DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/266,893, “BATTERY COOLING SYSTEM”, was filed with the USPTO on 6/13/2023. This office action is in response to communication filed on 4/23/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A: claims 1-6, 13 and 23-26 in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-12 and 14-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 24-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation of “a condenser including a second body with a second channel an inlet and an outlet” in claims 24-26 should read “a condenser including a second body with a second channel having an inlet and an outlet” or read “a condenser including a second body with a second channel comprising an inlet and an outlet”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 24 both recite “normal operation and fast charge operation”, which are indefinite. For examination purposes, “normal operation and fast charge operation” has been interpreted as when battery temperature is in the range of 0 to 50 degree Celsius.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Rigal et al. (US 20100042265 A1) in view of Li et al. (CN 111786049 A, provided in the IDS filed 6/13/2023, citations see machine translation), evidenced by Wang et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 207 (2020) 112569).
Regarding claim 1, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) having an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid state during a first type of charge and discharge operation; and
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid and vapor state during a second type of charge and discharge operation that is faster than the first type.
Rigal et al. teaches comprising:a pump (24, Fig. 1) having an inlet (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the condenser (outlet of condenser, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the pump (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the pump (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the evaporator (inlet of evaporator, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a coolant loop passing through (flow direction D, Fig. 1) the first channel of the evaporator (28, Fig. 1), the first conduit (first conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the second channel of the condenser (22, Fig. 1), the second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the pump (24, Fig. 1) and the third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Rigal et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to circulate the refrigerant through system (see Rigal et al. [0017]).
Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. does not teach
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid state during a first type of charge and discharge operation; and
wherein the first refrigerant is in a liquid and vapor state during a second type of charge and discharge operation that is faster than the first type.
Li et al. teaches
wherein the first refrigerant (3, Fig. 1; note: example of fluorinated liquid 3 is HFE-7000 with a boiling point of 34 oC, see [0040]) is in a liquid state (when the fluorinated liquid temperature has not reached its boiling point, see [0014], [0036] and [0040]) during a first type of charge and discharge operation (temperature is 31-32 oC (below boiling point) during 1C charge and discharge, evidenced by the most bottom curve in Fig. 9a of Want et al.); and
wherein the first refrigerant (3, Fig. 1) is in a liquid and vapor state (when temperature rises above the boiling point, the fluorinated liquid begins to boil, see [0014], [0036] and [0040]) during a second type of charge and discharge operation (temperature is 37-38 oC (above boiling point) during 5C charge and discharge, evidenced by the most top curve in Fig. 9a of Want et al.) that is faster than (5C charge and discharge is faster than 1C) the first type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid/refrigerant taught by Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. with the fluorinated liquid taught by Li et al. because a fluorinated liquid is insulating and flame-retardant (see Li et al. [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000, Li et al. [0040]) flowing through the battery cooling system has a boiling temperature (boiling point, Li et al. [0040]) in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC (HFE-7000: boiling point of 34 oC, see Li et al. [0040]).
Regarding claim 4, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein the battery cooling system (1, Miura et al. Fig. 21) does not (no compressor on 16 or 18, see Miura et al. Fig. 21) include a compressor connected between the evaporator (12, Miura et al. Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Miura et al. Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 5, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein the battery cooling system (1, Miura et al. Fig. 21) does not (no expansion valve on 16 or 18, see Miura et al. Fig. 21) include an expansion valve connected between the condenser (14, Miura et al. Fig. 21) and the evaporator (12, Miura et al. Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 6, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant (the fluorinated liquid 3, Li et al. Fig. 1; [0040]) has a boiling temperature (boiling point, Li et al. [0040]) at atmospheric pressure (1 atmosphere, Li et al. [0040]) in a range from 35 oC to 50 oC (0 to 50 oC, Li et al. [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the 0 to 50 oC range of boiling point taught by Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. to be 35 oC to 50 oC because it’s been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 13, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein the battery pack (BP, Miura et al. Fig. 21) includes a side surface (bottom surface portion of BP, see Miura et al. Fig. 21 and [0066]) and wherein the evaporator (121 of 12, Miura et al. Fig. 21) is arranged in contact (121 is in contact with the bottom surface portion, Miura et al. [0066]) with the side surface (bottom surface portion of BP, see Miura et al. Fig. 21 and [0066]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Rigal et al. (US 20100042265 A1) in view of Li et al. (CN 111786049 A, provided in the IDS filed 6/13/2023, citations see machine translation), evidenced by Wang et al. (Energy Conversion and Management, 207 (2020) 112569) in view of Eadelson (US 20200052356 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. teaches wherein a pressure in the coolant loop (10, Miura et al. Fig. 21) during both normal operation and fast charge operation (temperature Tb of battery back mounted on an electric vehicle, Miura et al. [0049]; Tb known to be in the range of 0 to 50 degree C; interpretation see U.S.C. 112(b)).
Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. does not teach wherein the pressure is below 25 psi.
Eadelson teaches wherein the pressure (pressure at vaporization, [0090]; note: include halon replacement fluids (e.g., Novec fluids), [0090]) is below 25 psi (less than 14.7 psi; note: less than or equal to about 1 atm, [0090]; 1 atm = 14.7 psi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to measure the pressure at vaporization of the fluorinated liquid (e.g. HFE-7000) taught by Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. in view of Li et al. to be less than 14.7 psi as taught by Eadelson because the fluorinated liquid (e.g. HFE-7000) is the same type of fluids as halon replacement fluids (e.g., Novec fluids).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Rigal et al. (US 20100042265 A1) in view of Li et al. (CN 111786049 A, provided in the IDS filed 6/13/2023, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 23, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) having a second channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) including an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21),
wherein the first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) flowing through the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC.
Rigal et al. teaches comprising:a pump (24, Fig. 1) having an inlet (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the condenser (outlet of condenser, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the pump (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the pump (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the evaporator (inlet of evaporator, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a coolant loop passing through (flow direction D, Fig. 1) the first channel of the evaporator (28, Fig. 1), the first conduit (first conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the second channel of the condenser (22, Fig. 1), the second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the pump (24, Fig. 1) and the third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Rigal et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to circulate the refrigerant through system (see Rigal et al. [0017]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. does not teach wherein the first refrigerant has a boiling temperature in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC.
Li et al. teaches wherein the first refrigerant (HFE-7000, [0040]) has a boiling temperature (boiling point, [0040]) in a range from 30 oC to 55 oC (34 oC, see [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid/refrigerant taught by Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. with HFE-7000 taught by Li et al. because HFE-7000 has good dielectric properties and excellent flame retardancy (see Li et al. [0040]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Rigal et al. (US 20100042265 A1) in view of Eadelson (US 20200052356 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein a pressure in the coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) during both normal operation and fast charge operation (battery temperature Tb of battery back mounted on an electric vehicle, [0049]; Tb is known to be in the range of 0 to 50 degree C; interpretation see U.S.C. 112(b)).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
wherein the pressure is below 25 psi.
Rigal et al. teaches comprising:a pump (24, Fig. 1) having an inlet (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the condenser (outlet of condenser, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the pump (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the pump (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the evaporator (inlet of evaporator, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a coolant loop passing through (flow direction D, Fig. 1) the first channel of the evaporator (28, Fig. 1), the first conduit (first conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the second channel of the condenser (22, Fig. 1), the second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the pump (24, Fig. 1) and the third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Rigal et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to circulate the refrigerant through system (see Rigal et al. [0017]).
However, Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. does not teach wherein the pressure is below 25 psi.
