Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13, 16-19 and 21-30 are pending. Claims 21-24 are withdrawn. Claims 25-30 are new. Claims 14-15 and 20 are canceled. Claims 1-13, 16-19 and 25-30 are under examination.
Withdrawn Rejections
In light of the amendments, the objection to claim 9 is hereby withdrawn.
In light of the amendments, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Kalvass et al. and Ye et al. is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13, 18-19 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eriksson et al. (“Studies of drug binding to plasma proteins using a variant of equilibrium dialysis”, Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis 38 (2005) 381–389).
Eriksson teaches the plasma protein binding of three model compounds was investigated using a variant of equilibrium dialysis, comparative equilibrium dialysis, and the results were compared with those obtained with ultrafiltration (see abstract). Eriksson teaches in comparative equilibrium dialysis, the buffer that the plasma is dialysed against in traditional equilibrium dialysis is replaced by, for example, plasma from other species and the comparative equilibrium dialysis method has the advantage that the unbound concentration (Cu) does not need to be measured, which can be difficult for drugs with extremely small unbound fractions but instead the ratio of the total drug concentration (Ctot) on either side of the dialysis membrane at equilibrium (see abstract). Eriksson teaches two chambers divided by a semipermeable membrane (see pg. 382, left col., para. 1). Eriksson teaches the first model compound having an unbound fraction (fu) of about 0.05% in human plasma, the time to reach equilibrium is a direct measure of the relative binding properties of the two plasma types and the first model compound having an unbound fraction (fu) of about 0.05% in human plasma (see abstract). Fig. 1 shows the donor-side chamber and the acceptor-side chamber and the inverse of the relationship for the unbound fractions (fu) of the two species: (fu) values for rat plasma and human plasma are 20 and 2%, respectively (see pg. 382). Fig. 1 shows comparative equilibrium dialysis experiments measuring a first set of concentrations of the analyte in bound form and unbound form in the donor solution and the acceptor solution. Fig. 2-3 show the first set of concentrations are measured two or more times on an every-fixed time basis or an every-key-time basis. Eriksson teaches the total concentration in each chamber can be used to study the relationship between the unbound fractions of two species, for example, and if the absolute unbound fraction is known for one species, the other unbound fraction can be calculated (see pg. 383, left col., paras. 1-3).
With respect to claim 2, Eriksson teaches different concentrations were performed through comparative equilibrium dialysis method.
With respect to claim 3, Eriksson teaches the plasmas were diluted with buffer (see pg. 382, left col., middle of para. 1 and Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Fig. 1 shows that human plasma and buffer has 98% protein binding ratio of the analyte in the biological sample.
With respect to claim 6, Eriksson teaches the unbound fraction in the rabbit is considerably higher, 1.5%, offering good possibilities for comparison with human plasma in CED experiments. (see pg. 383, para. 4) which would be 98.5% protein binding ratio.
With respect to claims 7-8, Fig. 1 shows that human plasma and rat plasma.
With respect to claims 10-11, Fig. 1 shows that human plasma and rat plasma, which are mammals.
With respect to claim 13, Eriksson teaches measuring NAD-299 compound which has a MW of 486.5g (see pg. 384, left col., section 2.3).
With respect to claim 18, Eriksson teaches the bound of the compound, which would be a period of time during denaturalization of the biological sample or analyte, as these are drug binding.
With respect to claim 19, Eriksson teaches the equilibrium dialysis experiments can be shortened to 16 hrs or less (see abstract).
With respect to claim 25, Fig. 1 shows that human plasma and buffer has 98% protein binding ratio of the analyte in the biological sample. Eriksson further teaches the unbound fraction in the rabbit is considerably higher, 1.5%, offering good possibilities for comparison with human plasma in CED experiments. (see pg. 383, para. 4) which would be 98.5% protein binding ratio.
With respect to claim 26, 1 mL chambers were used and filled with 0.8 mL plasma per chamber (see pg. 383, right col., last para.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson et al. (“Studies of drug binding to plasma proteins using a variant of equilibrium dialysis”, Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis 38 (2005) 381–389) applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kalvass et al. (“Mathematical and Experimental Validation of Flux Dialysis Method: An Improved Approach to Measure Unbound Fraction for Compounds with High Protein Binding and Other Challenging Properties”, Drug Metab Dispos, vol. 46, pgs. 458-469, published April 2018, IDS submitted 06/12/2023, #NPL9).
Eriksson has been discussed above. Eriksson does not explicitly teach the MW cutoff of the semipermeable membrane is 50 kDa or less (claim 4), the biological samples (A) and (B) are serum (claim 9), ClogP of the analyte is 25 or less (claim 12), is a dynamic analysis (claim 16), the claimed expressions (claim 17).
