Election/Restrictions
Claims 7 and 12 remain in the applications as withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frieberg (US 4,793,752), Frieberg discloses an assembly comprising: a first part (20); a second part (22); a bolt (12) extending through an orifice in the parts and cooperating with a nut (16); a bearing member (24) comprising a flange (28) between the nut and a first bearing surface on the first part; the flange has a frustoconical shape (Fig. 4) such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state and wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (column 3, paragraph beginning line 47); and the flange is shown with a thickness at an outer periphery which is smaller than a thickness at an inner periphery (32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frieberg as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Purvin (US 5,080,546). Purvin does not disclose the uncompressed angle between the flange bearing surface and complementary bearing surface within the claimed range. Purvin discloses an assembly including a flange (14) with a frustoconical shape similar to Frieberg but, Purvin teaches an angle of 2° with the first bearing (column 2, lines 27-28) such that only the outer periphery is in contact with the first bearing surface in an untightened state (Fig. 3); wherein as the bolt is tightened a larger area would be capable of contacting the first bearing surface (column 2, paragraph beginning line 45). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make the uncompressed angle between the flange bearing surface and complementary bearing surface of Frieberg 2° as taught in Purvin because Purvin teaches that as a suitable angle for the proper clamping load.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Remarks
As applicable to the current rejection, applicant argues that amended claim 1 defines over Frieberg (US 4,793,752).
Applicant argues that Frieberg discloses a standard locking washer that is non-analogous with the turbine engine of the instant invention. In response, the claim to which Frieberg was applied is not claiming any specific structures of a turbine engine which would preclude a standard locking washer. The turbine engine is only included in the preamble of claim without any further context in the body of the claim therefore presenting it only as an intended use for the washer. See MPEP 2111.02. And, a turbine engine has numerous bolted connections were there could be used the standard locking washer disclosed in Frieberg.
Additionally, applicant argues that Frieberg does not disclose the flange with a thickness at the outer periphery is smaller than in inner periphery because the flange in Frieberg is only the outer portion of constant thickness. In response, the examiner disagrees because there is nothing in the claims which would limit the claimed flange to only the flange portion (28) disclosed in Frieberg. There is nothing which precludes the drive hear (26) from being read as a part of claimed flange. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims simply require a thickness at an outer periphery to be less than a thickness at an inner without any limitation to the intervening structure.
The additional arguments are now moot in light of the indication of allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675