DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9-17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrases “generally continuous curvature” and “generally extending generally parallel to and half way between” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Therefore, the limitations are considered new matter.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “generally parallel right and left planes each extending vertically and longitudinally, and the right and left planes intersect the lifting portion at locations laterally outward of the upwardly directed elbow prying surface” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Based on examiner’s understanding of the invention it appears at least the embodiment of Figure 12 shows a gripping portion that has a front portion that narrows into a rounded portion (see Figures 12 and 13), however it cannot be determined by the Figures themselves whether this intersection occurs outside the elbow prying surface. With respect to the embodiment of Figure 9, examiner agrees that the gripping portion is laterally outward of the elbow prying surface but it cannot be determined if the side surfaces are generally parallel or if the gripping portion has a narrowest portion at the front as the drawings are not identified as to scale. Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “substantially the same as the seal thickness” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Paragraph 56 uses the language “similar to the thickness of a cap or seal” but this is not commensurate in scope to the phrase “substantially the same”. Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Regarding claim 23, the phrase “substantially coplanar” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Regarding claim 24, the phrases “generally continuous” and “at least twice a height” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. With respect to the phrase “at least twice the height” examiner does acknowledge that Figures 8 and 9 do show the lever handle being wider than it is thick, however the drawings are not to scale and cannot therefore be utilized to disclose the now claimed range. Therefore, the limitations are considered new matter.
Regarding claim 25, the phrase “generally constant” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Regarding claim 26, the phrase “prevented from sliding out…at an elevation below the rearward end of the lifting portion” cannot be found in the disclosure as originally filed. Examiner acknowledges that paragraphs 61 and 62 of the specification discuss the use of friction and provide examples but the scope of claims 26 is different than that disclosed in paragraphs 61 and 62. Therefore, the limitation is considered new matter.
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9-17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrases “generally continuous curvature” and “generally extending generally parallel to and half way between” are relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the ranges created by the limitations. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “generally parallel right and left planes” is relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the range created by the limitation. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 16, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the phrase “the portable lifting apparatus” in lines 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “substantially the same” is relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the range created by the limitation. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 19, the claim sets forth “an acute angle” and then “wherein the acute angle is less than 40 degrees”. This appears to be a range within a range, the broad range being less than 90 degrees and the narrow range being less than 40 degrees. As such the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Regarding claim 20, claim 18 has been canceled and as such the scope of claim 20 is unclear. Examiner will examine as if dependent of claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, the phrase “substantially coplanar” is relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the range created by the limitation. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 24, the phrase “generally continuously” is relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the range created by the limitation. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 25, the phrase “generally constant” is relative as no special definition can be found in the specification that indicates the upper or lower bounds of the range created by the limitation. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Regarding claim 26, claim 18 has been canceled and as such the scope of claim 20 is unclear. Examiner will examiner as if dependent of claim 19.
Regarding claim 26, the phrase “prevented from sliding out…at an elevation below the rearward end of the lifting portion” is unclear as to its scope. Specifically, it is unclear how much of a prevention is required to meet the requirement to “prevent from sliding out”. Examples are provided in paragraphs 61 and 62 however these cannot be considered a definition. Therefore, the scope of the claim is unclear. Examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (U.S Patent No. 6,415,688) in view of Haase (U.S Patent No. 1,707,804).
