Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-8 and 12 in the reply filed on 26 December 2025 is acknowledged.
In response to the inquiry regarding the status of claim 12 in the restriction requirement mailed 28 November 2025, Applicant noted claim 12 was included in both Group 1 and Group 3. Claim 12 is a part of Group 3, and claim 12 was erroneously included in Group 1. Therefore, the proper claim groupings are as follows:
Group 1, claims 1-8, drawn to a culture material for culturing cells and a culture tool.
Group 2, claims 9-11, drawn to a method for culturing cells.
Group 3, claim 12, drawn to a spheroid formed by the culture method according to claim 9.
Claims 9-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 December 2025.
Claim Status
Claims 3-9 and 11-12 are currently amended, claims 9-12 have been withdrawn, and claims 1-8 have been considered on their merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites purpose or intended use limitations directed to the claimed product. The “for culturing cells, a tissue, or an organ on a culture surface thereof” limitation on the first and second line of the claim is the intended purpose of a culture material. These intended purpose/use limitations do not result in a structural difference, therefore, do not add any additional structural limitation to the culture material.
Claim 4 recites purpose or intended use limitations directed to the claimed product. The “which is for spheroid formation” limitation in the second line of the claim is the intended use of the culture material. The intended purpose/use limitation does not result in a structural difference, therefore, does not add any additional structural limitation to the culture material. Thus, claim 4 reads as the culture material according to claim 1.
Claims 5 and 6 recite limitations directed to the intended use limitations of claim 1 which does not add structure to the claimed culture material. Thus, both claims 5 and 6 read as the culture material according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “4-methyl-1-pentene polymer (X)”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation in parenthesis is part of the claimed invention. MPEP § 2173.05(d) states, description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. Therefore, it is unclear whether the information in parentheses is exemplary or a limitation of the claim.
Claim 2 recites the phrase “4-methyl-1-pentene polymer (X)”, “copolymer (x1)”, and “ethylene and α-olefins having 3 to 20 carbon atoms (excluding 4-methyl-1-pentene)”, which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations in parenthesis are part of the claimed invention. MPEP § 2173.05(d) states, description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim. Therefore, it is unclear whether the information in parentheses is exemplary or a limitation of the claim.
Claims 3-8 are included in the rejection because they depend from claim 1 and do not clarify the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanizaki et al. (JP 2001190267, published 17 July 2001, IDS ref.) in view of Michaljaničová et al. (Vacuum (2014), IDS ref.).
Regarding claim 1, Tanizaki et al. teach a culture vessel formed from a polyolefin resin composition comprising poly 4-methylpentene-1 resin (para. [0007]). Tanizaki et al. teach the oxygen gas permeability of this film using an OX-TRAN at 23°C and humidity at 0%, is between 9000-25000 cc/m2x24hrxatm (Table 1). Which falls in the range of 4500-90000 cm3/m2x24hrxatm.
Tanizaki et al. is silent to the contact angle of the culture surface of more than 100° and
160° or less.
Michaljaničová et al. teach the characteristics of surface properties of PMP (poly-4-methyl-1-pentene) after the modification of its upper layer (abstract). Michaljaničová et al. teach PMP modified by laser treatment, with 500 to 6000 pulses, on laser fluence, has contact angle of between 100° and 106° (Fig 1.). The contact angle, 100° and 106°, falls in the range of 100-160°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the PMP of Tanizaki et al. with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Michaljaničová et al. teach PMP is a very resistant material and plasma exposure can change its surface properties well, especially wettability and surface chemistry (p. 190, Conclusion). One would be motivated to modify the PMP of Tanizaki et al. with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. because Michaljaničová et al. teach the effect of plasma exposure is increase of oxygen concentration in the surface layer which causes increase of wettability and polarity and subsequently the biocompatibility (p. 190, Discussion).
