DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments, filed 10/02/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to FR2013725 filed 12/18/2020 and FR2013722 filed 12/18/2020. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2021/086225 filed 12/16/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/11/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Foreign Patent Document No 9 has no English translation. Non-Patent Literature Documents No. 9-11, 15, 20-21, and 23-24 have no English translation provided.
The information disclosure statement filed 10/11/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Foreign Patent Documents No 8-9 have no copy of the document provided. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 23-37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1) recites Examples 1-1 through 1-5 with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 9.7 % by mass. Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1) recites Tables 5-8 with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.2. Iizaki recites Table 9 Comparative Example 1-4 which with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.5, wherein the total mixed composition end amount of persulfate is, to the best of the examiners understanding, 0.1972%. Iizaki recites the kit contains three compositions, that the 3 compositions of the kit are combined and then applied to hair (Iizaki at Example 1-1, [0077-0081]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Iizaki does not teach less than 1% persulfate and therefore the anticipation rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. Iizaki recites Table 9 Comparative Example 1-4 which with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.5, wherein the total mixed composition end amount of persulfate is, to the best of the examiners understanding, 0.1972%. More, specifically persulfates combine to be 58% of Component C which is then used in the end composition at 0.34 which is approximately 0.1972% persulfate. As such, Iizaki does teach an example with less than 1% persulfate. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the anticipation rejection stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-37 and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1).
Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1) recites Examples 1-1 through 1-5 with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 9.7 % by mass. Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1) recites Tables 5-8 with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.2. Iizaki recites Table 9 Comparative Example 1-4 which with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.5, wherein the total mixed composition end amount of persulfate is, to the best of the examiners understanding, 0.1972%. Iizaki recites the kit contains three compositions, that the 3 compositions of the kit are combined and then applied to hair (Iizaki at Example 1-1, [0077-0081]). Iizaki recites A hair dyeing or bleaching method using a hair cosmetic article, the hair cosmetic article including: a composition A' including an alkali agent and a powdery oxidation assistant; a composition B including an oxidizing agent; and a hair cosmetic applicator including a container part in which a hair cosmetic material produced by mixing the compositions A' and B and having a viscosity of 3 to 30 Pa·s at 30°C is to be contained; an application part by which the hair cosmetic material is applied to a hair-bundle; and an extension part having a liquid-leading passage which communicates the container part to the application part, wherein the application part includes a discharge port and a comb part, and the comb part includes a plurality of comb teeth which are disposed substantially annularly so as to surround the discharge port, the method comprising the steps 1) to 3) of: 1) a step of mixing the compositions A' and B in the container part to produce the hair cosmetic material in the container part; 2) a step of supplying the hair cosmetic material to the application part from the container part through the liquid-leading passage in the extension part using the hair cosmetic applicator, the hair cosmetic applicator being in the state in which the container part in which the hair cosmetic material is contained, the application part, and the extension part are assembled; and 3) a step of applying the hair cosmetic material supplied to the application part to hair (Iizaki at claim 10).
