DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 5 have been amended; claims 1-15 and 17-18 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
Third in claim 1, the limitation “delivery means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The limitation uses the term “means”, is modified by functional language as the recitation of a delivery means can be interpreted as a means for delivery, and is not modified with sufficient structure such as to accomplish its functional delivery capabilities. The corresponding structure and equivalents thereof which would apply to the recited delivery means is thus the hollow microneedles as disclosed in Applicant’s Specification and equivalents thereof, such as single needles or patches used for diffusion which allow for drug delivery through a patient’s skin. Sufficient structure for this delivery means is provided in claim 8 (hollow needles), and thus in claim 8 that is the structure which is required.
Fourth in claim 1, the limitation “control means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The limitation uses the term “means”, is modified by functional language as the recitation of a control means can be interpreted as a means for controlling, and is not modified with sufficient structure such as to accomplish its functional controlling capabilities. The control means are thus considered to be a control unit and equivalents thereof, such as microprocessors, circuitry, microcontrollers, or the like.
Fifth in claim 1, the limitation “pumping means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The limitation uses the term “means”, is modified by functional language as the recitation of a pumping means can be interpreted as a means for pumping, and is not modified with sufficient structure such as to accomplish its functional pumping capabilities. The pumping means are thus considered to be piezoelectric pumps, eccentric actuators, and their equivalents, such as peristaltic pumps, roller pumps, or other pumping mechanisms which cause fluid to be moved within a chamber and/or vessel.
In claim 10, the limitation “sensor means” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The limitation uses the term “means”, is modified by functional language as the recitation of a sensing means can be interpreted as a means for sensing and is further claimed as being used functionally where it is configured to acquire patient data, and is not modified with sufficient structure such as to accomplish its functional sensing capabilities. The sensing means are thus considered to be one or multiple sensors which can gather data related to the patient and their equivalents.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the claimed active ingredient means and the electronic means in claim 1.
Neither of these claim limitations have any functional requirements placed on them in claim 1, and thus the three-prong test fails at step B, as they are simply referred to as an active ingredient means and an electronic means with no additional functional limitations.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flaherty (US 20020169439, henceforth Flaherty) in view of Hansen et al. (US 20090118682, henceforth Hansen).
Regarding claim 1, Flaherty discloses an active ingredient system (fluid delivery device 10, fig. 2) for delivering an active ingredient ([0034], the ingredient is a fluidic drug), comprising an active ingredient means (disposable assembly 800, fig. 2), wherein the active ingredient means contains at least one pharmaceutical active ingredient (see fig. 6 and see [0045], reservoir 30 of assembly 800 comes prefilled with liquid drugs); and an electronic means (reusable assembly 700, fig. 2), the electronic means configured to cooperate with the active ingredient means ([0035], the assemblies are assembled together for use which means they cooperate with each other), wherein the active ingredient means comprises an active ingredient reservoir (reservoir 30, fig. 2) that is fluidically connected to a delivery means (exit port assembly 70, fig. 2) such that the at least one pharmaceutical active ingredient is contained in the active ingredient reservoir of the active ingredient means (see [0045]), and wherein the electronic means comprises at least one control means (microcontroller 50, fig. 2) and a pumping means (see [0049], meter control portion 46 which is a part of reusable assembly 700 has a motorized drive which effects pumping from metering portion 48, and the drive of portion 46 is the claimed pumping means) electrically connected to the at least one control means (see [0048] and [0049], microcontroller 50 is what controls meter control portion 46 and the drive thereof through electrical connections), which is configured to cause the transport of the active ingredient from the active ingredient reservoir to the delivery means (see at least [0048] and [0049]).
Flaherty additionally discloses the use of an adhesive in the active ingredient means (see fig. 2, disposable assembly 800 includes adhesive layer 201).
Flaherty does not disclose that the active ingredient means is formed from a foil. Hansen teaches a pre-filled reservoir formed of a foil ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reservoir of Flaherty from a foil as in Hansen for allowing for visual inspection of the contents of the reservoir prior to use (see at least Hansen [0015] and [0043]). Thus, in the modified device of Flaherty and Hansen, the active ingredient means would be made from a foil where a portion of the active ingredient means, the container of the reservoir, is made from a foil as in Hansen.
{Examiner notes that all subsequent references are drawn to Flaherty unless stated otherwise.}
Regarding claim 2, Flaherty as modified by Hansen (henceforth Flaherty as modified) discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the active ingredient means and the electronic means are formed as separate components (see fig. 2, assemblies 700 and 800 are shown as being separate components) which can be manufactured independently of one another (see fig. 2, since they are shown as being not integrally formed, they can be manufactured independently of one another as claimed).
{The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113. In this case, two separate components could be manufactured independently or together in practice, but since they are separate as claimed, they meet the functional limitation where they could be manufactured independently.}
Regarding claim 3, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the active ingredient means comprises a skin contact surface (adhesive layer 201, fig. 2) for applying the active ingredient delivery system to a patient’s skin ([0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 3 the active ingredient means comprises a connecting surface (the top surface of disposable assembly 800 as shown in fig. 2 where connection projections 803 protrude from is the claimed connecting surface) opposite the skin contact surface (see fig. 2, the top surface is opposite the bottom most surface where adhesive layer 201 is located) for connection to the electronic means (see [0050], [0051], the top surface of disposable assembly 800 is for connection to reusable assembly 700 via connection projections 803).
