DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 7/27/2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 7/27/2026 have been entered. Claims 4-5 are canceled. Claims 1-3 and 6-26 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 7-12 and 14-22 have been withdrawn / canceled from consideration.
The amendments filed on 7/27/2026 are sufficient to cure the previous claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 5/28/2026.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 25 be found allowable, claim 26 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 is indefinite because of the recitation “inlet of the evaporator”, the last four words of claim 26. It is unclear if “inlet of the evaporator” is the same inlet of the evaporator as claimed at the beginning of claim 26 (“an evaporator …. including an inlet and an outlet”) or a different inlet. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests adding “the”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “the inlet of the evaporator”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Whiteman et al. (US 20200309467 A1) in view of Omi et al. (US 20200096260 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 207 (2020) 112569).
Regarding claim 1, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) having an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor and no expansion valve, see Fig. 21) include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser directly to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump directly to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid state during a first type of charge and discharge operation;
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid and vapor state during a second type of charge and discharge operation that is faster than the first type.
Whiteman et al. teaches comprising:a pump (20, Fig. 2) having an inlet (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2) and an outlet (top side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the condenser (left side of 12, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the pump (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the pump (top side of 20, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the evaporator (left side of 14, see Fig. 2);
a coolant loop passing through (16, Fig. 2; moving direction see arrows in Fig. 2) the first channel of the evaporator (14, Fig. 2), the first conduit (164, Fig. 2), the second channel of the condenser (12, Fig. 2), the second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2), the pump (20, Fig. 2) and the third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Whiteman et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to pump the refrigerant from the condenser to the evaporator (see Whiteman et al. [0027]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid state during a first type of charge and discharge operation; and
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid and vapor state during a second type of charge and discharge operation that is faster than the first type.
Omi et al. teaches wherein interior surface of the first channel (401, Fig. 3) is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions (122d, Fig. 3; inwardly see: protrusion portions 122 d protruding toward the first evaporation forming portion 121 a of the first plate member 121, see [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. by adding the multiple protrusion portions taught by Omi et al. to separate the multiple evaporation channels from each other and to have the protrusion portions and the evaporation channels alternately disposed in the cell stacking direction so that one evaporation channel is allocated to each battery cell (see Omi [0107]-[0108]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. does not teach
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid state during a first type of charge and discharge operation; and
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid and vapor state during a second type of charge and discharge operation that is faster than the first type.
Wang et al. teaches
wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000 with a boiling point of 34 oC, see last paragraph, right column, page 2) is in a liquid state (HFE-7000 is a liquid when temperature is 31-32 oC (below boiling point)) during a first type (1C discharge) of charge and discharge operation (temperature is 31-32 oC (below boiling point) during 1C discharge, see the most bottom curve in Fig. 9a); and
wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000, see last paragraph, right column, page 2) is in a liquid and vapor state (HFE-7000 starts to boil when temperature rises to 37-38 oC (above boiling point)) during a second type (5C discharge) of charge and discharge operation (temperature is 37-38 oC (above boiling point) during 5C discharge, see the most top curve in Fig. 9a) that is faster than (5C charge and discharge is faster than 1C) the first type (1C discharge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. with the HFE-7000 taught by Wang et al. because HFE-7000 is featured for its excellent dielectric properties, as well as being non-flammable and noncorrosive, and especially its boiling point (34.0 °C at 1 atmosphere), which perfectly matches with the optimal working temperature range of lithium-ion batteries. (see Wang et al. last paragraph, right column, page 2). When the working fluid becomes the HFE-7000, the HFE-7000 is in a liquid state when running the 1C discharge and in a liquid/vapor mix when running the 5C discharge.
Regarding claim 2, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000 with a boiling point of 34 oC, see Wang et al. last paragraph, right column, page 2) flowing through the battery cooling system (1, Miura Fig. 21) has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC (a boiling point of 34 oC, see Wang et al. last paragraph, right column, page 2).
Regarding claim 13, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches wherein the battery pack (BP, Miura et al. Fig. 21) includes a side surface (bottom surface portion of BP, see Miura et al. Fig. 21 and [0066]) and wherein the evaporator (121 of 12, Miura et al. Fig. 21) is arranged in contact (121 is in contact with the bottom surface portion, Miura et al. [0066]) with the side surface (bottom surface portion of BP, see Miura et al. Fig. 21 and [0066]).
Regarding claim 23, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) having an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) flowing through (see Fig. 21) the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21); and
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor and no expansion valve, see Fig. 21) include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser directly to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump directly to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit,
wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC.
