DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) were submitted on 6/13/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a transmitting member” and “a unique identification mechanism” in claims 1, 6, 8-10, 13, 12, 20-22 and 35.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-23, 27, 35-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first Paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1, “a transmitting member” and “a unique identification mechanism” render the claim indefinite, because it is lack of the written description requirement and the supporting disclosure does not clearly link or associate the disclosed structure, material, or acts to the claimed function of the “a transmitting member” and “a unique identification mechanism”. Examiner notes that no descriptions related to the claim limitation related to the “temperature slope calibration unit” in the specification clearly link or associate the disclosed structure, material, electrical circuit, or acts to the claimed function of the “a transmitting member” and “a unique identification mechanism”. The disclosure of the structure (or material or acts) linked or associated with the “temperature slope calibration unit” may not be implicit or inherent in the specification because the instant application is not clear to those skilled in the art what structure (material or acts) corresponds to the means- (or step-) plus function claim limitation. (MPEP 2181(II)(A), 2181(II)(C) and 2181(III)).
Claims 2-23, 27, 36-37 and 39 are also rejected by virtue of each dependency on claim 1 or 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-23, 27, 35-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “low power signals” (emphasis added) in claims 1 and 35 is relative terminology to render the claim indefinite, thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. It is unclear to indicate what values or range of power signals are indictive of being low.
Claims 2-23, 27, 36-37 and 39 are also rejected by virtue of each dependency on claim 1 or 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-23, 27, 35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BRADLEY et al. (EP 3457227 A1, hereinafter referred to as “BRADLEY” cited in IDS dated 6/13/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, BRADLEY teaches an apparatus for reducing or controlling water consumption in bathrooms, the apparatus comprising a housing (Fig. 17, Fig. 18B, 170) and being configured to receive data from one or more water consumption locations in a bathroom, the housing comprising:
one or more sensors (Fig. 18B, 188; Para 0139-0140) including a motion sensor (a gesture sensor) configured to detect a movement in a threshold distance from the apparatus in a bathroom as a first indication of activity in the bathroom (Para 0135, “a gesture sensor, which is a type of proximity sensor configured to detect a gesture by the user”), and an audio sensor configured to monitor a sound of running water from one or more water consumption locations in a bathroom as a second indication of activity in the bathroom, optionally a humidity sensor configured to monitor the ambient humidity in a bathroom as a third indication of activity in the bathroom, and optionally an ambient temperature sensor (Para 0139-0142, especially paragraph 0142 teaches various types of sensors to detect a presence or gesture, temperature, sound, order, humidity, “The sensor 188 may be a retina scanner configured to scan the eyes of the user. The sensor 188 may be a fingerprint sensor. The sensor 188 may be an audio sensor such as a microphone. The sensor 188 may detect odors or VOCs. The sensor 188 may be an environment sensor such as a temperature sensor, a light sensor, or a humidity sensor. The sensor 188 may be a remote sensor in another location (e.g., a different from than the intelligent toilet). The sensor 188 may be a leak sensor to detect a water leak in the intelligent toilet. For example, the sensor 188 may detect a water level”);
a controller (Fig. 4, controller 34) configured to qualify at least a part of the data received from the one or more sensors by an algorithm (At least paragraph 0226 teaches an algorithm performed by the controller, “The controller 613 may use algorithms to analyze data from different sensor array 602 inputs”) to obtain qualified data (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed terms of “qualify” and “qualified data” may be respectively indicative of a analyzing process/step and analyzed data, and this limitation is indicative of receiving, analyzing and/or process data, which is taught at least at Para 0081-0082, “provide feedback data based on the analysis of the user data to the first appliance 31. The feedback data may be applied by the water consuming appliance”);
a transmitting member (Fig. 4, output interface 38) configured to transmit the qualified data at a given point of time to an external unit optionally via a mobile device, by low power signals (at least paragraph 0005-0006 and 0083 teach “the output interface 38 is configured to provide feedback data based on the analysis of the user data to the first appliance 31. The feedback data may be applied by the water consuming appliance to set a water temperature, a water volume, or a water pattern in response to the feedback data.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation is indicative of receiving, analyzing and/or process data by low or full power mode, which is taught by at least Para 0370); and
a unique identification mechanism (Para 0089, 0102; device identifier, “the voice command may be interpreted at the second appliance 32 and encoded as command data 45. The command data 45 may include a data packet with a device identifier and a function identifier”) being readable or scannable by a mobile device and configured to include output data based on the qualified data for reducing or controlling water consumption in the bathroom (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0089 and 0092-0102 teach a device identifier included data packet, where the device identifier includes a code or a word that describes the target device for the skill command and is used between appliances to control operations of a water consumption (e.g., controlling a water flow and shower sequence)).