Regarding claim 2, Tanizaki et al. teach the polyolefin resin composition used is a composition comprising poly-4-methylpentene-1 resin and other polyolefin resin (para. [0011]). Tanizaki et al. teach examples of α-olefins that may be copolymerized with 4-methylpentene-1 include α-olefins having 2 to 20 carbon atoms (para. [0011]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Tanizaki et al. teach a culture vessel formed by molding the polyolefin resin composition of the present invention into a film (claim 7) is also a preferred embodiment (para. [0009]). A film reads as a thin even surface, which reads on the limitation of claim 3 directed to the culture surface is not processed to form an uneven surface.
Regarding claims 4-6, based on the claim interpretation above, these claims are interpreted the same as claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Tanizaki et al. teach a vessel having an opening is formed from a polyolefin resin composition (para. [0023]). The culture vessel of Tanizaki et al. reads as a culture tool comprising a culture surface formed of the culture material according to claim 1.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kiya et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11254904, effective filing date 18 June 2020, IDS ref.) in view of Michaljaničová et al. (Vacuum (2014), IDS ref.).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1, Kiya et al. teach a culture material including a 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer for cells, tissues, or organs, and an oxygen permeation rate at a temperature of 23°C and a humidity of 0% of 4500 to 90000 cm3/(m2x24hxatm) (Abstract). Kiya et al. teach the culture material can be used to culture cells, tissues, or organs (column 4).
Kiya et al. do not recite the culture material having a water contact angle of the culture surface of more than 100° and 160° or less. However, Michaljaničová et al. teach the characteristics of surface properties of PMP (poly-4-methyl-1-pentene) after the modification of its upper layer (abstract). Michaljaničová et al. teach PMP modified by laser treatment, with 500 to 6000 pulses, on laser fluence, has contact angle of between 100° and 106° (Fig 1.). The contact angle, 100° and 106°, falls in the range of 100-160°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture material of Kiya et al. with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Michaljaničová et al. teach poly-4-methyl-1-pentene is a very resistant material and plasma exposure can change its surface properties well, especially wettability and surface chemistry (p. 190, Conclusion). One would be motivated to modify the culture material of Kiya et al. with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. because Michaljaničová et al. teach the effect of plasma exposure is increase of oxygen concentration in the surface layer which causes increase of wettability and polarity and subsequently the biocompatibility (p. 190, Discussion).
Regarding claim 2, Kiya et al. teach the culture material wherein the 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer (X) is at least one type of polymer selected from a 4-methyl-1-pentene homopolymer
(xl) and a copolymer (x2) of 4-methyl-1-pentene and at least one type of olefin selected from ethylene and an α-olefin having 3 to 20 carbon atoms (excluding 4-methyl-1-pentene ) (columns 3-4).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Kiya et al. teach the culture material which is a film (claim 7), a sheet, or a culture vessel (column 4). A film reads as a thin even surface, which reads on the limitation of claim 3 directed to the culture surface is not processed to form an uneven surface.
Regarding claims 4-6, Regarding claims 4-6, based on the claim interpretation above, these claims are interpreted the same as claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Kiya et al. teach a culture tool including the culture material or a culture vessel (column 4). The culture material reads as a culture surface.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11254904 in view of Michaljaničová et al. (Vacuum (2014), IDS ref.).
Regarding claim 1, patented claim 1 recites the culture material for cells, tissues, or organs, comprising a 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer (X) and having an oxygen permeability at a temperature of 23°C and humidity of 0% of 4500 to 90000 cm3/(m2x24hxatm).
The patented claims do not recite the culture material having a water contact angle of the culture surface of more than 100° and 160° or less. However, Michaljaničová et al. teach the characteristics of surface properties of PMP (poly-4-methyl-1-pentene) after the modification of its upper layer (abstract). Michaljaničová et al. teach PMP modified by laser treatment, with 500 to 6000 pulses, on laser fluence, has contact angle of between 100° and 106° (Fig 1.). The contact angle, 100° and 106°, falls in the range of 100-160°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture material of the patented claims with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Michaljaničová et al. teach poly-4-methyl-1-pentene is a very resistant material and plasma exposure can change its surface properties well, especially wettability and surface chemistry (p. 190, Conclusion). One would be motivated to modify the culture material of the patented claims with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. because Michaljaničová et al. teach the effect of plasma exposure is increase of oxygen concentration in the surface layer which causes increase of wettability and polarity and subsequently the biocompatibility (p. 190, Discussion).