Whiteman et al. teaches comprising:a pump (20, Fig. 2) having an inlet (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2) and an outlet (top side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the condenser (left side of 12, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the pump (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the pump (top side of 20, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the evaporator (left side of 14, see Fig. 2);
a coolant loop passing through (16, Fig. 2; moving direction see arrows in Fig. 2) the first channel of the evaporator (14, Fig. 2), the first conduit (164, Fig. 2), the second channel of the condenser (12, Fig. 2), the second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2), the pump (20, Fig. 2) and the third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Whiteman et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to pump the refrigerant from the condenser to the evaporator (see Whiteman et al. [0027]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC.
Omi et al. teaches wherein interior surface of the first channel (401, Fig. 3) is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions (122d, Fig. 3; inwardly see: protrusion portions 122 d protruding toward the first evaporation forming portion 121 a of the first plate member 121, see [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. by adding the multiple protrusion portions taught by Omi et al. to separate the multiple evaporation channels from each other and to have the protrusion portions and the evaporation channels alternately disposed in the cell stacking direction so that one evaporation channel is allocated to each battery cell (see Omi [0107]-[0108]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. does not teach wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC.
Wang et al. teaches
wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000 with a boiling point of 34 oC, see last paragraph, right column, page 2) has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC (a boiling point of 34 oC, see last paragraph, right column, page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. with the HFE-7000 taught by Wang et al. because HFE-7000 is featured for its excellent dielectric properties, as well as being non-flammable and noncorrosive, and especially its boiling point (34.0 °C at 1 atmosphere), which perfectly matches with the optimal working temperature range of lithium-ion batteries. (see Wang et al. last paragraph, right column, page 2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Whiteman et al. (US 20200309467 A1) in view of Omi et al. (US 20200096260 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 207 (2020) 112569) in view of Eadelson (US 20200052356 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches wherein a pressure (vapor pressure of HFE-7000, see Wang et al. last paragraph, right column, page 2 and Table 2 on page 4) in the coolant loop (10, Miura et al. Fig. 21) during charging and discharging of the battery pack (1C and 5C discharge, Wang et al. Fig. 9a).
Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. does not teach wherein the pressure is below 25 psi.
Eadelson teaches wherein the pressure (pressure at vaporization, [0090]; note: include halon replacement fluids (e.g., Novec fluids), [0090]) is below 25 psi (less than 14.7 psi; note: less than or equal to about 1 atm, [0090]; 1 atm = 14.7 psi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to measure the pressure at vaporization of the HFE-7000 taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. to be less than 14.7 psi as taught by Eadelson because the HFE-7000 is the same type of fluids as halon replacement fluids (e.g., Novec fluids).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Whiteman et al. (US 20200309467 A1) in view of Omi et al. (US 20200096260 A1) in view of Wang et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 207 (2020) 112569) in view of Li et al. (CN 111786049 A, provided in the IDS filed 6/13/2023, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. does not teach wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature at atmospheric pressure in a range from 35 oC to 50 oC.
Li et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant (the fluorinated liquid 3, Li et al. Fig. 1; [0040]) has a boiling temperature (boiling point, Li et al. [0040]) at atmospheric pressure (1 atmosphere, Li et al. [0040]) in a range from 35 oC to 50 oC (0 to 50 oC, Li et al. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the HFE-7000 taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Omi et al. in view of Wang et al. with the fluorinated liquid taught by Li et al. because a fluorinated liquid is insulating and flame-retardant (see Li et al. [0040]); to modify the 0 to 50 oC range of boiling point taught by Li et al. to be 35 oC to 50 oC because it’s been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Whiteman et al. (US 20200309467 A1) in view of Omi et al. (US 20200096260 A1) in view of Eadelson (US 20200052356 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) including an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein a pressure (vapor pressure of the working fluid in 10) in the coolant loop (10, Fig. 21),
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor and no expansion valve, see Fig. 21) include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser directly to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump directly to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit,
wherein the pressure is below 25 psi during charging and discharging of the battery pack.
Whiteman et al. teaches comprising:a pump (20, Fig. 2) having an inlet (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2) and an outlet (top side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the condenser (left side of 12, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the pump (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the pump (top side of 20, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the evaporator (left side of 14, see Fig. 2);
a coolant loop passing through (16, Fig. 2; moving direction see arrows in Fig. 2) the first channel of the evaporator (14, Fig. 2), the first conduit (164, Fig. 2), the second channel of the condenser (12, Fig. 2), the second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2), the pump (20, Fig. 2) and the third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Whiteman et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to pump the refrigerant from the condenser to the evaporator (see Whiteman et al. [0027]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
wherein the pressure is below 25 psi during charging and discharging of the battery pack.