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches (Figures 4, 6, 8, and 9) a portable lifting apparatus capable of removing a protective seal from a medical vial (Figure 9; Col. 10, lines 10-20) comprising a gripping portion (20 and 22) and a lifting portion (16) secured to the gripping portion. The lifting portion extends along a longitudinal directing between forward and rearward ends of the lifting portion. The lifting portion includes a wedge portion (Figure 8) having a fixed pair of arms (26) laterally spaced about the longitudinal axis of the lifting portion and extending apart at an acute angle with an arm spacing (24) between. The arm spacing increases towards the forward end of the lifting portion and each arm member has an inward face facing the inner space and an upwardly directing arm prying surface (38; Figure 4). The lifting portion further includes a backing portion (portion of 16 above 40 in Figure 4) defining a downwardly directed support surface (surface supporting 40 in Figure 4) extending over each of the pair of arm prying surfaces and spaced from the surfaces by a clearance distance (distance of recess 34). Smith additionally teaches the grip portion is attached on top of the lifting portion and the grip and lifting portion have parallel longitudinal axes. Lastly, Smith teaches that a lowermost surface of the limiting portion is planar and resides in a lifting portion lower plane and that the outer surface is of the lifting portion is rounded.
Therefore, Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except, the gripping portion having a forward end that is secured to the rearward end of the lifting portion and the longitudinal axis of the gripping portion, the gripping portion being an elongated lever handle extending along the longitudinal axis of the gripper, an uppermost surface of the lifting portion being planar and extending in a lifting portion upper plane that is parallel to the lower plane, and the curve of the lifting portion extending between the upper and lowermost surfaces being centered on a central plane parallel to and halfway between the upper and lower planes of the lifting portion.
Haase teaches (Figures 1-4 and 6) it is well known to construct a portable lifting apparatus without (Figure 1) or with (Figure 6) a grip (26), wherein the grip (26) is attached to a rearward end of the lifting portion (10) and extends along the longitudinal axis of the lifting portion (Figure 6). Haase indicates adding a handle to the device helps to increase leverage (Pg. 2, lines 115-125).
Haase further teaches that it is known to make both the upper and lowermost surfaces of the lifting portion planar and make the outer surface extending between the upper and lower most surfaces continuously curved (Figure 4) such that a center of the curve is on a center plane half way between and extending parallel to upper and lower planes that contain their respective upper and lowermost surfaces. Haase makes this portion curved so the device can be grasped anywhere without danger of injury from sharp edges or corners (Pg. 2, lines 4-10).
Because Haase teaches an alternative equivalent method of constructing a handle/gripping portion relative to a lifting portion in a lid/cap opening device it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a handle that extended longitudinally from the lifting portion instead of a ball grip as set forth in Smith in an attempt to improve the portable lifting apparatus by reducing the overall force need to remove a lid/cap by increasing the lever arm length and increasing a user’s leverage (i.e. adjusting the size and location of the handle/grip).
It additionally would have been obvious to try to make the upper and lowermost surfaces of the lifting portion planar and parallel and have make the outer surface between the upper and lower most surfaces continuously curved such that a center of the curves were formed at a center plane between the upper and lowermost surfaces in an attempt to prevent injuries by removing any hard edges or vertices at locations where a user was able to grip the device.
Claim(s) 2-5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 9, in further view of Gross (US Publication No. 20090151513).
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches (Figure 8) the first and second arms (26) are linear.
Regarding claim 5, Smith teaches (Figures 4 and 6) all clearance distances between the surface supporting 40 and the prying surfaces are the same.
Regarding claim 12, Smith teaches (Figures 4 and 6) each of the prying surfaces is smooth and planar.
Regarding claim 13, Smith teaches (Figures 4 and 6) the support surface (surface supporting 40) is smooth and planar.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, while Smith teaches the pair of arms are formed at an acute angle relative to each other, the modified device Smith fails to disclose the angle being less the 40 degrees (Claim 3), and more specifically 30 degrees (claim 4).
Gross teaches (Figures 1 and 5) a lid opening device composed of two arms (21A and 21B) extending at acute angles relative to each other. Gross further teaches it is known to modify the acute angle between the two arms based on the size of the lid/cap to be removed (paragraphs 24, 26, 31).
