DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2023, March 25, 2024 and September 16, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on June 13, 2023 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 7: “the resonant circuit” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites “the resonant impedance circuit acts as a resistance component higher than a resistance component in non-resonance by resonating at a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit to suppress a leakage current to the power source” that renders the scope of the claim indefinite. It recites “a resistance component higher than a resistance component in non-resonance…” – it is unclear what characteristic of the resistance component is being compared to be determined that it is higher.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilmoniemi et al., US 2014/0457935 A1, hereinafter Ilmoniemi, in view of Simon et al., US 2013/0304159 A1, hereinafter Simon.
Claim 1. Ilmoniemi teaches in FIGS.1-8 a transcranial magnetic stimulator (10) ([0006]; and [0027]: FIG.1 shows an example of a multichannel Transcranial Magnetic stimulation (mTMS) coil device 10) comprising:
a plurality of resonant circuits ([0122]: coil winding stand manes not only for a coil but also for other similar entities, e.g., antenna, or resonant circuit. A coil winding may also have various components/circuit elements in series/parallel) including a plurality of magnetic stimulation coils (40, 42) ([0007]: a first coil winding having a first power input line, a second coil winding having a second power line; [0008]: more than 2, for example 3, 4, 5 or more coil windings can be combined and overlapped; and [0028]: within the casting 14 of the mTMS coil device 10 are at least two coil windings) for stimulating a living body by applying variable magnetic fields to an inside of the living body ([0066]: the mTMS coil devices described herein can be used for stimulating a target location on or within the brain of a subject),
the plurality of resonant circuits applying respective pulse currents to the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils to generate the variable magnetic fields ([0007]: a first coil winding have a first power input line, a second coil winding having a second power input line; [0010]: controlling a first current through the first power line to generate a first, primary magnetic field…modifying the position, direction and/or orientation of the primary magnetic field by separately controlling a second current through the second power line to generate a second, secondary magnetic field; [0035]: by separately controlling each of the coil windings it is possible to have a virtually continuous range of resultant electric fields between the predetermined directions and orientations of each of the involved coil windings; and [0067]: Each coil may have its own electronics and capacitor(s)); and
a power source that supplies an electric power to the plurality of resonant circuits ([0089]: each coil winding can have a power input line), and
the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are formed in approximately a same shape ([0033]: the geometry of each coil will main essentially the same; and [0037]: FIGS. 5 and 6, each of the coil windings has essentially the same geometry), and adjacently disposed (FIGS.2-8 shows various configuration of the plurality of coils that are adjacent to each other; [0007]: the first and second coil windings are at least partially overlapping) such that directions of magnetic fluxes generated by the pulse currents are matched ([0010]: modifying the position, direction and/or orientation of the primary magnetic field by adjusting the position and/or orientation of the second coil winding with respect to the first coil winding; and [0074]: FIG.8: it is possible to fire multiple pulses from the same position and orientation of the casing).
Ilmoniemi teaches that the plurality of resonant circuits are connected to the power source, and therefore, the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are also connected to the power source ([0089]: each coil winding can have a power input line; and [0122]: coil winding stand manes not only for a coil but also for other similar entities, e.g., antenna, or resonant circuit. A coil winding may also have various components/circuit elements in series/parallel).
Ilmoniemi does not teach that the connection is in a parallel orientation.
However, in an analogous TMS configuration field of endeavor, Simon teach that the resonant circuit is connected to the power source in parallel, therefore the magnetic stimulation coil is also connected to the power source in parallel ([0055]: two or more distinct coils, each of which is connected in series or in parallel to the impulse generator 310; and [0097]: if separate lead wires for each of the coils connect to the impulse generator (i.e., parallel connection), and if the pair of coils are wound with the same handedness around the cores, then the design is for current to pass in opposite directions through the two coils. On the other hand, if the coils are wound with opposite handedness around the cores…[and] if they are connected to the impulse generator in parallel, then the design is for current to pass in the same direction through both coils).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resonant circuit that comprises the coil and the power source of Ilmoniemi employ such a feature of them being connected in parallel as taught in Simon for the advantage of adjusting the direction of the current passing through the coil wire, hence the direction of the resultant electric field, as suggested in Simon, [0097].
Claim 2. Ilmoniemi further teaches that
each of the plurality of resonant circuits includes a switching element that controls an application timing of the pulse current to the magnetic stimulation coil ([0067]: Each coil may have its own electronics and capacitor(s)…The connections to desired coils can be changed either manually or electronically, e.g., with switches).
Claim 3. Ilmoniemi further teaches that
the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are disposed to be stacked such that axial centers of the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are approximately matched ([0043]: one or more identical coil windings fully overlapped with each other; [0054]: the ideal method of overlapping of the coil windings is to arrange their center points so that they are substantially overlapping; [0055]: the coil windings are stacked with one coil winding on top of the other coil winding; and FIG.8).
