DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites a control casing and other limitations in a “preferably” clause, which causes a lack of clarity as to whether the control casing is or is not required by the claim. The examiner will interpret these limitations as optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0177984 to Stefanidis (Stefanidis hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Stefanidis teaches a catheter (2), a flexible moving element (23, 24), a receiving lumen (26, 27), and a surgical tool (22) connected to the flexible moving element (paragraph 45). Stefanidis further teaches that the moving element (23, 24) is arranged in the lumen (26, 27, see paragraph 48) and is circumferentially supported by the catheter shaft to move the tool (paragraph 35) in the same direction.
Regarding claim 2, Stefanidis teaches a distal shaft wall opening (20) that is formed in a distal circumferential area of the catheter shaft and communicates with the flexible moving element receiving lumen.
Regarding claim 3, Stefanidis teaches that the flexible moving element portion (23) and the flexible moving element receiving lumen are at least partially formed as circular cylinders. (see e.g. Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Stefanidis teaches that the surgical tool is longitudinally movably (see Figs. 1-2) and directly arranged on the catheter shaft (at 18).
Regarding claim 5, Stefanidis teaches a tool receiving casing (18) connected to the flexible moving element and having the surgical tool (22) arranged thereon.
Regarding claim 6, Stefanidis teaches that the tool-receiving casing is formed such that the tool-receiving casing also serves as a control handle for controlling the movement of the surgical tool, i.e. the tool (22) moves with the handle.
Regarding claim 7, Stefanidis teaches an inflatable balloon (22) and a casing lumen (20) communicates with the balloon for inflation (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 8, Stefanidis teaches a control handle (18) that is connected to the flexible moving element and configured to control the movement of the surgical tool (22).
Regarding claim 10, Stefanidis teaches a wire (24).
Regarding claim 11, Stefanidis teaches a hollow wire (23) which passes fluid for inflating the balloon (22, paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 12, Stefanidis teaches at least one point of connection of the tool-receiving casing (18, see paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 13, Stefanidis teaches that the tool receiving casing has an open cross section receiving the wire (23).
Regarding claim 14, Stefanidis teaches first (23) and second (24) flexible moving elements which are each supported by respective lumen (26, 27) and move the tool-receiving casing (18) by connection therewith, the second being formed as a wire (paragraph 35, “synthetic cord”).
Regarding claim 15, Stefanidis teaches a guidewire (25) with an associated lumen (28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefanidis in view of U.S. Patent 5,569,296 to Marin et al. (Marin).
Regarding claim 9, Stefanidis teaches the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above, but does not teach a threaded connection. Marin teaches another catheter apparatus generally and particularly teaches a threaded connection (104) for locking an element to a catheter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use a threaded engagement as taught by Stefanidis to attach the tool-receiving casing (18) of Stefanidis to the catheter shaft in order to limit or prevent movement from a desired position.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 17 April 2026