Based on the teachings of Gross it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the acute angle between the two arms any degree, including less than 40 degrees and more specifically 30 degrees, because discovering an optimal angle between the arms would have been a mere design consideration based on the size of the lid/cap the device was intended to be utilized for. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges only involves routine skill in the art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 5, in view of Lundgren (U.S Patent No. 4,296,653), Westerbeck (U.S Patent No. 913,336), Radovich (U.S Patent No. 2,811,061), and Smith (U.S Patent No. 4,681,358), hereinafter Smith’358.
The modified device of Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the clearance distance being 0.17 inches.
Lundgren (Figure 1) teaches is known to make a clearance distance (generally 4) large enough to fit a cork. Westerbeck (Figures 2 and 4) teaches it is known to make a clearance distance (distance above ledge 3b) to fit a screw top. Radovich teaches (Figures 3 and 4) it is known to make a clearance distance to fit a film cartridge lid. Smith ‘358 teaches (Figure 2; Col. 3, lines 24-42; Col. 4, lines 65-68) it is known to make the clearance distance between arms and an upper body surface as small as 3/32 inches, .09375 inches, to restrain and open a press tab on a container.
Based on the teachings of Smith, Lundgren, Westerbeck, Radovich, and Smith ‘358 it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the clearance distance any size, including between 0.15 and 0.2 inches and more specifically 0.17 inches, because discovering a optimal clearance distance would have been a mere design consideration based on the type and size of the lid/cap the device was intended to be utilized for. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges only involves routine skill in the art.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 2, in view of Bitonto et al (U.S Publication No. 20040216561), hereinafter Bitonto.
Regarding claim 14, Smith teaches (Figure 8) the rearward ends of the arm members (26) are joined by a curved elbow portion (27). The curved elbow portion has an inward face facing the inner space and an upwardly directed elbow prying surface (Figure 9) coplanar with the arm prying surfaces. The downwardly directed support surface (surface supporting 40) extends over and is spaced from the upwardly directed elbow prying surface.
The modified device of Smith therefore teaches all of the elements of the current invention as set forth above except the gripping portion at a forward end of the gripping portion being wider than the elbow prying surface.
Bitonto teaches (Figure 3) it is known in the art of portable lifting apparatuses to have the connecting portion of the handle (41) be wider than an elbow (48) of a lifting portion (42). This configuration allows a user to “choke up” on the handle to apply additional leverage (paragraph 17).
Based on the teachings of Bitonto it would have been obvious to have modified the modified device of Smith to make the gripping portion at its forward end wider than that of the elbow prying surface. Doing so would allow a user to “choke up” on the handle to apply additional leverage.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claims 2, or the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 14, in view of Perkins (U.S Patent No. 2,503,683), Brix-Hansen (U.S Patent No. 6,378,398), and Grote (U.S Patent No. 3,186,263).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, the modified devices of Smith teach all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the inward faces of the arms (claim 10) and the elbow (claim 15) being beveled to form an inwardly directed upward surface edge extending more into the inner space than an inwardly directed lower surface edge.
Perkins teaches (Figure 2; Col. 1, lines 33-37) it is known to provide an opening device (10 and 12) with an edge designed to interact and face a screw cap with a face that bevels from an edge that is near the screw cap and an upper surface the cap rests on in use to and edge that is farther from the screw cap. Brix-Hansen teaches (Figure 1) it is known to have a ledge (3) that creates a prying surface to have a beveled surface wherein the beveled inner face surface has an upper edge that is farther within an inner space than a lower edge. Grote teaches (Figures 2 and 3) it is known to provide beveled edges that extend from an upper edge of a top surface closer to the inner space to a lower edge farther away from the inner space (see bevel of members 34 designed to help the radiator cap enter into the cap remover).
Because Perkins, Brix-Hansen, and Grote teach that it is known in lid/cap removal arts to provide a beveled edge on a face designed to interact with a lid/cap it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a beveled face, with corresponding upper and lower edges wherein the upper edge extends farther into the inner space, on the two arms and elbow of the modified devices of Smith in an attempt to allow the modified device of Smith to more easily guide a lid/cap into the device and/or help remove the lid/cap.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 2, in view of Smith ‘358.