Regarding claim 5, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the active ingredient means comprises a receiving area (the space in disposable assembly 800 where reservoir 30 is shown inside housing 802 is considered to be a receiving area as claimed, see fig. 2) configured for receiving the active ingredient reservoir (reservoir 30 is considered to be received since it is contained in housing 802 as shown in fig. 2), wherein the active ingredient reservoir is a replaceable active ingredient reservoir (see [0045], reservoir 30 can be assembled to be removable and replaceable).
Regarding claim 6, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein a pump chamber (accumulating chamber 43, fig. 5A) is provided between the active ingredient reservoir and the delivery means (see figs. 4 and 5, the fluid moves from reservoir 30 into chamber 43 and then to exit port assembly 70).
Regarding claim 9, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the pumping means is configured to act on the active ingredient reservoir and/or a pump chamber ([0049], the drive of portion 46 causes fluid to flow from the reservoir 30 to exit port assembly 70, thus it acts on it as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the electronic means comprises a sensor means (flow sensor of sensor assembly 710 as disclosed in [0068]) configured to acquire patient data (the flow sensor of [0068] is considered to be functionally configured to acquire patient data as claimed where it acquires data relating to the flow of medicament delivered to a patient, which is patient data as it is data pertaining to the patient).
Regarding claim 11, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 10 wherein the patient data is transmitted to the control means (see [0066], data from sensors goes to microprocessor 50), and wherein the at least one control means is configured to take into account the patient data when controlling the pumping means (see [0044], dispenser 40 including the claimed dispensing means is controlled by processor 50 and in part is controlled by blockage conditions which are sensed by the flow sensor of [0068]) such that the active ingredient is conveyed by the pumping means at predetermined times over a predetermined duration (see at least [0042], [0044], and [0066]; the claimed times are the needed time intervals of [0042] and are modifiable based on sensor data as in [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 10 wherein the active ingredient means comprises a recess into which the sensor means protrudes (see [0068], “The sensors of the reusable assembly 700 may protrude through or make contact with the housing 802 of disposable assembly 800”, the space which the sensors protrude through is considered to be a recess as claimed).
Regarding claim 13, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the electronic means comprises an energy storage (power supply 80, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the foil of the active ingredient means is a plastic foil (see Hansen [0046], the provided foil compounds are different plastic blends of polymers which form the claimed foil).
Regarding claim 15, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 14 wherein the plastic foil comprises multiple layers (see Hansen [0043], the foil has multiple layers where two layers combine to make the reservoir as taught).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flaherty (US 20020169439, henceforth Flaherty) in view of Hansen et al. (US 20090118682, henceforth Hansen) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Gray (US 20120209183, henceforth Gray).
Regarding claim 7, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 6 wherein the pump chamber comprises a valve (inlet valve 41, outlet valve 42, fig. 5A) at an inlet of the pump chamber and/or an outlet of the pump chamber (see fig. 5A, Flaherty discloses valves at both locations).
Flaherty does not explicitly disclose that the valve is a check valve. Gray teaches that check valves can be added in fluid paths upstream and downstream of where pumping is occurring to inhibit retrograde flow from occurring ([0257]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added check valves to the valve assembly of Flaherty both upstream and downstream of where the pumping is occurring, which is chamber 43 in Flaherty, to inhibit retrograde flow from occurring as in Gray ([0257]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flaherty (US 20020169439, henceforth Flaherty) in view of Hansen et al. (US 20090118682, henceforth Hansen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yodfat et al. (US 20110160697, henceforth Yodfat).
Regarding claim 8, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the delivery means comprises a hollow needle (flexible cannula 72 is a hollow needle and is a part of exit port assembly 70, see fig. 2).
Flaherty does not disclose that the delivery means comprises hollow needles. Yodfat teaches that transdermal drug administration can be achieved either through use of a single cannula or through a plurality of hollow microneedles (see at least [0047] and [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the single needle of Flaherty with a plurality of microneedles as in Yodfat as Yodfat teaches that these can be equivalently used by one of ordinary skill in the art for delivery of fluidic dugs ([0047]) and further that use of a plurality of hollow microneedles can provide a benefit of avoiding pain caused by needle insertion ([0109]).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flaherty (US 20020169439, henceforth Flaherty) in view of Hansen et al. (US 20090118682, henceforth Hansen) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kube et al. (US 20200029902, henceforth Kube, previously made of record in the IDS filed 02/26/2026).
Regarding claim 17, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 1 wherein the electronic means includes circuitry (see [0042]).
Flaherty as modified does not disclose the active ingredient system wherein the electronic means is formed from a foil. Kube teaches that electronic circuitry in wearable patch medical devices can be printed onto multilayer flexible foils (see at least Kube [0013], [0060], and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the electronic circuitry of Flaherty from a deformable multilayer foil as in Kube as Kube teaches this assembly to have desirable flexibility characteristics to allow for flexibility of the device (see at least Kube [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Flaherty as modified discloses the active ingredient system of claim 17 wherein the foil of the electronic means is a plastic foil (see at least Kube [0060], the foil includes the use of a thin polymer film to allow for flexibility and stretchability, where the thin polymer film is a plastic foil as claimed).
Response to Arguments
Examiner initially notes regarding the Claim Interpretation section that the meanings of all claim terms are adequately defined with clear meanings.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783