Clam 4. Ilmoniemi further teaches
that one of the magnetic stimulation coils is an upper coil, and another is a lower coil, and the upper coil and the lower coil are disposed to be stacked such that a bottom surface of the upper coil is overlapped with an upper surface of the lower coil in a cross-sectional view of at least a part of the upper coil and the lower coil ([0043]: one or more identical coil windings fully overlapped with each other; [0055]: As seen in the example of FIG.8, the first and second coil windings only partially overlap within the casing 81a; and FIG.8 illustrates a cross-sectional view, in which the two coils are stacked and the bottom surface of the upper coil overlaps at least partially with the top surface of the bottom coil).
Claim 6. Ilmoniemi further teaches
a resonant capacitor that accumulates an electric charge supplied from the power source ([0029]: the standard coil winding 20 has an input line 24 and a return line 26. The input line 24 is for introducing a current to the coil winding 20. The return line 26 is for returning current, e.g., to a power storage medium, e.g. a capacitor or capacitor bank).
Ilmoniemi does not teach a second switching element is disposed between the resonant capacitor and the power source, and the second switching element blocks a connection between the resonant capacitor and the power source during discharge of the resonant capacitor to suppress a leakage current to the power source.
However, in an analogous TMS configuration field of endeavor, Simon teach
a second switching element is disposed between the resonant capacitor and the power source, and the second switching element blocks a connection between the resonant capacitor and the power source during discharge of the resonant capacitor to suppress a leakage current to the power source ([0019]: a transformer charges a capacitor in the impulse generator, which also contains circuit elements that limit the effect of undesirable electrical transients. Charging of the capacitor is under the control of a control unit, which accepts information such as the capacitor voltage, power and other parameters set by the suer, as well as from various safety interlocks within the equipment that ensure proper operation, and the capacitor is then discharged through the coil via an electronic switch (e.g., a controlled rectifier) when the user wishes to apply the stimulus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi employ such a feature of comprising a second switching element is disposed between the resonant capacitor and the power source, and the second switching element blocks a connection between the resonant capacitor and the power source during discharge of the resonant capacitor to suppress a leakage current to the power source as taught in Simon for the advantage of controlling the charging/discharging rate and the impulse rate for the stimulator, as suggested in Simon, [0019].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilmoniemi et al., US 2014/0457935 A1, hereinafter Ilmoniemi, in view of Simon et al., US 2013/0304159 A1, hereinafter Simon, further in view of Tszin et al., RU2427057 C2, hereinafter Tszin.
Claim 5. Ilmoniemi and Simon combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Ilmoniemi nor Simon teaches that respective wound wires of the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are mutually twisted, and form a multicore wire.
However, in an analogous coil winding wire-based magnetic field generator configuration field of endeavor, Tszin teaches that
respective wound wires of the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are mutually twisted, and form a multicore wire (Claim 3: the magnetic energy generator characterized in that said induction coil can be a stranded enameled wire coated with insulation, or two or four stranded enameled wires coated with insulation, wound in parallel on the frame, said coil being wound on the frame, has one or N turns, and said coil wound on the frame can be made of many multicore wires coated with insulation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi and Simon combined employ such a feature of “respective wound wires of the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are mutually twisted, and form a multicore wire” as taught in Tszin as an alternative configuration of the wire used for a magnetic energy generator that has a simpler design, ease of use and assembly, easy manufacture and lower cost, better uniformity and higher degree of compliance with standards of the products, as suggested in Tszin, Abstract. Multicore twisted wire carries the advantage that is well-known in the field of wire industry for it being capable of reducing electromagnet interference.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilmoniemi et al., US 2014/0457935 A1, hereinafter Ilmoniemi, in view of Simon et al., US 2013/0304159 A1, hereinafter Simon, further in view of Nishizawa et al., JP2012019504A, hereinafter Nishizawa.
Claim 7. Ilmoniemi and Simon combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ilmoniemi further teaches that the resonant circuit includes
a resonant capacitor that accumulates an electric charge supplied from the power source ([0029]: the standard coil winding 20 has an input line 24 and a return line 26. The input line 24 is for introducing a current to the coil winding 20. The return line 26 is for returning current, e.g., to a power storage medium, e.g. a capacitor or capacitor bank).
Simon also teaches the same feature ([0019]: a transformer charges a capacitor in the impulse generator, which also contains circuit elements that limit the effect of undesirable electrical transients. Charging of the capacitor is under the control of a control unit, which accepts information such as the capacitor voltage, power and other parameters set by the suer, as well as from various safety interlocks within the equipment that ensure proper operation, and the capacitor is then discharged through the coil via an electronic switch (e.g., a controlled rectifier) when the user wishes to apply the stimulus).