The modified device of Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the gripping portion including an aperture extending therethrough.
Smith ‘358 teaches (Figure 2; Col. 3, lines 52-55) teaches it is known to provide an aperture in a gripping portion of an opener to receive a key chain to allow for easier carrying of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the modified device of Smith to incorporate the teachings of Smith’358 to include an aperture in the gripping portion, and/or modify the gripping portion to make it a longitudinal handle and include the aperture, to allow for easier carrying of the device and/or increase the lever arm length to reduce the force needed by a suer and make the lifting apparatus easier to carry.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Osborne (U.S Patent No. 6,604,903).
Smith teaches a method of removing a protective seal (44) from a medicine vial (46; Figure 9; Col. 1, lines 10-21) comprising:
Inserting the seal (44) into an open space (24) between a pair of fixed linear arms (26) of a lifting portion (16) of a portable lifting apparatus. Each of the pair of linear arms have an inward face facing the open space (24) and including an upwardly extending arm prying surface (38) forming a boundary of the open space;
positioning the protective seal (44) within the open space on each pair of the upwardly directed arm prying surfaces and below a downwardly directed support surface of a backing portion (portion of 16 above 40 in Figure 4) f the lifting apparatus (Figure 9) wherein the backing portion defines a downwardly directed support surface (surface supporting 40 in Figure 4) extending over each of the pair of arm prying surfaces and spaced from the surfaces by a clearance distance (distance of recess 34); and
lifting, by raising or lowering the gripping portion (Col. 3, lines 59-67 and Col. 4, lines 1-9) which raises or lowers a first end of the lifting portion (16) of the apparatus relative to the vial to pry the protective seal off. The seal (44) is similar in thickness to a clearance distance between the upwardly directed prying arms and the backing portion (Figure 9). Because Smith teaches the structural requirements of the device in the method Smith is considered to inherently teach the function of preventing the seal from buckling.
Regarding claim 16, Smith fails to teach the protective seal being secured to a cap of the medicine vial and covering a puncturable membrane closure of the medicine vial such that lifting of the seal away from the membrane exposes the puncturable membrane.
Osborne teaches (Figures 1, 5, 6, 9, 9a; Col. 2, lines 1-66) it is old and well known for some medicants to be provided in containers wherein the container (20) has a cap that includes a membrane (30) and a safety seal (50) to make the medicant container tamper proof prior to the use of the contents therein. Further, it is known to remove the safety seal (50) manually prior to use by “popping off” the safety cap.
Because Smith already teaches the use of the device on the caps of medical containers and because Osborne teaches known medical containers can include tamper proof safety seals on top of membrane caps it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try and utilize the device of Smith to “pop off” (examiner considers this synonymous to prying) the cap prior to breaking the membrane seal of a container so a user does not have to complete the task with his or her fingers.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified method of Smith, as applied to claim 16, in view of Haase.
Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the first gripping portion being an elongated lever handle secured to a rearward end of the lifting portion.
Haase teaches (Figures 1-4 and 6) it is well known to construct a portable lifting apparatus without (Figure 1) or with (Figure 6) a grip (26), wherein the grip (26) is attached to a rearward end of the lifting portion (10) and extends along the longitudinal axis of the lifting portion (Figure 6). Haase indicates adding a handle to the device helps to increase leverage (Pg. 2, lines 115-125).
Because Haase teaches an alternative equivalent method of constructing a handle/gripping portion relative to a lifting portion in a lid/cap opening device it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a handle that extended longitudinally from the lifting portion instead of a ball grip as set forth in Smith in an attempt to improve the portable lifting apparatus by reducing the overall force need to remove a lid/cap by increasing the lever arm length and increasing a user’s leverage (i.e. adjusting the size and location of the handle/grip).
Claims 19, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified method of Smith, as applied to claim 16, in view of Gross.