Kalvass teaches a flux dialysis method to measure unbound fraction (fu) of compounds with high protein binding and other challenging properties was tested and validated (see abstract). Kalvass teaches compound initial flux rates of 14 compounds were determined by dialyzing human plasma containing compound (donor side) versus compound-free plasma (receiver side) and measuring the rate of compound appearance into the receiver side (see abstract). Kalvass teaches the dialysis kinetic model (Fig. 1) comprises a donor matrix and a receiver matrix compartment separated by a semipermeable membrane (see pg. 459, right col., last para. of Materials and Methods). Meanwhile, Fig. 1 shows providing a chamber system (I) in which adjacent chambers are separated by a semipermeable membrane permeable to the analyte; adding a donor solution containing a first biological sample (A) and the analyte to one chamber (donor-side chamber) in the chamber system (I); adding an acceptor solution containing a second biological sample (B) to a chamber different from the donor-side chamber (acceptor-side chamber) in the chamber system (I); measuring concentrations of the analyte in the donor solution and the acceptor solution over time (also see caption). Kalvass teaches the model structure was general, allowing consideration of dialysis between any two matrices (e.g., plasma vs. buffer, buffer vs. buffer, plasma vs. plasma (see pg. 459, right col., para. 2 of Materials and Methods). Kalvas teaches the molecular weight cutoff (MWCO) is 12-14 kDa (see pg. 461, left col., para. 2). Kalvass teaches the compound-spiked serum is dialyzed against compound-free serum (see pg. 458, middle of right col.). Kalvass teaches that measuring compound’s fu with the dynamic dialysis method offers advantages over equilibrium dialysis, namely, allowing much higher receiver concentration to be achieved (enabling measurements of lower fu values for a given LLOQ) (see pg. 458, right col., bottom of para. 1). Kalvass teaches the claimed expression 2 (see pg. 459, right col., last para.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the semipermeable membrane as taught by Eriksson with a cutoff molecular weight of 50 kDa or less as taught by Kalvass because it has been recognized by Eriksson and Kalvass to use a semipermeable membrane that has a higher cutoff molecular weight than the analyte and compound for passage of molecules. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have used serum instead of plasma because serum and plasma are derived from blood products and Kalvass teaches that serum can be dialyzed and measured for relative fu values. With respect to dynamic analysis and expressions, it would have been obvious to the person to have performed dynamic analysis and calculated the performance as taught by Kalvass because Kalvass teaches that measured compound’s fu with the dynamic dialysis method offers advantages over equilibrium dialysis, namely, allowing much higher receiver concentration to be achieved by enabling measurements of lower fu values.
The person would have a reasonable expectation of success in performing dynamic analysis from drug binding of Eriksson because it has been well understood by comparative equilibrium dialysis and dynamic analysis to use plasma as samples in chambers.
With respect to claim 12, Eriksson does not teach cLogP. Kalvass teaches cLogP is 0.88 to 8.1 (see pg. 459, left col., middle of para. 5). It would have been obvious to the person to have performed dynamic analysis and calculated the cLogP as taught by Kalvass because Kalvass teaches that measured compound’s fu with the dynamic dialysis method offers advantages over equilibrium dialysis and Eriksson teaches measuring the claimed analyte and biological sample.
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eriksson et al. (“Studies of drug binding to plasma proteins using a variant of equilibrium dialysis”, Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis 38 (2005) 381–389) applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Demarco et al. (WO2017105939A1, published 06/22/2017).
Eriksson has been discussed above. However, Eriksson does not teach the claimed peptide (see claims 27-30).
Demarco teaches polypeptide modulators of complement activity, including cyclic polypeptide modulators and utilizing such modulators as therapeutics (see abstract). Demarco teaches plasma protein binding was > 99.9 in human, rat and monkey plasma, as determined by equilibrium dialysis at a drug concentration of 10 and 100 µM (see para. [00270]). Demarco teaches a commonly administered medication in paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria patients is cyclosporine (see para. [00273]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the equilibrium dialysis as taught by Eriksson with cyclosporine as taught by Demarco and with a reasonable expectation of success because Demarco teaches performing equilibrium dialysis with plasma and drugs at concentration of 10 and 100 µM and cyclosporine is a common medication to administer to patients.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/05/2025 have been considered but are moot because Applicant’s amendments necessitated a new ground of rejection. Note that Eriksson (see above new reference) teaches the claimed invention and Kalvass is used as a secondary reference. The arguments related to “relative fu” and “different species” are now taught by Eriksson. Therefore, the arguments related to Kalvass are moot.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/N.P.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678