Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species A in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 5, 6 and 11, the “it” is indefinite because it is unclear what it refers to. In claim 5, line 2, there appears something missing after the “and”. In claims 6 and 11, the “formed by” is unclear. The claims were examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purvin (US 5,080,546). Purvin discloses an assembly comprising: a first part (22); a second part (32); a bolt (30) extending through an orifice in the parts and cooperating with a nut (10); a bearing member comprising a flange (14) between the nut and a first bearing surface on the first part; the flange has a frustoconical shape which forms an angle of 2° with the first bearing (column 2, lines 27-28) such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state (Fig. 3); wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (column 2, paragraph beginning line 45).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frieberg (US 4,793,752), Frieberg discloses an assembly comprising: a first part (20); a second part (22); a bolt (12) extending through an orifice in the parts and cooperating with a nut (16); a bearing member (24) comprising a flange (28) between the nut and a first bearing surface on the first part; the flange has a frustoconical shape (Fig. 4) such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state and wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (column 3, paragraph beginning line 47); and the flange is shown with a thickness at an outer periphery which is smaller than a thickness at an inner periphery (32).
Claims 1, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sander (US 2014/0314547). Sander discloses a turbine engine (Fig. 1) comprising: a first part (74A) made of a composite matrix ceramic material (title); a second part (74B); a bolt (80) extending through an orifice in the parts and cooperating with a nut (82); a bearing member (84) comprising a flange (94) between the nut and a first bearing surface on the first part; the flange is disclosed as Belleville washers (p.[0032]) which by definition have a frustoconical shape such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state (Figs. 8 and 9); and wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (p.[0065]).
Claims 1, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stilin (US 10,167,885). Stilin discloses a turbine engine (Fig. 17) comprising: a first part (22); a second part (24); a bolt (90) extending through an orifice in the parts and cooperating with a nut (60); a bearing member (58) comprising a flange (64) between the bolt and a first bearing surface on the first part; the flange has a frustoconical shape such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state (Figs. 8 ); wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (column 5, paragraph beginning line 35); the bearing member includes a cylindrical bushing (62) received in the first part orifice; and the first bearing surface is formed in a counterbore (40) in the first part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stilin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mateo (US 10,590,972). Stilin does not disclose the first part is a composite matrix ceramic material nor the spacer between the nut and second part. Mateo discloses a fastening assembly for a turbine engine similar to Stilin but discloses a first part (10) made of a composite matrix ceramic (column 3, paragraph beginning line 58) and a spacer (80) with a coefficient of expansion greater than a bolt (column 5, paragraph beginning line 6). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fastener of Stilin with a first part made of a composite matrix ceramic material because those materials are common in turbine engines. And before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Stilin with a spacer as disclosed in Mateo in order to compensate for any expansion as discussed in Mateo.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,879. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of 12,258,879 where every element claimed has been included in the claims of the 12,258,879 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pearce (US 3,469,490) is cited to teach a flange which tapers towards its periphery. Banhos (US 11,479,002) is cited to teach another example of a frustoconical washer in a turbine engine. Hufenbach (US 10,266,026) is cited to teach a composite fastening structure where a bushing extends into a spacer. The other references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675