Regarding claim 19, Smith teaches the linear arms (26) are spaced about the longitudinal axis of the lifting portion and extend apart at an acute angle with an arm spacing (24) therebetween. The arm spacing increases towards the forward end of the lifting portion and lesser at the rearward end of the lifting portion. Smith further teaches (Figure 9) positioning of the protective seal (44) within the open space on each of the upwardly directed prying surfaces includes advancing the lifting portion along the longitudinal axis while the protective seal is within the open space (i.e. the container and lid must be moved laterally to sit on the ledge of the elbow).
The modified device of Smith teaches the pair of arms are formed at an acute angle relative to each other but fails to disclose the angle being less the 40 degrees.
Gross teaches (Figures 1 and 5) a lid opening device composed of two arms (21A and 21B) extending at acute angles relative to each other. Gross further teaches it is known to modify the acute angle between the two arms based on the size of the lid/cap to be removed (paragraphs 24, 26, 31).
Based on the teachings of Gross it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the acute angle between the two arms any degree, including less than 40 degrees, because discovering an optimal angle between the arms would have been a mere design consideration based on the size of the lid/cap the device was intended to be utilized for. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges only involves routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Smith fails to teach leaving the protective seal in the device after removing it from the container and then dumping the cap into a disposal container.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to complete the step of throwing away the seal after removal from the medical container because the seal cannot be replaced and is considered trash once it is removed (as evidenced by Osborne). Further, examiner takes official notice that it is known in the cap removing arts to have either hold a lid/cap remover in a specific orientation, add a receptacle to the lid/cap remover, and/or magnetize the lid/cap remover to ensure the lid/cap can be easily disposed of without potentially falling to the ground and being lost and would have been an obvious matter of design choice to do so.
Regarding claim 26, the method as set forth by the modified method of claim 19 inherently meets the method steps set forth in claim 36. Smith already sets forth the use of a frictional surface (42) designed to increase friction between a seal to be removed and the device. This frictional engagement would inherently prevent at least limited movement depending on the size of the seal the apparatus is utilized with and is not considered an additional step completed during the operation of the device.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified method of Smith, as applied to claim 16, in view of Perkins, Brix-Hansen, and Grote.
Regarding claim 22, the modified method of Smith already teaches removing a flush mounted protective seal (see Figure 1 of Osborne, which is identical to Figure 1 of the instant application; i.e. the term flush mounted need not mean have the same diameter but instead just mean “directly abutting or immediately adjacent”). Further, Smith teaches (Figures 4, 6, and 8) each arm (26) having upper and lower edges that diverge from one another along a longitudinal axis of the open space.
Therefore, the modified device of Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the inward face of each arm member being a beveled face with an arm inwardly directed surface upper edge extending further into the inner space than an arm inwardly directed surface lower edge.
Perkins teaches (Figure 2; Col. 1, lines 33-37) it is known to provide an opening device (10 and 12) with an edge designed to interact and face a screw cap with a face that bevels from an edge that is near the screw cap and an upper surface the cap rests on in use to and edge that is farther from the screw cap. Brix-Hansen teaches (Figure 1) it is known to have a ledge (3) that creates a prying surface to have a beveled surface wherein the beveled inner face surface has an upper edge that is farther within an inner space than a lower edge. Grote teaches (Figures 2 and 3) it is known to provide beveled edges that extend from an upper edge of a top surface closer to the inner space to a lower edge farther away from the inner space (see bevel of members 34 designed to help the radiator cap enter into the cap remover).
Because Perkins, Brix-Hansen, and Grote teach that it is known in lid/cap removal arts to provide a beveled edge on a face designed to interact with a lid/cap it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try a beveled face, with corresponding upper and lower edges wherein the upper edge extends farther into the inner space, on the two arms and elbow of the device of Smith in an attempt to allow the device of Smith to more easily guide a lid/cap into the device and/or help remove the lid/cap.
