DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The limitation “body does not include a slot or passage dimensioned to receive an archwire” is not shown in the drawings. The Figures show a slot that is capable of receiving an archwire, therefore the limitation must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the “body does not include a slot or passage” limitation of Claim 18 is not supported by the specification.
The amendment filed September 11, 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: “The attachments may not include a slot or passage dimensioned to receive an archwire” is not found in the original specification or drawings, and therefore represents new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by George (DE2022730A1, translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, George discloses an orthodontic attachment device ([0001]) comprising an attachment body (Figures 1-4) and a bonding surface (10) underlying the attachment body, where the bonding surface is shaped to correspond to a contour of a portion of a tooth (Figures 1-4). George further discloses that the attachment body
Regarding Claim 5, George discloses that the side surfaces (sides of 12) form a continuous undercut (as seen in Figures 1-3).
Regarding Claim 7, George discloses that a transition surface between any two side surfaces is arcuate (as seen in Figures 1-4 as annotated above).
Regarding Claim 12, George discloses that the bonding surface is shaped to bond at a facial axis of the clinical crown of the tooth (as seen in Figures 1-4).
Regarding Claim 13, George discloses that the attachment body is dimensioned according to a prescription, the prescription including at least two of in/out, torque, and angulation (as described in [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of George.
Regarding Claim 14, Wu discloses a set of orthodontic attachment devices (abstract and [0002]) comprising a first attachment having a first attachment body (Figures 2A-2E, 30) and a first bonding surface (32), where the first attachment body has a first prescription that represents particular characteristics of the attachment device including at least two defined prescription elements selected from in/out, torque and angulation ([0008] describes multiple attachments which have individual prescriptions as further described in [0009-0012] which would form a set) and a second attachment having a second attachment body and a second bonding surface, wherein the second attachment body has a second prescription that represents particular characteristics of the attachment device including at least two defined prescription elements selected from in/out, torque and angulation, where the first prescription is different from the second prescription ([0008] describes multiple attachments which have individual prescriptions as further described in [0009-0012] which would form a set).
Wu discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose that each of the first attachment body and the second attachment body has a general shape of an inverted frustum and the bonding surface is an underside of the first attachment body or the second attachment body, where the bonding surface is shaped to correspond to a contour of a portion of a tooth, where each attachment body, of the first attachment body and the second attachment body, includes mesial, distal, occlusal, and gingival side surfaces extending between a facial surface of each body and the bonding surface, and where each one of the side surfaces has a continuous, decreasing taper between the facial surface and the bonding surface so that each attachment body has a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape along both a mesial-distal axis and an occlusal-gingival axis.
In the same art of orthodontic attachment devices, George teaches attachment bodies ([0002] discloses the use of multiple brackets) with a general shape of an inverted frustum (Figures 1-3), with a bonding surface that is an underside (10) of the first attachment body or the second attachment body, where the bonding surface is shaped to correspond to a contour of a portion of a tooth, and where each attachment body includes mesial, distal, occlusal, and gingival side surfaces (surfaces of 12 on each of the distal, occlusal, mesial and gingival sides) extending between a facial surface (14, 16, 18, and 20) of each body and the bonding surface (as seen in Figures 1-3), and where each one of the side surfaces has a continuous, decreasing taper between the facial surface and the bonding surface so that each attachment body has a generally trapezoidal cross-sectional shape along both a mesial-distal axis and an occlusal-gingival axis (see Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Wu with the shaping of George in order to provide an attachment device that is stable and yet not obtrusive in an inserted orientation.
Regarding Claim 15, Wu in view of George discloses the invention of Claim 14 as described above and Wu further discloses that the set of orthodontic devices would lack a flared base (Figure 2A). As modified by George, We would have an undercut and trapezoidal shape that is not flared.
Regarding Claim 18, Wu in view of George discloses the invention of Claim 14 as described above and Wu further discloses where the first attachment body does not include a slot or passage dimensioned to receive an archwire (Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu in view of George discloses the invention of Claim 14 as described above and Wu further discloses multiple attachments used concurrently for correction that would form a set, and thus comprise a third attachment having a third attachment body and a third bonding surface, where the third attachment body has a third prescription including at least two defined prescription elements selected from in/out, torque and angulation, where the third prescription is different from either the first or second prescription ([0008] describes multiple attachments which have individual prescriptions as further described in [0009-0012] which would form a set).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of George in further view of Lai et al. (US 2006/0099544 A1, hereinafter “Lai”).
Regarding Claim 21, Wu in view of George discloses the attachment device of Claim 14 as described above, but does not specifically disclose that the underside of each of the first attachment and the second attachment has a contour approximating an expected convex curvature of a dedicated tooth of a dental arch. In the same art of dental attachments, Lai teaches that the bonding surface of an attachment (Figure 9, 30) has a “compound concave contour that precisely matches the convex compound contour of a particular tooth” in [0800]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the bonding surface of the attachment device of Wu in view of George with a precisely matching contour as is taught by Lai that would approximate the buccal radii of the tooth in order to provide a more precise and stable connection between the attachment and the tooth.
Regarding Claims 22 and 23, Wu in view of George discloses an orthodontic set of attachments of Claim 14 as described above but does not specifically disclose a polymer band configured to couple to and extend over a facial surface of each of the first attachment and the second attachment such that when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the occlusal plane, includes an arch including a non- undulating facial surface.
In the same art of orthodontic attachments, Lai teaches a polymer band (Figure 7, 22 where polymeric material is disclosed in [0087]) that is configured to couple to and extend over a facial surface of each of the appliances that when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the occlusal plane, includes an arch including a non- undulating facial surface (see Figure 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize a polymer band as taught by Lai with the attachments of Wu in view of George in order to further retain and secure the attachment devices.
Response to Arguments
The amended specification is not entered as it contains new matter as described in the objection above, and the specification and drawing objections are maintained. Claim objections directed to Claim 4 are overcome, as Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claim amendments are sufficient to overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections and therefore those rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 7, 12-15, 18, and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772