DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received March 18, 2026:
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 12-16 are pending. Claims 7 and 11 have been cancelled as per applicant’s request.
The previous drawing objections are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the specification.
The core of the previous rejection is maintained with slight changes made in light of the amendment. All changes to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto et al. (JP2019160741A) in view of Su et al. (CN113097658A) and Lin et al. (CN 107791641A). The English machine translations of Tanimoto et al., Su et al., and Lin et al. are attached in a prior Office action and are referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Tanimoto et al. teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (Para. [0012]) (i.e. a secondary battery) comprising an electrode assembly (Fig. 1, #20) including a positive electrode and negative electrode facing each other via a separator forming a cell (Para. [0025]) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Para. [0027]) (i.e. an electrode assembly in which one or more electrodes and separation membranes are alternately stacked to define polarities of the electrode assembly) and an exterior body houses an electrode assembly inside (Para. [0012]) (i.e. a battery case in which the electrode assembly is accommodated), wherein a positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal protrude from the outer surface of the battery cell (Para. [0014]) (i.e. electrode tabs protruding from the electrode assembly for each of the polarities of the electrode assembly).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach the electrode tabs being stacked and welded together, an electrode lead stacked with and connected to the electrode tab and partially protruding to the outside of the battery case and the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Su et al. teaches a lithium-ion battery (Para. [0001]) comprising multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) connected to an led out from the battery cell body, used to conduct the current from the positive and negative electrodes and stacking multiple positive electrode foil tabs and multiple negative electrode foil tabs (Para. [0020], [0024]) (i.e. electrode tabs protruding from the electrode assembly for each of the polarities of the electrode assembly, the electrode tabs being stacked) and comprising a negative and positive conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) stacked and welded to the multiple negative electrode foil tabs and positive electrode foil tabs, respectively (Para. [0058]) (i.e. and welded together, the electrode lead stacked with and connected to the electrode tab) and conductive sheet is partially protruding to the outside of the battery case (see Fig. 7, #3, section that is non-overlapping with the foil tabs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of the foil tabs and conductive sheet structure as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. does not teach the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Lin et al. teaches a film with multiple layers comprising a conductive adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #3 and Para. [0009]) (i.e. a multilayer conductive tape comprising an adhesive layer), a metallic shielding layer (Fig. 1, # 1) (i.e. an electrically conductive layer positioned on one side of the adhesive layer), an insulating layer (Fig. 1, #2) positioned on one side of the metallic shielding layer, and a first protective layer (Fig. 1, #4) positioned on one side of the insulating layer and configured for protecting an outer surface of the insulating layer (i.e. the multilayer conductive tape).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. to incorporate the teaching of the multilayer conductive tape according to claim 1 as taught by Lin et al., as such a tape would provide an insulating layer formed of a polyimide layer enhancing adhesion strength (Para. [0059]), applicable to Tanimoto which is directed towards adhesion/bonding two layers together (Para. [0020]).
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) extends in a width direction from covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021]) to where the conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap (see Fig. 7, wherein #2 and #3 overlap) (i.e. wherein a width W extends in a width direction from ends of one surface and the other surface of the electrode assembly facing the battery case to at least a part of a portion of the second battery in which the electrode tab and the electrode lead are connected and overlap)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape width and location of the tape of Su as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the metallic shielding layer (i.e. electrically conductive layer) may comprise a copper foil or aluminum foil (Para. [0038]). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Lin et al. cited herein.
Regarding Claim 3, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the insulating layer is a polyimide layer (Para. [0013]). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Lin et al. cited herein.
Regarding Claim 4, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the insulating layer is selected from one of an ink layer and a polyimide layer (Para. [0013], [0040]). While Lin et al. does not teach a second insulating layer positioned on one side of the protective layer, a duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 124 USPQ 70 (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a plurality of insulating layers such as for enhanced adhesion strength (Para. [0059]). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Lin et al. cited herein.
Regarding Claim 8, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and connected (i.e. where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) overlap and are connected (i.e. covers at least a part of the secondary battery where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are connected and overlap).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are overlapped and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 9 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) wherein a width in direction of the conductive sheet (i.e. electrode lead) extends to the multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) is greater than width of the portion of the secondary battery where the and conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap and are connected (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape structure as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches wherein the protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) seals the contact surface between the conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) and the multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) and covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021] and Fig. 7, #1) (i.e. wherein the multilayer conductive tape seals contact surfaces among the electrode tab, the electrode lead, and the battery case). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Su et al. cited herein.