Regarding Claim 3, BRADLEY teaches wherein the controller is configured to qualify at least a part of the data received from the motion sensor as qualified motion data by an algorithm based on a reference motion standard (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “qualify at least a part of the data” is indicative of receiving, analyzing and/or process data based on motion data sensed by a motion sensor, which is taught at least at Para 0081-0083, 0102, 0142 and 0370).
Regarding Claim 4, BRADLEY teaches wherein the controller is configured to qualify at least a part of the data received from the audio sensor as qualified audio data by an algorithm based on a reference audio standard (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “qualify at least a part of the data” is indicative of receiving, analyzing and/or process data based on audio data sensed by an audio sensor, which is taught at least at Para 0081-0083, 0102, 0142 and 0370).
Regarding Claim 5, it is dependent on claim 1 and has similar limitations as of claims 3 and 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 3 and 4 above.
Regarding Claim 6, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit motion data and audio data at a given point of time if the motion data and the audio data are qualified by the controller (at least paragraph 0005-0006 and 0083 teach “the output interface 38 is configured to provide feedback data based on the analysis of the user data to the first appliance 31. The feedback data may be applied by the water consuming appliance to set a water temperature, a water volume, or a water pattern in response to the feedback data”).
Regarding Claim 7, BRADLEY teaches wherein the one or more sensors includes a humidity sensor configured to monitor the ambient humidity in a bathroom as a third indication of activity in the bathroom (Para 0139-0142, especially paragraph 0142 teaches various types of sensors to detect a presence or gesture, temperature, sound, order, humidity, “The sensor 188 may be a retina scanner configured to scan the eyes of the user. The sensor 188 may be a fingerprint sensor. The sensor 188 may be an audio sensor such as a microphone. The sensor 188 may detect odors or VOCs. The sensor 188 may be an environment sensor such as a temperature sensor, a light sensor, or a humidity sensor. The sensor 188 may be a remote sensor in another location (e.g., a different from than the intelligent toilet). The sensor 188 may be a leak sensor to detect a water leak in the intelligent toilet. For example, the sensor 188 may detect a water level”).
Regarding Claim 8, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit humidity data at a given point of time if the humidity data is qualified by the controller (at least paragraph 0005-0006 and 0083 teach “the output interface 38 is configured to provide feedback data based on the analysis of the user data to the first appliance 31. The feedback data may be applied by the water consuming appliance to set a water temperature, a water volume, or a water pattern in response to the feedback data.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Para 0081-0082, 0102 and 0139-0142 (especially paragraph 0142) teach various types of sensors to detect a presence or gesture, temperature, sound, order, humidity and transmit the sensed data (humidity data) by the controller.).
Regarding Claim 9, BRADLEY teaches wherein the identification mechanism is configured to include output data if motion data and audio data at a given point of time are qualified by the controller, and humidity data is qualified by the controller or the external unit to encompass a predetermined change in humidity as the third indication of activity in the bathroom (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0089 and 0092-0102 teach a device identifier included data packet, which is used between appliances to control operations of a water consumption (e.g., controlling a water flow and shower sequence), and at least paragraphs 0005-0008 teach controller configured to perform an analysis of the sensor data (including motion, audio and humidity data) from the at least one first device and generating, using the controller, feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data. The feedback data is configured to operate a second device based on the sensor data from the at least one first device).
Regarding Claim 10, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit motion data, audio data and humidity data at a given point of time if the motion data, the audio data, and the humidity data are qualified by the controller (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0006-0008 teach a controller to generate feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data and a communication interface to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server).
Regarding Claim 11, BRADLEY teaches wherein the one or more sensors includes an ambient temperature sensor (Para 0139-0142, especially paragraph 0142 teaches various types of sensors to detect a presence or gesture, temperature, sound, order, humidity, “The sensor 188 may be a retina scanner configured to scan the eyes of the user. The sensor 188 may be a fingerprint sensor. The sensor 188 may be an audio sensor such as a microphone. The sensor 188 may detect odors or VOCs. The sensor 188 may be an environment sensor such as a temperature sensor, a light sensor, or a humidity sensor. The sensor 188 may be a remote sensor in another location (e.g., a different from than the intelligent toilet). The sensor 188 may be a leak sensor to detect a water leak in the intelligent toilet. For example, the sensor 188 may detect a water level”).
