DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed June 2, 2023, June 20, 2024, August 6, 2025 & September 8, 2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and an initialed copied is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. CN 109546205A in view of Park et al. KR 102026621B1.
With respect to claim 1, Shi teaches a method for manufacturing a secondary battery (lithium ion battery; See the Abstract), containing a gel polymer electrolyte (gel polymer electrolyte; See the Abstract), comprising: introducing an electrode assembly (positive & negative electrodes in the battery; See the Abstract) and a composition for forming the gel polymer electrolyte (injecting electrolyte mixed with functionalized oligomer and initiator; See the Abstract) to a battery casing to obtain a preliminary battery (to obtain lithium ion battery; See the Abstract) carrying out crosslinking of the composition in a heating device carrying out of the crosslinking (initiating oligomer in-situ polymerization crosslinking by heating to gelatinize the internal liquid substance of the battery; See the Abstract) and cooling the crosslinked composition (battery cooled after crosslinking; See the Abstract). With respect to claim 3, sealing the battery casing under ambient pressure to obtain the preliminary battery (sealing the battery teaching claim 1; no increased pressure mentioned and thus reasonable to expect ambient pressure). With respect to claim 4, the composition comprises: a lithium salt (conductive lithium salt; a non-aqueous organic solvent; summary of the invention, paragraph 5) a polymerization initiator (initiator; See the Abstract), and at least one polymerizable compound selected from the group consisting of a polymerizable monomer, oligomer, and copolymer (initiating oligomer in-situ polymerization; See the Abstract). With respect to claim 5, the crosslinking is carried out at a temperature of 600C or higher (crosslinking at 60-90 degrees; teaching claim 1). With respect to claim 6 , before the carrying out of the crosslinking, a carrying out aging at room-temperature ( sealing the battery and standing for 6~15h before crosslinking; teaching claim 1).
Shi does not teach or suggest: the gel polymer electrolyte is partially crosslinked and has a crosslinking degree is that increases from an inner part of the secondary battery toward an outer part of the secondary battery (claim 1); heating device that is heated to a temperature before the carrying out of the crosslinking (claim 1); the gel polymer electrolyte has a first portion having a first crosslinking degree, and a second portion having a second crosslinking degree higher than the first crosslinking degree, and the secondary battery comprises; a core portion including the first portion and a peripheral portion surrounding the core portion and comprising the second portion (claim 2); a secondary battery comprising: a gel polymer electrolyte having a crosslinking degree increasing stepwise or gradually from an inner part of the secondary battery to an outer part of the secondary battery, the gel polymer electrolyte having a first portion having a first crosslinking degree, and a second portion having a second crosslinking degree higher than the first crosslinking degree, a core portion comprising the first portion , and a peripheral portion surrounding the core portion and comprising the second portion (claim 9); the second crosslinking degree is 80 wt% or more, and the first crosslinking degree is less than 40 wt% (claim 10).
Park teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: having a crosslinking degree is that increases from an inner part of the secondary battery toward an outer part of the secondary battery (The degree of crosslinking of the second polymer network is lower than that of the first polymer network, gel electrolyte; teaching claim 5; Examiner’s Note: the difference in degree of polymerization reasonably yields portions of the battery containing the gel electrolyte to polymerize at a different degree than the other; Also, the electrolyte will inevitably have portions where the degree of crosslinking increases from the inner to outer part of the battery and the reverse; claim 1); the gel polymer electrolyte has a first portion having a first crosslinking degree, and a second portion having a second crosslinking degree higher than the first crosslinking degree, ((The degree of crosslinking of the second polymer network is lower than that of the first polymer network, gel electrolyte; teaching claim 5; claim 2); a secondary battery comprising: a gel polymer electrolyte having a crosslinking degree increasing stepwise or gradually from an inner part of the secondary battery to an outer part of the secondary battery, the gel polymer electrolyte having a first portion having a first crosslinking degree, and a second portion having a second crosslinking degree higher than the first crosslinking degree (The degree of crosslinking of the second polymer network is lower than that of the first polymer network, gel electrolyte; teaching claim 5; Examiner’s Note: the difference in degree of polymerization reasonably yields portions of the battery containing the gel electrolyte to polymerize at a different degree stepwise than the other; Also, the electrolyte will inevitably have portions where the degree of crosslinking increases from the inner to outer part of the battery and the reverse; claim 9).