Regarding Claim 13, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side of a region where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and overlap in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the multilayer foil tabs extend (i.e. where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and overlap) and wherein the cell may be bent (Para. [0067] and Fig. 8) (i.e. wherein protective tape at an upper side and a lower side positioned in a portion where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are not positioned in the direction perpendicular to the direction in which the electrode lead extends are adhered to each other and sealed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0028]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto et al. (JP2019160741A) in view of Su et al. (CN113097658A) and Lin et al. (CN 107791641A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN 211367457U). The English machine of Ye et al. is attached in a prior Office action and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 5, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one of epoxy resin, acrylic resin, urethane resin, silicone rubber resin, poly(p-cycloxylene) resin, bismaleimide resin, and polyimide resin (Para. [0042]) (i.e. wherein the adhesive layer includes a resin having adhesiveness). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Lin et al. cited herein.
Tanimoto et al. and Lin et al. does not teach the adhesive layer includes a substrate wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh.
However, Ye et al. teaches a conductive tape (Para. [0022]) wherein an adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #8) is provided with a coating layer (Fig. 1, #7) (i.e. includes a substrate) wherein the coating layer is provided with a mesh fabric (Para. [0011]) (i.e. wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductive tape of modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of providing a layer with a mesh fabric as taught by Ye et al., as providing a mesh fabric (i.e. substrate wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh) prevents cracking (Para. [0011], [0025]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al., Lin et al. and Ye et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one of epoxy resin, acrylic resin, urethane resin, silicone rubber resin, poly(p-cycloxylene) resin, bismaleimide resin, and polyimide resin and conductive particles (Para. [0014], [0042]) (i.e. the resin includes an electrically conductive material). See the rejection to claim 1 for full details of the combination, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake; this reasoning is applicable to the specific example of Lin et al. cited herein.
Claims 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto et al. (JP2019160741A) in view of Su et al. (CN113097658A) and Lin et al. (CN 107791641A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gwon et al. (US 2016/0175979) and Ito et al. (US 2018/0019501).
Regarding Claim 14, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the secondary battery according to claim 1 as explained above.
Tanimoto et al. teaches a method of manufacturing the secondary battery (Para. [0028]) including welding (Para. [0017]).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach a method of manufacturing the secondary comprising the method steps as claimed.
However, Gwon et al. teaches a method for welding electrode of a secondary battery (Para [0036]) (i.e. a method of manufacturing a secondary battery) the method comprising alternately stacking anode plates, separator films and cathode plates (Para. [0009]) (i.e. manufacturing an electrode assembly by alternately stacking a plurality of electrodes and separation membranes), performing tack welding for interconnection between a plurality of stacked electrode taps, prior to main welding (Para. [0014]) wherein electrode taps protrude from electrode plates (i.e. performing pre-welding of collecting and welding electrode tabs provided at ends of the plurality of electrodes), and performing main welding to connect electrode taps to lead parts (Para. [0013]) (i.e. performing main welding by overlapping the ends of the electrode tab and an electrode lead and welding the electrode tab and electrode lead).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of manufacturing the secondary battery of Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of the steps as taught by Gwon et al., as such method steps prevent dispersion of metal particles caused by welding and insulation defect is greatly reduced (Para. [0012]).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach adhering a multilayer conductive tape to either one of or both an upper side and lower side of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap and heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) preparation method (Para. [0001]) comprising the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side of a region where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and overlap in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the multilayer foil tabs extend (i.e. the portion where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and overlap).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of adhering method of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the adhesive layer as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]).
Regarding Claim 15, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al., Lin et al., Gwon et al. and Ito et al. teaches all of the secondary battery according to claim 14 as explained above.
Tanimoto et al. does not teach heating of the multilayer conductive tape is performed at a temperature of 50 to 300 degrees Celsius at a pressure of 0.2 mpa to 1.0 mpa.
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding at 100 degrees and 0.2 MPa (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the adhesive layer as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]).
Regarding Claim 16, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al., Lin et al., Gwon et al. and Ito et al. teaches all of the secondary battery according to claim 14 as explained above.