Eadelson teaches wherein the pressure (pressure at vaporization, [0090]; note: include Novec fluids, [0090]) is below 25 psi (less than 14.7 psi; note: less than or equal to about 1 atm, [0090]; 1 atm = 14.7 psi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the working fluid/refrigerant taught by Miura et al. in view of Rigal et al. with the Novec fluids taught by Eadelson to have coolants that are non-corrosive for energy storage devices, non-toxic and non-flammable (see Eadelson [0090]).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miura et al. (US 20190198954 A1) in view of Rigal et al. (US 20100042265 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21);
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no compressor on 16 or 18, see Fig. 21) include a compressor connected between the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) and the condenser (14, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
Rigal et al. teaches comprising:a pump (24, Fig. 1) having an inlet (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the condenser (outlet of condenser, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the pump (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the pump (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the evaporator (inlet of evaporator, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a coolant loop passing through (flow direction D, Fig. 1) the first channel of the evaporator (28, Fig. 1), the first conduit (first conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the second channel of the condenser (22, Fig. 1), the second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the pump (24, Fig. 1) and the third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Rigal et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to circulate the refrigerant through system (see Rigal et al. [0017]).
Regarding claim 26, Miura et al. teaches a battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) for a battery pack (BP, Fig. 21), comprising:
an evaporator (12, Fig. 21; functions as an evaporator, see [0064]) having a first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) including an exterior surface (121, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the battery pack (BP, Fig. 21) and a first channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) passing through the first body (body of 12 between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21) and including an inlet (123, Fig. 21) and an outlet (122, Fig. 21);
a condenser (14, Fig. 21) including a second body (body of 14 between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) with a second channel (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21) an inlet (141, Fig. 21) and an outlet (142, Fig. 21);
a first conduit (16, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (122, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21) directly (see Fig. 21) to an inlet (141, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21);
a second conduit (18, Fig. 21) connecting the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a fan (BF, Fig. 21) arranged adjacent to the condenser (14, Fig. 21); and
a first refrigerant (the working fluid/refrigerant, see [0059]) configured to flow through (Fc1 to Fcg to Fcg to Fcg, clockwise, see Fig. 21) a coolant loop (10, Fig. 21) passing through the first channel of the evaporator (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 12, between 122 and 123, see Fig. 21), the first conduit (16, Fig. 21), the second channel of the condenser (where the working fluid/refrigerant passes through 14, between 141 and 142, see Fig. 21), the second conduit (18, Fig. 21),
wherein the battery cooling system (1, Fig. 21) does not (no expansion valve on 18, see Fig. 21) include an expansion valve connected between the outlet (142, Fig. 21) of the condenser (14, Fig. 21) and inlet (123, Fig. 21) of the evaporator (12, Fig. 21).
Miura et al. does not teach comprising:
a pump having an inlet and an outlet;
a second conduit connecting the outlet of the condenser to the inlet of the pump;
a third conduit connecting the outlet of the pump to the inlet of the evaporator;
a coolant loop passing through the first channel of the evaporator, the first conduit, the second channel of the condenser, the second conduit, the pump and the third conduit.
Rigal et al. teaches comprising:a pump (24, Fig. 1) having an inlet (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) and an outlet (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the condenser (outlet of condenser, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the pump (inlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1) connecting the outlet of the pump (outlet of pump, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1) to the inlet of the evaporator (inlet of evaporator, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1);
a coolant loop passing through (flow direction D, Fig. 1) the first channel of the evaporator (28, Fig. 1), the first conduit (first conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the second channel of the condenser (22, Fig. 1), the second conduit (second conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1), the pump (24, Fig. 1) and the third conduit (third conduit, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 1-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the pump taught by Rigal et al. between the liquid outlet part of the condenser and the liquid inlet part of the device heat exchanger taught by Miura et al. to circulate the refrigerant through system (see Rigal et al. [0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(Yoshinori): US-20210280925-A1, Fig. 1
(Omi): US-20200096260-A1, 10 (442, 16, 15, 18, 422, 12), Fig. 1
(Gao): US-20200403283-A1, Fig. 1, thermosiphon
(Khalili): US-20230247795-A1, NOVEC 7000 and 7100
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723