Shi in view of Park are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely, fabricating lithium secondary batteries with gel electrolytes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the crosslinking degree being increases from an inner part of the secondary battery toward an outer part of the secondary battery of Park, in the gel electrolyte of Shi, in order to increase the flexibility and obviate leakage of the electrolyte as taught by Park. See the Background. Also, retain the flexibility and reversible deformation provided by the second polymer network. See Park, DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS, paragraph 18. Examiner’s Note: the difference in degree of polymerization reasonably yields portions of the battery containing the gel electrolyte to polymerize at a different degree stepwise than the other; Also, the electrolyte will inevitably have portions where the degree of crosslinking increases from the inner to outer part of the battery and the reverse.
With respect to the gel polymer electrolyte being partially crosslinked (claim 1); it would have been obvious in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park, in order to preserve battery function until use.
With respect to the heating device that is heated to a temperature before the carrying out of the crosslinking (claim 1); it would have been obvious in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park, in order to increase the speed of heating. The skilled artisan recognizes that pre-heating improves the heating rate of materials, by supplying a predetermined heating temperature.
With respect to a core portion including the first portion and a peripheral portion surrounding the core portion and comprising the second portion (claim 2 & 9); it would be reasonable to expect in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park, as the difference in degree of polymerization reasonably yields portions of the battery containing the gel electrolyte to polymerize at a different degree than the other; including the core and surrounding portions. Also, rearrangement of essential working parts of a device is prima facie obvious. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to the second crosslinking degree is 80 wt% or more, and the first crosslinking degree is less than 40 wt% (claim 10); it would have been obvious in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park, as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Park teaches the first polymer network may have a degree of crosslinking of about 10 × 10 -4 mol / cm .sup.3 to 20 × 10 -4 mol / cm3; the degree of crosslinking of the second network is about 10- can be not more than 10 -4 mol / cm3. See Park DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. CN 109546205A in view of Park et al. KR 102026621B1, and in view of Yang CN 208846852U.
Shi in view of Park teach a method of manufacturing a secondary battery as described in the rejection recited hereinabove.
Shi does not teach or suggest: after the carrying out of the aging, carrying out a vacuum treatment step ( claim 7); the cooling of the crosslinked composition is carried out in a cooling chamber controlled to a temperature that is room temperature or lower in such a manner that a battery temperature reaches an atmosphere temperature of the cooling chamber within 10 minutes (claim 8).
Yang teaches that it is well known in the art to employ: after the carrying out of the aging, carrying out a vacuum treatment step (a vacuum oven for baking battery, especially a new-type high-efficiency heat-cool vacuum oven automatically; technical field; claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ after the carrying out of the aging, carrying out a vacuum treatment step of Yang, in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park, in order to increase integrity of the seal.
With respect to the cooling of the crosslinked composition is carried out in a cooling chamber controlled to a temperature that is room temperature or lower in such a manner that a battery temperature reaches an atmosphere temperature of the cooling chamber within 10 minutes (claim 8); it would have been obvious in the method for manufacturing a secondary battery of Shi in view of Park and Yang, as Yang teaches the battery can be cooled quickly (paragraph before teaching claim 1). The skilled artisan recognizes that quick cooling saves processing times, and prepares the battery more quickly for end use. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okada et al. CN 112585795A teaches an electrolytic solution containing particles of vinylidene fluoride polymer dispersed in the non-aqueous electrolyte is filled in the container, heating or pressing and heating, cooling and gelling to obtain the polymer gel electrolyte and secondary battery. See the Abstract.
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723