Omi et al. teaches wherein interior surface of the first channel (401, Fig. 3) is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions (122d, Fig. 3; inwardly see: protrusion portions 122 d protruding toward the first evaporation forming portion 121 a of the first plate member 121, see [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. by adding the multiple protrusion portions taught by Omi et al. to separate the multiple evaporation channels from each other and to have the protrusion portions and the evaporation channels alternately disposed in the cell stacking direction so that one evaporation channel is allocated to each battery cell (see Omi [0107]-[0108]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein the pressure is below 25 psi during charging and discharging of the battery pack.
Eadelson teaches wherein the pressure (pressure at vaporization, [0090]; note: include Novec fluids, [0090]) is below 25 psi (less than 14.7 psi; note: less than or equal to about 1 atm, [0090]; 1 atm = 14.7 psi) during charging and discharging of the battery pack (temperature between about 0° C. to about 40° C, see [0090]; note: it’s known in the art that during charging and discharging of the battery pack, the temperature is between about 0° C. to about 40° C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. in view of Whiteman et al. with the halon replacement fluids (Novec fluids) taught by Eadelson to have coolants that are non-corrosive for energy storage devices, non-toxic and non-flammable (see Eadelson [0090]). When the working fluid becomes the halon replacement fluids (Novec fluids), it vaporizes at a pressure of less than or equal to 1 atm (14.7 psi) with a temperature between about 0° C. to about 40° C.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Whiteman et al. (US 20200309467 A1) in view of Omi et al. (US 20200096260 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) including an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor and no expansion valve, see Fig. 21) include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser directly to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump directly to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
Whiteman et al. teaches comprising:a pump (20, Fig. 2) having an inlet (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2) and an outlet (top side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the condenser (left side of 12, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the pump (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the pump (top side of 20, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the evaporator (left side of 14, see Fig. 2);
a coolant loop passing through (16, Fig. 2; moving direction see arrows in Fig. 2) the first channel of the evaporator (14, Fig. 2), the first conduit (164, Fig. 2), the second channel of the condenser (12, Fig. 2), the second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2), the pump (20, Fig. 2) and the third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Whiteman et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to pump the refrigerant from the condenser to the evaporator (see Whiteman et al. [0027]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions.
Omi et al. teaches wherein interior surface of the first channel (401, Fig. 3) is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions (122d, Fig. 3; inwardly see: protrusion portions 122 d protruding toward the first evaporation forming portion 121 a of the first plate member 121, see [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. by adding the multiple protrusion portions taught by Omi et al. to separate the multiple evaporation channels from each other and to have the protrusion portions and the evaporation channels alternately disposed in the cell stacking direction so that one evaporation channel is allocated to each battery cell (see Omi [0107]-[0108]).
Regarding claim 26, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) including an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid (refrigerant), see [0060] and [0212]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor and no expansion valve, see Fig. 21) include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21) and inlet (123, Fig. 21; interpretation see 112b rejection above) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions;
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser directly to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump directly to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
Whiteman et al. teaches comprising:a pump (20, Fig. 2) having an inlet (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2) and an outlet (top side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the condenser (left side of 12, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the pump (bottom side of 20, see Fig. 2);
a third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2) connecting the outlet of the pump (top side of 20, see Fig. 2) directly (see Fig. 2) to the inlet of the evaporator (left side of 14, see Fig. 2);
a coolant loop passing through (16, Fig. 2; moving direction see arrows in Fig. 2) the first channel of the evaporator (14, Fig. 2), the first conduit (164, Fig. 2), the second channel of the condenser (12, Fig. 2), the second conduit (162 between 12 and 20, see Fig. 2), the pump (20, Fig. 2) and the third conduit (162 between 20 and 14, see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Whiteman et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to pump the refrigerant from the condenser to the evaporator (see Whiteman et al. [0027]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. does not teach wherein interior surface of the first channel is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions.
Omi et al. teaches wherein interior surface of the first channel (401, Fig. 3) is porous or includes inwardly projecting portions (122d, Fig. 3; inwardly see: protrusion portions 122 d protruding toward the first evaporation forming portion 121 a of the first plate member 121, see [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the interior surface of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. in view of Whiteman et al. by adding the multiple protrusion portions taught by Omi et al. to separate the multiple evaporation channels from each other and to have the protrusion portions and the evaporation channels alternately disposed in the cell stacking direction so that one evaporation channel is allocated to each battery cell (see Omi [0107]-[0108]).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 103 rejections of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 13, the Examiner would like to note that Applicant did not present arguments regarding the rejection of claims 4 and 5 which have been incorporated in amended claim 1. For clarity of the record the Examiner would like to note that it’s the Examiner’s position that Miura teaches the battery cooling system does not include a compressor and an expansion valve connected between the evaporator and the condenser because as seen in Fig. 21 of Mirua, there is no compressor and no expansion valve connected between the device heat exchanger 12 (function as evaporator) and the condenser 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723