Iizaki is discussed in the Anticipation Rejection supra. Iizaki differ from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Iizaki to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Regarding instant claim 37, Iizaki teaches the use of magnesium carbonate. Magnesium carbonate is not present in the Examples and is therefore at a total amount of less then 5% by weight of the composition. Iizaki teaches that carbonates are used in a range from 0.1% to 10% by mass (Iizaki at [0047]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of less than 5%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 40, Iizaki teaches the use of dyes in a range of 0.01% to 3% by mass of the composition (Iizaki at [0064]), which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 0.1%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 42, Iizaki recites the kit contains three compositions, that the 3 compositions of the kit are combined and then applied to hair (Iizaki at Example 1-1, [0077-0081]). Iizaki teaches that the composition may comprise a hair cosmetic applicator, and is in a kit in which the elements are contained in one package. Alternatively, the hair cosmetic article includes at least three elements of (i') a composition A' including an alkali agent and a powdery oxidation assistant, (ii) a composition B including an oxidizing agent, and (iv) a hair cosmetic applicator, and is in the state of a kit in which these elements are contained in one package (Iizaki at [0013]). The composition would combine the sodium carbonate, ammonium hydrogen carbonate and the silicate in one container and the hydrogen peroxide in the other container. Iizaki recites Table 9 Comparative Example 1-4 which with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.5, wherein the total mixed composition end amount of persulfate is, to the best of the examiners understanding, 0.1972%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Iizaki does not teach less than 1% persulfate and therefore the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The Examiner does not agree. Iizaki recites Table 9 Comparative Example 1-4 which with i) hydrogen peroxide at 9% by mass ii) sodium carbonate at 0.9% by mass iii) ammonium hydrogen carbonate, aka ammonium bicarbonate, at 14% by mass and iv) anhydrous sodium meta-silicate at 11.5 % by mass and a pH of 9.5, wherein the total mixed composition end amount of persulfate is, to the best of the examiners understanding, 0.1972%. More, specifically persulfates combine to be 58% of Component C which is then used in the end composition at 0.34 which is approximately 0.1972% persulfate. As such, Iizaki does teach an example with less than 1% persulfate. Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the obviousness rejection stands.
Double Patenting
Claim 23-37 and 39-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over;
claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 7,399,319 B2;
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,993,412 B2;
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,010,495 B2;
claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,052,273 B2;
claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,524,992 B2;
claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,537,511 B2;
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,524,996 B2;
claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,524,998 B2;
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,716,744 B2;
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 273,115 B2; and
claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,225 B2;
in view of Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1).
The teachings of Iizaki et al, are discussed above. The reference patents all teach a method of dyeing hair by applying dye to hair. The reference patents all teach that the dye comprises a peroxide, a carbonate, a bicarbonate, and a silicate. The reference patents all do not require the use of persulfates.
It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the components of the reference patent with the components of Iizaki for the predictable result of a hair dye used in a method to dye hair. See MPEP 2144.06(I). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because both the reference patent and Iizaki teach a method of dyeing hair with a dye comprising a peroxide, a carbonate, a bicarbonate, and a silicate and each component is used for its intended purpose in the art of hair dyeing, See MPEP 2144.07.
Reference claims and prior art combine to produce a prima facie case of obviousness type non-statutory double patenting.
Claim 23-37 and 39-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over;
claims 25-44 of copending Application No. 18/267,207;
claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 18/266,903;
claims 25-26, 29-33, and 35-47 of copending Application No. 18/267,209;
claims 21-40 of copending Application No.18/266,900;
claims 29-48 of copending Application No.18/719,691;
claims 30-49 of copending Application No. 18/719,686;
claims 29-48 of copending Application No. 18/719,700;
claims 30-49 of copending Application No. 18/719,728; and
claims 31-49 of copending Application No. 18/876,591;
in view of Iizaki et al (EP2702894A1).
The teachings of Iizaki et al, are discussed above. The reference applications all teach a method of dyeing hair by applying dye to hair, The reference applications all teach that the dye comprises a peroxide, a carbonate, a bicarbonate, and a silicate. The reference applications all do not require the use of persulfates. More specifically, Application No. 18/267,209 requires less than 10% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No.18/266,900 requires less than 5% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No.18/719,691 requires less than 5% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No. 18/719,686 requires less than 5% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No. 18/719,700 requires less than 5% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No. 18/719,728 requires less than 10% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%. Application No. 18/876,591 requires less than 5% persulfates which overlaps the instantly claimed range of less than 1%.
It would be prima facie obvious to have combined the components of the reference applications with the components of Iizaki for the predictable result of a hair dye used in a method to dye hair. See MPEP 2144.06(I). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because both the reference applications and Iizaki teach a method of dyeing hair with a dye comprising a peroxide, a carbonate, a bicarbonate, and a silicate and each component is used for its intended purpose in the art of hair dyeing, See MPEP 2144.07.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Reference claims and prior art combine to produce a prima facie case of obviousness type non-statutory double patenting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant requests the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
Since terminal disclaimers have not yet been filed, the non-statutory double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612