DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “15”, “610”, “S620”, “S630”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (CN 107791641A), provided in the Information Disclosure Statement. The English machine translation of Lin et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 1, Lin et al. teaches a film with multiple layers comprising a conductive adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #3 and Para. [0009]) (i.e. a multilayer conductive tape comprising an adhesive layer), a metallic shielding layer (Fig. 1, # 1) (i.e. an electrically conductive layer positioned on one side of the adhesive layer), an insulating layer (Fig. 1, #2) positioned on one side of the metallic shielding layer, and a first protective layer (Fig. 1, #4) positioned on one side of the insulating layer and configured for protecting an outer surface of the insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 2, Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the metallic shielding layer (i.e. electrically conductive layer) may comprise a copper foil or aluminum foil (Para. [0038]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the insulating layer is a polyimide layer (Para. [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 107791641A) provided in the Information Disclosure Statement.
Regarding Claim 4, Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the insulating layer is selected from one of an ink layer and a polyimide layer (Para. [0013], [0040]). While Lin et al. does not teach a second insulating layer positioned on one side of the protective layer, a duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 124 USPQ 70 (See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a plurality of insulating layers such as for enhanced adhesion strength (Para. [0059]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 107791641A) in view of Ye et al. (CN 211367457U), both provided in the Information Disclosure Statement. The English machine translation of Ye et al. is attached and is referenced below.
Regarding Claim 5, Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 1 as explained above.
Lin et al. further teaches the conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one of epoxy resin, acrylic resin, urethane resin, silicone rubber resin, poly(p-cycloxylene) resin, bismaleimide resin, and polyimide resin (Para. [0042]) (i.e. wherein the adhesive layer includes a resin having adhesiveness).
Lin et al. does not teach the adhesive layer includes a substrate wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh.
However, Ye et al. teaches a conductive tape (Para. [0022]) wherein an adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #8) is provided with a coating layer (Fig. 1, #7) (i.e. includes a substrate) wherein the coating layer is provided with a mesh fabric (Para. [0011]) (i.e. wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductive tape of Lin et al. to incorporate the teaching of providing a layer with a mesh fabric as taught by Ye et al., as providing a mesh fabric (i.e. substrate wherein the substrate is in the form of a mesh) prevents cracking (Para. [0011], [0025]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 5 as explained above
Lin et al. further teaches the conductive adhesive layer comprises at least one of epoxy resin, acrylic resin, urethane resin, silicone rubber resin, poly(p-cycloxylene) resin, bismaleimide resin, and polyimide resin and conductive particles (Para. [0014], [0042]) (i.e. the resin includes an electrically conductive material).
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto et al. (JP2019160741A) in view of Su et al. (CN113097658A) and Lin et al. (CN 107791641A), all provided in the Information Disclosure Statement. The. The English machine translations of Tanimoto et al., Su et al., and Lin et al. are attached and referenced below.
Regarding Claim 7, Tanimoto et al. teaches a lithium ion secondary battery (Para. [0012]) (i.e. a secondary battery) comprising an electrode assembly (Fig. 1, #20) including a positive electrode and negative electrode facing each other via a separator forming a cell (Para. [0025]) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Para. [0027]) (i.e. an electrode assembly in which one or more electrodes and separation membranes are alternately stacked to define polarities of the electrode assembly) and an exterior body houses an electrode assembly inside (Para. [0012]) (i.e. a battery case in which the electrode assembly is accommodated), wherein a positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal protrude from the outer surface of the battery cell (Para. [0014]) (i.e. electrode tabs protruding from the electrode assembly for each of the polarities of the electrode assembly).
Tanimoto et al. does not teach the electrode tabs being stacked and welded together, an electrode lead stacked with and connected to the electrode tab and partially protruding to the outside of the battery case and the multilayer conductive tape according to claim 1.