Regarding Claim 12, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit temperature data at a given point of time if the temperature data is qualified by the controller (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0006-0008 teach a controller to generate feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data and a communication interface to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server).
Regarding Claim 13, BRADLEY teaches wherein the identification means mechanism is configured to include output data if motion data and audio data at a given point of time are qualified by the controller, humidity data is qualified by the controller or the external unit to encompass a predetermined change in humidity as the third indication of activity in the bathroom, and temperature data is qualified by the controller or the external unit (at least paragraphs 0089 and 0092-0102 teach a device identifier included data packet, where the device identifier includes a code or a word that describes the target device for the skill command and is used between appliances to control operations of a water consumption (e.g., controlling a water flow and shower sequence). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0006-0008 teach a controller to generate feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data and a communication interface to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server, where the motion data, the audio data and the humidity data are indicative of the sensor data which are analyzed (qualified) by the controller to thereby generate and send the feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data).
Regarding Claim 14, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit motion data, audio data, humidity data and temperature data at a given point of time if the motion data, the audio data, the humidity data, and the temperature data are qualified by the controller (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0006-0008 and 0083 teach a controller to generate feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data and a communication interface to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server, where the motion data, the audio data, the temperature data and the humidity data are indicative of the sensor data which are analyzed (qualified) by the controller to thereby generate and send the feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data).
Regarding Claim 15, BRADLEY teaches wherein the motion sensor is a passive infrared sensor (PIR sensor) located below the level of the surface of the housing (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraph 0173 teaches an infrared sensor mounted to a neck of a faucet, “For detecting the user, the sensor 214 may be a proximity sensor (e.g., infrared sensor) or an image collection device described herein. For example, the sensor 214 may be mounted in a neck of a faucet and may detect a gesture or presence of a hand near the neck of the faucet to activate or deactivate the flow of water through the faucet. Alternatively or in addition, the sensor 214 may detect the position or identity of the user as described herein”).
Regarding Claim 16, BRADLEY teaches wherein data are integrated by the controller or the external unit (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0102-0103 teach a controller to receive and analyze sensor data collected from various sensors mounted in appliances).
Regarding Claim 17, BRADLEY teaches wherein motion data, audio data, and humidity data are integrated by the controller or the external unit (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0102-0103 teach a controller to receive and analyze sensor data collected from various sensors mounted in appliances. at least paragraphs 0006-0008 and 0083 teach the motion data, the audio data, the temperature data and the humidity data are indicative of the sensor data which are analyzed (qualified) by the controller to thereby generate and send the feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data).
Regarding Claim 18, BRADLEY teaches wherein motion data, audio data, humidity data and temperature data are integrated by the controller or the external unit (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0102-0103 teach a controller to receive and analyze sensor data collected from various sensors mounted in appliances. at least paragraphs 0006-0008 and 0083 teach the motion data, the audio data, the temperature data and the humidity data are indicative of the sensor data which are analyzed (qualified) by the controller to thereby generate and send the feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data).
Regarding Claim 19, BRADLEY teaches wherein the one or more sensors includes a carbon dioxide sensor (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraph 0111 teaches a sensor to detect carbon based chemical, “The sensor 102 may be an audio sensor such as a microphone. The sensor 102 may detect odors. The sensor 102 may detect volatile organic compounds (VOCs) or other carbon based (organic) chemicals (compounds) that are indicative of odor. The sensor 102 may be an environment sensor such as a temperature sensor, a light sensor, or a humidity sensor. The sensor 102 may be a remote sensor in another location (e.g., a different rom than the mirror assembly 101”).
Regarding Claim 20, BRADLEY teaches wherein the transmitting member is configured to transmit carbon dioxide data at a given point of time if the carbon dioxide data is qualified by the controller ((Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraphs 0006-0008 and 0111 teach a controller to generate feedback data based on the analysis of the sensor data, where the sensor data includes carbon dioxide data as taught at paragraph 0111, and a communication interface to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server).
Regarding Claim 21, it is dependent on claim 19 and has similar as a part of claims 13 and 19 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as a part of claims 13 and 19 above.
Regarding Claim 22, it has similar limitation as claim 14. The additional element of the carbon dioxide data is taught by claim 19. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as a part of claims 14 and 19 above.
