DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over (USPub20200071515).
Regarding claim 1: Kouno teaches a gas barrier laminated material having a vapor phase deposited inorganic layer 12 (A), a cured resin layer 2 (B) wherein the layers are laminated (0133, Figures).
The inorganic layer 12 (A) is formed from SI, Al, Mg, Ca, Zn, etc or oxides, carbides, nitrides and oxynitrides thereof (0052). Given the above language, one skilled in the art would conclude Kouno to be anticipating with sufficient specificity zinc oxide or calcium oxide, or alternatively, at the very least render the claimed materials obvious.
The cured resin layer 2 (B) can be formed form a carboxyl compound (see for instance the abstract).
Regarding claim 4: Note that the limitations that layer (A) is formed by vapor phase formation method as in claim 1 and physical vapor deposition as in claim 4 are product by process limitations and it has been held by the courts that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Specifically, patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
In the instant case, the art does teach the claimed product and as such, the claims are considered met. However, it is noted for the record that ‘515 does in fact teach that their vapor phase layer above can be formed by PVD (0054).
Regarding claim 5 and 8 The carboxyl compound can be as claimed (see for instance, 0078-0097).
Regarding claim 6: The material further has a resin substrate layer (0049).
Regarding claim 7: ‘515 also teaches packaging material comprising their laminate (0002, 0040, 0155).
Regarding claim 9: The layer (A) can have a thickness of 5-100nm (0053) and layer (B) can have a thickness of 0.1-3.5micron (100-3500nm) (0130) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10: The layer (B) compound can be at a content as claimed (see 0123-0127).
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over (USPub20170341352).
Regarding claim 1: Kidokoro teaches a gas barrier laminated material having a vapor phase deposited inorganic layer 102 (A), a polycarboxylic acid layer 103 (B) wherein the layers are laminated (abstract, 0126-0127, 0134 Figure 2).
The inorganic layer 102 (A) is formed from Mg, Ca, Zn, etc or oxides, nitrides, etc. thereof (0127). Given the above language, one skilled in the art would conclude ‘352 to be anticipating with sufficient specificity zinc oxide or calcium oxide, or alternatively, at the very least render the claimed materials obvious.
Regarding claim 4: Note that the limitations that layer (A) is formed by vapor phase formation method as in claim 1 and physical vapor deposition as in claim 4 are product by process limitations and it has been held by the courts that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Specifically, patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
In the instant case, the art does teach the claimed product and as such, the claims are considered met. However, it is noted for the record that ‘352 does in fact teach that their vapor phase layer above can be formed by PVD (0134).
Regarding claim 5 and 8 The carboxyl compound can be as claimed (see for instance, abstract, 0079-0084).
Regarding claim 6: The material further has a resin substrate layer (0136-0139).
Regarding claim 7: ‘’352 also teaches packaging material comprising their laminate (0162).
Regarding claim 9: The layer (A) can have a thickness of 1-500nm (0132) and layer (B) can have a thickness of 0.1-1micron (100-1000nm) (0115) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10: The layer (B) compound can be at a content as claimed (see 0076-0083, Examples).
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over (USPub20180126696).
Regarding claim 1: Suzuki teaches a gas barrier laminated material having a vapor phase deposited inorganic layer 102 (A), a polycarboxylic acid layer 103 (B) wherein the layers are laminated (abstract, 0107-0109, 0124, Figures).
The inorganic layer 102 (A) is formed from Mg, Ca, Zn, etc or oxides, nitrides, etc. thereof (0107-0109). Given the above language, one skilled in the art would conclude ‘696 to be anticipating with sufficient specificity zinc oxide or calcium oxide, or alternatively, at the very least render the claimed materials obvious.
Regarding claim 4: Note that the limitations that layer (A) is formed by vapor phase formation method as in claim 1 and physical vapor deposition as in claim 4 are product by process limitations and it has been held by the courts that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Specifically, patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
In the instant case, the art does teach the claimed product and as such, the claims are considered met. However, it is noted for the record that ‘696 does in fact teach that their vapor phase layer above can be formed by PVD (012carbon4).
Regarding claim 5 and 8 The carboxyl compound can be as claimed (see for instance, abstract, 0065-0069).
Regarding claim 6: The material further has a resin substrate layer (0126-0129).
Regarding claim 7: ‘’696 also teaches packaging material comprising their laminate (0187).
Regarding claim 9: The layer (A) can have a thickness of 1-100nm (0122) and layer (B) can have a thickness of 0.01-0.45micron (10-450nm) (00033).
Regarding claim 10: The layer (B) compound can be at a content as claimed (see 0062-0064, 0082-0083 Examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (WO2019142923 and corresponding English document USPub20200331024, note that citations in the present rejection are that of the English document) in view of any one of USPub20200071515, USPub20180126696 or USPub20170341352.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 6: Okamura teaches the following gas barrier laminated material (see entire document).
Okamura’s inorganic vapor deposition layer (A) provides gas barrier properties, is formed from inorganic oxides and Okamura lists examples of such oxides being aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, magnesium oxide, and tin oxide (0046).
While Okamura may not list calcium or zinc oxides in their disclosed listing, it is initially noted that Okamura’s Example listing is not taken to be limiting but instead, simply a listing of examples of possible inorganic materials that can be used. As such, it would be well within the skill in the art to look to the prior art to choose other materials used for the same purpose if desired. In the instant case, note that Okamura’s layer (A) is a vapor deposition inorganic layer providing gas barrier properties in a packing material.
As, USPub20200071515, USPub20180126696, and USPub20170341352, who each similarly teach an inorganic layer which can be vapor deposited and provide gas barrier properties in a packing material, disclose that such an inorganic layer providing the above properties can be formed with Si, Al, Mg, Ca, Zn, Sn, etc. or oxides thereof (see 0052 in ‘515; 0107-0109, 0124 in ‘696 and 0126-0127, 0134 in ‘352), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Okamura to include their inorganic vapor deposition layer (A) being formed of Si, Al, Mg, Ca, Zn, Sn, etc. or oxides thereof for gas barrier properties.
Note that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06, II) and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP 2144.07) has been held by the courts to be prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 4: Note that the limitations that layer (A) is formed by vapor phase formation method as in claim 1 and physical vapor deposition as in claim 4 are product by process limitations and it has been held by the courts that "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Specifically, patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production and if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product may be made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
In the instant case, Okamura does teach the claimed product and as such, the claims are considered met. However, it is noted for the record that Okamura does in fact teach that their vapor phase layer 3 above can be formed by PVD (0047).
Regarding claim 7: Okamura does teach that a packaging material can comprise their gas barrier laminated material above (see 0080).
Regarding claim 8: Okamura’s layer (B) is formed from a polycarboxylic acid (see 0018, 0049-0050, 0122).
Regarding claim 9: The layer (A) can have a thickness of 5-100nm (0046) and layer (B) can have a thickness of 0.04-1.2micron (40-1200nm) (0048) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10: The layer (B) is formed of a polycarboxylic acid polymer compound and a silicon-containing compound with the polycarboxylic compound to silicon compound forming a solid content wt ratio of 99.5/0.5 to 80/20 (0018).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784