DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner for this application has changed. Please direct all future correspondence to Examiner Jennifer Spence, Art Unit 1633. Additional contact information can be found at the end of this paper.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-20, and 22-23, of record 12/21/2023, are pending and subject to prosecution.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7, 9-11, and 13-20, and a bispecific T cell engager as the species in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged. However, upon reconsideration, the restriction requirement of 11/5/2025 is fully withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-20, and 22-23 are presently being examined.
In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2021/064546 (filed 12/21/2021). Acknowledgement is made of the applicant’s claim for benefit to provisional application 63/128959 (filed 12/22/2020).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 12 of claim 1, line 13 of claim 22, and line 12 of claim 23, an article should be inserted in front of “CD3 peptide”.
In line 2 of claim 15, the word “selected” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein said polypeptide is selected from the group consisting of an antibody, a peptibody, a multispecific protein, a bispecific protein, a bi-specific T cell engager, a half-life extended bi-specific T cell engager, and biologically active fragments, analogs and derivatives thereof”. The terms “fragments”, “analogs”, and “derivatives thereof” are interpreted as requiring capability of binding to a CD3 peptide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “said cell” in line 4, whereas “a single cell” is recited in line 3, and it is unclear whether said cell is said single cell. Claim 5 recites “the cell” in line 2. Claim 6 recites “the cell” in line 1. Claim 15 recites “the modification” in line 1, whereas “at least one modification” is recited in parent claim 14, and it is unclear whether the modification is the at least one modification. Claim 22 recites “said cell” in line 5, “the single cell line” in line 12, and “said sequence” in line 18. Claim 23 recites “said cell” in line 4, “the single cell line” in line 11, “the cell line” in line 15, and “said cell” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Dependent claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 13-14, and 16-20 are included in the rejection.
Claim 6 also recites the limitations “murine myeloma (NS0, Sp2/0) cell”, “human embryonic kidney (293) cell”, “fibrosarcoma (HT-1080) cell”, “human embryonic retinal (PER.C6) cell”, “hybrid kidney and B cell (HKB-11)”, and “human liver (Huh-7) cell”. It is unclear whether the parenthetical terms are intended to be exemplary or further limiting.
Claims 9-10, 16-17, and 22 contain the trademarks/trade names bi-specific T cell engager or BiTE and AF or AlexaFluor. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe engineered antibodies or fluorophores and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 14-15, 18-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018076024 A2), of record in IDS filed 12/1/2023, in view of Roschke et al. (US 20140065142 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, and 18: Park et al. teach methods for screening antibody-producing (which reads on “secretes a biomolecule” and “polypeptide”) cells within microfluidic or nanofluidic environments (See Abstract and ¶0037-0038, 0054, and 0072). Park et al. teach a microfluidic or nanofluidic device or chip comprising one or more fluidically interconnected circuit elements (See ¶0036-0038). Sequestration pens facilitate the loading of single cells and growth of clonal colonies of antibody-producing cells (See ¶0093). The cells used in the assay can be eukaryotic, plant, bacterial, fungal, or mammalian; can be cells from a cell line; and can be transfected (See ¶0044). The cells are manipulated into sequestration pens and screened for expression of antibodies that specifically bind to an antigen of interest, which can be a protein (See ¶0003, 00101, and 0226). The antigen of interest is introduced into the device such that it is proximal to the antibody-producing cell (which reads on “administering a composition… to said nanofluidic chip under conditions… to contact said biomolecule”), which can be one of a population of cells (See ¶0005 and 0230). The antigen of interest can be labeled (“which reads on “peptide-conjugate comprising at least one modification”) with a fluorophore (See ¶0005). In example 1, Park et al. teach that a group of splenocytes associated with antibody binding could be separated and moved into new sequestration pens as single cells and reassayed (See ¶00282-00288). Sequestered single cells can be exposed to activation/culture medium for several days before being assayed for antibody secretion and antigen specificity, as taught in example 2 (See ¶00298-00299). The cells can be expanded within the device during culturing (See ¶00168 and 00237). The assay can be multiplexed for additional antigens and repeated (See ¶00306 and 00308), which would yield single cells secreting antibodies against one or more antigens of interest.
Park et al. therefore render obvious the isolation and clonal expansion of single antibody-producing cells from a population, assaying for antibody secretion and specificity through exposure to an antigen, and isolating single cells that produce a desired antibody or antibodies. However, Park et al. do not teach the antibody as anti-CD3 or the antibody ligand as a CD3 peptide.
Roschke et al. teach multivalent, multispecific antibodies comprising molecular recognition domains (See Abstract). The antibodies can bind to a target on a cell or tissue of interest and to a target on an effector cell, such as CD3 epsilon (See ¶0019-0020). The antibodies can bind a CD3 epsilon polypeptide having the sequence QDGNEEMGG (which reads on “a CD3 peptide” and “comprises… 9… amino acids”) (See ¶0415, SEQ ID NO 31). Host cells can be transformed with viruses or plasmids (which read on “expression construct”) for expressing the antibodies (See ¶0572 and 0583). The host cells can be CHO, BHK, NS0, SP2/0, PER.C6, or 293 cells (See 0355 and 0572). Antibody binding and activity can be determined by using or modifying assays known in the art (See ¶0245).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods taught by Park et al. to comprise the antibody-producing cells of Roschke et al. Combining prior art elements in order to yield predictable results is considered to be prima facie obvious. Each element would retain its properties and functions in the combination, and one of ordinary skill would have readily recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable. It also would have been obvious to use a CD3-derived peptide, such as that taught by Roschke et al., as the antigen in the device for determining secretion of CD3-specific antibodies.
