DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim recites “…(excluding monomers classified as (A))…”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite as the scope of the limitation is unclear. It is unclear whether the limitation in parenthesis is required or exemplary. For the purposes of examination, the limitation in parenthesis will be interpreted as an exemplary limitation as this is the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claims 2-12 depend upon claim 1 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20200176775 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode binder (¶ 0031). Kim teaches that the binder comprises an acrylic polymer (carboxyl group-containing polymer) that includes an acrylic monomer polymerized unit, a non-acrylic monomer polymerized unit, and a redox monomer polymerized unit (¶ 0035). Kim teaches that the acrylic monomer polymerized unit is made up of a first and second acrylic monomer which read on monomers A and B respectively (¶ 0038 - ¶ 0039). Kim teaches that the first acrylic monomer may comprises a carboxyl group-containing monomer such as methyl (meth)acrylic acid (¶ 0038). In the case of methyl (meth)acrylic acid, the carboxyl group-containing polymer contains a structural unit derived from an ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid monomer (A). Kim goes on to teach that the second acrylic monomer may be methyl (meth)acrylate (¶ 0039). In the case of methyl (meth)acrylate, the polymer contains a structural unit derived from an ethylenically unsaturated monomer (B) (excluding monomers classified as (A)). Kim discloses that the ethylenically unsaturated monomer (B) has a solubility of 10 wt.% or less in water. Kim teaches that a solubility of 20 wt.% means that a maximum of 20g of the polymer can be dissolved in 100 g of water (¶ 0038). Therefore, a solubility of 10 wt.% or less in water is a solubility of 10 g or less in 100 g of water at 200C.
With regards to claim 4, Kim teaches that the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer) may be a crosslinked polymer via a crosslinking agent (¶ 0052).
With regards to claim 5, Kim teaches the lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode binder according to claim 4. Applicant’s specification describes a crosslinkable monomer as having two or more polymerizable unsaturated groups and monomers having self-crosslinkable functional groups. Kim teaches that a crosslinking agent having two or more functional groups capable of reacting with a crosslinkable functional group of the acrylic polymer is included in the binder so the binder forms a crosslinking network (¶ 0052). In this case, the acrylic binder taught by Kim reads on the non-crosslinkable monomer while the crosslinking agent reads on the crosslinkable monomer.
With regards to claim 9, Kim teaches the lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode binder according to claim 1, which is used for producing a positive electrode of a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (¶ 0031).
With regards to claim 10, Kim teaches a lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode mixture layer composition (¶ 0048), comprising: the lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode binder of claim 1, an active material, and water (¶ 0048 and ¶ 0054; water is used as a solvent).
With regards to claim 11, Kim teaches that the active material contains elemental sulfur or a sulfur-based compound (¶ 0050).
With regards to claim 12, Kim teaches a lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode, comprising, on a collector surface, a mixture layer formed from the secondary battery electrode mixture layer composition of claim 10 (¶ 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200176775 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
With regards to claim 2, Kim teaches that the acrylic monomer polymerized unit (A and B) in the acrylic polymer (carboxyl group-containing polymer) contains from 1.0 mass% to 50 mass% of the structural unit derived from the ethylenically unsaturated monomer (B) with respect to 100 parts by weight of the first acrylic monomer (A) (¶ 0039; 1 to 50 parts by weight). Kim does not specifically teach that the range with respect to all the structural units of the carboxyl group-containing polymer. However, Kim teaches that the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer) comprises 30-70 wt.% of the acrylic monomer polymerized units (¶ 0042). In this case, the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer) contains from 0.3 mass% to 35 mass% of the second acrylic monomer (B) with respect to all the structural units of the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer). This overlaps with the range from 1.0 mass% to 50 mass% of the claimed invention. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 3, Kim teaches that the acrylic monomer polymerized unit (A and B) in the acrylic polymer (carboxyl group-containing polymer) contains from 30 mass% or more of the structural unit derived from the ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid monomer (A) with respect to the acrylic monomer polymerized unit (¶ 0038). Kim does not specifically teach that the range with respect to all the structural units of the carboxyl group-containing polymer. As discussed earlier, Kim teaches that the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer) comprises 30-70 wt.% of the acrylic monomer polymerized units (¶ 0042). In this case, the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer) contains from 9 mass% or more of the first acrylic monomer (A) with respect to all the structural units of the carboxyl group-containing polymer (acrylic polymer). This overlaps with the claimed range of 50 mass% to 99.9 mass%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200176775 A1) as applied to claim 5 above and in further view of Asano et al. (US 20190157680 A1).