Tanimoto et al. does not teach adhering a multilayer conductive tape to either one of or both an upper side and lower side of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap and wherein the portions in which the multilayer conductive tape adheres to the upper and lower sides are sealed through the thermocompression bonding.
However, Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) preparation method (Para. [0001]) comprising the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side of a region where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and overlap in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the multilayer foil tabs extend (i.e. the portion where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of adhering method of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach portions in which the multilayer conductive tape adheres to the upper and lower sides are sealed through thermocompression bonding.
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the adhesive layer as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]). Thus, providing the portions in which the multilayer conductive tape adheres to the upper and lower sides sealed through the thermocompression bonding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues there is not teaching or suggestion in the references to locate a conductive tape at the tab/lead connection and therefore claim 1 as amended should overcome the pending rejections.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Su et al. teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) extends in a width direction from covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021]) to where the conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap (see Fig. 7, wherein #2 and #3 overlap) and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape structure as taught by Su et al. locating the conductive tape at the tab/lead connection, as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]). Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues Su uses a protective adhesive tape described as having a purpose of preventing a short circuit, Lin teaches a conductive tape which is not insulative which is what would be used in Tanimoto and specifically needed according to the Su disclosure; that Lin does not recite the words “battery” “tab” and “lead” and Lin is intended to reduce electromagnetic interference, such that nothing would lead to applying Lin to modified Tanimoto as it would go against the teachings of Su which requires an insulating protective tape at its tab/lead location.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lin et al. teaches a film with multiple layers comprising a conductive adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #3 and Para. [0009]) (i.e. a multilayer conductive tape comprising an adhesive layer), a metallic shielding layer (Fig. 1, # 1) (i.e. an electrically conductive layer positioned on one side of the adhesive layer), an insulating layer (Fig. 1, #2) positioned on one side of the metallic shielding layer, and a first protective layer (Fig. 1, #4) positioned on one side of the insulating layer and configured for protecting an outer surface of the insulating layer (i.e. the multilayer conductive tape). Thus, Lin et al. teaches a multilayer conductive tape comprising an adhesive layer, an electrically conductive layer, an insulating layer (i.e. comprising an insulative structure) and a protective layer as claimed having the function of providing good adhesion strength (Para. [0008]) . Su is relied upon for teaching a structure in which a tape (i.e. a tape structure providing insulation) wherein the structure a has a width direction from covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021]) to where the conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap (see Fig. 7, wherein #2 and #3 overlap) (i.e. wherein a width W extends in a width direction from ends of one surface and the other surface of the electrode assembly facing the battery case to at least a part of a portion of the second battery in which the electrode tab and the electrode lead are connected and overlap). Thus, the teachings of Su are reasonably applicable to the multiconductive layer of Lin as Lin’s multilayer conductive tape comprises an insulative layer. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements." See MPEP 2145(III). The insulative tape of Su is not replaced in the proposed modification. The proposed modification of incorporating the structure of the width and location of the tape of Su would not render the multilayer conductive tape of Lin inoperable or change the principle of operation. Furthermore, Lin is applicable to Tanimoto as Tanimoto is directed towards adhesion/bonding two layers together (Para. [0020]) and is not relied upon for teaching a “battery”, “tab” or “lead”. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the instant specification disclosure states that the multiconductive tape may prevent failure of a current flow due to disconnection, folding, and the like of the electrode tab included in the secondary battery by locating the layer having electrical conductivity in an area where the electrode tab is in contact with the electrode lead, which is the opposite of the goal of Su and thus, there is no reason to combine Tanimoto, Su, and Lin.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the multiconductive tape may prevent failure of a current flow due to disconnection, folding, and the like of the electrode tab included in the secondary battery by locating the layer having electrical conductivity in an area where the electrode tab is in contact with the electrode lead) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).In response to applicant's argument that Su has the goal of insulating which is different from the instant application, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As Su’s tape has a function of insulating, the beneficial results due to the location and width structure of the tape (Para. [0021]) would be applicable to the multilayer tape of Lin which also has an insulating layer (Para. [0009]). Thus, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are distinct from the prior art of record for the same reason as the independent claim.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection with respect to the independent claim has been maintained, and thus the rejections to the dependent claims are maintained as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729