals. For example, if the first wireless device 1502 determines that the determined mobility state information corresponding to the second cell 1506 does not satisfy one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device 1502 may decide not to initiate a handover procedure to hand over to the second cell 1506),
wherein the cell reselection configuration comprises one or more cell reselection parameters ([0147], the conditional handover command may include one or more conditions related to a mobility state corresponding to a second cell that the first wireless device wants to be handed over to. According to aspects, if the mobility state corresponding to the second cell satisfies one or more of the conditions in the conditional handover command, the first wireless device may initiate a handover to the second cell) which take effect and are designated to be used for an evaluation of the neighboring cell in a case that the cell mobility state indicates that the neighboring cell is mobile ([0084], A mobility state of a communication device or node (e.g., an IAB node) may be defined by a number of characteristics. A mobility state may refer to a node's mobility class, movement degree, and/or movement capability. A node's mobility state may be static (e.g., not changing) or dynamic (e.g., changing with time). Mobility states may be dependent upon other factors such that it indicates a relative state with respect to other network nodes, [0085], Mobility states may be based on one or more characteristics as desired or according to design/operational principles. A first characteristic may include a level of mobility (for example, stationary, low-speed mobility, medium-speed mobility, high-speed mobility). [0086], the mobility state of a given IAB node may impact operation of the mobile IAB network. For example, the performance of a number of IAB network-related operations may depend on the mobility state of a mobile IAB node. Such IAB network-related operations may include, for example, initial cell access, cell selection/reselection, and cell handover. For example, given the mobility state of a mobile IAB node/cell, the mobile IAB node may or may not be the best choice for a serving cell of a user equipment (UE) or a mobile termination component (MT)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al (US 2021/0051558), in view of Singh et al (US 10,091,699).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Abedini teaches all aspects of the invention as disclosed in Claims 5 and 12 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Singh teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more cell reselection timer (col. 8, lines 17-35, The serving access point 310 may configure a UE 330 served by the serving access point 310 with one or more triggerable events (e.g., handover events). The events may each include a set of parameters (e.g., handover parameters). For example, an offset parameter may be an amount by which a signal quality of the non-serving access point 320 is better than a signal quality of the serving access point 310. Other examples of offsets in UMTS and LTE may include hysteresis, event offset, cell individual offset, reporting range, and frequency offset. Another example of a parameter is a time-to-trigger parameter that may be satisfied when a minimum duration for certain conditions are met. In an example implementation, the UE 330 may be configured to report to the serving access point if and when the event is triggered. For example, in the case of a triggering of a handover event, the serving access point 310 may determine to whether to initiate handover of the UE 330 to the non-serving access point 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the offset and timer-based triggers of Singh, in the system of Abedini, in order to better ensure timely handovers. (See Singh col. 1, lines 50-63)
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Abedini teaches all aspects of the invention as disclosed in Claims 5 and 12 above, except the following, which in analogous art, Singh teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more offset values (col. 8, lines 17-35, The serving access point 310 may configure a UE 330 served by the serving access point 310 with one or more triggerable events (e.g., handover events). The events may each include a set of parameters (e.g., handover parameters). For example, an offset parameter may be an amount by which a signal quality of the non-serving access point 320 is better than a signal quality of the serving access point 310. Other examples of offsets in UMTS and LTE may include hysteresis, event offset, cell individual offset, reporting range, and frequency offset. Another example of a parameter is a time-to-trigger parameter that may be satisfied when a minimum duration for certain conditions are met. In an example implementation, the UE 330 may be configured to report to the serving access point if and when the event is triggered. For example, in the case of a triggering of a handover event, the serving access point 310 may determine to whether to initiate handover of the UE 330 to the non-serving access point 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the offset and timer-based triggers of Singh, in the system of Abedini, in order to better ensure timely handovers. (See Singh col. 1, lines 50-63)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mildh et al (US 2019/0053244) teaches the UE may perform cell reselection assessments and decisions based on radio channel quality measurements in the current and neighbor cells. In addition, the UE may have to take into account channel quality thresholds and cell specific offsets, which the network may optionally configure and convey to the UE in the form of system information in the current/serving cell, and which may govern which differences in radio channel quality between the current and a certain neighbor cell may trigger cell reselection to the concerned neighbor cell. If the radio channel quality measurements motivate a cell reselection, then the UE may have to acquire relevant parts of the system information in the candidate cell, that is, the neighbor cell that may be being considered for cell reselection, to check that there are no obstacles for the UE to camp on it, e.g., that the cell is not barred, or is a Closed Subscriber Group (CSG) cell that is closed for the UE, or belongs to an area where the UE is not allowed service, or to a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) the UE is not allowed to access, before actually executing the cell reselection. ([0021]);
Ekici (US 2013/0109372) discloses the mobile network sends neighbor cell information to mobile stations operating in the network to indicate neighbor cells for which measurements are to be performed. The neighbor cell information may list cells having different carrier frequencies. Additionally, in a mobile network supporting multiple radio access technologies (RATs), such as universal terrestrial radio access network (UTRAN) functionality and GPRS EDGE radio access network (GERAN) functionality, the neighbor cell information may list cells corresponding to different RATs, as well as different carrier frequencies ([0002]);
Teyeb et al (US 2014/0192781) discloses technology improves the performance of mobile radio nodes and other nodes operating with them by taking into account mobile radio node mobility state information. As mentioned above, the example of a mobile radio node used for illustration below is a mobile relay node. For example, inbound and outbound handovers to/from mobile relays, as well as cell (re-) selections, are enhanced by aligning the behavior of the mobile relay, the DeNB, neighboring nodes, and UEs with the mobile relay's mobility state. If the current mobility state of the mobile relay node (RN) is known, e.g., by the mobile RN, DeNB, neighboring nodes, and/or UEs, then the activation/deactivation of certain mobility features and/or the modifications of system parameters may be performed so that handover measurements and executions, as well as cell (re-)selections, are performed preferably only when necessary. The probability of ping-pong handovers as well as temporary camping in the wrong cell, e.g., a UE outside the vehicle carrying the mobile relay node camping on the relay node cell or a UE inside the vehicle carrying the mobile relay node camping on a fixed neighbor cell, is also reduced. This ping-pong handover situation would otherwise become prevalent if the behavior of the RN, DeNB, neighbor nodes, and UEs did not take into account the mobile relay node's mobility state ([0068]);
Zisimopoulos et al (US 2021/0084609) discloses Base stations may maintain neighbor lists which contain a list of neighboring cells. In wireless communication systems, the base stations are fixed and stationary, such that the list of neighboring cells that a UE is expected to see and potentially handover to is known and fixed. However, in wireless communication systems that include relays, e.g., mobile relays, the relays that provide service to UEs may be mobile, such that a list of neighboring relays that the UE is expected to see on a particular relay may repeatedly change. A UE in idle mode, camped on a mobile relay, may select the best cell based on the UE's scanning, which may lead to increased reselections and inefficient use of resources. A UE in connected mode, camped on a mobile relay, may be configured to receive updated neighbor lists to ensure successful handovers to neighboring relays. Aspects provided herein provide a solution to the problem of dynamically updating the neighbor list sent to the UE, based on the location of the UE and/or the location of the relays populating a known cell or another region in the vicinity of the UE at a given time. ([0007]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641