DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 08/27/25. Regarding the amendment, claims 1-11 are canceled, claims 12-25 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remark, filed 08/27/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-22 under 103 (a) rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fukasaku and Xu.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the at least one strap” should be change to –the at least one strip--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-19, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasaku et al. (US 2005/0082924 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2018/0287436 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Fukasaku teaches a stator (50, fig 4) with closed slots (53) with continuous winding (10) comprising:
a first internal stator part (51) which comprises a plurality of longitudinal teeth (protruding portions, para [0043]), spaced by a space configured to form a lower part of the closed slots (53) of the stator (50);
a second external annular stator part (52), comprising a plurality of seats complementary to the teeth of the first internal stator part (51) and configured to fit together with the teeth so as to form the closed slots (53) and the stator (50, Fig. 5);
a continuous winding (10) comprising at least one strip (11) configured to be wound on the first internal stator part (51) in the spaces (53a-53r) comprised between the teeth (fig. 7A-7C). However, Fukasaku does not teach at least one slot is asymmetrical.
Xu teaches a dynamoelectric machine stator (fig 10) having a stator core (250) with a plurality of substantially axially extending stator slots (160) circumferentially spaced in the stator core (250) wherein at least one slot (160) is asymmetrical (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku’s stator with at least one slot is asymmetrical as taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the at least one slot has an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator and through a centreline of the slot in correspondence with the internal wall.
Xu further teaches the at least one slot (160) has an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane (170) passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator (250) and through a centreline of the slot (160) in correspondence with the internal wall (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the at least one slot has an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator and through a centreline of the slot in correspondence with the internal wall as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the at least one slot comprises asymmetrical side walls.
Xu further teaches the at least one slot (160) comprises asymmetrical side walls (260) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the at least one slot comprises asymmetrical side walls as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, Fukasaku does not teaches the side walls (8, 9) are curved or concave (fig 3a-3b).
Xu further teaches the at least one slot (160) comprises asymmetrical side walls (260) are curved or concave (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the side walls are curved or concave as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Fukasaku teaches a stator (50, fig 4) with closed slots (53) with continuous winding (10) comprising:
a first internal stator part (51) which comprises a plurality of longitudinal teeth (protruding portions, para [0043]), spaced by a space configured to form a lower part of the closed slots (53) of the stator (50);
a second external annular stator part (52), comprising a plurality of seats complementary to the teeth of the first internal stator part (51) and configured to fit together with the teeth so as to form the closed slots (53) and the stator (50, Fig. 5);
a continuous winding (10) comprising at least one strip (11) configured to be wound on the first internal stator part (51) in the spaces (53a-53r) comprised between the teeth (fig. 7A-7C). However, Fukasaku does not teach at least one slot is asymmetrical and comprises asymmetrical side walls, wherein the side walls are curved or concave, and wherein the side walls have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor.
Xu teaches a dynamoelectric machine stator (fig 10) having a stator core (250) with a plurality of substantially axially extending stator slots (160) circumferentially spaced in the stator core (250) wherein at least one slot (160) is asymmetrical (fig 10) and comprises asymmetrical side walls (260), wherein the side walls (260) are curved or concave (fig 10), and wherein the side walls (260) have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku’s stator with at least one slot is asymmetrical and comprises asymmetrical side walls, wherein the side walls are curved or concave, and wherein the side walls have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor as taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 17, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, Fukasaku further teaches a plurality of closed slots (53) arranged along an internal wall of the stator (50) configured to house a rotor (para [0034]), each slot (53) comprising a bottom wall arranged in the direction of the longitudinal axis of the stator (50), in proximity to the inner wall (51, fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17, except for the added limitation of the slots and/or the side walls have an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator and through a centreline of the bottom wall.
Xu further teaches the at least one slot (160) has an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane (170) passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator (250) and through a centreline of the bottom wall (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the at least one slot has an asymmetrical conformation with respect to a plane passing through the longitudinal axis of the stator and through a centreline of the bottom wall as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047])..