However, Su et al. teaches a lithium-ion battery (Para. [0001]) comprising multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) connected to an led out from the battery cell body, used to conduct the current from the positive and negative electrodes and stacking multiple positive electrode foil tabs and multiple negative electrode foil tabs (Para. [0020], [0024]) (i.e. electrode tabs protruding from the electrode assembly for each of the polarities of the electrode assembly, the electrode tabs being stacked) and comprising a negative and positive conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) stacked and welded to the multiple negative electrode foil tabs and positive electrode foil tabs, respectively (Para. [0058]) (i.e. and welded together, the electrode lead stacked with and connected to the electrode tab) and conductive sheet is partially protruding to the outside of the battery case (see Fig. 7, #3, section that is non-overlapping with the foil tabs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanimoto et al. to incorporate the teaching of the foil tabs and conductive sheet structure as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. does not teach the multilayer conductive tape according to claim 1.
However, Lin et al. teaches a film with multiple layers comprising a conductive adhesive layer (Fig. 1, #3 and Para. [0009]) (i.e. a multilayer conductive tape comprising an adhesive layer), a metallic shielding layer (Fig. 1, # 1) (i.e. an electrically conductive layer positioned on one side of the adhesive layer), an insulating layer (Fig. 1, #2) positioned on one side of the metallic shielding layer, and a first protective layer (Fig. 1, #4) positioned on one side of the insulating layer and configured for protecting an outer surface of the insulating layer (i.e. the multilayer conductive tape according to claim 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. to incorporate the teaching of the multilayer conductive tape according to claim 1 as taught by Lin et al., as such a tape would provide an insulating layer formed of a polyimide layer enhancing adhesion strength (Para. [0059]).
Regarding Claim 8, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and connected (i.e. where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) overlap and are connected (i.e. covers at least a part of the secondary battery where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are connected and overlap).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are overlapped and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) wherein a width in direction of the conductive sheet (i.e. electrode lead) extends to the multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) is greater than width of the portion of the secondary battery where the and conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap and are connected (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape structure as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 11, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 7 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) extends in a width direction from covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021]) to where the conductive sheet and multilayer foil tabs overlap (see Fig. 7, wherein #2 and #3 overlap) (i.e. ends of one surface and the other surface of the electrode assembly facing the battery case to at least a part of a portion of the second battery in which the electrode tab and the electrode lead are connected and overlap)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape structure as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 12, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches wherein the protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) seals the contact surface between the conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) and the multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) and covering an edge of the bare cell (Para. [0021] and Fig. 7, #1) (i.e. wherein the multilayer conductive tape seals contact surfaces among the electrode tab, the electrode lead, and the battery case).
Regarding Claim 13, Tanimoto et al. as modified by Su et al. and Lin et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention in claim 8 as explained above.
Su et al. further teaches a protective tape (Fig. 7, #5) on both an upper side and lower side of a region where multilayer foil tabs (Fig. 7, #2) (i.e. electrode tabs) and conductive sheet (Fig. 7, #3) (i.e. electrode lead) are stacked and overlap in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the multilayer foil tabs extend (i.e. where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and overlap) and wherein the cell may be bent (Para. [0067] and Fig. 8) (i.e. wherein protective tape at an upper side and a lower side positioned in a portion where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are not positioned in the direction perpendicular to the direction in which the electrode lead extends are adhered to each other and sealed).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the multilayer conductive tape of Tanimoto et al. as modified above to incorporate the teaching of the protective tape on both an upper side and lower side in a stacking direction at a position where the electrode tab and the electrode lead are stacked and connected as taught by Su et al., as it would ensure reliability of the terminal connections, avoid short circuits and prevent deformation without affecting the energy density and cycle performance of the battery cell (Para. [0031]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon et al. (US 2016/0175979) in view of Park et al. (US 10,693,177) and Ito et al. (US 2018/0019501).
