Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed 10/28/2025, claims 1,5,6 have been amended and claims 3 and 7 have been canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,5,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Nabavi (Empirical Modeling and Analysis of Water-to Air Optical Wireless Communication Channels, 2019 IEEE International Conference on Communications Workshops (ICC Workshops), pp.1-6, May2019) and Tonolini (Networking across boundaries: enabling wireless communication through the water-air interface (SIGCOMM August 2018).
In regards to claims 1, 5 and 6, Nabavi discloses a wireless communication device, a wireless communication system and a wireless communication method comprising: a water flow generator (Nabavi Fig. 1 section V note: this reads on aquatic wave generator) configured to control a shape of a partial region on a water surface (Nabavi section III, V note: this reads on aquatic/water wave); and
an emitter (Nabavi Fig. 1 section V note: this reads on transmitter) configured to emit a wave carrying information toward the region (Nabavi section IV note: this reads on transmission bit rate).
Nabavi does not explicitly disclose where the shape of the partial region is convex from the viewpoint outside the water. Figure 1 of Nabavi shows waves in the water with very distinct pointed crests. Although one skilled in the art would realize that real-life water waves present as smoother oscillations, with surface portions of the waves alternating between various degrees of convex and concave, and much less frequently present in real-life as distinct pointed peaks. Thus it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention that Nabavi’s water to air transmission could also be transmitted through a convex surface of the water, in order to maintain signal transmission through the oscillating waveforms of the water surface.
Tonolini discloses a similar water to air wireless communication system. Page 118 discloses “an acoustic signal emitted by a sound transducer travels as a pressure wave. When the pressure wave hits the water surface, it causes a perturbation or displacement of the surface due to its mechanical nature” and these surface vibrations cause waves in the water. Figure 2 on page 120 visually shows how this pressure causes motion on the water surface. Figure 2 visually shows a distinct convex shape produced on the water surface as a result of the pressure introduced from underwater. Tonolini continues on page 120 to describe the need to enable underwater vehicles to continuously send distress signals through the surface and to the air.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Nabavi’s water to air communication to also be able to transmit through a convex portion of the water surface, as in the water to air communication system of Tonolini in order to enable continuous transmission throughout the oscillating waves on the water surface.
In regards to claim 2, Nabavi discloses a wireless communication device as described above. Nabavi further discloses a shape of the region controlled by the water flow generator is a shape capable of generating only one of a flow of water flowing to the outside from a control region and a flow of water flowing into the control region from the outside (Nabavi Fig. 1 note: this reads on water wave flow into and flow out of the transmitter beam).
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nabavi and Tonolini, in view of Maccabee (US PAT 4991149).
In regards to claim 4, 8 and 9, Nabavi discloses a wireless communication device as described above. Although Nabavi does not specifically mention a beam diameter of a wave emitted by the emitter is longer than a wavelength of a fluctuation generated in the region, Maccabee discloses a beam diameter of a wave emitted by the emitter (Maccabee Fig. 2, 3 Item 18) is longer than a wavelength of a fluctuation generated in the region (Maccabee Fig. 2, 3 note: the diameter (e.g. width) of the transmitter beam from 18 appear to be longer than the wavelength of the water wave). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Maccabee’s emitter in Nabavi communication device for avoiding signal attenuation (Maccabee Col. 1 line 35-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646