Neither Ilmoniemi nor Simon teaches the claimed feature associated with the resonant impedance.
However, in an analogous resonance circuitry configuration field of endeavor, Nishizawa teaches
a resonant impedance circuit is interposed between the resonant capacitor and the power source, and the resonant impedance circuit acts as a resistance component higher than a resistance component in non-resonance by resonating at a resonant frequency of the resonant circuit to suppress a leakage current to the power source ([0015]: the common mode coil 1 with a resonant circuit has a single-phase main circuit wirings wound around a magnetic core 8 in the same phase. In addition, a resonance wiring 2 is wound in phase with the main circuit wiring and a resonance capacitor 3 is attached to both end of the resonance wiring 2; [0016]: In such a common mode coil 1 with a resonant circuit, it is possible to have a large impedance at a frequency that resonates with the inductance value of the resonant wiring 2 and the capacitance value of the resonant capacitor 3, relative to the common mode current flowing in phase through the single-phase main circuit wirings ; and [0017]: the common mode coil with resonant circuit is wound around the magnetic core not only around the main circuit wiring but also around the resonance wiring, and a resonant capacitor is attached (forming a resonant circuit unit), thereby configuring the common mode coil to have a resonant impedance for the common mode current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi and Simon combined employ such a feature of comprising a resonant impedance circuit and its associated characteristics as taught in Nishizawa for the well-known advantage of using a resonance impedance circuit for the purpose of creating a circuit that can effectively transfer electrical energy at a specific frequency while allowing minimal energy loss to ensure high performance and efficiency in the frequency range to fit the utility of the circuity designed for a particular application.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilmoniemi et al., US 2014/0457935 A1, hereinafter Ilmoniemi, in view of Simon et al., US 2013/0304159 A1, hereinafter Simon, further in view of Rohrbeck et al., US 5,586,017, hereinafter Rohrbeck.
Claim 8. Ilmoniemi and Simon combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Ilmoniemi nor Simon teaches that any or all of the plurality of resonant circuits include a synchronization adjustment circuit for synchronizing the resonant frequency of each of the resonant circuits.
However, in an analogous resonance circuitry configuration field of endeavor, Rohrbeck teaches that
any or all of the plurality of resonant circuits include a synchronization adjustment circuit for synchronizing the resonant frequency of each of the resonant circuits (Col. 2, lines 26-28: the parallel resonant circuit and the series resonant circuit are both tuned to the same resonance frequency; Col.8, ll.42-45: in order to turn the secondary windings L21 and L22 to the parallel resonance frequency given by the equation (7), therefore, an additional parallel resonant circuit with an inductance L3 and a capacitor C3 is provided; and Col.9, ll.37-40: instead of using an additional parallel resonant circuit, the running to be operating frequency can also be realized by means of a ferrite member 3 of small dimensions) – the parallel resonant circuit is considered the “synchronization adjustment circuit” as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi and Simon combined employ such a feature of having any or all of the plurality of resonant circuits include a synchronization adjustment circuit for synchronizing the resonant frequency of each of the resonant circuits as taught in Rohrbeck for the well-known advantage of having a synchronized frequency so to minimize impedance among the resonant circuits hence to maximize the current flow.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilmoniemi et al., US 2014/0457935 A1, hereinafter Ilmoniemi, in view of Simon et al., US 2013/0304159 A1, hereinafter Simon, further in view of Nakagawa et al., JP2000121711A, hereinafter Nakagawa.
Claim 9. Ilmoniemi and Simon combined teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ilmoniemi teaches that the impulses are transferred to different resonant circuits at the same time ([0043]: to control the pulses separately, either at different times and/or simultaneously; [0040]: if current is passed through both coils simultaneously, the resultant electric field will be the sum of both individual electric field).
Neither Ilmoniemi nor Simon teaches a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits.
However, in an analogous resonance circuitry configuration field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches
a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits ([0078]: a small-capacity capacitor 74 and resistor 75 constitute a phase-shift circuit, which matches the phase of the drive signals at the bases of both transistors 71 and 72 with the phase of the voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi and Simon combined employ such a feature of a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits as taught in Nakagawa for the well-known advantage of having the phases of the resonant circuits matched so to ensure that the circuit operates efficiently and effectively by maximizing the electrical energy transfer.
Claim 10. Ilmoniemi, Simon and Nakagawa combined teaches all the limitations of claim 9.
As applied to claim 9, Ilmoniemi teaches that the impulses are transferred to different resonant circuits at the same time ([0043]: to control the pulses separately, either at different times and/or simultaneously; [0040]: if current is passed through both coils simultaneously, the resultant electric field will be the sum of both individual electric field).