Regarding claim 3: Following the discussion of claims --1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, and 18, Park et al. teach that when the antibody-producing cells are B cells, they can be contacted within the device with a stimulating agent such as T cells or a CD40L-expressing cell line (which reads on “the population of cells is a mixture of two or more cell lines”) (See ¶00236).
Regarding claim 4: Following the discussion of claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, and 18, Park et al. teach that the antibodies can be analyzed by ELISA (which reads on “quantifying the amount of said biomolecule secreted”) (See ¶00301).
Regarding claim 19: Following the discussion of claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, and 18, Park et al. teach that the antibody-expressing cell can be cultured within the device for a period of one to ten days and teach a four-day culture/activation period using B cells in example 2 (See ¶00237 and 00298). The screening process itself for isolating cells secreting antibodies specific to an antigen is performed in less than a day (See ¶00318), which suggests that isolation of a single cell, clonal expansion, assaying for antigen-specific antibody secretion, and single cell isolation could be readily completed in 14 days or less.
Regarding claim 23: Following the discussion of claims --1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-15, and 18, Park et al., modified by Roschke et al., render obvious a method for screening antibody-producing cells but do not teach culturing isolated single cells secreting an anti-CD3 antibody after transfer to a vessel.
However, Roschke et al. teach that stable transgene expression is more amenable than transient expression to large-scale production of the antibody (See ¶0583), which would necessarily require transfer of the isolated cells to another, larger vessel for culturing and antibody secretion.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-15, 18-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018076024 A2), of record, in view of Roschke et al. (US 20140065142 A1), further in view of Buie et al. (Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 2015).
The teachings of Park et al. and Roschke et al. are set forth in the rejection above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claim 10: Following the discussion of claims 1-7, 9, 11, 14-15, 18-19, and 23, Roschke et al. teach the multivalent, multispecific antibody as an anti-CD19/CD3 bispecific antibody (See ¶0856), but Park et al. and Roschke et al. do not teach the antibody as a BiTE.
Buie et al. review the anti-CD3/anti-CD19 BiTE blinatumomab, which is produced in CHO cells (See page 1058, col. 2, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park et al., modified by Roschke et al., to substitute the expression of the BiTE blinatumomab for expression of a bispecific antibody targeting both CD3 and CD19. Substitution of one known element for another known element is considered to be prima facie obvious, absent a showing that the substitution yields more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018076024 A2), of record, in view of Roschke et al. (US 20140065142 A1), further in view of Buie et al. (Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 2015), further in view of Backer et al. (Methods in Molecular Biology - Peptide-based Drug Design, 2008) and Kumar et al. (Current Science, 2012).
The teachings of Park et al., Roschke et al., and Buie et al. are set forth in the rejections above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claims 13, 16-17, and 22: Following the discussion of claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-15, 18-19, and 23, Park et al. teach that the antigen can be labeled with an Alexa Fluor dye but do not teach the dye as AF594 or teach a pyroglutamate residue.
Backer et al. teach methods for labeling proteins or peptides via cysteine residues (See Summary). A terminal cysteine can be inserted for site-specific modification with imaging agents (See page 276, ¶1). In an example, VEGF is labeled with Alexa Fluor 594 maleimide (See page 283, full ¶3 and fig. 4A).
Kumar et al. review pyroglutamic acid (See Abstract). Pyroglutamate is a common N-terminal modification to proteins and biologically active peptides resulting from the cyclization of glutamate or glutamine and may serve to protect against degradation (See page 289, col. 2, ¶2; page 290, col. 1, ¶1; and page 291, col. 2, ¶1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the antibody-binding CD3 peptide taught by Roschke et al. to add a C-terminal cysteine for maleimide linkage of an AF594 label. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Backer et al. teach the addition of a terminal cysteine as one strategy for site-specific labeling of peptides and demonstrate that maleimide-linked AF594 can be successfully used for labeling without altering protein function (See page 276, ¶1; page 283, full ¶3; and fig. 4A).
It also would have been obvious to replace the N-terminal glutamine of the CD3 peptide with pyroglutamate. One would have been motivated to make this modification because Kumar et al. teach that it may protect peptides against degradation (See page 290, col. 1, ¶1; and page 291, col. 2, ¶1-2). There would be a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Kumar et al. teach that this modification commonly occurs naturally in peptides and proteins (See page 289, col. 2, ¶2 and page 290, col. 1, ¶1). Carrying out these modifications would yield a peptide having the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO 1, pyroglutamate-DGNEEMGGC, with AF594 conjugated to the cysteine residue with a maleimide linkage.
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-15, 18-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2018076024 A2), of record, in view of Roschke et al. (US 20140065142 A1), further in view of Le et al. (Biotechnology Journal, 2020), of record in IDS dated 12/1/2023.
The teachings of Park et al. and Roschke et al. are set forth in the rejections above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Regarding claim 20: Following the discussion of claims 1-7, 9-11, 14-15, 18-19, and 23, Park et al. teach the use of an OptoSelect device with NanoPen chambers for screening antibody-producing CHO cells but do not teach the chip as comprising 1000-2000 chambers.
Le et al. teach single cell isolation and cloning using a OptoSelect 1750 nanofluidic chip comprising 1758 NanoPen chambers (See page 1, col. 2, full ¶2 and page 2, col. 2, full ¶3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Park et al., modified by Roschke et al., to substitute the nanofluidic chip taught by Le et al. Substitution of one known element for another known element is considered to be prima facie obvious, absent a showing that the substitution yields more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
/J.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633