Regarding claim 19, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, Fukasaku further teaches at least one strip (11) comprising a plurality of first sectors connected together by a plurality of second sectors alternating with them (fig 7A-7C), the at least one strip (11) being configured to be wound on the first part of the internal stator (51) by positioning the first sectors (11) in the spaces (53a-53r) between the teeth (fig 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 21, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, Fukasaku further teaches a process for manufacturing a stator (50) with closed slots (53) with continuous winding (10) the process comprising the following steps:
a step of folding on a plane of at least one strip to make at least one strip (11) in a single piece, said strip (11) comprising a plurality of first sectors (11) configured to be inserted inside closed slots (53) of a stator (50) and connected to each other by a plurality of second bending sectors configured to remain outside the closed slots (53) of the stator (50, Fig.7A-7C);
a step of preparing the stator (50), said stator comprising a first internal stator part (51) comprising a plurality of longitudinal teeth (protruding portions, para [0043]), spaced apart by a space (53a-53r) configured to form the lower part of the closed slots (53) of the stator (50), and a second external annular stator part (52), comprising a plurality of seats complementary to the teeth of the first stator part (51) and configured to fit together with the first stator part (51) so as to form the closed slots (53) and the stator (50, Fig.5);
a step of making the winding on the first internal stator part (51) of said at least one strip (11), positioning the first sectors of the strip (11) in the spaces (53a-53r) included between the teeth (Fig. 7A-7C);
a step of connecting the two free ends (21-22) of each strip (11).
Regarding claim 22, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, Fukasaku further teaches an electric machine comprising the stator (50, fig 5).
Regarding claim 23, Fukasaku teaches a stator (50, fig 4) with closed slots (53) with continuous winding (10) comprising:
a first internal stator part (51) which comprises a plurality of longitudinal teeth (protruding portions, para [0043]), spaced by a space configured to form a lower part of the closed slots (53) of the stator (50);
a second external annular stator part (52), comprising a plurality of seats complementary to the teeth of the first internal stator part (51) and configured to fit together with the teeth so as to form the closed slots (53) and the stator (50, Fig. 5);
a continuous winding (10) comprising at least one strip (11) configured to be wound on the first internal stator part (51) in the spaces (53a-53r) comprised between the teeth (fig. 7A-7C). However, Fukasaku does not teach at least one slot is asymmetrical and comprises asymmetrical side walls, and wherein each of said side walls has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof.
Xu teaches a dynamoelectric machine stator (fig 10) having a stator core (250) with a plurality of substantially axially extending stator slots (160) circumferentially spaced in the stator core (250) wherein at least one slot (160) is asymmetrical (fig 10) and comprises asymmetrical side walls (260), and wherein each of said side walls (260) has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku’s stator with at least one slot is asymmetrical and comprises asymmetrical side walls, and wherein each of said side walls has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof as taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 24, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 23, except for the added limitation of the side walls have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor.
Xu further teaches a dynamoelectric machine stator (fig 10) having the side walls (260) have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the side walls have the concavity facing along a specific direction with respect to a preferred direction of rotation of the rotor as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Regarding claim 25, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, except for the added limitation of each of said side walls has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof.
Xu further teaches a dynamoelectric machine stator (fig 10) having each of said side walls (260) has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof (fig 10) to establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with each of said side walls has a continuous curvature in a same direction along an entire length thereof as further taught by Xu. Doing so would establish a plurality of variable tooth-stiffnesses and a plurality of predetermined mechanical resonances (para [0047]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukasaku in view of Xu, further in view of Liang et al. (US 2019/0115794 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Fukasaku in view of Xu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the second external annular stator part is composed of interlocked sectors.
Liang teaches an electric machine having a stator core (20) wherein the second external annular stator part is composed of interlocked sectors (fig 6) to reduce magnetic permeability in regions providing a magnetic flux barrier between teeth (para [0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukasaku in view of Xu’s stator with the second external annular stator part is composed of interlocked sectors as taught by Liang. Doing so would reduce magnetic permeability in regions providing a magnetic flux barrier between teeth (para [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rahman et al. (US 2010/0320864 A1) teaches a bar-wound stator includes a plurality of bar-type conductors disposed within the plurality of slots, wherein, within each slot, at least one of the bar-type conductors has an orientation that differs from the remaining bar-type conductors within that slot by a predetermined angle. For example, conductors with rectangular cross-sections can be inserted such that the conductors closest to the inner surface of the stator are rotated ninety degrees with respect to the remaining conductors.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834