Regarding Claim 14, Gwon et al. teaches a method for welding electrode of a secondary battery (Para [0036]) (i.e. a method of manufacturing a secondary battery) the method comprising alternately stacking anode plates, separator films and cathode plates (Para. [0009]) (i.e. manufacturing an electrode assembly by alternately stacking a plurality of electrodes and separation membranes), performing tack welding for interconnection between a plurality of stacked electrode taps, prior to main welding (Para. [0014]) wherein electrode taps protrude from electrode plates (i.e. performing pre-welding of collecting and welding electrode tabs provided at ends of the plurality of electrodes), and performing main welding to connect electrode taps to lead parts (Para. [0013]) (i.e. performing main welding by overlapping the ends of the electrode tab and an electrode lead and welding the electrode tab and electrode lead).
Gwon et al. does not teach adhering a multilayer conductive tape to either one of or both an upper side and lower side of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap and heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Park et al. teaches a conductive adhesive layer between the electrode tab and the electrode lead at the overlap (claim 1) which may comprise two layers (col. 13, lines 45-50) (i.e. adhering a multilayer conductive tape) wherein the adhesive layer is adhered to both an upper side and a lower side a of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap (Fig. 6, #128).
The substitution of the method of adhering multilayer conductive adhesive layer as taught by Park et al., for the adhering layer in the method of adhering as taught by Gwon et al. would achieve the predictable result of providing adhesion between an electrode tab and electrode lead (see claim 1 of Park and Para. [0013]) of Gwon et al.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to substitute the method of adhering multilayer conductive adhesive layer as taught by Park et al., for the adhering layer in the method of adhering as taught by Gwon et al., as the substitution would achieve the predictable result of providing adhesion between an electrode tab and electrode lead (see claim 1 of Park and Para. [0013]) of Gwon et al.). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Gwon et al. as modified by Park et al. does not teach heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the multilayer conductive tape.
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gwon et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the adhesive layer as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]).
Regarding Claim 15, Gwon et al. as modified by Park et al. and Ito et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention as explained above.
Gwon et al. as modified by Park et al. does not teach heating of the multilayer conductive tape is performed at a temperature of 50 to 300 degrees Celsius at a pressure of 0.2 mpa to 1.0 mpa.
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding at 100 degrees and 0.2 MPa (para. [0087]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gwon et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding an adhesive surface of the adhesive layer as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]).
Regarding Claim 16, Gwon et al. as modified by Park et al. and Ito et al. teaches all of the elements of the current invention as explained above.
Gwon et al. does not teach adhering a multilayer conductive tape to either one of or both an upper side and lower side of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap and wherein the portions in which the multilayer conductive tape adheres to the upper and lower sides are sealed through the thermocompression bonding.
However, Park et al. teaches a conductive adhesive layer between the electrode tab and the electrode lead at the overlap (claim 1) which may comprise two layers (col. 13, lines 45-50) (i.e. adhering a multilayer conductive tape) wherein the adhesive layer is adhered to both an upper side and a lower side a of a region where the electrode tab and the electrode lead overlap (Fig. 6, #128).
The substitution of the method of adhering multilayer conductive adhesive layer as taught by Park et al., for the adhering layer in the method of adhering as taught by Gwon et al. would achieve the predictable result of providing adhesion between an electrode tab and electrode lead (see claim 1 of Park and Para. [0013]) of Gwon et al.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to substitute the method of adhering multilayer conductive adhesive layer as taught by Park et al., for the adhering layer in the method of adhering as taught by Gwon et al., as the substitution would achieve the predictable result of providing adhesion between an electrode tab and electrode lead (see claim 1 of Park and Para. [0013]) of Gwon et al.). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Gwon et al. as modified by Park et al. does not teach thermocompression bonding
However, Ito et al. teaches a method of providing a lithium secondary battery (Para. [0093]) wherein adhesive layers of tab films are provided by thermocompression bonding (para. [0087]) which seals the inside (Para. [0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gwon et al. to incorporate the teaching of heating and thereby thermocompression bonding to seal as taught by Ito et al., as such a method provides a highly reliable structure that is inexpensive and thin (Para. [0152]).Thus, the upper and lower sides would be sealed through the thermocompression bonding.
Conclusion
/ARMINDO CARVALHO JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729