Regarding the intended use limitations of instant claim 1, patented claim 9 teach a culture vessel, wherein at least a culture surface is formed of the culture material according to claim 1. Patented claim 1 recites the culture material is for cells, tissues, or organs.
Regarding claim 2, patented claim 1 recites the limitations a culture material comprising 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer wherein the content of a structural unit derived from 4-methyl-1-pentene and the content of a structural unit derived from at least one type of olefin selected from ethylene and an α-olefin having 3 to 20 carbon atoms (excluding 4-methyl-1-pentene).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, patented claim 5 recites the culture material according to claim 1, which is a film, a sheet, or a culture vessel (claim 7). A film reads as a thin even surface, which reads on the limitation of claim 3 directed to the culture surface is not processed to form an uneven surface.
Regarding claims 4-6, these claims have been interpreted as possessing the same limitations as claim 1, see claim interpretation above, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, patented claim 9 recites a culture vessel, wherein at least a culture surface is formed of the culture material according to claim 1. A culture vessel reads as a culture tool.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11254904 in view of Michaljaničová et al.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 13-24 of copending Application No. 18/869,816 (reference application) in view of Michaljaničová et al. (Vacuum (2014), IDS ref.).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 7, reference claim 13 recite a culture vessel wherein the film member (claim 7) contains a 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer. The culture vessel comprising the film member of the reference claim reads as comprising a culture material. The Reference claim 9 recites wherein an oxygen permeability of the film member (A) at a temperature of 23°C and a humidity of 0% is within range of 4,500 to 90,000 cm3/(m2·24h·atm). A film reads as a thin even surface, which reads on the limitation of claim 3 directed to the culture surface is not processed to form an uneven surface.
The patented claims do not recite the culture material having a water contact angle of the culture surface of more than 100° and 160° or less. However, Michaljaničová et al. teach the characteristics of surface properties of PMP (poly-4-methyl-1-pentene) after the modification of its upper layer (abstract). Michaljaničová et al. teach PMP modified by laser treatment, with 500 to 6000 pulses, on laser fluence, has contact angle of between 100° and 106° (Fig 1.). The contact angle, 100° and 106°, falls in the range of 100-160°.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture material of the reference claims with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because Michaljaničová et al. teach poly-4-methyl-1-pentene is a very resistant material and plasma exposure can change its surface properties well, especially wettability and surface chemistry (p. 190, Conclusion). One would be motivated to modify the culture material of the reference claims with the laser treatment of Michaljaničová et al. because Michaljaničová et al. teach the effect of plasma exposure is increase of oxygen concentration in the surface layer which causes increase of wettability and polarity and subsequently the biocompatibility (p. 190, Discussion).
Regarding claim 2, reference claim 15 recites wherein the 4-methyl-1-pentene polymer (X) is at least one polymer selected from a 4-methyl-1-pentene homopolymer (X1) and a copolymer (X2) of 4-methyl-1-pentene and at least one olefin selected from ethylene, propylene, and an α-olefin having 4 to 20 carbon atoms. 4 to 20 carbon atoms falls in the range of the instant limitation of 3-20 carbon atoms.
Regarding claims 4-6, these claims have been interpreted as possessing the same limitations as claim 1, see claim interpretation above, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, reference claim 1 in view of reference claim 9 and 13, which depend from claim 1, recite the culture vessel comprises a culture space for culturing an object to be cultured. The culture vessel comprising a culture space reads as a culture tool comprising at least a culture surface.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/N.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631