Claim(s) 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Smith, as applied to claim 9, in further view Baker (U.S Patent No. D1,101,529), Bausch et al (U.S Patent No. D1,086,830), hereinafter Bausch, De La Hitte (U.S Patent No. 3,570,028), hereinafter Hitte, Lawler (U.S Patent No. 1,853,735), and Ziems (U.S Patent No. D488,691).
The modified device of Smith teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except an uppermost surface of the elongated lever handle being coplanar with the lifting portion upper plane and a lowermost surface of the lever being coplanar with the lifting portion lower plane such that the upper and lowermost surfaces are continuous, wherein the rounded lateral edge extends the length of the lifting portion and the lever handle, and the handle being at least twice as wide as it is thick.
Baker and Bausch teach (Figures 1-5 and 1-4 respectively) it is known to make the handle and acting/lifting portion of a container opener of a one-piece construction such that the upper and lower most surfaces of each part are planar and parallel. Hitte (Figures 2, 4, and 5) teaches it is known to construct openers with handles as either multi-planar (Figure 2) or have the entire device have upper and lowermost surfaces that extend within upper and lowermost planes (Figures 4 and 5).
Lawler and Ziems (Figure 2 and Figures 1, 4 and 5 respectively) not only teach parallel planar upper and lowermost surfaces for that acting/lifting portion and the handle portion, but teach it is known when forming these types of devices utilizing one piece construction to extend the rounded lateral edges around the entirety of the device.
Baker (Figure 1), Ziems (Figures 1 and 4), and Hitte (Figures 4 and 5) teach it is known to construct a handle that is much wider than it is thick and to have the upper and lowermost surfaces of the handles and activating/lifting portions being continuous.
Based on the teaches of Baker, Bausch, Hitte, Lawler, and Ziems it would have been obvious an obvious matter of design choice to try and construct the modified device of Smith out of any construct method, including injection molding and other methods of one-piece construction, and make the handle have the same thickness as the lifting portion. Further, it would have been similarly obvious try to make the upper and lowermost surfaces of the entire apparatus continuous, planar, and parallel to each other and have the entire outer lateral surface of the device be rounded as Haase specifically sets forth (see the rejection of claim 9) the value of utilizing curved edges to prevent injury. Furthermore, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for either the lifting portion and/or handle to have this particular shape or relative dimensioning and as such based on the evidence available this particular construction appears to be nothing more than one of numerous shapes one of ordinary skill in the art would understand as possible. It has been held that changing the form or shape of something does not constitute as a patentable advance if the operation of the device would not thereby be modified.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments directed to claim 9, examiner has provided a new secondary reference that discloses a rounded lateral edge. Applicant should also review all additional art cited in this office action as many of the references cited show a rounded lateral edge.
Regarding statements of intended use with respect to claim 9, examiner will not read statements of intended use into an apparatus claim unless the function changes the required physical structure of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Osborne sets forth clearly that there is a need to help users remove safety caps from medical containers as prior to the device of Osborne these caps were popped off by hand (end of column 2). If this was commonly done by hand and Osborne identifies that it can be completed in a manner other than via the use of a person’s fingers this appears to be enough for one or ordinary skill to at least try the device of Smith on the lid as identified in Osborne in an attempt to reduce fatigue since Smith has identified it is known to try utilizing a mechanical device to remove these seals when it was only every previously done by hand.
Regarding claim 26, the friction requirements are subjective and do not amount to an additional step being taken within the method. Smith’s device utilize friction increasing materials and therefore can inherently complete this depending on the size of the seal. The previous combination in claim 16 to try the device of Smith on the medicant vials discussed in Osborne would necessarily require any change in the structure of Smith to be adequately sized to be utilize with these specific types of seals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References cited for additional prior art that was originally made of record in the Advisory Action dated 7/30/2026 that was withdrawn on 8/17/2026.
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761