Regarding Claim 23, BRADLEY teaches wherein the one or more water consumption locations in a bathroom comprises a space defined by inside of walls of the bathroom, excluding locations within or outside the walls of the bathroom (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, at least paragraph 0072 teaches at least one water consuming device mounted at various locations in a bathroom, “the network device 14 communicates with at least one water consuming device. Example water consuming devices include the programmable shower 2, the bathtub sensory device 3, the bathtub level device including the drain 4 and faucet 5, the intelligent toilet 6, the automated sink 8, the kitchen appliance 11, and the water system 12. The water consuming device is connected to a water supply or plumbing system. The water consuming device may include at least one sensor associated with the water supply such as a flow sensor that measures the flow of water or other types of sensors”).
Regarding Claim 27, BRADLEY teaches wherein the output data includes one or more of water-saving tips, shower statistics, water tap statistics, toilet usage statistics, running water statistics and running water alerts (At least paragraphs 0006-0008, 0066, and 0072-0073 teach collecting sensor data for usage statistics and collecting data related to usage, maintenance, or malfunction, and provide alerts based on the collected data related to a water use, “The communication interface is configured to send a reporting message indicative of data collected by at least one appliance to a central server. The controller is configured to receive an analysis message from the central server. The analysis message indicates a condition of water from the at least one appliance or a condition of water in a geographic area associated with the at least one appliance. The controller is configured to provide an alert in response to the analysis message”).
Regarding Claim 35, it is a method type claim and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 39, it is dependent on claim 35 and has similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRADLEY in view of Klicpera (US 9749792 B2, hereinafter referred to as “Klicpera”).
Regarding Claim 2, BRADLEY teaches wherein the unique identification mechanism is a matrix barcode (Para 0102, “The sensor data may be received through wireless communication and encoded with a timestamp, a device identifier for the first appliance 31, and a data type identifier for the type of sensor that collected the sensor data”). BRADLEY fails to explicitly disclose a matrix barcode. However, Klicpera teaches a QR code and a barcode used to establish a link to a water use and water energy use monitoring (see at least Col. 51, lines 43-53).
BRADLEY and Klicpera are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of an equipment health state monitoring and asset management of controlling water consumption and monitoring a water use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of Klicpera by providing a barcode QR code for establishing a link to a water use and water energy use monitoring, taught by Klicpera at least at Col. 51, lines 43-53.
2. Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRADLEY in view of WANG et al. (CN 111926697 A, hereinafter referred to as “WANG”).
Regarding Claim 36, BRADLEY fails to explicitly disclose, but WANG teaches wherein the audio sensor is protected from water droplets in the apparatus by a trap that serves to avoid water interference without substantially reducing audio signals, the trap comprising a U-shaped air channel starting from the face of a bottom portion of the apparatus and extending towards the audio sensor (Fig. 2, “the water quality detecting sensor 5 is set in the U-shaped pipe” in page 2 of English machine translation).
WANG is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of a water collecting pipeline and a water detecting and shunting device. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, note that the U-shaped channel and its structure are common knowledge and is merely indicative or well known in the art at the effective filing date, as the trap comprising a U-shaped air channel is not critical to be distinctly result-effective features but merely indicative of an exemplary variable to install the audio sensor to avoid water interference based on routine experimentation and/or a user’s interest or preference. WANG teaches a sensor set or installed in the U-shaped pipe. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of WANG by providing the audio sensor with the trap of the U-shaped channel to thereby protect water droplets according to a user’s interest or preference, taught by WANG at least at page 2 of English machine translation.
Regarding Claim 37, BRADLEY fails to explicitly disclose, but WANG wherein the humidity sensor is protected from water droplets in the apparatus by a trap that serves to avoid water interference without substantially reducing audio signals, the trap comprising a U-shaped air channel starting from the face of a bottom portion of the apparatus and extending towards the humidity sensor (Fig. 2, “the water quality detecting sensor 5 is set in the U-shaped pipe” in page 2 of English machine translation).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, note that the U-shaped channel and its structure are common knowledge and is merely indicative or well known in the art at the effective filing date, as the trap comprising a U-shaped air channel is not critical to be distinctly result-effective features but merely indicative of an exemplary variable to install the humidity sensor to avoid water interference based on routine experimentation and/or a user’s interest or preference. WANG teaches a sensor set or installed in the U-shaped pipe. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified BRADLEY to incorporate the teachings of WANG by providing the humidity sensor with the trap of the U-shaped channel to thereby protect water droplets according to a user’s interest or preference, taught by WANG at least in page 2 of English machine translation.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sinha et al. (US 20220107632 A1) at least one flow sensor configured to generate water usage data for a bathroom device, at least one presence sensor configured to generate user presence data for a room including the bathroom device, and a controller configured to analyze the usage data and the user presence data to generate a maintenance message in response to the analysis.
Conclusion
/BYUNG RO LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858