Nakagawa teaches a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits ([0078]: a small-capacity capacitor 74 and resistor 75 constitute a phase-shift circuit, which matches the phase of the drive signals at the bases of both transistors 71 and 72 with the phase of the voltage).
To synchronize the timing of impulse is to match the phases or match the generation timing.
Hence, when Ilmoniemi, Simon and Nakagawa are combined, it teaches that the phase adjustment circuit is configured to match the phases of the resonant currents by performing an adjustment so as to match generation timings of the respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits.
Claim 12. Ilmoniemi teaches in FIGS.1-8 a transcranial magnetic stimulator (10) ([0006]; and [0027]: FIG.1 shows an example of a multichannel Transcranial Magnetic stimulation (mTMS) coil device 10) comprising:
a plurality of resonant circuits ([0122]: coil winding stand manes not only for a coil but also for other similar entities, e.g., antenna, or resonant circuit. A coil winding may also have various components/circuit elements in series/parallel) including a plurality of magnetic stimulation coils (40, 42) ([0007]: a first coil winding having a first power input line, a second coil winding having a second power line; [0008]: more than 2, for example 3, 4, 5 or more coil windings can be combined and overlapped; and [0028]: within the casting 14 of the mTMS coil device 10 are at least two coil windings) for stimulating a living body by applying variable magnetic fields to an inside of the living body ([0066]: the mTMS coil devices described herein can be used for stimulating a target location on or within the brain of a subject),
the plurality of resonant circuits applying respective pulse currents to the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils to generate the variable magnetic fields ([0007]: a first coil winding have a first power input line, a second coil winding having a second power input line; [0010]: controlling a first current through the first power line to generate a first, primary magnetic field…modifying the position, direction and/or orientation of the primary magnetic field by separately controlling a second current through the second power line to generate a second, secondary magnetic field; [0035]: by separately controlling each of the coil windings it is possible to have a virtually continuous range of resultant electric fields between the predetermined directions and orientations of each of the involved coil windings; and [0067]: Each coil may have its own electronics and capacitor(s)); and
a power source that supplies an electric power to the plurality of resonant circuits ([0089]: each coil winding can have a power input line).
Ilmoniemi teaches that the plurality of resonant circuits are connected to the power source, and therefore, the plurality of magnetic stimulation coils are also connected to the power source ([0089]: each coil winding can have a power input line; and [0122]: coil winding stand manes not only for a coil but also for other similar entities, e.g., antenna, or resonant circuit. A coil winding may also have various components/circuit elements in series/parallel).
Ilmoniemi does not teach that the connection is in a parallel orientation.
However, in an analogous TMS configuration field of endeavor, Simon teach that the resonant circuit is connected to the power source in parallel, therefore the magnetic stimulation coil is also connected to the power source in parallel ([0055]: two or more distinct coils, each of which is connected in series or in parallel to the impulse generator 310; and [0097]: if separate lead wires for each of the coils connect to the impulse generator (i.e., parallel connection), and if the pair of coils are wound with the same handedness around the cores, then the design is for current to pass in opposite directions through the two coils. On the other hand, if the coils are wound with opposite handedness around the cores…[and] if they are connected to the impulse generator in parallel, then the design is for current to pass in the same direction through both coils).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the resonant circuit that comprises the coil and the power source of Ilmoniemi employ such a feature of them being connected in parallel as taught in Simon for the advantage of adjusting the direction of the current passing through the coil wire, hence the direction of the resultant electric field, as suggested in Simon, [0097].
Ilmoniemi teaches that the impulses are transferred to different resonant circuits at the same time ([0043]: to control the pulses separately, either at different times and/or simultaneously; [0040]: if current is passed through both coils simultaneously, the resultant electric field will be the sum of both individual electric field).
Neither Ilmoniemi nor Simon teaches a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits.
However, in an analogous resonance circuitry configuration field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches
a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits ([0078]: a small-capacity capacitor 74 and resistor 75 constitute a phase-shift circuit, which matches the phase of the drive signals at the bases of both transistors 71 and 72 with the phase of the voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stimulator of Ilmoniemi and Simon combined employ such a feature of a phase adjustment circuit for matching phases of respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits as taught in Nakagawa for the well-known advantage of having the phases of the resonant circuits matched so to ensure that the circuit operates efficiently and effectively by maximizing the electrical energy transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The limitation(s) recited in claims 11 and 13 in regard to the features of “the phase adjustment circuit is configured to match the phases of the resonant currents by performing an adjustment so as to match maximum points of change rates of the respective resonant currents generated in the plurality of resonant circuits", in combination with the other claimed elements, is/are not taught or disclosed in the prior arts.
Conclusion
/YI-SHAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798