With regards to claim 6, Kim teaches a use amount of the crosslinkable monomer (crosslinking agent) is from 0.0001 to 1 part by weight relative to a total amount of the non-crosslinkable monomer (acrylic polymer) (¶ 0052). Kim also teaches that the acrylic polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 5000 to 3000,000 (¶ 0045). The amount of the crosslinkable monomer used in mol% using the molecular weight of the polymer provided by Kim, along with the molecular weight of the crosslinkable monomer. Kim does not teach a specific monomer however; Kim teaches it may be selected from an epoxy crosslinking agent (¶ 0052).
In a similar field of endeavor, Asano teaches a similar binder comprising a crosslinkable monomer unit in an amount of 0.1 mass% to 1 mass% (¶ 0022). Similar to Kim, Asano teaches an epoxy crosslinking monomer such as o-allylphenyl glycidyl ether (¶ 0064). In this case, the crosslinking monomer has a molecular weight of 191.25 g/mol. Using a crosslinking agent amount of 1g as taught by Kim, and assuming a total polymer weight of 10 Kg, the amount of crosslinking monomer used in mol percent can be calculated to be about 0.26 mol% which falls withing the claimed rang of 0.1 mol% to 2.0 mol%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the epoxy crosslinking agent taught by Kim with the o-allylphenyl glycidyl ether taught by Asano as there are no unpredictable results. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
With regards to claim 7, Kim does not specifically teach that the crosslinkable monomer contains a compound having two or more allyl ether groups in the molecule. However, as discussed earlier, Kim teaches that the crosslinking agent may have two or more functional groups capable of reacting with a crosslinkable functional group of the acrylic polymer (¶ 0052). Kim also teaches that the agent may be selected from an epoxy crosslinking agent (¶ 0052).
In a similar field of endeavor, Asano also teaches that the crosslinking monomer may include an epoxy group (¶ 0064). Asano goes on to teaches crosslinkable monomers having two or more allyl ether groups such as trimethylolpropane-diallyl ether (¶ 0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the crosslinkable monomer taught by Kim with the trimethylolpropane-diallyl ether taught by Asano as there are no unpredictable results. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200176775 A1) as applied to claim 4 above and in further view of Yongkyoung et al. (US 20220102810 A1).
With regards to claim 8, Kim teaches the lithium-sulfur secondary battery electrode binder according to claim 4. The means of measuring the particle diameter, such as measuring in an aqueous medium after neutralization to a degree of neutralization from 80 to 100 mol%, does not affect the particle diameter. Kim is silent on the particle diameter of the crosslinked polymer, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to look to prior art.
In a similar field of endeavor, Yongkyoung teaches a similar binder comprising a (meth)acrylic copolymer (¶ 0005). Yongkyoung also teaches that the binder may be crosslinked via a crosslinking agent (¶ 0100). Yongkyoung goes on to teach that the binder has an average particle diameter of 0.2 µm to 1.0 µm (¶ 0005), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.1 µm to 7.0 µm. Yongkyoung also teaches that the binder having an average particle diameter above 200 nm (0.2 µm) ensures appropriate binding while preventing the deterioration of the battery (¶ 0204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the crosslinked polymer taught by Kim to have a particle diameter within the range taught by Yongkyoung as this would predictably secure an appropriate adhesiveness and reduce the deterioration of the battery in which the binder is used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Matsuzaki et al. (US 20190148731 A1) discusses a binder containing a crosslinked polymer or salt thereof, the crosslinked polymer having an ethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid and a crosslinkable monomer in constituent monomers thereof, or salt thereof.
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743